Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 12 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #219

May 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering is sticking and making odd noise.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #218

Mar 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
As driving down the road the steering locked up and could not steer. Drove home and parked the car it was leaking on the manifold pipe. They wanted $1,000 to fix it and would not work with us as we are on a fixed income they eventually came and reposessed the vehicle in the none working condition and hauled it off.

- Longville, LA, USA

problem #217

May 222013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 99,987 miles
The power steering had gone out repeatedly at different times, both while driving and not. It would come back on at times and now for the last 5 months has been out completely and is a danger to drive. It is my only vehicle and I drive 3 children around regularly. It is nearly impossible for someone of my strength and size to drive. I fear it is a matter of time before we have an accident. I was absolutely amazed to see there was not a recall on my make and year but every other year Malibu. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/21/2014

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #216

Mar 172014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the power steering torque sensor had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 7/16/14

- Richland Center, WI, USA

problem #215

Sep 012011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Noticed after I first purchased the vehicle that when ever pulling into traffic or just accelerating quickly at all the power steering will go out causing the wheel to be "straightened" back up which yanks the car really hard causing for quick correction which can lead to over correction and then a wreck. Very dangerous in the rain or snowy/icy conditions since it yanks the wheel back straight and causes the car to slide. When this happens you can hear audible clicking noise coming from the column and sometimes even the warning dinging that the traction control failed. Seriously needs to be fixed because eventually it will cause wrecks and quite frankly deaths! very frightening when this happens! and apparently its not just my car.

- Buford , GA, USA

problem #214

Oct 172013

Malibu

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was defective and would show that the fuel tank was empty when it was full. Also, the contact mentioned that the power steering would fail and would cause it to become very difficult to maneuver the steering wheel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Chanhassen, MN, USA

problem #213

Apr 152010

Malibu

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 35 and making a left turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that power steering assist failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #212

Nov 052013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Power steering went out. Has happened on numerous occasions. Should be part of the recall, but is not. Illuminates power steering on digital notification system.

- Drakes Branch, , VA, USA

problem #211

Feb 142014

Malibu

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the power steering assist failed. The contact would have to shut off and restart the vehicle for the steering assist to return to normal function. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage 154,000. Updated 07/15/14 MA the consumer also stated, while sitting in the vehicle, the steering wheel would shimmy to the left and right on its own, while making a strange noise. Updated 07.17.14

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #210

Mar 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
With all the complaints on power steering problems on the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu, that are the same as other year Malibu, are you waiting for an accident before recalling this vehicle?

- Larsen, WI, USA

problem #209

Apr 052014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from constituents regarding their 2007 Malibu electronic power steering (eps) problems and failure; requesting that the appropriate state of Ohio and federal agencies investigate this eps failure in the 2007 Malibu model. The consumer stated last week, the steering wheel began exhibiting a pulsating/jerking movement, while stopped at a red light. Then on April 5, 2014 the power steering failed. The dealer informed the consumer, it would cost anywhere from $00-700 to fix the steering issue. Updated 05/06/14

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #208

Jan 012014

Malibu

  • 103,000 miles
The electric power steering of my 2007 Chevy Malibu needs to be completely replaced. All of the other years for this make are being recalled. The power steering was originally locking up when I started my car, but now it is locking up while I am driving. This year needs to be recalled as well.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #207

Mar 152014

Malibu

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering would intermittently fail while driving at various speeds. The power steering warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer and no repairs were performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000 and the current mileage was 147,000.

- Huntsburg, OH, USA

problem #206

Feb 052014

Malibu

  • 176,473 miles
Was traveling down the highway and alarm sounded check power steering and there was nothing there.

- Two Rivers, WI, USA

problem #205

Mar 152013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I own a 2007chevy Malibu that apparently is not recalled. I have had on several occasions while turning the steering wheel locks up and the power steering message shows up. Luckily I have been in non-busy areas when this happens as I have to turn the car off and re start the car. Sometimes I have to do this several times. Sometimes the steering wheel will pull twitch the left by itself and is very loose. I have taken my car in several times to be looked at. I feel unsafe to drive my car in fact I will not drive it. I have two children that I would not put in that car. So I would like to know how I am supposed to get to work and take my children to school, sports, etc. When I do not have a safe car to drive, while GM tries to decide which cars they will fix. This is unacceptable. I feel compensation is needed for the inconveniences they have created.

- Lebanon, IL, USA

problem #204

Mar 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 80,390 miles
The powersteering would inadvertently get stiff and the powersteering indicator light would come on to indicate an issue. Inquired of any recalls and GM and the dealership said there were none at the time scheduled the vehicle for repair on April 3, 2014 and since then GM has recalled many models for the powersteering issue except for the 2007 mailbu which I feel should be taken care of by GM since they know this is a defect in the powersteering. As of todays date my vehicle is not among the recall and it should be I should not have to pay for this repair GM should make this right.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #203

Feb 172014

Malibu

  • 77,279 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving, at no particular speed, while making a right turn the vehicle lost power steering. When the failure occurred warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the steering wheel was hard to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the steering column and the module. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 77,279.

- The Villages , FL, USA

problem #202

Apr 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the steering assist failure light illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle onto the side of the road in order to restart it and it functioned as designed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection who stated the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000. Updated 3/13/15 the problem was resolved. Updated 03/17/15

- North Manchester, IN, USA

problem #201

Jul 092013

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering light illuminated as the vehicle became hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. No repairs were done to the vehicle.the manufacture was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage 143,000.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #200

Oct 012013

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering caused extreme difficulty in turning the vehicle on multiple occasions. The sensor light illuminated on the instrument panel for the power steering more than once at random. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was not able to replicate the failure. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V15300 (steering) and had continued to experience the same failure at random. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100000.

- Deridder, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?