Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 16 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #153

Dec 022013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering failed while driving on the interstate at about 60 miles per hour. The power steering warning advisory on the dash displayed and had no power steering. It is very difficult to control the car when it comes to turning and it takes a lot of force. I see a lot of complaints for this year model yet there is a warranty for the 2005, 2006 and the 2008 models, this under #10183A special coverage adjustment " power steering assist in May 2012. So why is the 2007 excluded, has to be an oversight" please make this right! also called GM and took the car to the local dealership no help there - no recall.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #152

Jun 152010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
When braking for a stop the car shudders and shakes. The steering wheel vibrates and the sounds are horrible. It sounds as if the dashboard is going to fall out on your lap. We have had the brakes serviced on multiple occasions (rotors replaced, turned) and at one time the front axle was replaced being suspected of being bent. (it wasn't. cost $1600+) there are many stories of this occurrence on the internet forums and nothing is being done about it by the manufacturer. We own cars that are freaking scary to drive and impossible to sell. Having to stop in an emergency or very quickly may not even be possible the shaking is so violent.

- Mount Pleasant, UT, USA

problem #151

Mar 202013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Driving in a straight line on a paved road and all of a sudden there was a ding and the words power steering appeared on the dash. Within seconds I could not steer the vehicle. I was able to pull over safely as there was very little traffic, but I couldn't turn the steering wheel. Had vehicle towed to garage. If I had been in heavier traffic or trying to negotiate a bend/curve in the road or been negotiating a turn across traffic this incident could have had a tragic outcome. Garage repaired vehicle but it has happened again today and we have to replace the steering column at great expense. Called Chevy but they say there isn't a recall however it appears that the earlier and later models have been recalled for the same safety issue! researched online today and there appear to many complaints of accidents and near misses for the same issue of the 2007 models. This needs looking into urgently before someone loses their life.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #150

Jun 142013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was following another auto that suddenly hit the brakes and when I tried to steer the car around, I could hardly turn the steering wheel momentarily. Have also found it hard to turn when starting in the morning.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #149

Dec 072013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Randomly losing power steering. Happened once briefly in August 2013. Took it for a diagnostic test immediately after this incident and was told nothing was wrong. Started happening on 12/7/13 and hasn't stopped. I had the car looked at by a mechanic on 12/10/13 who disassembled the steering column/dashboard, etc. And was told that nothing is wrong. On 12/16/13, it was taken to another mechanic, who test drove it and ran another diagnostic test and once again told me nothing is wrong and to pick up my car. Since then, I have been randomly losing the power almost daily to multiple times daily. I commute approx. 30 miles to and from work and have had to drive with no power steering at high rates of speed. To make it worse, the weather has been very bad the past week so I have been a nervous wreck not knowing when the power steering is going to go out. Within the past year, both my airbag and door ajar warnings have come on randomly when I have no door ajar. I wasn't as concerned since they are not an immediate danger. When I lose power steering the car does "ding" and "power steering" flashes on my audio system. If I am able to(not on the freeway)then I pull over, turn the car off and then back on. Sometimes this corrects the problem and sometimes it does not. Sometimes it will go awhile without this happening and sometimes it happens multiple times in a row. I am planning on taking it to a local dealership this weekend and hoping I don't get into an accident in the meantime. When I just spoke to the dealership the gentleman on the phone said that this is a common problem and he knows there are some recalls. From what I can see there are recalls on every year surrounding mine. This is extremely dangerous and something needs to be done. I hope the dealership is able to correct the problem and I don't end up spending hundreds of dollars and this is still going to happen.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #148

Dec 192013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 129,957 miles
I have a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu that the power steering keeps cutting out. The last time this happened I was traveling 35 miles per hour when a deer ran out in front of me. I almost hit a tree. I am very grateful that my children were not in the car. I have researched the issue and it appeared GM has already recalled some models for the 2006 and 2008 with the same power steering issue. I was wondering if you would take this issue into consideration and look into possibly recalling the 2007 model as well. During my research, I discovered that other people have had problems with the same issue. Thank you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

- Marlton , NJ, USA

problem #147

Dec 172013

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the mechanic diagnosed that the control module and the power steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #146

Nov 052013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 115,663 miles
Power steering went out, took to dealer said it was the steering column. Does not feel safe to drive will have to repair and call GM. Even though online everyone says they will not fix it unless they are forced to recall. So please, everyone with this problem needs to start getting loud this is an unsafe vehicle and needs to be fixed!!!!!!

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #145

Nov 042013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Steering wanted to turn/jerk to left than right almost lost control of car and many other times the steering gets stiff and is very hard to turn.

- Willow Street, PA, USA

problem #144

Nov 202013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Malibu and turning a corner when the power steering went out. Luckily I was in an area with no other vehicles at the time. I was able to get the vehicle home, when I started it again the power steering was working. This seems to be a common problem with this make and model from what I have read. The power steering goes out while driving and comes back on after restarting the car. The issue recurs without warning. It is very dangerous and could cause a serious accident. There should be a recall on the 2007 for this known issue.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #143

Nov 152013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 114,867 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulling out of parking space had no power steering nearly impossible to turn, thought it was low on power steering fluid so pulled into mechanics garage, was told the Malibu has electrical steering and had probably needed to be replaced. Started car back up, and power steering has been working since. Needs to be fixed by GM very dangerous, you cannot turn wheel when electrical steering goes out. Terrible.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #142

Oct 022013

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The steering wheel jerks back and forth while driving at any speeds. Will even jerk back and forth when stopped at a red light.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #141

Oct 252013

Malibu

  • 31,260 miles
I was attempting to pass a truck blocking my lane. After waiting a few minutes, I heard an alarm chiming with the message "power steering" displayed on my radio screen. I felt a slight vibration in the steering wheel, and had no power steering assist, and struggled to turn the wheel to go around the truck. I then shut and then restarted the engine and the power steering returned to normal. A few days later, I had the car checked by the dealer and they could find no error codes. The dealership and the Chevrolet customer service representative acted as if my problem was unique. This was despite that they twice changed major parts of the eps under warranty for the previous owners of the car in 2007, and 2008 in which the car was towed to the dealership. I can not understand why 2005, 2006, and 2008 Malibu have been recalled and 2007 Malibu were not despite the many complaints for loss of eps located on websites all over the internet. If loss of controlled steering is not a safety issue, then what is?

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #140

Jul 172012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Since July of 2012 my power steering was intermittent now as of Sept 14th 2013 I don't have any power steering at all. The fuel light stays on, the gas gage fluctuates. I have had to drive without any power steering. I must use the car for transportation to and from work. I believe this is extremely dangerous to be driving a car with out power steering!!! I did bring it to the dealership where I purchased it and was told they were not sure replacing the steering column would fix the problem, and it would cost at least $750!!!! please advise. I looked at the recall and the 2007 was not included this makes no sense to me. Obviously they know there is a problem with the steering in the Malibu. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #139

Sep 232013

Malibu

  • 97,554 miles
I've had more then one case were this has happened but the first time it did it when I was driven down the street and the steering wheel yanked my steering wheel to the right while I was driven forcing me off the road. Good thing it did not cause me to hit a car or anything else. The steering jerks even when the car is just sitting in park. You could be going 0 miles to 60 miles it does it does it about 10 to 12 times a day. I was told by GM customer service these is a know issue but no recall on electric steering yet. I fear for my life I have only had the car 1 week and I'm not sure why there is not recall on the 2007 Chevy Malibu ltz. I called the dealer I got it from and they told me that issue was know but no repair needed.

- Greenville , SC, USA

problem #138

Sep 042013

Malibu

  • 59,000 miles
I was changing the lane. Steering loose contact with wheel. Wheel turned without any control. Luckily no accident. Brake worked. I stopped the car and started again. It worked fine. There should be recall for this type of inident

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #137

Sep 172013

Malibu

  • 118,000 miles
I was getting ready to leave my house in my 2007 Chevy Malibu and when I went to turn my wheel to get out of my driveway I could not turn it. I pulled back in the driveway and tried again, same thing. We had a friend come over with a diagnostic and it was the electrical power steering. From reading all of the other numerous comments, I am surprised there is not a recall on this issue. Hoping GM does something about this.

- Lonsdale, MN, USA

problem #136

Aug 252013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 82,361 miles
As the car was being driven from my driveway to the road, the power steering failed. The power steering display came on. The car was reversed back into the driveway. The car was turned off and restarted and another attempt was made, but the power steering failed again. I understand that a warranty extension for date and mileage have been offered to owners of the 2005,2006, and 2008 models. #10183A: Special coverage adjustment - power steering assist - (May 23, 2012) why would the 2007 model be excluded? the replacement part is identical for all four years.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #135

Jun 122013

Malibu

  • 127,000 miles
So was driving and the whole steering wheel froze almost ran into a girl in the parking lot..no manual steering nothing...contacted GM customer service at 1-800-222-1020 that was a joke. All they do is play games. My case number is [xxx] just wanted GM to pay for the defective parts. GM did recall 2004,2005,2006 and 2008 then in 2009 put in the power steering fluid instead of this electrical power steering...GM never recalled the 2007 ever though had the same problem as the other years that they did recalled..I have spent over $2000 to get a defective part fixed.[xxx] specialist supervisor is a lame title for a customer service he called the dealer to have them cover the cost and then told the dealer that G< will not pay never contacted me...then I tired to get another customer service rep and E/maile GM and all they did was referred back to kevin which I have never heard from...never----ever buy a GM vehicle. I my son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren could of died in this car cause it freezes the whole sterring column. Can you imagine if I was on the freeway what might of happened? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #134

Jul 292013

Malibu

  • miles
Warning signal dinged and display reads power steering. Steering wheel jerks to right and left uncontrollably at all speeds. Power steering is going out on this vehicle. My research indicates that many, many complaints have been logged on this issue and that GM has acknowledged the issue with other ntsb required recalls with other makes and model years dating back to 2004. This is a defective system, highly dangerous. I am a working mother of two and this is my only mode of transportation. I have paid faithfully on my vehicle and deserve a vehicle that is trustworthy and safe for me and my children! this is highly dangerous in that the steering will eventually seize up and a crash is all but likely that could result in death or serious bodily injury. Research indicates the cost of repair at the dealership ranges from $600 to $1200 - money I do not have. GM/Chevy refuse to issue recall until the ntsb requires it. Please require it!! why should some have to die in a crash for this issue to be corrected"?" GM has already acknowledged the issue dating back to 2004 and yet continues to manufacture cars using defective components that are extremely dangerous. I cannot afford the cost of this repair. Please issue recall! I am driving a death trap. Until the ntsb requires the recall, GM will continue to place the life of those in their vehicles at risk!

- Powell, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?