Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 22 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jul 092010

Malibu

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This problem is for a 2007 Chevy Malibu. I read online about several problems with the electric steering module. My problem and others are the steering will shake from left to right during idle. Also, when im driving the steering wheel will get stuck like if someone took over it. There are a lot of google incidents that are posted about this problem and GM should have a recall of that problem. Happens daily.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Mar 182010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 35 mph the contact noticed that the power steering light appeared on the instrument panel and within a few minutes, the vehicle no longer had power steering. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where who stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 104,000. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/11/11

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #31

Jun 292010

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 35 mph, the contact heard an unusual pop from the front end of the vehicle. The dealer inspected the vehicle and advised the immediate steering shaft was defective. The dealer advised the contact he would be responsible for partial repairs. The contact did not believe he should be held liable for any of the repair. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were 66,000.

- Sandersville, GA, USA

problem #30

Jun 022010

Malibu

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering seems to come in and out intermittently. While driving, the steering wheel gets looser and tighter and the turn response varies. I have been unable to diagnose the exact problem. Power steering assist sensor is what a few people have mentioned to me about it. I haven't had any accidents due to this, but it is scary.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #29

Jul 022010

Malibu

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 40 to 45 mph the power steering light came on. He drove to a service station to check his power steering fluid and noticed that it was empty. The contain stated that he has not taken the vehicle to a repair shop but he called the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised him that he had to pay for the repairs since there were no related recalls for his VIN. The approximate failure and current mileages were 72,000.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #28

Jul 042010

Malibu

  • 107,000 miles
Power steering assist fails randomly. Seems to occur in warm weather and more frequently at lower speeds such as low speed turns, however has failed at highway speed while driving in straight line. Shutting the car off and restarting the vehicle restores the power steering for a period of time.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 282010

Malibu

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2007 Chevy Malibu on a highway traveling at approx. 40 mph when suddenly the steering went out. I was able to regain control of the vehicle after a few seconds. It was as if my power steering failed.

- Hartford City, IN, USA

problem #26

Jun 022010

Malibu

  • 77,800 miles
2005-2007 Chevy Malibu steering issue. NHTSA recall #10V073000 pertains to cobalt, this is also a Malibu issue and should also be included in the recall as this is the same problem we all are experiencing.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #25

Jun 022010

Malibu

  • 80,800 miles
I purchased a 2007 Chevy Malibu in March 2008 and the steering wheel was shaking to the left from the first day I purchased it and when it was checked by the dealer, I was told that it was normal and that it was due to the electronic power steering used in this model as apposed to the hydraulic steering in the previous years. Aside from the steering wheel pulling to the left, there was no problem until a month ago when the power steering was locking up and rendering the vehicle steering completely inoperable all of a sudden. I researched the problem on the internet and found that this is a common problem with all 2005 and later Chevrolet Malibu and that GM refused to remedy the problems that many owners are experiencing. On June 2nd 2010, the power steering on my Malibu locked up and seized and it rendered me unable to steer my vehicle and caused me to steer into a road sign and crash. It caused considerable damage to the front of the car as well as the radiator and under carriage of the car. GM has known of the defect, but is unwilling to recall and repair or replace the problem. I was instructed to write this letter and file a clain with the NHTSA to have an investigation lodged in an attempt to have this problem repaired by GM by force. The failure happens now almost every other day and is starting to happen more frequently. The steering locks up all of a sudden with no prior warnings. Although if you stop the car, turn it off, and restart the car, the problem goes away, only to happen again at a later time with no warning.the dealer claims that GM has not recalled the problem and that the problem can be fixed for around $1000 to replace the steering column and sensor. According to previous owners, they have paid the $1000 to have the repair, only to have the same thing happen again in a few months.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #24

May 302010

Malibu

  • miles
I started the car to cool off during a hot day, and the steering wheel started twitching back and forth, and while driving the steering will lock up, or twitch back and forth. I've taken it to 2 Chevy dealers and it's going to cost around $900 to fix. They claim that it's a common occurrence, and they are constantly fixing this issue.

- Gause, TX, USA

problem #23

Aug 102007

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We do not like the electronic steering, the car does not hold the road well, we've had no accidents with it, but when we had it checked at the dealers they told us it was ok.. we still are not happy with it.

- Freeland, WA, USA

problem #22

Mar 152010

Malibu

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when the power steering failed which caused the contact to lose control of the steering wheel into someones yard. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. There were not related recalls. The technician stated that there would be a service charge for the repairs performed on the vehicle and diagnostic testing. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage were 58,000.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Feb 152010

Malibu

  • 86,000 miles
Loss of power steering. Happened 3 times in 3 months so far. Called local dealer and sounds like same issue as the cobalt. Said no recall because different components.

- Demotte, IN, USA

problem #20

Jan 112010

Malibu

  • 50,926 miles
When making sharp turns or parallel parking steering gets tight and power steering light on dash illuminates. Code# C0460 retrieved need to replace power steering module. Replaced power steering control module.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 202009

Malibu

  • 48,000 miles
On my 2007 Chevrolet Malibu ltz the electronic power steering motor shuts off while driving at anytime, only way to get power back to steering is to shuts off vehicle and restart it, but only works for 5 to 10 minutes again and will do the same thing, almost got into accidents at least 5 times when shuts off while steering, but does go off all the time. Took it to 2 Chevrolet dealership and both denied to be a safety issue cover by warranty and that I should pay them $980 for repairs. Steering rack was replaced twice but the problem was diagnosed later is the steering motor/module. I even contact GM and they acted like they could fix it for me, they even sent me to another dealership in my area for "proper diagnosis", I remained them that I knew what the problem was and what was need it to repair but they told me to go ahead and drop my car with them and let them diagnose the problem, 7 days later I got a called form the dealer saying that the repair will cost me around $900 (which I knew that was what they charge). I told them that GM sent me to them and they will contact them, I asked GM again and they said that they receive the work order but they were sorry but they were not going to assist me with my issue because vehicle was over warranty. My car is a 2007 and the first time I complaint was on 2009. When offcourse warranty was still in effect (car has 100,000 miles warranty but only covers engine and transmission). The only reason GM acted like they were concerned was because I filed a complaint with the BBB, because I contact them before I contact the BBB and they refuse even to talk about it. After I filed the complaint with the BBB magically they called me and pretend they were concerned. Anyway after they denied to cover the repairs I went to pick my car up and the dealer wanted to charge me $150. I denied to pay because GM sent me I didn't request the diagnosis, I paid it once already. Anyway now GM recalls a cobalt with same issue but not Malibu.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 042010

Malibu

  • 65,000 miles
Yesterday I note that GM will be recalling 1.3 million vehicles owing to a problem with the power steering electric motor with this recall being driven by NHTSA. Will the 2007 GM Malibu be included? since August 2009, my 2007 GM Malibu sedan has developed a "clunking noise" coming from the steering column. In September, 2009 we had a 'lube kit' installed which was suppose to eliminate the clunking. However during November the clunking noise returned aggravated by periodic error messages that state there may be a problem with the electric steering motor. During servicing on Jan 4, 2010 the dealer recommends that the "electric motor, steering shaft and column be replaced". however upon several discussions with GM headquarters in oshawa, onto, I am told that " there is an unresolved design problem with the mechanism and any replacement at this time will only be temporary". also "because of no known serious accidents contributed to the mechanism, there will be no recalls or coverage under warranty". upon reviewing a multitude of complaints on the internet (eg: www.carcomplaints.com, etc.) I note that this is a very common problem with this vehicle and with similar responses from GM.

- Cambridge, Ont., Canada, 00, USA

problem #17

Dec 212009

Malibu

  • 65,000 miles
Chevy needs to widen recent recall of 1.3 million compact cars to include the Malibu. I have a 2007 Chevy Malibu that is currently experiencing all the issues that is included in the recall of the compact cars. My vehicle steering wheel vibrates hard in park at times. On the road, the power steering assist is lost and makes the vehicle hard to hold on the road. There is no warning, the message center displays power steering. Took to dealership, they said the power steering motor and steering column needs replacing @ a cost of $750. This is a 2007 vehicle, there is no way that the entire steering column needs to be replaced. I have owned several older Chevy models, and none of the have this problem. The dealer states that majority of Chevy cars made after 2005 has required some type of repair or replacement in the steering area. Why is this issue being ignored by Chevy?

- Bladenboro , NC, USA

problem #16

Sep 142008

Malibu

  • 34,000 miles
Steering problems happening on a 2007 Chevy Malibu...starting approx. One and a half years ago...fall of 2008....taken to a certified Chevrolet dealer twice it has been "fixed" on 2-24-10..power steering gone out again while pulling into a parking lot, could not steer vehicle...quite a safety hazard.

- Cairo, MO, USA

problem #15

Feb 242010

Malibu

  • 90 miles
I have had my Malibu for 3 years and I have 119,000 miles on it. After about 90,000 miles there was a popping clunking in the steering when I turn left or rights and when in reverse. Repair shop says a bulletin was issued by GM and they have the part to fix it. Cost is about $300. There are many other reports of this problem on your site.

- Denton, MD, USA

problem #14

Feb 222007

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 45 mph and various speeds the power steering failed intermittently whenever he accelerated and made a left or right turn. He also noticed a clicking noise behind the dashboard and immediately it became difficult to turn the steering wheel. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. He called the manufacturer and a representative gave him a claim number in reference to the failure. The current mileage was approximately 72,800. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?