Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 9 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #279

Dec 152014

Malibu

  • 52,754 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several years after the repair. The failure mileage was 52,754. Updated 2/9/15

- Sugar Valley, GA, USA

problem #278

Dec 122014

Malibu

  • 74,001 miles
Temporarily lost control of vehicle veering off to the left across yellow line, luckily another vehicle was not in lane. This issue/problem is intermittent and almost on a weekly basis.

- Hooks, TX, USA

problem #277

Dec 132014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
My vehicle's steering wheel locked up, making it very hard to steer the vehicle left or right, and a message went across my screen reading "power steering". when my steering wheel is not locked up, it continuously jumps in my hands. I am pretty sure this is all due to the electric power steering giving out, just like in the recalls given for the other Chevrolet Malibu, unfortunately, my 2007 was one of the models left out of this recall, when I am positive it has the same defect as the others recalled. The description of what happens in these situations matches mine to the tee. The risks are the same as well, I am in just as much danger as those others driving that did get recalls. The difficulty steering makes it hard to swerve out of the way when in an emergency, as every turn requires a lot of muscle. I am asking anyone in charge to please, review this and include the 2007 in the power steering recall.

- Toms Brook , VA, USA

problem #276

Dec 062014

Malibu

  • 109,528 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 65 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The failure mileage was 109,528...updated 01/22/15

- Edwardsville , KS, USA

problem #275

Dec 092014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
We had tried several times to get our car fixed from the safety recall notice, but the dealership either said we don't have the parts available, or didn't think there was a recall in effect for our car (despite having the letter). On three occasions the steering locked, making it difficult to turn tight corners, one time resulting in a scrape on the bumper. Frustrating as we have tried to rectify this, but have been unable to do so because of the unhelpful dealership.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #274

Jan 202010

Malibu

  • 72,005 miles
I purchase this car in 2009 in 2010 I was driving and the steering wheel lock up and then there was a display on the radio power steering I did not have any power steering. So I take the car to the dealer to see what going on and they told me I needed a power steering motor and shaft on steering column worn so I ask is there a recall for this and they said no not on your car.ok so I paid $801.99 to have the car repaired so in Dec,2014 I was driving to work and the same thing happen again my steering wheel lock up it was hard for me to keep the car in the lane because the steering wheel would jerk and to turn was very hard so I called GM corporate office to file a complaint are to see if there is a recall. Only on 04,05,06,08,09 but not the 2007.but when I google power steering on the Malibu all these cars had done the same as mine but there is no recall for 07 Malibu. So corporate tells me to take the car to the dealer to get diagnoses and now its the torque sensor which is still in the steering column GM cant pay for it because it a different code then the first time it happen I think it is very dangerous to be driving and the steering wheel lock up while you are driving there should be a recall on 2007 Malibu power steering and torque sensor.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #273

Dec 062014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering comes & goes. At this point I have no power steering!

- Portage, WI, USA

problem #272

Nov 182014

Malibu

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving various speeds, the power steering warning light suddenly displayed. The power steering malfunctioned and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. After turning off the engine and restarting the vehicle, the power steering would operate as normal before eventually malfunctioning again. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #271

Nov 142014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 126,858 miles
While drive the power steering went out while turning and almost crashed. Thankfully I was able to stop in time.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #270

Sep 272014

Malibu

  • 105,000 miles
I got a recall for my 2007 Chevy Malibu to fix a safety problem with brake lights. My vehicle was experiencing no problems when I took it to the dealer to have the recall work done, but I just wanted to keep it safe. However, about a mile after leaving the dealer, and on my way home, I went to make a left hand turn and the power steering failed. The car became very hard to steer and it was all I could do to keep it on the road. The problem persisted the next couple days but then seemed to go away. Since that time it is an intermittent problem that I can't predict. If I pull off to the side of the road and turn the car off and restart it, the steering seems to "reset" and it is ok until I make the next turn. The dealer said the problem was "unrelated to the recall" so I called GM on the phone and they gave me a case number but in the end they did not want to cover me even for just the expense of diagnosing the problem. I think this problem is a lot more dangerous than the other issues for which they have had recalls. I hope and pray that no one is going onto an on-ramp or similar situation and veers into another car because of this problem.

- Catawissa, PA, USA

problem #269

Nov 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 95,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failed without notice.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #268

Nov 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,700 miles
I have had my car for about 4 months. Two weeks ago I was driving up hill and trying to go around a corner. In putting on the brake to accelerate my car started beeping, my steering wheel locked and wouldn't let me turn, and power steering flashed across my radio. I let off the gas and my steering wheel unlocked but as soon as I touched the gas pedal again same thing happened. I missed going off the road by inches. I had the car in the garage and apparently this car model intermittently sends more voltage than needed so the car doesn't know what to do and locks the steering. Garage thought they fixed the problem and a week later same thing happened and yet again I almost went off the road. Needless to say now I'm petrified to drive my own car!!

- Tunkhannock, PA, USA

problem #267

Feb 202014

Malibu

  • 189,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph attempting to make a right turn, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle the was towed to an independent mechanic. The power steering pump was replaced but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed back to the independent mechanic where the power steering pump, rack and pinion, and two pressure lines were replaced. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 189,000.

- Hilliard , OH, USA

problem #266

Oct 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn and the steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was restarted and operated normally. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 12/01/14

- Piedmont, OH, USA

problem #265

Mar 152014

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Bloomer, WI, USA

problem #264

Sep 222014

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles
My car has been flashing the power steering icon intermittently, the alarm will cease if you turn the car off and back on. Just a few days ago I noticed the power steering going out. The steering wheel will jerk to the left if you go faster than 55 mph. It will also shake to the right and left while in park. It becomes difficult to keep my car in its lane, and is quite terrifying. I went to the dealership to find out there is a recall on the years before and after the 2007 Malibu but not the 2007. I am submitting this complaint in the hopes that more research will be done to include the year 2007 as my mother also owns the same model (we bought them when my father passed away so we could be safe) and is having the exact same problem. I don't' feel that this can be a coincidence. Please help us in any way that you possibly can.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #263

Mar 312014

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle veered to the left and the steering wheel became difficult to control. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #262

Mar 132014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
I was driving on the highway then all of a sudden the car beeps and the power steering stops in the steering column and power steering flashes on the stereo screen. When I stop the car and start it back the power steering works fine. Sometimes it works as it should and sometimes it stops working mostly at higher speeds. I'll cut the car off at different times then restart it and the power steering works fine. It goes in and out often.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #261

Jul 012014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel would independently veer to the left or right. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering module had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #260

Aug 222014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 103,700 miles
My power steering went out, I was told no recall for 2007 model. I took it to the weisner GM dealership and paid $721.03 to have steering motor and module replaced on 08/21/14. I picked the car up at 5:30pm the same day, as soon as I started home I knew something was wrong. I immediately called but the service manager, [xxx], had left. I left him a voicemail. He called me the next morning and left me a voicemail explaining that GM was not responsible for everything that could be wrong with my car, rudely! I called him back and he again started a rant, I asked him to please listen to me, the customer. He said the earliest he could get my car in will be 08/25/14. On Friday I drove my car for work, I am a courier. In the afternoon around 3:30 while I was making a turn the chimes sounded and my power steering went out again! I called him, [xxx], back and told him that I was in a turn at the time and almost hit a barrier. He said he could not do anything until he gets the car back. I told him I tried to get the car back to him but he refused and said he didn't have any time until Monday, 08/25. I have explained to him, from the beginning, that I am a courier and am on the road at least 6 hours/day and that I really feel this is a safety issue and that I was afraid of having a wreck but I cannot afford not to work since my husband passed away 2 months ago. He said he had no loaner cars. I called the 866 number for customer care and spoke with kelsey who opened a ticket and escalated it. I should hear something on Monday, I hope. I do not think any repairs were done to steering...lack of communication" management" I just don't know. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Spring, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?