Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 9 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #293

Jan 152015

Malibu

  • 143,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the power steering failed and as a result required excessive force to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 143,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #292

Jan 152015

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the power steering seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Glendview, IL, USA

problem #291

Mar 142014

Malibu

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph and making a right turn, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver. The engine and power steering warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Palapine, IL, USA

problem #290

May 142014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that after shutting the vehicle off and restarting it, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000. Updated 5/12/15 updated 03/17/15

- Lancaster , OH, USA

problem #289

Jan 082015

Malibu

  • 106,342 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering warning light remained illuminated and the steering would independently veer to the left or right. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,342.

- Reston , VA, USA

problem #288

Jan 102015

Malibu

  • miles
Power steering has gone out while on highway. Steering wheel prior to steering going out moving on its own. Unsafe to drive.

- Lock[Rot, IL, USA

problem #287

Jan 032015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving and the power steering completely failed. She had to muscle the car to turn it around to drive back home. Mechanic is saying the recall skips 2007 series. Taking it in for a second opinion. Had to rent a car because dealers can't even get it in to check it out.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #286

Sep 162014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While the vehicle was in operation, the air bag sensor illuminated and the power steering malfunctioned. The steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the power steering position sensor kit was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 02/18/15 updated 10/2/2015

- Denmark, SC, USA

problem #285

Dec 192014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 115,350 miles
Power steering failed while driving. Steering the car became difficult. Problem happened while on a freeway off ramp. This condition required both hands on the wheel to control vehicle. This condition could easily have caused a crash. Took vehicle to Chevrolet dealer for service. Steering column needed to be replaced. Dealer was surprised this vehicle was not included under a previous General Motors power steering recall. It appears this is the only year not included in a previous 2004-2009 recall for steering problems. It is the opinion of the dealer and myself, the this year should also be included in the recall.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #284

Mar 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
My steering wheel began to move slightly left and right on its own. It also had a loose and wobbly feeling to it. Took it to my mechanic and he fixed the problem. My second incident occurred on 1/2/2015. My steering completely went out while I was driving.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #283

Dec 252014

Malibu

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Hopkinsville, KY, USA

problem #282

Dec 182014

Malibu

  • 56,379 miles
Battery light came on 1 day prior. Steering wheel locked, then jerked to center and vehicle veered to the left. Steering was manual and difficult to control while moving. Almost hit a house while turning right. When turning left to approach driveway almost hit a parked car. I was going less than 10 mph as I was making turns.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #281

Dec 132014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
My wife was making a left hand turn in our 2007 Chevy Malibu when the power steering assist went out making the car very hard to steer (nearly crashed). The radio display on the center dash displays "power steering". the power steering just randomly goes out. When the car is turned off and then turned back on the power steering works again. A few turns later the power steering goes out again. This is extremely dangerous and could cause a major accident. This description is identical to the issue that GM had with the '05, '06, '08 & '09 Chevy Malibu (which now have recalls). The '07 Malibu have been left out of the recall but obviously have the same issue.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #280

Jan 202010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 55 miles
I was driving my car and the power steering lock up it was hard for me to turn and a display appear on my radio power steering so I took the car to the dealer and they diagnosed it stating that the power steering motor had went out and something about the steering column the shaft was bad this was in 2010. Again I was driving my car this is in 2014 the same thing happen I take the car to the same dealer and they diagnose it this time as a torque sensors but I new something was wrong they did not want the codes to be the same as before so they used another code which is the torque sensors. So I take the car to another Chevy dealer and they diagnose the car and said the power steering motor is bad and the steering column is bad just like in 2010 and I no that this dealer is right because the car done the same thing as it did in 2014 as it did in 2010 the first dealer was trying to cover up that it was the same thing so they used different codes. I talk to GM and they agree with the first dealer and said there is nothing they can do I also wrote a letter to [xxx] but I don't think she got it only the sec. I think its sad that they no that there's problem with these cars the 2007 Malibu and wont do anything about it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #279

Dec 152014

Malibu

  • 52,754 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several years after the repair. The failure mileage was 52,754. Updated 2/9/15

- Sugar Valley, GA, USA

problem #278

Dec 122014

Malibu

  • 74,001 miles
Temporarily lost control of vehicle veering off to the left across yellow line, luckily another vehicle was not in lane. This issue/problem is intermittent and almost on a weekly basis.

- Hooks, TX, USA

problem #277

Dec 132014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
My vehicle's steering wheel locked up, making it very hard to steer the vehicle left or right, and a message went across my screen reading "power steering". when my steering wheel is not locked up, it continuously jumps in my hands. I am pretty sure this is all due to the electric power steering giving out, just like in the recalls given for the other Chevrolet Malibu, unfortunately, my 2007 was one of the models left out of this recall, when I am positive it has the same defect as the others recalled. The description of what happens in these situations matches mine to the tee. The risks are the same as well, I am in just as much danger as those others driving that did get recalls. The difficulty steering makes it hard to swerve out of the way when in an emergency, as every turn requires a lot of muscle. I am asking anyone in charge to please, review this and include the 2007 in the power steering recall.

- Toms Brook , VA, USA

problem #276

Dec 062014

Malibu

  • 109,528 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 65 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The failure mileage was 109,528...updated 01/22/15

- Edwardsville , KS, USA

problem #275

Dec 092014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
We had tried several times to get our car fixed from the safety recall notice, but the dealership either said we don't have the parts available, or didn't think there was a recall in effect for our car (despite having the letter). On three occasions the steering locked, making it difficult to turn tight corners, one time resulting in a scrape on the bumper. Frustrating as we have tried to rectify this, but have been unable to do so because of the unhelpful dealership.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #274

Jan 202010

Malibu

  • 72,005 miles
I purchase this car in 2009 in 2010 I was driving and the steering wheel lock up and then there was a display on the radio power steering I did not have any power steering. So I take the car to the dealer to see what going on and they told me I needed a power steering motor and shaft on steering column worn so I ask is there a recall for this and they said no not on your car.ok so I paid $801.99 to have the car repaired so in Dec,2014 I was driving to work and the same thing happen again my steering wheel lock up it was hard for me to keep the car in the lane because the steering wheel would jerk and to turn was very hard so I called GM corporate office to file a complaint are to see if there is a recall. Only on 04,05,06,08,09 but not the 2007.but when I google power steering on the Malibu all these cars had done the same as mine but there is no recall for 07 Malibu. So corporate tells me to take the car to the dealer to get diagnoses and now its the torque sensor which is still in the steering column GM cant pay for it because it a different code then the first time it happen I think it is very dangerous to be driving and the steering wheel lock up while you are driving there should be a recall on 2007 Malibu power steering and torque sensor.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?