Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #17

Sep 242016


  • 89,000 miles


I intermittently lose power steering, now it is happening every time I drive the vehicle and it is not safe. The wheel begins to take over for its self, so to speak. The wheel will shake some times aggressively enough to be pulling me whichever way it pleases. It even does this at an idle, the VIN is pulling up no recall but the articles on this subject say it is included in the expansion of the recall. I just bought the vehicle Sept 24, 2016

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 202014


  • 177,000 miles
When driving or turning car there is a clunking, cracking noises coming from under car. When driving on highway the car pulls to the other side or jerks. I brought car used and the cracking clunking noises is getting worse. I need to know if this a recall because it will cost a lot to fix it.

- Lake City, SC, USA

problem #15

May 162015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The 'tight steering' has caused my fingers to develop curvatures and twisted and enlarged arthritic knuckles. It is causing my shoulders to become painful requiring physical therapy. Carpal tunnel from the MINItrauma pushing and jerking the steering wheel to overcome its resistance to turn. (nexteer calls this 'torque overlay' and this torque overlay is effecting many other people like myself. My friends that drive a Malibu, Chrysler, Cadillac, and other vehicles with steering that can't be turned with one finger (too tight) are having numerous back/neck Fusion operation as I have. The stiff suspension results in 300+ shaking forces traveling through my body. Not a smooth soft-riding vehicles. These 300+ shaking forces cause my back, hips, neck to develop pain. My stomach become upset from the bouncing. The suspension is hard (like race car). The seating is hard molded foam which does not prevent these shaking/bouncing/jerking force from reaching my body and organs. Here is a link to my web site which has pictures of adults injuries from the tight 'torque overlay' steering. this is a link to the back injuries caused by the tight 'torque overlay' steering and the stiff suspensions. additional information is on module 2 and all six (6) line items. Please contact me with a contact confirmation complaint number. I have additional information/pictures that I will put into a report and send this to dr. [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 7/23/15 updated 11/9/2015

- Gagetown, MI, USA

problem #14

Jan 232015


  • 68,000 miles


I was pulling out of my driveway in my 2007 Chevy Malibu and couldn't cut the wheel in any direction. Power steering was totally out. The radio was scrolling "power steering", but had no idea what was going on. Managed to get to a gas station and then after many of us looking at it realized it was an electrical power steering unit. Was going to get it towed, but when starting it up again, it worked fine. Intermittent problem. This is so dangerous! my car only has a little over 68,000 miles on it. Dealer said that this is common, but the 2007 was not covered by the recall - all other years besides '07. I needed a new steering torque sensor. Cost $500 to replace. Seems crazy with such a known problem and low miles that GM excluded this year in the recall. So disappointed!

- Saint Charles , MO, USA

problem #13

Sep 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I did not have a crash, or driving incident. This complaint is due to the following: I received the recall (14152) letter back in June of 2014. The needed part was not available at that time so I waited for another letter to come and finally received a month or so later (August). I took my car to the wesley chapel GM dealer and they completed the recall work for free. Although, they ended up charging me $2,400 for electrical, and fuse damage to my car that they say was not related to this recall, although based on everything I have read I believe these charges were a reflection of the recall. My hands were tied as I need my car so I paid the fee at the dealership and called GM and had them open up a ticket to look into my issue, charges, and what the dealership fixed. GM responded to me that they could not help me. Now, thinking all of this was behind me, I receive another recall letter with the same recall number this month (Jan 2015), now telling me I still have an open recall. When I put my VIN number into the system it still reflects this as an open recall on my car. I'm so confused, and really feel like im being taken advantage of by GM, and the dealership. I refuse to take the car back to the dealership as they will find another way to charge me when this is all GM's responsibility. At this point I have no idea what to do, nor do I even know if my car is safe to drive or not.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 312014


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the traction control and ABS sensors illuminated intermittently. The vehicle swayed and the suspension was unstable. An independent mechanic was unable to duplicate the failures. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and did not know when the parts would arrive. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

May 152014


  • 123,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling 40 mph, the traction control light and service notification light illuminated on the instrument panel before the vehicle decelerated to 20 mph. The contact mentioned that the vehicle started to vibrate and after depressing the accelerator pedal the vehicle resumed normal functioned. The failure occurred on ten different occasion. The manufacturer was notified and did not offer a remedy. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 123,000 and the current mileage was 124,000.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #10

Mar 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
With all the complaints on power steering problems on the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu, that are the same as other year Malibu, are you waiting for an accident before recalling this vehicle?

- Larsen, WI, USA

problem #9

Apr 012007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Clunk, knock or rattle noise from front of vehicle while driving or turning over bumps at low speeds. Repair never offered at warranty ran out. The problem still exist and I have been assured by dealer GM this is safe. Do you have any additional info, as to why 2007 were excluded from recall?

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 152010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
When braking for a stop the car shudders and shakes. The steering wheel vibrates and the sounds are horrible. It sounds as if the dashboard is going to fall out on your lap. We have had the brakes serviced on multiple occasions (rotors replaced, turned) and at one time the front axle was replaced being suspected of being bent. (it wasn't. cost $1600+) there are many stories of this occurrence on the internet forums and nothing is being done about it by the manufacturer. We own cars that are freaking scary to drive and impossible to sell. Having to stop in an emergency or very quickly may not even be possible the shaking is so violent.

- Mount Pleasant, UT, USA

problem #7

Mar 152013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


I was driving along and heard a loud popping noise and I thought I may have ran over a plastic bottle. I was not driving fast I was on a main street heading towards the ramp to get onto the highway. I later heard clunking noise from the rear of the car. I thought at first maybe it was something in my trunk. Knowing I didn't have much in the trunk I looked and didn't find anything that could be making that noise. All week I heard this noise while driving to work. I brought my car to sears & the mechanic took me into their service area to show me that the spring was snapped and that is where the noise was coming from. It was snapped on the bottom half of the spring - rear passenger side. I asked the mechanic how typical was this problem and he told me only a month ago he fixed another Malibu with the same problem - but the other Malibu had less mileage approx 80,000. I was given an estimate - and it's free of charge to look vehicle over. I went to Chevy dealer they want to charge before they look @ the car and if you decide to go with their price they'll apply that amount to your bill. If they don't do the work - your out of that money. How can they do that" also the air bag light will occasionally come on and my fob's are not working - I was told the factory fob's might have to be reset" also an additional charge to look at. Thanks Chevy - but no thanks! charging your customers to look at a vehicle purchased brand new from your company - shame on you!!

- North Kingstown, RI, USA

problem #6

Oct 152011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit abnormal noises when steering and driving over bumps at approximately 30 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the front stabilizer bar was faulty and the front calipers were not properly releasing. The contact was also informed that the front calipers were burned and creating a fire hazard. In addition, the contact was informed that the master cylinder may be defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. Updated 03/05/12 the consumer stated white smoke emitted from the wheels and brake area. Also, the vehicle would not go over 10 mph. Updated 03/07/12

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #5

Oct 202009


  • 75,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle started to vibrate from the suspension. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer advised that the tires needed to be replaced. The tires were replaced but the vibration persisted. The contact took the vehicle to a second dealer where the contact was advised that the hub assembly needed repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,600.

- Kinston , NC, USA

problem #4

Oct 012008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving at 25 mph when the vehicle exhibited a popping noise at the front end and the wheels wobbled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the intermediate steering shaft. The dealer replaced the steering shaft and the tires were replaced several times, but the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer for further inspection. The dealer performed a second diagnostic that located the failure as the front lower ball joint, tie rods and the steering column having to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 34,000 and the current mileage was 76,600. Updated11/29/11 updated 12/02/11

- Uniontown , PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 45,341 miles
Mid-June, 2011:vehicle was making a roaring noise: The result was that the front wheel bearings were broken end of August 2011: Difficulty turning the steering wheel accompanied by a loud grinding sound, the result was that the steering shaft and outer tie rod were broken and had to be replaced. September 2011: Extreme difficulty applying brakes, on occasion would appear normal. Had 3 brake inspections done within a week and a half period. When brakes no longer would operate, tit was determined that the master cylinder needed to be replaced.4.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Mar 312008


  • 33,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Malibu. I bought the car 2 1/2 yrs. Ago. It had 12,000 miles on it at the time. We were told at 33,000 miles that it needed a new steering gear, which we did, then at 35,000 miles a strut was replaced, then in 2009 another steering gear was put in and also a few months later it was yet again doing the same thing so they greased it..... now they say we need a steering shaft put in.....GM should recall all these vehicles.....I for one am filing a complaint with the BBB and will never own a GM product again....I as well, will do my best to deter anyone I know from owning a GM product!

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #1

Jul 172009

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. In 2008, the contact heard a clunking noise whenever she turned the vehicle left or right. The vehicle was taken in for service and the strut was replaced. The noise returned and the contact took the vehicle back to the repair shop. She was informed that the failure was not that severe to have to replace the strut again. Currently, the noise still persists occasionally. The failure mileage was 61,000. Updated 09/01/09. The consumer stated there was a noise coming from the steering when turning from a stop. Updated 09/03/09.

- Minden, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?