Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Oct 102016

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights remained illuminated even if brake pedal was not pushed, both while stationary and in motion. Traction control was disabled while in motion. Body control module was malfunctioning and had to be replaced. Brake lights remained illuminated on all roads, in all conditions, and at all times. Traction control was disabled primarily on city streets but sometimes on highways. The Chevrolet dealer service department said the cause was a malfunctioning body control module and had to replace it. The problems with the car are the same as those in NHTSA campaign number 14V252000, although a search by VIN reveals no outstanding recalls. The vehicle is currently undergoing repair and I will have repair invoices after the repairs are completed.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #40

Aug 032016

Malibu

  • 180,000 miles
Took vehicle to local dealership because brake lights were not working. They informed me that vehicle had a recall on the brake pedal position switch system. They performed the recall. Brake lights worked for about 2 months, then quit working again. They then informed me that since the recall was already completed that this repair would be out of pocket. They informed me that the body control module was defective and I would need to replace this. I purchased the module, had GM dealership program it and they replaced the brake light switch also. Now the brake lights only work under hard braking. They have recalibrate do the brake pedal position sensor numerous times. The lights will work as should until vehicle is parked for 2 hours or more, then they start only working under hard braking conditions. Recalibrate the sensor and they work fine until vehicle sits parked

- Lancaster, KY, USA

problem #39

Apr 012016

Malibu

  • 25,287 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake system was defective and engaged independently while driving various speeds. The contact was able to engage the brake pedal and regain normal brake function. The low traction control and service electronic speed control lights illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that two washers located at the rear brake booster pedal needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 25,287.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #38

Dec 312015

Malibu

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light comes on.engine power reduced 99 %.sometimes engine dies while driving 40-55 mph.engine code P2135 is displayed on my code reader. The problem goes away after cycling the ignition switch several times.car is un-reliable.this problem can cause you to crash the car.I was driving on the highway and city street when this happened.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #37

Nov 202015

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the contact was notified that the brake lights failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the brake light illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 ( electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the BCM module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Camp Hill, PA, USA

problem #36

Dec 072013

Malibu

  • 159,734 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that when the ignition key was turned to the start position, the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. While driving at various speeds, when the brake pedal was depressed, there was an abnormal sound coming from the front of the vehicle and the brake pedal vibrated and hesitated to respond without warning. On a separate occasion, while driving at various speeds, the vehicle jerked forward independently without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 159,734. The VIN was unavailable.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #35

Mar 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the ESC and traction control warning lights illuminated. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed but the brake lights failed to illuminate. The brake lights illuminated independently without the brake pedal being depressed. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000. Update 01/15/16

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #34

Feb 232015

Malibu

  • miles
Dropped the car off at 12:00 noon on 07/23/15 for safety recalls (13036) and (14152) mickey said the car was ready my son and I picked it up, he drove home, loaded up, and made it to waco, tx. My son called me and said he could not put it in park or get the key out. I borrowed my neighbors trailer drove to waco it was dark so I just loaded up the car strapped it down and drove home mickey had called and said that the technician thought he: At first he started to say misplaced but then changed it to, left a clip out and to bring the car back but not to worry it would be safe to drive when I opened the hood in the morning to my surprise I found the clip tool that the technician left on top of the trans-axle wedged tightly between the shift cam and transaxle assembly I can tolerate ineptness but I can't tolerate being lied to if the clip was a problem that is the part that affects the recall in the first place, unsafe! if mickey was covering up for the technician's mistake of leaving the tool he used under the hood, at my son's expense that won┐T be tolerated I will take the car to capital Chevrolet Tuesday morning to check for any damage. Also the under panel was not secured correctly and a nut left out. I won't be answering the phone please make all correspondence by E-mail. On 07/28/15 at 9:00 I took the car over to capitol Chevrolet 6200 ih 35 austin, tx 78745 to inspect and check for damage after the tool left in the engine compartment was removed from the transaxle assembly the technician terry hamilton said there was no apparent damage but that the cable should of been connected by a clip not a worm gear clamp due to the chance of over tighten that could damage the cable assembly if the clip was truly forgotten did the gear clamp install itself? I sent an E-mail to chance covert (general manager) informing him of my experience

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #33

Apr 062015

Malibu

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 25 mph, the service traction light illuminated and the brake lights illuminated intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle slowed down and was hesitant to accelerate after a significant amount of pressure was applied to the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was repaired, but the issue recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Stanton Island , NY, USA

problem #32

Aug 222015

Malibu

  • 123,000 miles
I was driving my Chevy Malibu and started to fell my car start to shake violently and then my service ESC was populating on the dash and traction control had been lost in the car. I was having difficulty breaking as if the ABS break system was not working in the car.I got the car to the side of the road and ended up hitting a guard rail. I then found out that it was multiple recalls issued on my vehicle and I called the Chevrolet customer support to discuss the current recall which appeared to be the issue. I was instructed that I could drop my car off at best Chevrolet service center and they were aware of the recall and would assist me. I dropped my car off, explained the situation. They called me to let me know the recall wasn't the issue even thought everything I experienced was listed in the recall.

- District Heights, MD, USA

problem #31

Jul 172015

Malibu

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear brake lights illuminate when brake pedal not applied. Also affects cruise control. I almost got in an accident on busy highway. Apparently my brake lights had been on and when I needed to slow down, I pressed the brake pedal and my lights went out. I came very close to be rear-ended. I see this is a common problem but my VIN does not show as being in recall for issue.

- Dawson, MN, USA

problem #30

Jan 302013

Malibu

  • 48,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle and noticed my check ESC check traction control light came on in my driver notification panel. When I got home I noticed that my rear brake lights were on and I wasnt even in the vehicle pressing on the brake. So I took it for a test drive and noticed that the brake lights would come on without me hitting the brakes and then when I did hit the brakes the brake lights would not come on. This has been in the shop for the fifth time now for the same thing. Huge safety concern when your brake lights are not working.

- Heath, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 082015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
On Sunday March 8th, 2015 I turned my car about 7 pm in the evening to realize that the engine light was on, service ESC was populating on the dash and traction control had been lost in the car. I was having difficulty braking as if the ABS brake system was not working in the car. I drove it immediately home from work and parked it at my home address. On Monday morning at 7:30 am I called the Chevrolet customer support to discuss the current recall which appeared to be the issue. I was instructed that I could drop my car off at best Chevrolet and they were aware of the recall and would assist me. I dropped my car off, explained the situation, I also asked them to quote a price on a leak and left. They called me to let me know the recall wasn't the issue even thought everything I experienced was listed in the recall. They held my car for two extra days after the car was no longer displaying the check engine light and no one informed me.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #28

Oct 192014

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to function. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags deployed however, the contact sustained minor cuts and bruises to the hands that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Dunbar, WV, USA

problem #27

Sep 232014

Malibu

  • 124,169 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the check engine and ABS warning lights illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that when the front driver seat was adjusted, all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. While at a traffic stop, the brake was applied but the vehicle accelerated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 124,169.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #26

Sep 122012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 8,945 miles
Both hoses busted. They were replaced GM parts. Same thing happened 10/28/14. Backing out from parking about 2 mph and heard a noise and the brake pedal went to the floor. Both hoses busted again, same car.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #25

Jul 102014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the brakes failed. The vehicle crossed an intersection and crashed into an iron fence. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver and passenger did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Lafayette , CA, USA

problem #24

Nov 012013

Malibu

  • 93,000 miles
Everything everyone has been complaining about is wrong with my car. The alarm doesn't work. We have to manually lock the doors sometimes. Brake lights comes on and off as it wants. Just recently, 05/15/14 the car had been really slow at picking up. It was really hard to get the car to reach 60mph. But some days it'll pick up ok too? I hope they fix these issues sooner. Really disappointed.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #23

Jun 092014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Someone following me to work informed me my brake lights were on as I was driving on the highway but when I stopped at the street light, they would go off. Now my engine light is on and the warning to service my traction control and ESC system is on. The cruise control isn't working properly all the time. I googled the brake light issue and found a recall for my year of car that can cause my other issues. I called GM and was told by [xxx] that my car is included in this and transferred me to the nearest dealer to make an appt for my car repairs. The dealer said there isn't a recall for these issues but I am under a recall for the power steering recall! they do not have the parts but I can keep calling and checking. I then called GM back spoke to [xxx] who advised there isn't a recall for the brake light yet. It is upcoming soon they are in the first stage of this. No time frame when it will happen. I asked what do I do in the meantime with this unsafe car. She said I can get it fixed at my expense. I questioned if I would be reimbursed once they issue the recall. She answered no promise they will. Later that day the dealership service manager called saying GM told him to call me! we could make an appt to check my car, pay out of pocket, keep receipt, and if the recall includes my parts, I will be reimbursed or I can try to hold out for recall. I am beyond frustrated. I'm under an active recall but no part to fix it and this other in beginning stages. This light issue happened to me in October 2013. I bought a new brake switch, had it replaced by a certified mechanic. Now months later I have the same brake light issue but also my cruise control, ESC warning and traction control. The best part when I asked [xxx] at GM what if I am in an accident because you are dragging this out. She replied you should call us back after your accident. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 1/14/2015

- Sherman, IL, USA

problem #22

Aug 082012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When I would be driving my brake lights would be illuminated. When I would brake at stop, my brake lights would not illuminate. I was almost rear ended many many times. Traction control error kept coming on for a minute and then would go off. I've gotten it fixed and the problem has recurred again. Although there is now a recall for these issues for the 08 Malibu the dealership says my VIN# is not included.

- Watertown, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?