Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
67,593 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #269

Jan 082016

Malibu

  • 95,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electronic power steering assist system keeps failing. Recall was replace in early 2015 and again was in the dealer on 12/30/15 for the same problem with power steering failing. On 1/08/15 the power steering system yet again failed and this time this power steering failure caused the car to go into the ditch and through a barb wire feance. This has been a ongoing problem with my car and General Motors does not seem to have some kind of fix or does not want to admit there car has this problem. I have the documents from the dealer where it was soposed to be fixed on 12/30/15.

- Frederic, CO, USA

problem #268

Jan 052016

Malibu

  • 172,882 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 65 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was shut off and restarted, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 172,882. Updated 05/10/16

- Afton, OK, USA

problem #267

Dec 222014

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized while all the warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the front seat passenger air bag warning light was remained illuminated. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #266

Dec 152015

Malibu

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while attempting to make a left turn at a low speed, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The contact mentioned that a power steering message displayed. As a result, the contact crashed into a curb and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and the contact did not sustain any injuries that required medical attention. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor assembly and motor control unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was not included NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Little Rock, CA, USA

problem #265

Nov 282015

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
While driving on the city streets my vehicle steering wheel became extremely hard to control. It felt like it was going to lock. I had to use a lot of energy and muscle to turn the wheel. It was almost impossible to turn. I took my car to smicklas Chevrolet in Oklahoma city. They informed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #264

Oct 032011

Malibu

  • miles
The affected steering shafts may have a yoke that inadequately supports the U-joint bearing resulting in a premature failure. It doesn't turn half the time and makes a loud popping noise and the blinker never turn off.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #263

Sep 012015

Malibu

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Knocking in steering when turning wheel. I have been told it is the intermediate shaft, which should not knock considering the vehicle only has 27,450 for milage. How can I verify if this was a recall that was already completed. Please forward web site.

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #262

Oct 212015

Malibu

  • 133,000 miles
The power steering tends to freeze for a split second while I am driving. It does not happen all of the time but does seem to happens when I drive on mountain roads that require more turning or when making sharp turns. It does not happen for long period of times. Took it to dealership and they could not duplicate it and I called Chevrolet and the gave me a senior adviser who asked what do I expect from Chevrolet and also asked if I was in the market for a new car. I hung up on them and responded to their email.

- Colton, CA, USA

problem #261

Aug 012015

Malibu

  • 38,000 miles
Power steering loses power steering control intermittently. Took it to Chevy dealer and they told me the steering module is defective. Car is only 6 years old with only 38K miles on it. Loss of power steering control can happen when car is either stationary or in motion.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #260

Oct 032015

Malibu

  • 83,000 miles
Recall was done in Nov. 2014 at ryan Chevrolet in minot, nd. On Oct. 3, 2015 the steering wheel locked up while driving at low speed in a residential area. Took car in to gateway Chevrolet in fargo, nd. Repairs were made and was told by them that either the recall had been done incorrectly or the replacement parts were defective.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #259

Sep 302015

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

GM issued a notice dated September 2015 stating that problems with the eps may cause loss of steering power. Notice also states that I am not to take the vehicle to the dealer unless the event actually happen and have not issued a recall notice. I feel that this occurence could put my safety at risk especially in tight traffic.

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #258

Sep 012015

Malibu

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 20 mph and making a left or right turn, there was an abnormal noise underneath the steering wheel. The failure recurred when making turns. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that it needed an intermediate steering shaft and the racking pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also took the vehicle to an independent mechanic where it was also diagnosed that the failure was coming from the electric power steering. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #257

Jul 312015

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
Many bulletin's posted #09-07-30-012. My 2008 Chevy Malibu had about 85K miles on it. I had only owned it for about 2 years and bought it used as a college student and had an outstanding loan on it. I was driving to work one morning and started to notice when accelerating getting on the highway that it was taking more time for my car to shift into gear. As I continued to drive my car was it taking even longer to shift from 3rd to 5th gear then it would abruptly shift into gear delayed. I figured maybe it need transmission fluid since it only had 85K on it, and then when I would reverse it was very loose feeling. Brought in to the shop and they said I needed a new transmission and the car was unsafe to drive. Quoted me 2200 for a used transmission. Looked online and saw several people with the same problem. I am just out of college so don't have that kind of money up front yet and I had a loan on the car still. Chevy said I wasn't under 100K mile warranty bc car was more than 5 years old. I live on my own and need a safe vehicle to get to work everyday and did not have the money for a used transmission up front so had no choice to go lease a car and trade this now worthless car with this transmission issue in that I had a loan on. So car was worth a lot less now than my loan so I went into a new deal with negative equity resulting me taking on huge car payment to get out of this mess. Chevy or GM need to recall this defect and take care of the customers affected and compensate those who were affected and took a huge loss in $ due this problem. I believe GM should be compensating me something for how much money I just lost unless they want to be known as a company who doesn't care about their customers and sells cars that transmissions go way before 100K miles....I will never buy or recommend them to anyone ever again if they do not rectify with good paying customers.

- Kenmore , NY, USA

problem #256

Jul 202015

Malibu

  • 195,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 10 mph, the steering wheeling became difficult to maneuver. The power steering assist warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 195,000.

- Gainesville, AL, USA

problem #255

Dec 112014

Malibu

  • 51,093 miles
On Dec. 11, 2014, the Chevrolet Malibu was driven to the store. Upon returning to the car, the vehicle would start but the steering wheel was unmovable. Car was towed to the local Chevrolet dealership. The power steering control module (GM part # 22837369) was replaced at an owner cost of $665.01 for parts and labor. Upon further investigation by the owner, there are recalls on this exact part and model of car (product safety #14118 and 14119, safety complaint ODI#10712564). After discussing with the dealer, the Chevy regional representative, and the head office in detroit, the manufacturer says our vehicle's VIN is not covered by the recall. Period. End of discussion. Seeing that our ps module failure is in the same year, make and model as the recalled cars; and that our module failed in close proximity to the recall date (Aug. 28, 2014), we feel that the manufacturer should take responsibility for the cost of our repair. The relativity of the recall vehicles and our VIN, plus the fact that our ps module did fail, shows that our car was built with a faulty ps module and that it should have been included in the recall. Since GM has stated to us that they will not step up, we are asking the NHTSA to take the necessary regulatory steps to insure that our car, and who knows how many other Malibu of similar vintage, will get this power steering module repaired at General Motors' cost.

- Arcadia, FL, USA

problem #254

Sep 202013

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that there was an electrical failure, which caused multiple failures with the headlights, the dimmer switch, the console lights, the brake lights, and the turn signals. The contact also stated that the front passenger side bulb failed several times and was replaced, but the failure recurred. In addition, the harness was replaced due to corrosion, but the repair failed to remedy the failure. The dealer further inspected the vehicle and found that the headlight assembly wires needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Additionally, there was a loose pin on one of the body control module connectors. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the bulbs, but the failure recurred. The dealer then replaced the body control module. In addition, the contact stated that the steering wheel shook excessively and the front passenger and driver side doors were inoperable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the power steering motor and both the driver and passenger side door latches were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- North Royalton , OH, USA

problem #253

May 272015

Malibu

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at a low speed, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #252

Mar 092015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,900 miles
Loss of power steering--no accident involved--- recall #14V153000..GM case #[xxx]. GM says that my vehicle was not made at the certain time at the certain plant therefore it is not covered and that I would have to fix it myself. It is the exact same problem as the recalled vehicles and the fix is exactly the same. There are 100's of posts an social media of people with the same complaint. It cost me $785.87 to have this fixed. GM should have included all the affected vehicles. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Franklin Park, IL, USA

problem #251

Jan 012015

Malibu

  • 125,000 miles
I was going to make a left turn and I tried to turn the steering wheel and it would not turn using one hand, so I used 2 hands and turned as hard as I could. There was no power steering and was way harder to turn than any other vehicle I have driven without power steering. This includes large tractors, pickups, trucks and cars that had no power steering and were far easier to turn than my 2008 Chevy Malibu ltz. After completing the turn, the power steering returned. It is happening almost every time I drive my car now and sometimes happens with turning right and more frequently turning left. I took it in to have it looked at and was told I need a new power steering pump at $440 installed and quite possibly rack & pinion at $660 installed. The shop added an additive to the power steering fluid and it is making it better, although it is only a bandaid and does not fix the actual problem. GM currently has a recall for this type of problem on certain VIN numbers only. The recall has been issued using 3 bulletins. My car is not covered by these bulletins, although, the bulletins make it appear as though it is covered. I have read several other similar complaints on-line. This is an incredibly dangerous defect, as I have already had some "near misses" due to this defect.

- Basin, MT, USA

problem #250

Dec 142014

Malibu

  • 51,093 miles
This part has been recalled in bulletin #14118 (known by NHTSA as 14V153) for most 2008 Malibu. Unfortunately, for whatever reason, NHTSA saw fit to not include all Malibu with this part number. This part failed on my car and GM has charged me $480 for the module and $275 for labor because my VIN is not included in the recall of other 2008 Malibu with this exact same known faulty part. Why" as an aside, why does the recall notice not include the applicable VIN numbers? why must a second step of finding this website be necessary to find out if a person's vehicle is included, or excluded, from a recall"

- Arcadia, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?