Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,572 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 9 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Oct 072014

Malibu

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 14-yr old daughter was driving our 2009 Chevrolet Malibu and all of a sudden the steering locked up and she was unable to turn the wheel (talk about a scary moment for a young driver and not to mention me). There were chimes and a message that displayed a steering failure. We stopped the car, shut it off then back on and the steering was back to 'normal'. I reviewed the recalls on this make & model and I see that there are a number of GM vehicles that are experiencing this same issue. We took our car to the dealer we purchased it through and he said the vehicle did show a code for the failure but our VIN was not included in the recalls. The service manager then tells me it will be approx. $600 to replace the entire steering column. I mentioned & showed him the bulletins that have been posted regarding this issue but he said sorry, your car is not listed and it will be $600 to fix. I left very disappointed to say the least. Then earlier today, my wife called and said this issue happened to her for the 1st time so now I'm angry. GM knows they have an issue as you can see with all the service bulletins posted on this but they don't seen to care. I really hope GM understands how important it is to be able to steer your vehicle properly. GM, be a reputable company and take care of this issue. If you care about the consumer, do the right thing and ensure your vehicles are safe to drive.

- Peosta, IA, USA

problem #81

Nov 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 12,310 miles
Turning out of a shopping center parking lot the power steering stopped working.

- Franklin, MI, USA

problem #80

Jan 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 115,590 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering failed and the vehicle stalled. The contact indicated that the steering wheel had become tight and extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road where the vehicle was restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column and the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop who replaced the steering column. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,590. Updated 12/22/14 updated 9/28/2015

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #79

Oct 272014

Malibu

  • 81,001 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had pulled into the gas station, and my gas cap is on the passenger side. The only available pump that was open, in order for me to use it I had to pull up and reverse to get on the side of the pump to which I can fill gas on. As I was turning my wheel back into place, the steering wheel itself got stuck and seemed really hard to turn. As I tried to move my car, I got an error on my driver information center that my electric power steering had gone out. I presumed to panic, as I have not been in this situation before. I than turned off the vehicle and turned it back on and the power steering was back. I have heard that there have been recalls on this part for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu's, so I had taken it to the dealership, only to be told that there is no recall and that I have to replace my steering column and pay for it completely out of pocket. I was really hoping that General Motors would be able to cover this under some sort of warranty fix, but I am just being turned away left and right and being told all I can do is pay out of pocket which this particular part and labor would cost me $1000. They are only basically telling me the highway or no way, and I feel very unsafe driving this vehicle. What I do not understand is that with these cars being recalled with this issue, and I am being told that my car does not qualify for the recall when I am having that exact issue for the recall. I am just really hoping to find someone that will be willing to help me get this covered under the recall warranty seeing as it is the issue of the recall being placed. I do not feel safe driving my vehicle while I have to wait 24 to 48 hours to see if I get a response from General Motors to see if they will help me on this issue. All I am asking is that someone please, please help me on this issue.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #78

Dec 192012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, a chime sounded and there was a loss of power steering. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure occurred numerous times. On a separate occasion, the steering wheel moved independently for a few seconds when the vehicle was at a complete stop. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000....updated 11/17/14

- Union Beach , NJ, USA

problem #77

Jan 172014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Exiting an off ramp at aprx. 15-20 miles per hour, my power steering went. I pulled off the side of the road and turned the car off to call my husband. Power steering back on. Drove to my destination. On the way hone, it went again. This happened several other times throughout the month. Took it to the dealer who replaced the power steering. Other Malibu have been recalled for this purpose, but not mine.

- Spencerport, NY, USA

problem #76

Jul 312014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact heard a clunking sound from the rear to the front of the vehicle. The power steering warning indicator illuminated. In addition, the contact discovered that the speedometer was not registering the speed of the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose or repair the failure. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Duquesne, PA, USA

problem #75

Mar 022009

Malibu

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the emergency steering control warning indicator illuminated and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. Also, the vehicle failed to start properly on multiple occasions. In order for the vehicle to start properly, the battery had to be disconnected until the vehicle reset. In addition, the doors failed to lock. The dealer stated that there were multiple electrical malfunctions that needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failures recurred multiple times. The contact was uncertain what components were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 81,000.

- Ojai, CA, USA

problem #74

Aug 012014

Malibu

  • 70,663 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized and became hard to turn. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis where the mechanic stated that the steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,663.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #73

Jun 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
Electric power steering failure. Young female driver had difficulty controlling vehicle.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #72

Aug 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving car and went to turn and lost steering ability and nearly hit a truck. Immediately had an exploding headache/migraine while trying to get car to safety. Ambulance came and went to hospital.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #71

Aug 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I am an owner of an Chevy Malibu 2009 with only 42,000 miles on it. I took my car in for a simple oil change and the service tech came out to me with a story that my steering gear/rack/pinion was bad and needed to be replaced. For a total of $1,028.07. My jaw nearly dropped to the floor. I could hardly believe that a car that I have only owned less than a year would need something so costly. I did not buy service plan cause I could not afford the extra amount of money to give to Chevy. It amazes me that after all this and reading from others here that nothing has been done to correct the steering issues that Chevy has. It amazes me even more that they do not feel that this is a mechanical issue that is there fault to repair and in return expects the owners to pay for their screw up. If they do not recall or fix the steering issues with Chevy Malibu models they will be sued or further more loose thousands of customers. I have owned several vehicles in the past and never had to have this type of this expense to repair a vehicle specially steering problems. If Chevy really does a full inspection on vehicle before selling used cars I feel that this issue would have been caught. I will be taking further action on this case. This is Chevy's burden not mine. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #70

May 072014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the steering wheel seized. The contact also mentioned that the door locks were unlocking and locking independently several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of a NHTSA recall number: 14V153000 (steering) and stated that the vehicle was included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000. Updated 10/09/2014 the consumer stated while steering, the vehicle would pull to the right. 3/25/2015

- Westland , MI, USA

problem #69

Mar 102014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 59,575 miles
While luckily driving on city streets around 35mph the "power steering needs servicing" light came on. Thought it might need power steering fluid and was told my model didn't use fluid - it was all electrical in the steering column. Since it was still under warranty I took it the next day to the Chevy dealer who sold it to me and was told it wasn't covered at a cost of over $600.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #68

Mar 222014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 94,965 miles
The power steering gave out while driving. The car was difficult to control and required significant force to turn the vehicle to safely get off of the highway. This created a significant safety issue as the car was practically un-drivable. I immediately contacted my General Motors dealership and asked if it was covered under the powertrain warranty or any recall (since it was a safety issue), which they responded it was not. To my dismay, I had the vehicle repaired at my local mechanic at a cost of $760. With the steering column replaced, the car is working well and there are no current safety concerns. Within a week of having my 2009 Chevy Malibu repaired (receipt dated 3/25/14, I read that 2004-2009 Chevy Malibu were being recalled because of a power steering issue. The description of the issue was identical to the situation I experienced with our 2009 Chevy Malibu. I contacted GM customer service within a few days and they instructed me to wait a few weeks for the letters from GM telling me of the recall and detailing how to seek reimbursement. After waiting several weeks with no letter, I contacted GM customer service again and they informed me that my VIN was not covered under the recall, only certain vins of the 2009 model year were recalled. I take extreme exception to this. The problem I experienced with my 2009 Chevy Malibu is identical to the problem described within the recall. Additionally, the repair covered under the recall is the exact work that I needed to have completed to make my vehicle safely operable again. Either GM has made a mistake by not including my vehicle within the recall, or the extent of the current recall is not sufficient enough to encompass all 2009 Chevy Malibu?S that have the part(s) that lead to an increased risk for failure and hence, increased risk of a crash.

- Fallston, MD, USA

problem #67

Jul 102013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering unit made a grinding noise and gave resistance when turning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 8/27/14 the consumer stated that the vehicle was not included in the electric power steering recall because the vehicle was assembled at a different plant. The vehicle experienced the same issues as noted in the recall. Updated 09/11/2014

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #66

Jun 202012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The steering on this model and make of car is all messed up. It is the same problem that so many other have complained about on this site. The steering "freaks out" and pulls one way and then goes to the other. It's beyond dangerous. Even when the car is stopped at a stop light, if you take your hands off the wheel, the steering wheel jerks violently back and forth. Sometimes its works fine and then out of now where, it goes crazy and pulls you to one side or the other and then you have to turn the wheel toe opposite way to keep it going straight. I see tons of other GM recalls and even on this year and model, but GM says that my particular car is not covered right now. The danger of this defect is so high that if they think they have problems with lawsuits over ignition switches, the amount of money that they will pay when these steering lawsuits start to come in will put GM back into bankruptcy. The danger of this defect is off the charts.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #65

Jun 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while at a stop, the steering wheel seized and a unknown warning light illuminated. Th vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. Updated 08/11/14

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #64

Mar 242014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
My power steering and service ESC light would come on. My steering wheel would lock up. GM stated they would not reimburse me for my issue even though there is an recall out for the same issue.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #63

Apr 082014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Was driving and the electric power steering system went out. I nearly hit 3 cars trying to get off of the road.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?