Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,405 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Jan 052014

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had many issues with the cam shaft sensors/actuators on my 2010 Chevy Malibu and have had to have them replaced now 3 times. When this occurs my car seems to surge and sounds like it is going to turn off. The first time was in January, 2014. I was at a busy intersection and was afraid it was going to die right there in the middle of taking off. Somehow I made it a few more miles down the road before there was no other option but to pull over. I paid to have this fixed. The second time this occurred was in July, 2015. I was 6 states away from home and again was at a busy intersection when it began to surge and sounded like it was going to die. We made it to an auto store where the sparks plugs were changed and thankfully, we were able to make it home. However, after being home 1 week, I noticed the surging again and took it to a mechanic to have it looked at. The cam shaft sensors were replaced again. Upon leaving the mechanic's shop I knew it still wasn't fixed because I could still feel it surging. A week later I took it to a Chevy dealer who told me I needed the timing chain replaced and a new set of cam shaft actuators were put on this time. I have been told by the mechanic and the dealership that there have been many complaints about the cam shaft/actuators and I would like to see a recall put in place.

- Mount Orab, OH, USA

problem #66

Sep 202015

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
I was stopped at a stop sign to turn and when I accelerated a quick flash of the service ECM message came on and then disappeared, but the car stalled out in the middle of the intersection. When I tried to restart the car, it would turnover, run for 2 seconds and then die. I had the car towed to my house, where we charged the battery and took it over to autozone to have the electronics scanned, where it showed 3 codes: U0121, P0106, P0621. They scanned the battery and alternator, and all came up with a clean bill of health (so to speak). Upon reading online it looks like this was an issue in Malibu's 2004-2009 (which was recalled), and I believe they never fixed the issue and now 2010's may be affected. My worry is that this will happen again and it will be at a busier intersection or worse yet, on the highway.

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #65

Jun 232014

Malibu

  • 134,000 miles
I was on my way to work and my cruise control cut off by itself then I noticed by brake lights were on. So I pulled over to the shoulder of the road and turned my car off then turned it back on and proceeded to work. My brake lights came back on. When I came home later that evening my brake light were working again, when I tried to use my cruise control it went off again by itself and I haven't been able to use it sense. Now my brake lights stay on all the time I just hope nobody runs into the back of me. When I press the brake my brake lights go off. My inside light doesn't work with this happening to my car. The traction control light stays on all the time have tried numerous things to try and fix the problem. Its getting to be a headache buy a car and now its dangerous I just hope I can get it taken care of before I get into an accident.

- Snow Hill, NC, USA

problem #64

Jul 082015

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the recall notice (report receipt date: May 14, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 component(s): Electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control ) previously taken care of by oakley Chevrolet Buick repair shop about a year ago. The problem has returned, the brake lights do not operate properly (they are on when the brake is not applied & when you apply the brake they go off). I returned the car to the shop and they stated that they could not duplicate that problem, but that it may be the brake apply sensor. They had my car all day, and could not tell me what the problem is.....I picked up my car and now I am trying through GM to get the matter addressed. I have been informed to get a second opinion. Which I will do and I will be in touch. In addition to that issue, now the drivers seat belt chimes that the belt is not in use when it is and the car is driving. Another safety issue.

- Dewey, OK, USA

problem #63

Aug 022010

Malibu

  • 5,000 miles
1) GM is covering up a defect in rims ( not completely welded, I have the rim as evidence) 2) currently my service ESC, traction, air bag lights are all on ( so is my air bag gonna explode" is my car not stable enough to be driven") 3) 2011 I paid to have my car fixed because the brake lights stayed on. ( maybe had 3000 miles) 4) my brake lights currently stay on.( aprox 70,000 miles) 5) I have contacted GM several times, have not spoke to anyone. 6) when the car behind me can not tell if I am stopping because my lights stay on and I am killed along with the person behind me... maybe someone will listen.

- Sheridan, AR, USA

problem #62

May 062015

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
I was driving on sr-512 near puyallup, Washington. I was just moving to the right at the base of the freeway on-ramp, when my electronic power steering went out. At nearly the same time, electronic stability control activated for no apparent reason. Each of my wheels began braking independent from one another. This latest for approximately 10-seconds and did not happen again. The power steering also returned to normal for a brief period of time. Later that same morning, I was at a stop sign and was waiting to turn right. When traffic cleared enough for me to begin my turn I turned the wheel to the right. Almost at the same moment the steering went out again, and I had to fight to complete the turn. Had I been an elderly person, without sufficient strength to force the steering wheel to turn, I would have certainly crashed into the cars waiting to turn left at the intersection in question. The steering problem has persisted ever since and gotten much worse over time. I've noticed if I stop the car...turn off the ignition...and restart the car the electronic steering resets and will be fine for up to 10-15 minutes. But the problem always returns. I looked online and saw that Malibu from 2004-2009 experienced this same problem and were recalled. I went to my local Chevrolet dealer and asked if they would extend the recall protection to cover my 2010 Malibu and I was advised they would not. This is a real safety problem, and while I can't afford the $2,000 repairs to get it fixed, I can't imagine trying to deal with this issue when winter arrives and the roads turn icy. This problem would most certainly cause and accident. I hope you can influence Chevrolet to extend their existing Malibu recall to cover the 2010 models that have the same problems as those models from the previous seven model years. Thank you.

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

problem #61

Sep 162013

Malibu

  • 40,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The traction control & service electronic stability control (ESC) lights were coming on. Also, the steering column angle sensor was found to be corroded, which may have caused the lights to stay on.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #60

Jan 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the service ESC, traction control, and reduced engine power warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle independently lost power. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not taken in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #59

Apr 072015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 82,640 miles
ESC and traction graphic and text alarms have been initializing intermittently while driving at various speeds since March 2015. On 4/7/2015 and again on 4/13/2015, after starting the car these two alarms initialized along with the power steering alarm and there was a loss of power steering. In each case, turning off the engine reset the alarms and the power steering restored. Loss of power steering at highway speeds particularly in a curve or while making a turn could cause a serious accident. I now feel very unsafe and insecure while driving this vehicle.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #58

Apr 012015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
At 70 mph the cruise control shut off by itself and the service ESC light illuminated on the dash. I also noticed the brake lights came on when foot was off the brake pedal and shut off when I depressed the brake pedal. This has happened intermittently in the past 2 weeks. I took car into turan-foley Chevy dealership in gulfport, ms on 4/08/15 and they recommended replacing the bpp for $242.25, which I had them complete. They also said the problem may be caused by the ebcm-bpmu which would cost over $1100. The "service ESC" light came on again on 4/09/15. I have not noticed any performance issues such as I have read in other forums regarding decreased power. Recall # 13036 was completed on car 10/14/14 by dantin Chevrolet which according to what I have read was supposed to fix the problems I am now having. I mentioned this to turan-foleys service department, but they said they cannot re-open a closed recall. I wonder how many times my brake lights have not worked properly as I average over 700 miles a week. This is an accident waiting to happen. Please help!

- Bay Saint Louis, MS, USA

problem #57

Mar 232015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving to work, I noticed the steering shake and stiffen up and I had loss of all power steering. Soon after that I had my driver side tire blow out and almost caused an accident. A couple of days later, I drove it to the dealership and the service representative told me that Chevy Malibu's did have a recall on the electric power steering pump and torque sensor but not for my model (ltz). Which didn't make sense to me. Just because it's a different trim, the parts would be different? it doesn't seem possible. If this issue is occurring in Chevy Malibu's, it should be addressed to all Malibu's regardless the trim of the vehicle. I would appreciate any help with this issue.

- Kearny, AZ, USA

problem #56

Feb 282015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I was driving with my son and his friend (both in the back seat thankfully!) down a hill (maybe 10-20 mph) to a stop light when I heard a pinging noise and no longer had control of steering. The power steering and ESC warnings were showing on the dashboard and steering was exceptionally hard. I was able (barely) to make the turn and pull over to the side of the road and turned the car off (very hard to do at a slow mph). I waited about 10-20 seconds and turned it back on and it seemed fine. I had an appointment for an oil change the next day and planned on asking them to check it. Later that same night, I was driving at about 35 mph when the same thing happened on a main road. I pulled into a parking lot (not easily) and turned the car off and back on, but it did not reset itself. The next morning I took my car for an oil change and they told me that the power steering is electrical and that they would have someone look at it the next day (it was Sunday and I needed to wait until Monday). Monday morning they called me and told me that I would need to bring it to the dealer for replacement of the power steering motor and that they've seen this multiple times with GM cars. I brought it to H&L Chevy in darien, ct where I bought it and they told me that although there is a large recall for this issue, that my car is not eligible for it even though it's the exact same problem!! I see on the NHTSA website that there are many complaints about this with a 2010 Malibu and I would like to know how to get this covered by GM -- it's ridiculously expensive for a single parent (or anyone for that matter!)

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #55

Jan 242015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I received a safety recall notice via mail from GM due to a defect that relates to motor vehicle safety. The notice clearly stated why the (Chevrolet Malibu 2010) was being recalled. The reasons for the recall indeed persisted in the vehicle that I was currently operating so I had it serviced as stated in the notice to do. Messages such as: (engine power reduced, service ESC, service traction control, as well as service airbag) appeared. After a couple of days of having the vehicle serviced, the same problems that existed before resumed. What now!?

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #54

Sep 172014

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
While driving my service engine light came on, then "service ESC", "reduced engine power", "ESC off". the car then had reduced power and had to have a code reset. The code was P2135. One day it happened 4 times during my 45 minute drive home. The car loses power and makes it unsafe on the highway etc.

- Royal Center, IN, USA

problem #53

Dec 152014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 92,096 miles
I was driving down the highway and all at once the car lost power. The ESC, checking light, and engine power reduce come across the display. I could not go over 20mph, but I'm glad I wasn't far from home nor any car behind me at the time this happen. I will be taking my car to the dealership down the street from my house as soon as they open up at 0700 Monday, December 15, 2014 to get it check out. This scared me so bad that I don't know what to do. This is so unsafe for highway traveling.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #52

Dec 082014

Malibu

  • 56,000 miles
Driving the vehicle at 70 mph on the highway when I received the following messages in the dic: "service ESC" "service traction control" and "eng reduced pwr." Vehicle would not accelerate past 60 mph, and that was with pedal all the way to the floor. When I had to stop, the engine shook. Luckily, I was able to drive the vehicle home - although, at one point, I was driving 20 mph on the highway acceleration lane because the car could not accelerate at all. The messages cleared when I shut the engine off and turned it back on; however, the engine light remained on. Dealer found dtc of "P2135" and replaced the throttle body. They said it was not covered under the emissions/engine/powertrain warranty and charged $500 for the repair.

- Blacklick, OH, USA

problem #51

Aug 292013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 96,087 miles
8/29/2014 cruise control was not working on car along with traction control and ABS warring lights going off. Car was taken to a GM dealership to be looked at was told that rear speed sensors were not working and paid 200 dollars for a repair. Didn't even make it home and the same problem started happening along with brake lights that will not go off. Car was taken back to the dealership and this time they found frayed wire and fixed it for no charge. This still did not fix the issue. Was taken to another dealership charged a dx fee to tell me it was the BCM. Finally a recall was issued and when the part came in my care was taken in for the recall repair and this still did not fix the issue. I am paying for a care that I cant even drive. The brake lights will not go off and GM says that I can bring it in if its not from the recall I will have to pay another fee to have a dx done on it. Just really aggravated never again will I buy a GM product. Asked what I was supposed to do in the event of a crash resulting from others not able to see if I am stopping and was advised that GM would then be responsible...updated 01/06/15

- Hamilton , TX, USA

problem #50

Jun 242014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,820 miles
The traction control light comes on and stays on when I shut off the car it goes out, also my brake light stays on also when im going around a corner the car pulls to the left and it feels like its floating almost I brought it in ad they said it was separation, I just put new tires on it and it isn't right, also my electrical something is wrong the radio light will blink of then come on and go dim, there is also a almost grinding noise coming from thefront right tire, I paid alot of money for this car and I wish I would have got something different there seems to be alot wrong with it, I brought it in on warranty and they fixed brake light and that's it, and then they charged me for a loaner car, {friendlychev}178.00.how can I be charged for a loaner car, and they didn't fix anything else when it wasunder warranty, I got scammed !!!!

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #49

Oct 132012

Malibu

  • 23,000 miles
My 2010 Chevy Malibu loses power steering at low rates of speed when the steering wheel is moved in either direction. This has put my family in dangers way on multiple occasions. GM/Chevy recently had a recall to fix the issue I am having however they will not cover the 2010 model under the recall. The 2008-2012 models of the Chevy Malibu use the same electronic steering parts however GM feels they only need to recall the 2008 and 2009 models. This is urgent that this be addressed with GM and is a matter of public safety. I also will be writing my local and state regulators in the hopes that this may save lives and document my complaints. Please see GM recall below. Again this does not cover the 2010 model even though it uses the same parts! this has been independently verified by 2 certified GM mechanics as well as 2 local mechanics. If we lose one more life because of GM's careless actions then our system does not work. I can be reach directly by email or at 734-812-6883. Please help. If power steering assist is lost, a message displays on the driver information center and a chime sounds to inform the driver. Steering control can be maintained because the vehicle will revert to manual steering, but greater driver effort would be required at low vehicle speeds, which could increase the risk of a crash. Models subject to safety recall are the: Chevrolet Malibu: All model year 2004 and 2005, and some model year 2006 and model year 2008 and 2009 vehicles service parts installed into certain vehicles before May 31, 2010 under a previous safety recall depending on the vehicle, GM will replace free of charge either the power steering motor, the steering column, the power steering motor control unit or a combination of the steering column and the power steering motor control unit.

- Plymouth , MI, USA

problem #48

Mar 052012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
When the cars had about 60000 miles the check engine light started coming on, gauges shut off, ac would not work gas mileage would drop after taking it to different dealer ships we had different reasons for the problem. All of the expensive and they were note sure it would help son by unhooking the battery it would sometimes clear the problem for a short time, but it would always return. Now with 100,000 and about first of 2014 the engine started shutting off while driving down the road, traction control would come on by itself and lower power light would come on plus all the other problems with two your boys this can be scary. We have had the recall done with the bms cable which didn't do anything to help the problem the dealership which was in West jefferson, nc left there tools in the car and note very professional, mack browns in boone said it had no recall were rude and didn't do anything. We have changed the cam shaft sensors and when we get he money another suggestion is the throttle body sensor which is part of an assembly which is expensive but we have no choice can't trade it in like this so were stuck. This is the worst car experience I have ever had no more Chevrolet for us.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?