Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,943 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #104

Sep 282016


  • 162,409 miles


I was on my way to work and I had to stop to get gas. Everything was fine. I pulled away form the pump and proceeded to the end of the driveway. When I left the parking lot to pull into traffic, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. I was driving less than 5 mph. The traction control light was on, ESC message, and service power steering system were activated. I drove back home and went to work in my other vehicle. 162,409 miles. I purchased the car brand new in February 2010. All oil changes and tire rotations have been completed at a Chevy dealership. I've only purchased tires, two batteries, and windshield wipers for my car until last week. That was the engine coolant sensor. Until now I always bragged and said that my Malibu was the best car ever because I never had any issues with it.

- Charleston, MS, USA

problem #103

Aug 262016


  • 73,800 miles
Issue started 08/27/16 while 19 year old was driving at night. As the brake pedal is compressed the brake lights go off. While driving they are on. Service traction and ESC warnings come on intermittently. I have contacted Chevrolet and have been advised there is not an open recall for this vehicle. A case has been opened with the manufacturer. I have been driving the vehicle several times and have almost been rear ended several times due to this issue. The vehicle is scheduled for inspection and maintenance 09/01/16 at miller and sons Chevrolet. They have been advised of the issue. I have a suspicion this is a recurring issue on a previous recall (14V252000) after seeing some recent complaints from those whom have had the issue fixed the first time. This is the 5 time in 2 months I have had to have this vehicle in the shop. Once for intake and exhaust solenoid replacement. "tapping noises" these ultimately led to a timing chain replacement of which GM covered $800. I had to pay $600. In all I have spent over $900 on this vehicle for repairs which I feel should have been covered under other vehicle recalls. Either fix the existing problems or take the vehicle off the market and buy back.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #102

Aug 182016


  • 141,000 miles
Vehicle has service airbag on repeatedly, seat belt alarm goes off even when seat belt is properly fastened. While driving car suddenly lost power and service ESC, service traction control, engine power reduced. Car suddenly dropped down to 27 mph in the middle of traffic. I was able to avoid a serious accident by suddenly turning into a parking lot. This is very dangerous and can be fatal if occurs on freeway. No one can provide any reason as to why this keeps happening. I have no warranty on vehicle and purchased from a dealer 3 years ago. I have called the dealer and have had car looked at but the only suggestion is to blindly replace different sensors and parts. We need a recall done so no lives are lost due to this severe car malfunction.

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #101

Aug 192016


  • 60,000 miles


While driving, noticed that the car seemed sluggish. After being parked for about an hour, restarted the car and got several warnings concerning the ESC, traction control and reduced engine power. The check engine and traction lights were lit and remained lit. Car has approx. 60,000 miles on it. Currently at dealership to find out what is wrong with it.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #100

May 302016


  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at any speed, the brake lights remained illuminated. When the brake pedal was depressed, the brake lights turned off. The contact stated that "service ESC" and "traction control is off " appeared on the instrument panel. Also, the steering and accelerator pedal felt heavy and the vehicle slowed down. The issue recurred numerous times. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and was repaired in 2014. The failure recurred. The dealer and manufacturer were notified. The vehicle was not repaired again. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #99

Aug 042016


  • miles
BCM issue resulting in brake lights not working properly. Brakes lights are on when brake is not applied, and go off when brake is applied. Brake light goes on after car reaches a speed of 15 mph. Recall prior replaced the harness in 2014, but now Chevy dealer is saying this is not related, yet it is the same symptoms of original recall back in 2014. The recall repair in 2014 seems to have been a band-aid on what could lead to a serious accident and loss of a life if not repaired correctly. Customers should not be responsible for repair of a known issue that GM only put a temporary fix on but never solved the entire problem.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #98

Apr 072015


  • 68,000 miles


1 year ago my car flashed ESC service traction control reduce engine power and reduced my spend to 40mph on a busy interstate! called GM stated what happen and I knew they had a recall but of course my cars VIN was not included in the recall. Brought the car to a local GM dealer ship to put on machine to see if any codes would show up nothing came up!!! I was told the message would have to be showing to service vehicle. Well here we are a year later with the car in the shop because my car reduces engine power without warning stalls and my ESC service traction reduce engine power came on message board but did not stay after I turned key of course because it shut the car off after 2-5 minutes. I have video of it reading ESC traction service but that does not help! car now needs a new timing chain and has metal in the oil! mind you of I wouldve been able to service the ESC traction control could this all have been avoided? my car was in the shop maybe 6 months ago and was put on the machine to get codes minor codes came up and not the ESC traction control reduce engine power. Called GM today and was told my milage played part in this but I doubt that only because at 68000 it flashed ESC and shut off on me without warning so now they will contact the shop. They need to recall these vehicles it is a hazard to be on the road! we can not afford a new vehicle car this car was brand new but has been problem after problem ! headlights go out all the time airbag light stays on even after being fixed 3 times trunk does not open defroster thats a joke I could go on and

- St Martinville, LA, USA

problem #97

Jul 172016


  • 103,000 miles
Repairs were completed a couple of years ago on this vehicle from recall id 14V252000, however, my vehicle has recently experienced the similar symptoms as described on the recall. The service traction, service ESC and ESC off warnings display on the dashboard unpredictably. This happens whether the vehicle is idling or in motion. When the warnings pop up the brake lights are illuminated without depressing the pedal, the brake lights turn off briefly when depressed, however, when the brake pedal is released, the brake lights come back on and remains on. Also when the warnings are displayed, the cruise control disengages, and I'm able to shift out of park without depressing the brake. Turning the key off resets the warnings, but the warnings and symptoms return again - sometimes immediately and other times it may take hours of driving. I'm concerned that the original recall repairs did not correct the problem.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #96

Jul 222016


  • miles
I have repeatedly filed complaints with GM that my service air bag light stays on / my breaklight located in back window works opposite of what it is supposed to. I am notifing you in writing that GM has not done anything to help me. I guess if my air bag expolodes while im driving and I kill some folks in an accident I just want you to be aware

- Sheridan, AR, USA

problem #95

Jul 172016


  • miles
I was getting on I10 as I began to merge onto the interstate my car came to crawl did it start to gain power allowing me to merge onto I10 safely. So I thought. As I was reaching 70mph the car stalls ( no steering no engine power) on my dash board it read reduce engine power service traction ! wth out of know where this happen the dash didnt read that till my car stalled and all power was loss. Mind U I have a toddler and an 11 yr old with me in a stalled vehicle on the interstate. I called GM they said I had no recall on my car due to my VIN my car at the time was at 65000 mile. That was maybe 1 yr ago starting 7/17/16 at 163000 miles my car stalled twice my service traction control reduce engine power light came on after the car stalls looses power! called the dealer ship to make an appt for Monday because I work and I have two kids this is supposed to be my realibile car. I am scared to drive it to the dealer ship come Monday becauuse I feel it is a danger for me and my family. It stalls with no warning what so ever it takes 20 minutes to start up after a stall out! it is not safe if my car is not in the recall how is it that my car has the same problems as other S?

- St Martinville, LA, USA

problem #94

May 022016


  • 70,000 miles


My 2010 Chevy Malibu is having issues with the break lights working in reverse, the ESC traction control sensor is going off. We have replaced the break light switch and it's still not working. I have seen multiple complaints regarding this issue. I am an avid Chevy person, I have had the car in for all recalls and it happened about a year after. Car was in motion

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #93

Jun 252016


  • 38,800 miles
Vehicle was moving at about 35 mph when the drivers information center indicated a electronic stability service, traction control service and ESC off messages. This happened multiple times over a two day period. Car was taken to dealer for diagnostics and they said that the computer had stored a P0300 code which is engine misfire. The engine runs fine however there is a slight vibration at idle while in park or neutral. GM also sent out a letter to me stating that there was a problem with the throttle posistion sensor that may cause this to happen. The dealer did not attempt to diagnos the problem with the sensor and stated that the engine had a bad #2 cyclinder with compression at 100lbs. The P0300 code can be caused by the various electronic messages that have appeared and the engine is not the problem. They wanted to tear it down at a cost of $2300 to fix a problem that does not exist. This car only has 39000 miles on it. There are numerous reports of this same isssue with NHTSA and GM has not dealt with the problem. Another issue relating to this is the fact that the engine reduced power message comes on in some vehilcle and the car slows down and is very dangerous to drive on the higways. So far my car has not done that. I believe there should be some pressure exerted on GM to correct these multiple problems with their vehicle since the government bailed them out along with our taxpayer funds.

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #92

Jun 182016


  • miles
I haven't had this car but 4yrs and the transmission is already messing up found a recall and I was told it wasn't for my car. What do I need to do to get my car fixed"??"

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #91

Jun 022016


  • miles
In 2014, General Motors' recall #13036 was serviced by Chevrolet dealership who said problem was corrected. In June 2016 the problem has reoccurred. While in motion the brake lights come on without pressing the brake peddle; the cruise control disengages; and disablement of traction control and electronic stability which could increase the risk of a crash. All occur while vehicle is in motion on city streets and highways.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #90

Dec 242015


  • 90,000 miles
Car lost control of power steering same time as driver side back brake light went out steering wheel shakes bad when slowing down from

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #89

Jun 012010


  • miles
I bought my Malibu new in 2010, shortly atter the service ESC and traction lighrts kept comming on, I took to shop but thsy acted like I was nuts, later I got a recall and took to shop, said was fixed bu two days later same situtation, this has been an ongoing issue for 5 years mot only those but seatbelt come on and service airbags comes on constantly, I wrote to Chevy and all they did was sene me back to Chevy where they charged me and guess what, the problem is occuring, I emailed Chevy again months ago and have still no reply.

- Glassport, PA, USA

problem #88

May 012016


  • 86,000 miles
I was turning onto a freeway on ramp when a engine power reduced message came up on my dashboard. The cars speed then dropped to about 10 miles an hour and started shaking violently. Thankfully I was only moving at about 30 mph and was able to pull to the shoulder safely.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #87

Apr 122016


  • 887,669 miles
My 2010 Chevy Malibu lt 2.4 L began misfiring on cylinder 1 giving me th codes P0201 and P0301. After getting those readings I began driving home and the car began to jerk and lose power followed by the service traction and service ESC warning lights flashing along with the engine light. So I began to accelerate again and the gears had trouble shifting and horse power was reduce when trying to take off. The car would slip gear at 40 mph and around 60 - 65 mph. Lights will not go off unless negative battery post is removed and then reconnected.then problem returns when car is driven again. I searched my VIN number and there is no recall for my VIN but my car has the same issues as 100S of other 2010 Chevy Malibu. I really dont feel safe driving this car. I wish I any other option to getting this problem fixed asap!!!

- N. Charlestom, SC, USA

problem #86

Apr 082016


  • miles
Brake lights malfunctions, brake lights will be illuminating when brake is not pressed also gear shifter is difficult to get out of park service ESC traction control light comes on this vehicle has been serviced in July 2011, September 2012. August 2013. September 2014, and February 2016 for the same ongoing safety issue. GM doesn't know how to fix it. There was a recall for this very problem recall # 13036 but once they repair it, they consider the recall closed even though they did not fix the problem.

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #85

Apr 152016


  • 45,000 miles
Right now I have the service ESC and service traction light on again for the 3rd time. I took each time to Chevy classic in grapevine tx and they told me no codes the 1st time, took it to clay cooley in irving--light came on then no codes they showed. Today 4-15=16 light came on again and I took it to classic Chevy and they found 3 codes this time. They say I will have to pay for this! I should not since there was an open recall on 5/14/2014 for 2010 Malibu. My car is doing this now !@!!@ it needs to be fixed at no charge to me!! I feel like this is the most dangerous car on the road for me and my daughter. I don't want to be a statistic if we have a car crash and it was all because Chevy kept making excuses to not fix my crap car for me. The other recall was the brake system not illuminating I got that letter a little too late. Someone rear ended me in Oct 2012 while I was stopped at a red light. Maybe those stupid back brake lights were not working then!!!!!! soemone at classic or clay cooolye Chevy needs to fix this ESC light on my car and fix all the recalls for free. I also have a eps recall letter that was sent to me but someone at Chevy told me the light has to come on for them to fix it. This is ridiculous. My car needs to be fixed for all these problems it has no matter if the light is on or not. But the light is on for service ESC and traction right now!@ GM or Chevy needs to pay for it and fix this car.

- Keller, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?