Print this page

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Nov 142013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving suddenly the car jerked (like a transmission error) and then the message on the display would show "service ESC" and "traction off". I brought the car in first to run an electrical test, where they reprogrammed a sensor (cost=$158.95). A few days later the very same issue happened and at this time when I came to a stop sign I went to accelerate and my car had shut itself off. I then brought it in where the found codes regarding the manifold absolute pressure (map) sensor problems. The service place then monitored both the computer data for the map sensor and the actual sensor data during test drive and found that when the problem occurs the computer data drops out but the sensor data remains the same, they suggested that it could be a possible wiring problem, and I agreed to have them replace the sensor.(cost+$275.15). Nothing happened until a few weeks later and the very same issue occurred. My husband played around with some wires and had noticed that there was a possible way that condensate could get into where the sensors were and so he fixed that issue. I have not had this issue since then. Just wanting to see if there is a recall for this problem and to get a proper fix.

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #20

Aug 122014

Malibu

  • 67,000 miles
Vehicle was parked and caught on fire when it was not running. The vehicle was in use earlier in the day. The fire started under the hood and burned the entire front of the car and caused some interior damage as well.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #19

Mar 102014

Malibu

  • 26,000 miles
The engine has an eco-tech it is getting fuel in oil, you can smell it on cap. This is causing the engine to burn oil, use more gas.the car only has 27000 miles on it. Excellent condition. Using oil at an accelerated rate, you have to monitor or valves chatter. The motor cant last in this state, please add to recall list.

- Greensburg, KY, USA

problem #18

May 152014

Malibu

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after multiple attempts. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 122011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 23,555 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at an unknown speed, the headlights and instrument panel failed. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 23,555. Updated 11/20/14 updated 8/4/2015

- Milton, WA, USA

problem #16

Mar 122014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the instrument panel failed. The contact mentioned that the clock was reset, the low engine compression, and the check transmission lights illuminated. Additionally, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle jerked. The vehicle was restarted and resumed to normal. The failure occurred on four different occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,000 and the current mileage was 87,401. Updated 10/23/14 the dealer informed the consumer, the throttle body needed to be replaced. Updated 10/30/14

- Loris, NC, USA

problem #15

Dec 232010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that in cooler weather, the power steering would become very shaky and no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 8/11/14 the consumer stated when the steering was cold, there was a chatter and a constant growling noise. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 08/26/14

- Blandford, MA, USA

problem #14

Jun 092014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
My service ESC/service traction control indicator was flashing. It caused my car to stall, then the engine died in the middle of the road with traffic approaching behind me. I have had this problem before and it caused my brake lights to illuminate when not depressed and go off when the brakes were pressed. I am not sure if this was happening also as it was light outside and I could not see. The car started afterward and still periodically stalls or dies when the service ESC/service traction control indicator lights up. As of 6-13-14, I have not received notice that my VIN is affected by the latest recall for the brake light problem.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #13

Jun 152012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Trans appears to be slipping...when accelerating car does not move..car bucks when gears shift.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #12

May 052013

Malibu

  • 35,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to replicate or diagnose the failure. The contact continued to experience a short circuit in the instrument panel. The power steering failed and the battery was reset multiple times to no avail. The contacts VIN was not included in NHTSA recall campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure several times and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 35,500.

- Leipsic, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 152014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving back to work on my lunch break and three alerts came across the screen. 1)service ESC 2) engine power reduced 3) service traction. Tt my vehicle would barely gain speed. When I was forced to stop at a red light, and the light finally turned green I was nearly rear ended as the car behind me was accelerating, and my car would barely creep forward. I was able to make it to my work parking lot as my vehicle almost did not get up to speed. Our vehicle is going to a Chevrolet dealership tomorrow to determine what is causing this.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #10

Jan 152013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was traveling on a side road and the vehicle shut down completely. I was told this was due to a faulty throttle position sensor. Had I been traveling at a high rate of speed on a busy highway, it is likely there would have been serious injury. Chevrolet did not respond to my concern and I ended up trading in the vehicle for a non-GM product. Viewing the recent recalls for faulty ignition switch (that I realize was not the issue with my car) caused me to report this in the event others have had this issue and hopefully prevent serious injury or loss of life.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #9

Feb 032014

Malibu

  • 59,898 miles
The vehicle is a 2010 Chevy Malibu with less then 61,000 miles on it. I purchased the vehicle last year and the transmission has went out on it 3 times within a month. All three times I have taken it to an certified Chevrolet dealership. After the second time they fixed my transmission the steering shaft was loose and I could have been killed or killed someone. After about 4 days after repairs the transmission will go out again. The car is not even 5 years old with 61,000 miles on it. This is truly disappointing, and it has cost me money and time.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #8

Feb 142014

Malibu

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, there was a reduction in engine power as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where unknown repairs were performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 1V460000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 143,700.

- Cascade, VA, USA

problem #7

Feb 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 52,157 miles
I was driving my car down a city street and the service ESC light came on and the reduced engine power light came on. The car's RPM's were surging back and forth. I did manage to get the car to my mechanic and get the throttle actuator cleaned off as he said it was dirty. Now the service ESC light intermittently is going off again and its been about two weeks. I don't want the reduced power to happen while I am on the highway.

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

problem #6

Feb 242014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, there was a reduction in engine power with the illumination of the ESC and traction warning indicators. The contact maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off and upon restarting, the vehicle resumed with the engine warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Commack , NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 232013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 59,632 miles
Cpo 2010 Chevy Malibu @59K no known issues prior to explanations about 3 days ago I took my car in for new tires and had a mech check a clicking noise that I noticed when I would place the car in drive and begin to move. He stated that the noise was coming from where my cv enters the transmissions and believes there is play within a gear somewhere internally. I called the Chevy dealer and am due to bring in the vehicle tomorrow.... now here is the problem. While driving my car on the highway last night this random issue. The following warning lights came on: Engine light traction control light followed by the following warning messages: Eng pwr reduced service ESC service traction ESC off the car began to shudder as if it wanted to die. Along with this, I had no acceleration and thank god I was able to get to the side of the road as when this happened I was exiting a tunnel onto a bridge. After pulling to the side of the road I shut the car off and restarted it. All the lights continued to show, and the rpms jumped as seen in the attached video. www.youtube.com/watch?V=mytmb6qod4Y&feature=youtu.be I again shut the car off and waited about 5 min. After turning the car back on, the only light that remained on was the engine light. I gathered these codes this morning. C0242 P2135 -tps this is the second car in 2 years I have bought from this dealer, herb chambers of danvers, and this is the second car to have a transmission issue, on top of whatever else its doing. I still owe well over $10,000 on this car. I have not even had this car 9 months. I can tell you I am a grown man in tears because I work 44 hrs a week in a career I spent alot of money training for and now am having massive issues. I cannot afford to lose my job and the dealer could seem to care less.

- Metheun, MA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 26,500 miles
There was an intermittent which caused the ESC and traction control lights to flash, the alarm to sound and the words that they were off plus the words traction control and ESC service to come up. At the time the cruise control disengaged. This occurred several times. I brought the vehicle to the dealer on Sept 16th and was told that I shouldn't be concerned about this intermittent. But it occurred again and then on 10/2/13 the warnings stayed N permanently for three days frightening my wife. I brought the vehicle in for service today and they said they fixed the problem using some dielectric grease.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jul 192013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 49,700 miles
This has happened 2 times, once a few days after purchasing the vehicle June 2010 at 400 miles, and then again on 7/19/13 after the issue was supposedly fixed by dealer.I was assured by the service department that this would never happen again after the repair in 2010, it did. This vehicle stalls while driving. On 7/19/2013 I was traveling on the garden state parkway in traffic and the car suddenly stalled. Everything went blank, the engine cut, no power steering, no instrument panels, no electrical what so ever. Thank goodness I was able both times to coast on to the shoulder on the highway without consequence, but without turn signals, hazard lights, access to on star or the ability to hand signal as the windows are out. After being essentially powerless, the car does turn back on after it resets the internal clock to 1/1/2009. Someone is going to get seriously injured or killed if this is not resolved, I was lucky to have not been hit both times. I am frightened that this will happen again and my job relies on me to travel long distances. This car is a death trap.

- Landing, NJ, USA

problem #2

Dec 202012

Malibu

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the ecs warning light illuminated as the vehicle independently decelerated to 20 mph. The vehicle also failed to respond to the contact's attempts to accelerate. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that they had received additional complaints for the failure, but not enough to issue a recall. The manufacturer offered no additional assistance. The failure and current mileage was 104,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?