Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,667 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Aug 142013

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The cruise control in my vehicle has stopped working as of 8/15/13. On 8/14/13, the cruise control stopped working but then about 20 minutes or so later, it started working again. I have tried resetting the cruise control by turning the control on and off however this was unsuccessful. I have also been experiencing a problem with my dash lights going on and off. It happens at random times so there is no specific incidents that cause this to occur. This has been occurring for about a year now.

- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA

problem #9

Jul 202013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 55,500 miles
After the cruise control stopped working on my Malibu, I noticed that the brake lights were staying on while driving. The brake lights are on while driving normally, then when the brake peddle is pressed lightly the lights turn off. After the peddle is depressed quite a bit (while braking for stopping or to make a sharp turn) the brake lights will turn back on. After releasing the brakes all the way, the lights will turn off and then back on again a few seconds later. Every time the brake lights turn on, the cruise control stops working.

- L'anse, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have been going through the same issue with my car for about 3 months now. I have had a issue with the ESC & service traction light. I took it to the jim ellis Chevy dealership ( paid $105 for diagnostic) and they told me it was the fuel injector, I told them that I had their fuel injector ( cylinder 1) replaced. They told me because it was aftermarket that I had to pay $267 to replace it. I took it to a local mechanic had him put in a GM injector and still was having the same issue, the mechanic replaced the engine wire harness, coils, shift solenoid, and none of this fixed the problem. He then stated that the base of the issue was the computer, I took it to get a second opinion and the next mechanic stated the same thing, after talking to another mechanic from superior Chevrolet, its the computer. I took it to superior Chevrolet and had another diagnostic done ( which was another $100) and asked them to please look at the computer since I was told twice it was the issue. They told me it was the injector harness and it would cost $320. This issue has been ongoing for too long and looking online many others are having the same problem, something needs to be done about this, customer are spending lots of money on an issue that seems to be ongoing.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #7

May 262013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 48,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle brake lights illuminate without applying the brakes. Cruise control fails to activate or disengages unexpectedly. Brake lights fail to illuminate while applying the brakes until approximately 2 seconds after applying the brakes.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #6

May 262013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Brake lamps intermittently flash or stay on without the brakes being applied and the cruise control disengages. The warning lights for electric stability control fault and traction control also display.

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #5

Jul 162012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
On 2010 Chevy Malibu, cruise would disengage periodically. Complete failure of cruise also resulted in brake lights saying on, just as in this article. Fix was replacement of BCM (body/brake? control module) www.detroitnews.com/article/20130208/auto0103/302080415/Pontiac-G6-brake-light-recall-may-expand?Odyssey=mod|newswell|text|frontpage|P.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 042013

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the engine power reduced warning light illuminated while driving 60 mph and caused the vehicle speed to independently reduce to 40 mph. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and to the dealer to have diagnostic performed. Both diagnostic tests located the failure at the throttle body position sensor. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Cabot , AR, USA

problem #3

Apr 012010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 38 mph he took his foot off of the accelerator pedal and the vehicle stalled after depressing the gas pedal after the vehicle speed increased. He stated that he had experienced the failure numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, the dealer reprogrammed the computer system, but the failure continued to occur. Report 71-872396053 was filed with the manufacturer who stated that they were aware of the failure which was associated with the transmission. The failure mileage was 300 and the failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 01/13/11 the consumer stated the issue was resolved. Updated 03/23/11

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #2

May 092010

Malibu

  • 23,300 miles
Vehicle was operating on cruise control at approx. 70 mph on level road grade.. driver pushed res+ button on steering wheel to increment cruise control set speed and the engine immediately went to wide-open-throttle. Driver immediately reacted by tapping brake pedal and the cruise control deactivated. I did not use the cruise control for the rest of our journey. Vehicle is a rental and this issue will be reported to rental Agency upon vehicle turn-in on 5/10/10.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 272010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14 miles
New Malibu 2010 (14 miles on odometer on 02/27/2010) has severe problem with the engine. Upon starting vehicle, it has a very strong vibration and looks like engine may stop running every minute. When accelerating, engine provides noise and vibration and engine generates rattling noise. It is unsafe to drive this vehicle. Dealership where vehicle was bought on 02/26/2010 does not like take to provide repair or so on. GM does not respond to our E-mails and calls, but when complaint was submitted to BBB we got a call that said that it is GM legal department - no last name or position, and the person started to intimidate us. The consumer stated when ascending a slope, not even 30 degrees, and have to stop, the vehicle began to slide back immediately once the accelerator pedal was released, before applying the brake. Updated 06/30/10.

- Vienna, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?