Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,408 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Jan 222016


  • 59,250 miles


30 minute drive to work, in rain at approximately 32 degrees, vehicle was running good until I pulled into a parking spot and an error message appeared (reduced engine power). I later left and the service engine light remained on. I then received an error message (service ESC) and later again received the (reduced engine power) while on the highway. It was snowing during this time. I was unable to fully accelerate but it felt as though the acceleration was not running well. I researched this issue and discovered many people/ Chevy Malibu owners having the same issue with no resolution; even after taking to dealer on many occasions. GM needs to recognize this issue and discover a resolution.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #74

Jan 132016


  • miles
The violently shakes almost as if it is about to die. It doesn't go over 23-30 mph. The car accelerates while holding the brakes. A message displays saying engine power reducing, service traction, service ESC. The car stalls while driving it on the street and highway. I'm scared of hitting someone while my foot is on the brake! my car is at 103K miles on it. I'm out of a car that I'm paying a note on. Its out of warranty. I haven't even had the car for a while year yet. The check engine light is on as well. The code for the check engine light is C0242. This is a very dangerous electrical problem. This should be a recall! many Chevy Malibu owners are having or have had the same issue!

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #73

Jan 142016


  • miles
I was stop at a red light and my dash read service airbag. I started to drive off and the dash started flashing service airbag. When in motion and as I start ignition. Also my seatbelt sometimes lock or not lock and is very loose as I adjust seat.

- Lamar, MS, USA

problem #72

Jan 082016


  • 0 miles


After reading the many many comments here, I can say I'm lucky. Fortunately, I was not driving my car when things went haywire. I returned home from work today and my vehicle was fine. I had to run a few errands but when returning to my vehicle, I noticed this: Vehicle wouldn't start. Fast clicking sound when attempting to turn over. Doors locked and unlocked by themselves during this time. Service ESC, service traction, and ESC off appeared. Vehicle has yet to start and now have no power whatsoever throughout the vehicle. Very odd that this is not a current recall. Help?'

- Nevada, TX, USA

problem #71

Jan 052016


  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the reduce engine power and the ESC lights remained illuminated. The vehicle could not exceed 20 mph. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #70

Jan 042016


  • 72,000 miles
Bought the car in February 2013. In June 2014 while driving on the highway it started saying service traction control. Car stalled and stopped. It did this 3 times on the highway. Changed tires. In July 2015 on the highway it did the same thing. Got the full body throttle changed. In November 2015 had taken to another shop. Langs tire and automotive. They changed the full body throttle again. Now January 4, 2016. The car is stalling try push gas when this happens and doesn't accelerate. The service ESC light is on now.. I also have 3 kids and a grandbaby that rides in this car. I'm just so irritated. Then to see how many other people are having same exact problems. They should refund everyone their money back on these cars. Evidently they were not made right in the first place.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #69

Sep 252015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the check engine, electronic stability control, traction control, and electric power steering warning lights illuminated. The vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. In addition, in rainy weather conditions, water leaked through the hood onto the brake lever and the steering wheel seized. The contact pulled over and restarted the vehicle, but the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #68

Jan 052015


  • 105,000 miles
2011 Chevrolet Malibu has experienced numerous occasions with "hiccups" (temporary loss of power) while driving followed by flashing warning light of traction control then followed with "service ESC... service ECM... ESC off". service engine light also came on and stayed on. By the time we took the vehicle to GM service the engine service light was off and they could not duplicate the problem or get a code but recommended a new ECM. Problem occurred again and returned back to GM service with same result and recommendation. My wife commutes 1.5 hours per day and also drives our 3 children to school each day. After having the vehicle continue with these issues, the vehicle finally stalled completely, on 2 separate occasions, in heavy traffic but would eventually start and run again. She did not feel safe and would no longer drive the car so I drove the vehicle one week each day to work to witness the problems myself. Every single day while driving the vehicle would flash the same error codes on each trip to and from work finally, on the way to the GM service department, the vehicle died in the middle of busy traffic and I had to have it towed. A new ECM was installed (with a cost of $650+) and within two days of driving, the exact same problem has occurred. GM service sent a tow truck and I await their next attempt at fixing this vehicle.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #67

Dec 232015


  • 115,100 miles
On 12/23/15 approx 8:40 am, I was driving eastbound on kelly drive approx 40 mph. I was heading into a soft curve, when the ESC came on and the steering wheel locked up. The car shook violently, jerking and swerving from left to right, going into the lane with oncoming traffic, and then jerking back into the lane I was originally in. The car jerked and swerved back and forth, approx 4 time. This lasted roughly about 10 seconds. The ESC light went off and the car felt like it had decreased engine power after that. I came to a red light and the engine shook, shuddered and then settled down. I continued on for another 15 minutes to work and parked the car. I'm afraid to drive it because I could've hit another car, crashed into the side of the wall, or another car could've crashed into

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #66

Dec 162015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the ESC warning indicator illuminated and the speed decelerated to approximately 15 mph. The contact had to maneuver to the shoulder to a complete stop. The contact waited approximately ten minutes and the vehicle started normally. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was driven to the dealer, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 03/18/16 the consumer stated the throttle body was replaced at a cost of $500. Updated 03/30/16.

- Ft Wayne, IN, USA

problem #65

Jun 122015


  • 100,000 miles


I was driving an my power steering went out in a large curve. 8 had to have the car towed but luckily was not injured. GM recently sent out an "extended warranty" on th power steering module only. This was replaced. In may of 2014 GM sent out recall 13036 that included my car. This recall is not pulling up on my VIN. The letter stated that parts were not yet available for a fix. I have lights and bells that my electronic stability control is not working. They found at yhe dealer that at least once I have had a brake error. In the recall letter it states that the brake lights may function when I am not braking or they may not function when I am. I am afraid to drive my own car! please push for a resolution to this recall.

- Fort Valley, GA, USA

problem #64

Oct 262015


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 55 mph, the ESC warning light illuminated. Suddenly, the diminishing engine power and traction control warning lights illuminated and the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact depressed the accelerator pedal, but the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was shut off and restarted; however, the service engine warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 1/15/16

- Berlin, NH, USA

problem #63

Oct 022015


  • 104,000 miles
While driving on I 94 westbound, a message appeared service ESC. Next message was ESC off. Without indicator warning, car was off. I exited based on the jerking motion the car was making. I thought it sounded like the engine was not running. I made it to 8 mile/vernier exit. When I came to a stop for the red light, I realized the engine had quit and the car was not running. I was terrified as I blocked the right lane. Cars traveling behind me had to break suddenly or swerve to go around me. It was a dangerous and frightening situation. I had to pay to have the vehicle towed home. It's sitting in the driveway and will not start. I was coming from therapy due to surgery recovery. I intended to make an appointment with the dealer. I'm afraid to drive it again.

- Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, USA

problem #62

Sep 282015


  • 110,000 miles
ESC message starts and turns off intermittently. Very dangerous driving under reduced power on highway trying to exit. Seems to be in the electronics.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #61

Aug 252015


  • 16,300 miles
Cruise control would not disengage until I hit the brakes hard enough to activate the ESC. Recall #14V252000 covered this problem but GM says my VIN was not included. This is a definite safety issue and needs to be expanded to cover all Malibu manufactured during the recall time frame.

- Kinsley, KS, USA

problem #60

Aug 032015


  • 87,076 miles
Driving car about 30mph. Noticed decrease speed, check gear shift to make sure in D. looked at dashboard, all lights were on. Scrolling, power steering, service engine, then the power steering went out. Made two turns without power steering. Event three-four minutes. Parked and turned car off. Drove car to dealership for service, problem did not occur.

- Burton, MI, USA

problem #59

Jun 082015


  • 75,000 miles
Took my car in to dealer because it started shaking violently going 20 mph, needed a new transmission is what I was told, had the transmission put in and now the ESC, and other lights are on!

- Toledo , OH, USA

problem #58

Jun 102015


  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle shook violently and the service electronic stability control, service traction, and engine power reduced warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #57

Jun 062015


  • 77,600 miles
6/6/2015 car was sitting in parking lot. Upon trying to start the car errors for electronic stability control and reduced engine power showed up. Car was sputtering and running rough. Turned car off. Waited a little while and started car again and no error messages. But the check engine light came on. The error code that came up was P2101. 6/10/2015 same thing happened. Let the car sit for about an hour and tried to start again. Smelled heavily of gas when it started. Check engine light is on.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #56

May 102015


  • 79,218 miles
While driving the vehicle I suddenly felt a light jerking sensation. The service ESC and service traction control lights immediately came on. The vehicle jerked to a stop. Once the vehicle was turned off and then restarted the indicator lights are gone. I've had this problem several times in the past two months and have had it in the shop. The certified Chevrolet dealership changed the front wheel bearing. The car did well for a little over a week. Now the problem is reoccurring. The dealership also found codes for a fuel injection failure but were not able to "duplicate" the codes so no repair was performed on that. The service ESC and service traction control problem is dangerous. If I didn't have to go to work I wouldn't drive the car. It's a safety hazard as I am a long distance commuter. I have had all service and recalls completed since purchasing the car a little over a year ago. Dangerous!! I'm hopeful that our government officials will force GM to issue a recall to remedy the issue before people lose their lives.

- Postville, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?