Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,097 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Mar 112015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact had the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. While driving approximately 45 mph, the traction control warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the BCM module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 02/12/16 the consumer has since sold the vehicle. Updated 02/22/16.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #48

Oct 162015

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
A couple of months ago, I was driving. 10mph or lower and all of a sudden my cars ESC turned itself off. I had difficulty steering it and veered off the road. Thankfully I was able to regain control. I reported it to the dealer, and when my car went in for it's 3rd recall in 2 years, they looked at it. They told me they could not get the problem to duplicate. Then today, as I was parking in NY driveway, I started rolling my windows up when I noticed they were particullary slow. I put the car in park, turned my car off, but the key back in and tried to restart it, only to hear clicking and my steering wheel to be completely locked up. Alot of indicators came on, including the cars security indicator. My car is at 66K miles, but we do routine maintenance and it has never been involved in a car accident.

- Gatesville, TX, USA

problem #47

Aug 242015

Malibu

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start and the security warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed. The vehicle had the fuel pump and key fobs replaced, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Amerius, GA, USA

problem #46

Jul 312014

Malibu

  • 23,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. On several occasions, the vehicle would not start. Also, while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did not restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The fuel pump was replaced on two occasions; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,700.

- Leesburg, OH, USA

problem #45

Sep 102014

Malibu

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 15V269000 (seat belts). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle shook excessively and stalled in a parking lot. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #44

Jul 192015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The blower motor resistance converter had gone out and it was determined by a mechanic that the wiring was burnt to a point that it could have caused the car to catch fire. I was also advised by the mechanic that there had been a recall for this specific problem but my vehicle identification number was not a part of the recall. This is unacceptable practice by General Motors as my life and the life of my family was in danger. Updated 10/07/15

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #43

Jul 252015

Malibu

  • 57,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was sitting in parking lot with car in off state listening to radio when it was time to leave my dash lights flickered, symbols went in/out, car wouldn't start. Had to tow home

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #42

Jul 102015

Malibu

  • 66,850 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to start and multiple warning lights illuminated. In addition, service tire monitor, service ecs, and service traction was displayed across the message board. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to multiple dealers and independent mechanics, where it was stated that the HVAC module was draining the battery. As a result, the battery and HVAC module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,850.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #41

Jul 112015

Malibu

  • 51,800 miles
We purchased a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu Sept. 2014 and it has been serviced 3 X due to the power steering locking up while driving and failure to start several times. The car would chime and the gauges would all drop to 0 and the engine light, power steering, low fuel and anti-theft light would all light up making the vehicle very difficult to maneuver.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #40

Sep 012014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
Since September of 2014, the low beam headlights on my Malibu have repeatedly gone out. The latest two incidents in March 2015 (passenger side) and June 2015 (drivers side) have resulted in the socket burning out. There is a forum where many drivers have noted this same issue. I was told it sounds like there is an electrical issue with the harness and that it is a very serious issue and could lead to a very bad situation. I've called and complained to Chevy but they claim that they have no prior complaints which I find hard to believe. This is a very expensive issue because of how they have constructed the vehicle. Please force them to fix this issue.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #39

Dec 302014

Malibu

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that there was a burning odor coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact also stated that the rear defrosted failed to function. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the fuses and noticed sparks. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who replaced the fuse or junction box. In addition, the contact stated that while driving during inclement weather conditions, the windshield wipers failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the windshield wiper transmission was replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V269000 (seat belts) and was unable to determine when the part would become available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000....updated 02/19/16

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #38

Apr 072015

Malibu

  • 34,000 miles
The rear defrost doesnt work

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #37

Apr 162015

Malibu

  • 93,695 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and independent mechanic where the technicians diagnosed the fuel pump main circuit needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,695.

- Hodgenville, KY, USA

problem #36

Apr 202015

Malibu

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the service ESC and service traction warning indicators illuminated. On one occasion, the vehicle did not shift out of the park position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the brake modulator sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was approximately 19,000.

- North Chesterfield , VA, USA

problem #35

Jan 022015

Malibu

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted and operated as normal. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times but the failure could not be duplicated. The contact also stated that the vehicle would fail to start on several occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- East Chicago, IN, USA

problem #34

Apr 032015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Driving on the [xxx]. a large piece of debris from a suspected truck flew and damaged my vehicle. The truck did not stop so I'm not sure if it actually came from it. The insurance company denied the claim because the debris would be considered collision not comprehension (I am covered for comprehension). Now I am stuck with fees that I am not even liable for.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #33

Apr 162015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Do not remember when I brought my car in for campaign 14V252000 maybe approx. A year ago. The problems the car was having before I had the recall done have started again. Up until now haven't had any problems. My dealer wants to charge me to fix it.

- Liberty, TX, USA

problem #32

Jun 162014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 24,945 miles
My service traction control light was coming on ever since I bought my car and I took it to koons for service and I was told one wheel was moving faster then another not to worry about it then on 06/18/2014 iwas hit by a Chevy Silverado that ran a light and I was doing 45 miles an hour I had my granddaughter in her safety seat in the back none of my air bags worked nor did my seat belts my grand daughter hit the back of the seats.now my car is flashing the codes again now that its fixed and shuts down while driving.its part of the GM recall for the upper wire harness but they are saying it isn't and they are not standing buy the warranty this defect almost killed us and still is almost killing us by shutting down while driving service traction control lights coming on plus air bag lights saying air bags are shutting down.so that means the air bags if we needed them would not help us again if needed.we were very badly hurt the last time and I need GM to step up and reimburse us for our injuries and for making us still ride in an unsafe car that they now is on the recall list but they keep saying its not.my car is still in service and service is saying it is part of the recall bit GM will not take responsibility...

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #31

Jan 172015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Early October 2014 I begin to smell a burning plastic smell after car is stopped. Self inspection found nothing, mechanic inspection found nothing. Around January I took car in for brake light recall, had service tech inspect; said they found a melted bag on exhaust (I saw no such thing). Late January 2015 my car won't start after sitting all night, car was jumped and started fine. Late March 2015 passenger side headlight sometimes fails to turn on at first attempt and after a 2 hour drive, next morning car won't start; after waiting 20 minutes car starts. 4/4/2015 car is left on (engine off) with radio playing while cleaning out car, after 10 min service ESC comes on dash, I immediately turn off car. I try to start engine, no ignition. The car wouldn't even try to turn over. I took car to autozone where they tested the battery and the alternator where both were found to be in perfect working order. I can hear the fuel pump attempt to engage and if the battery and the alternator are fine then that leaves me to believe it is the starter...however, if the smell wasn't a plastic bag but instead a wire melting, then I would have a short which could also be causing this. Bought this care as a safe mode of transportation for my son and I, I find myself more stressed out wondering if I will be able to get us were I need to go than with the old car I use to have. If this turns out to be a malfunction I hope GM is willing to make it right. The problem is increasing and no one has yet been able to figure it out.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jan 262015

Malibu

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering failed on the vehicle. The failure caused the contact to drive into a snow bank. The contact stated that the power steering light illuminated on the instrument and the traction control light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the failure prevented the vehicle from being steered. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was informed that the electronic steering module was not under recall and that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system) even though the body control module needed to be replaced. The contact received this information from a senior safety supervisor from GM. The failure occurred four times. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 61,000.

- Lewiston, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?