Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,101 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #184

May 162008

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drls bulbs on headlights run too hot causing the bulb to burn out constantly and causing assembly to and melt. I have to drive with my headlights on at all times, or my turning signals will not work. I've already had to replace headlight assembly twice.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #183

Jun 062012

Malibu Maxx

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. While driving various speeds, the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering), but the parts were unavailable. The contact felt that since the failure occurred in March of 2014 that a remedy should have been provided before June of 2014. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Spring City , PA, USA

problem #182

Jun 042013

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
On three separate occasions over the past year I would hear a loud chime and my power steering would go out in my 2004 Malibu maxx, making it very difficult to drive. Each time this has occurred, I would turn the car off and restart it which would resolve the power steering problem. Initially, I took the car to a mechanic who said there were no leaks in the power steering system and it must have been an electronic problem. I chalked it up to old age (for the car) and continued to drive the car with care. My wife has not been able to drive the car since this happened because she could not control the car if the power steering goes out. Recently I heard of a recall on T.V. regarding my year, make, and model. The recall description fit my experience with this car. I contacted the GM dealer (sweeney Chevrolet in boardman Ohio) and was told 'there had not been a recall on my car as of yet'. they went on to say that if I wanted it fixed, to bring it in and pay out of pocket. I would later be reimbursed by GM if, in fact, there was an eventual recal. My complaint is that I don't have $500-$1000 for a repair that I may not get reimbursed for. It is obvious that my car should be covered by this recall that was announced nationally on T.V. is there anything that can be done so that GM can be made to fix this car before it causes an accident? additionally, I have been brushed off by them regarding the turn signals since this car has been under warranty. I have replaced over 100 bulbs since this car was new. They overheat and melt the surrounding materials. I have already replaced the entire headlamp assembly, to no avail. I now drive this car without a left front turn signal because it will burn out the bulb within a day or two of replacing it. I'm not sure if this has been brought to the attention of GM in the past, but it seems to be a fire hazard.

- Columbiana , OH, USA

problem #181

Nov 142013

Malibu Maxx

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated while making a U-turn the steering wheel seized. The problem recurred while pulling out of a parking lot. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the torque input sensor was defective. The steering column was replaced and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 128,000.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #180

May 272014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • miles
Going 20 mph out of a tunnel....while turning right (wrench signal came on) I stopped at the traffic light. When I went to proceed the steering wheel would not steer. I was able to struggle with the wheel to drive until I could pull into a parking space. What a frightening experience. I waited 1/2 hour turned the car on and the steering was normal. I went on line and found that on March 31, 2014 there was a recall for my car and it's problem was with the power steering. When can I expect GM to starts sending out the parts that they are out of at this time to my car dealer service center? it is unfair that because GM is out of the parts I am unable to drive my car for fear I would be in a crash and be killed or someone else injured or killed.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #179

May 202014

Malibu Maxx

  • 60,350 miles
Suddenly lost ability to operate the power steering when making right turn at approximately 15 mph. The warning light was present on dashboard and indicated power steering problem. I was able to drive straight only and then put the car to stop. After turning the engine off and on again the warning light was no longer present. (this car was twice before at the dealer repair shop for steering problem in the past - under warranty. It was because the steering will locked when I was parking the car and this required me to turn the steering wheel all the way to the left and right for about 3 to 4 times. There was no warning light on the dashboard what so ever. Then I will have to turn off the engine and wait one minute and start the car again to unlock the steering and drive the car. The car dealer's warranty repairs did not fix this problem.)

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #178

Aug 022012

Malibu Maxx

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the street approaching the corner preparing to stop lost the ability to steer the wheel, could not continue to drive had to stop the car. On Saturday May 17,2014 while doing 65 miles on the highway a car lit up on the left corner of the dash and the power steering words appear. I immediately pulled off the highway in fear. Several times while backing out or pulling out of a space the steering wheel tightens. Every month I'm constantly changing light bulbs and the fuses for the interior and the exterior of the car. Updated 12/9/2014

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #177

Jan 122006

Malibu Maxx

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph and attempting to park, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The contact experienced a loss of power steering without warning. The failure only occurred when attempting to park. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who informed that contact that the steering column needed be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number : 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Teanech, NJ, USA

problem #176

Oct 132012

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,327 miles
T he contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the power steering malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become very hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering wheel torque and sensor failed. As a result, the power steering column unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 36,327. The current mileage was 44,258. Updated 08/11/14 the consumer stated the technician found the fault code C0545 (steering wheel torque in the past sensor failure). The steering wheel column unit was replaced. Updated 08/13/2014

- Clark, NJ, USA

problem #175

Jun 152013

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the vehicle became difficult to steer. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 102,000 and the current mileage was 106,000. Updated 6/26/14 the consumer stated the part needed to repair the vehicle had not become available. Updated 07/08/2014

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #174

Apr 142014

Malibu Maxx

  • 98,517 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the steering wheel made a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated that the power steering needed to be replaced. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 98,517. The VIN was not available.

- Chesire, CT, USA

problem #173

Mar 202014

Malibu Maxx

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage 44,000. The VIN was not available.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #172

Apr 152014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Since 1/2012, intermittent malfunction of power steering and engine operation at highway/street speeds occurs. Vehicle since has been inspected for incidents by certified dealers/auto repair shops. Problem continues forcing the driver to veer off the road without steering and/or power, putting the driver and anyone in the path at risk of injury/death. My research due to the most current incident led me to information released from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration dated April 1, 2014 stating that 1,340,447 cars affected with this problem. NHTSA campaign # 14V153000, GM recall #:N140115. GM knew this information. On 4/23/14 I submitted a complaint to the NHTSA, and GM. 2 GM employees denied the recall/services, yet eventually admitted that they knew about the recall which would be made public 4/28/14, yet notices to vehicle owners will go out after 4/28/14. GM continues the practice of not informing the public.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #171

Jul 022009

Malibu Maxx

  • 69,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential garage, the power steering warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering column was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer's recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 69,500 and the current mileage was 162,790.

- Sikeston, MO, USA

problem #170

Apr 012013

Malibu Maxx

  • 20,000 miles
The above date is approximate because I have had problem with this since I bought the car in 2004. I called the dealership, GM corporate, and NHTSA for years. I always got the same response, "cannot duplicate the problem". GM owes me money for all the aggravation and money for paying service dept. For nothing. My car lost steering on the highway while trying to pass an 18 wheeler, this meant I was in the left lane. By the grace of god, I'm still here!! I still have my car, but I have not received a recall letter!

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #169

Jun 072006

Malibu Maxx

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated while shifting into any gear there was a sudden loss of power steering with the illumination of the warning indicator. Upon turning the vehicle off and back on it began to operate normally. The failure recurred intermittently and became progressively worse over the years. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and dealer, who both stated that the steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 5/22/14

- Georgetown, OH, USA

problem #168

Mar 222014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Power steering light came on and ringing sound sounded and power steering went completely out in the middle of a busy intersection as I was making a right hand turn. I managed to get it to the curb and call for help. After sitting a while it became normal, but I am afraid this will happen again. There have been many complaints from other about this. See NHTSA action number ea 04018 and lots of GM service bulletins. My dealer cannot help because the recall was for 2005 Malibu max electronic power steering and not the 2004, but it is the same power steering unit. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington Court House , OH, USA

problem #167

Mar 092014

Malibu Maxx

  • 210 miles
Driving down the road and the steering wheel loses power and locks up, my daughter is 19 years old and I'd like her to see her 20th birthday, please help, this is ridiculous the amount of Chevy customers that have had this issue and it is being ignored by GM, this needs to be recalled, asap!!!!!

- Fayetteville, OH, USA

problem #166

Mar 012014

Malibu Maxx

  • 109,000 miles
Power steering simply went out and at such a slow speed, it was very difficult to maneuver car... all the bells and whistles did go off, a second or two before it failed. Not sure what would happen if I was on the highway - not sure I want to find out. Turned off the car, then back on and steering returned to normal. Went to Chevy dealer and was told it is out of warranty and they will not cover the cost of repair, and wants an additional $100 just to tell me what is wrong.... not sure why there is no recall on this critical element of the car. It seems GM and the NHTSA are playing "russian roulette" with our lives....

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #165

Feb 102014

Malibu Maxx

  • 159,900 miles
I turned my car on, and the power steering light came on. Couldn't steer. Turned car off and on, then my steering wheel jerks like crazy for a week. Now driving home from work my steering died completely. Reading about this and I see this is a huge problem for the Malibu and Malibu maxx. Chevy needs to do a recall!!!

- Louisville , TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?