If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,648 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 092009

Monte Carlo

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo super sport. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The vehicle was unable to be restarted and was towed to the contact's residence. The dealer stated that the engine and ECM caused the failure. The contact would have to pay over $500 to have the vehicle repaired. The failure has been occurring for approximately four months; however, this was the first time the vehicle ever shut off. The failure and current mileages were 88,000.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #15

Aug 012008

Monte Carlo

  • miles
We have a 2001 Chevy Monte Carlo that had issues with the anti theft, pass lock system. This kept the car from starting at times and sometimes would cause it to die while on the highway.. it started happening more frequently until it finally quit working all together. The BCM and the pass lock sensor had to be replaced. I have asked for the old parts. I have recently found out that there are numerous GM vehicles with the same issues and there has been no recalls. I consider this a potential safety hazard and GM needs to look into it a little further..

- Geary, OK, USA

problem #14

Oct 272008

Monte Carlo

  • miles
My 2001 Monte Carlo ss has recently had problems with its security warning light system. The warning light comes on for no apparent reason while driving the car. At the same time the headlights and dashboard lights flash very quickly. One time the car would not start and the car was dead. After opening the trunk with my remote to get the battery jumper cables power returned to the car and I was able to start the car.

- Boxford, MA, USA

problem #13

May 202005

Monte Carlo

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First I noticed that my dashboard would not light up at night from time to time when I drove at night. Sometimes it would not light up upon startup and then light up during the drive. This became more frequent over time. Also I experienced that my fog light on the driver's side kept blowing bulbs, about 3 so far, whereas the passenger side bulb is the original one since I brought the car. I spoke with a mechanic I befriended while taking a class and he told me that the problem was the headlamp control switch on the dash to the left of the steering wheel. I went to the dealer and they confirmed this to be true without my assessment I gained from my classmate mechanic who told me how common this problem was and how expensive it is to fix for the Chevy Monte Carlo ss 2001. Do you have similar complaints about this type of problem ? not being able to see your dashboard at night is very annoying as I like to know what my car is doing while driving it. I feel that this problem will grow and become more expensive to fix over time, especially being electrical. Sincerely

- Dolton, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 152008

Monte Carlo

  • 64,383 miles
My gauges are going dead in my 2001 Chevy Monte Carlo. I have been to several dealerships and they say "they fix it" but 2 days later... same problem. All of the gauges in the dash go dead. All of the warning lights flash.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #11

Apr 052006

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,711 miles
Stop & go driving. ABS warning light comes on, traction control turns off, service traction control warning light comes on, brake pedal vibrates. All lights stay on while driving but reset after ignition turn off/ turn on procedure as described in owners manual. Next day, same lights & warnings. Take vehicle to dealer on 4/05/06. "computer checked system codes P1189, P0135, C1216 in system. Items tested per trouble tree. All items test good." No charge. Next day, 4/6/06, same warnings! take to dealer again without resetting warnings. No computer system codes showing, but no input signal from right front hub. Dealer replaces right front hub assembly - cost $479. Vehicle seems fine, until about 4/20 when brake pedal vibration comes back and warning lights come on and off. I turned off the traction control system and everything was fine for several days. On 4/25, with the traction system off, the pedal vibration was back and the ABS & traction control warning lights came on again. Went back to dealer. Although they told me the computer check show codes of C1222 and C1226, the codes do not show on my invoice. Code C1226 appears on NHTSA technical service bulletin item number 10017271 for my year and make of vehicle. However the service bulletin number 3500 is not know to the dealer as a valid tsb number, and they could not locate any information about it. Dealer "diagnosed and replaced ebtcm, and programmed system" - cost $697. I feel that by replacing the "brain" (ebtcm) and programming it, the dealer and/or the manufacturer may be covering up a potential safety issue with either one or both systems, ABS and traction control. I also feel that the dealer put me and my family in a dangerous position by failing to diagnosis any problems on the first visit, and then doing it again by making me feel safe by paying for a replacement part that has nothing to do with either system!

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 082006

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Security light, service vehicle soon light, battery light and airbag light all flash. The radio will "lock" and will not play. The car seems to run fine but the lights flash constantly. I was told there was no recall on this model, but yet it sounds just like the other recalls on Monte carlos. My dealership wants $80 just to look at it. There is a real problem with the diagnostic system and I am afraid my air back won't work if needed.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #9

Nov 122004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
Turn signals intermittently inoperative. Notice hazard switch intermittently inoperative. If you play with hazard switch and get hazard lights to function then turn signals will function. Will replace hazard switch as I believe it to be malfunctioning (an intermittent open circuit in switch).

- Stockbridge, MI, USA

problem #8

Aug 232005

Monte Carlo

  • miles
I guess I'm the lucky one my car seems to have almost every complaint listed. The side air bag continuously tries to escape from it's seat. Several months ago my blinkers started to work only as they felt like it, having read consumer complaints, I tried turning on the hazard lights when they wouldn't function, this would remedy the blinker problem for a short time. However, now my blinkers don't work at all and my hazards don't either. About the same time my car began shutting off at various speeds with no warning. Then I went about 1 1/2 months with no stalling problems. This week my car has shut off daily making it very difficult to steer, stop and feel safe, especially with no hazards. The car will go to the Chevy dealer today, we'll see what they say. I think that it's important to note that when the car shuts down you often don't have enough coasting time to get safely to the side of the road, especially on a 3 or more lane highway.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 202003

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since purchase of car with 34,000 miles in March of 2002, there have been several problems. Check engine light came on around 50,000 miles, had it checked was given the code for temperature sensor. Had sensor changed, within six months light came on again. When checked was given same code for temperature sensor so I had it replaced a second time. Now periodically while driving the temperature gauge will drop completely and when turning off the ignition the fan will continue to run. The only way to stop the fan is to either unplug the fan or unhook the battery. Randomly when trying to start the car it will not start as if the battery is dead, but the radio and all lights still work. Had this checked but no problems could be found. After waiting for about ten minutes the car will start. The only explanation I was given was that maybe the computer system thinks I am attempting to steal my own car. Then there are the turn signals, when you turn on the signal it will work for a few seconds then stop. The only way I have found to make them work again is to turn on the hazard flashers for a few seconds then turn on the signal again. There have been so many problems with this vehicle and with no warranty left it is rather costly and frustrating.

- Keithville, LA, USA

problem #6

Jul 082004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,046 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Series of high cost repairs at my expense with no warranty: Driver infomation center has always been wrong and inaccurate and unfixable; at 24446 miles, replaced front rotors at my expense (; ac at 30825 worked intermittenly and battery light indicator stayed on and serpentine belt worn out (replaced with after market brand ($90) that has lasted perfectly at almost 80,000 miles; engine coolant leak notice by Chevrolet on July 2003 fixed on 7/30-03 at 58009miles; at 34607 vibration from intermid. Steering shaft and bushing replaced ($60); vibration back at 75,000miles and they would not fix it; chev diagnosis on 7/8/04 for left rear wheel speed sensor needs left rear wheel hub assembly (ABS brakes will not work and not fixed, $700) and turn signals work intermittenly (not fixed) and ac compressor leaking (not fixed, $900), and driver seat power seat heater defective (not fixed, $230).

- Camdenton, MO, USA

problem #5

Oct 202003

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Voltage drops off to 10 volts & headlights flicker. Alternator was replaced but did not fix the problem, has been @ 3 different dealerships 6 separate times. They can`T find the problem. 1500 miles to go before the car is out of warranty.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #4

May 012003

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
When driving, headlights and dashboard lights (speedometer, etc) will go out, warning lights will light up. At other times, after turning off ignition, the headlights and/or dome lights will stay on. Vehicle will not start, unless battery cable is removed and reconnected. Dealership was of no help, said I would be charged to determine the cause of the problem, as it is no longer under warranty. This is a safety issue, because the headlights will go out, while driving, causing visibility to be nil.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #3

Aug 272001

Monte Carlo 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,132 miles
I have had numerous problems with my 01' Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss. The car will idle between 1200 and 3300 rpms intermittently while driving and in park. This problem makes this vehicle very hard to control, slow down and stop. My fuel mileage has been affected, I have had to replace my brakes, and my confidence in this vehicle is gone. My wife and I feel very uncomfortable driving this car because we never know when it is going to act up, and when it does, the safety of us and all those around us is in jepordy. I have towed this vehicle to the dealer over 8 times, for this problem. I have had numberous this replace, but the problem keeps coming back. I have attempted a GM buy back and also a lemon law and GM refused to do anything about it. I no longer want to waste my time and money on a car that may soon harm someone or myself!!!

- Elroy, WI, USA

problem #2

Jul 012003

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer called complaining about electrical system problems. Stated that consumer was in the vehicle and that the door will not unlock/ windows will not come down. Manufacturer was contacted, and stated that they have no other complains on this vehicle.

- Camillus, NY, USA

problem #1

May 112003

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,100 miles
Turn signals will not work when windshield wipers are operating.

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?