Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,920 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Apr 062016

Monte Carlo

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. While driving 60 mph, the temperature and fuel gauges displayed incorrect readings. In addition, the low coolant warning light illuminated even though there was coolant in the vehicle. The air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #53

Jun 202016

Monte Carlo

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall. I spoke to a representative at GM asking about the recall of my vehicle and said my warranty was expired. I just recently bought the car from another person so how I was suppose to know about the cars recall. The problem with the car is the ignition switch whenever I rotate it to turn it on it does not start. I would have to rotate it slowly to the start and as well let it go slowly for it to start. So its not functioning properly. I want to file a complaint to GM for I can get my car fix since it could be caused of my death and the death of other civilians that are near my car whenever it gives up or even worst.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #52

Dec 152015

Monte Carlo

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. While driving at an unknown speed, smoke expelled from the front of the vehicle without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount for time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #51

Sep 012011

Monte Carlo

  • 211,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. While driving at an unknown speed, the key released from the ignition switch without warning. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch and key tumbler needed to be replaced before the recall repairs could be performed. While waiting for the repairs, the ignition switch shorted out and caused the anti-lock and ABS system to malfunction. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who confirmed that the ignition switch and key tumbler were defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the recall repairs were not performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 211,000.

- Eastview , KY, USA

problem #50

Mar 242015

Monte Carlo

  • 86,137 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred and the instrument panel gauges illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired again and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,137. Updated 8/21/15

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #49

Sep 152014

Monte Carlo

  • 110,000 miles
2001 Monte Carlo ss; I've had many different occasions on where the car just dies while I'm driving it. They had a recall for the "ignition key" I took it in, they "fixed" the key-not the ignition, and still, to this day, the vehicle continues to die while driving, which includes loss of power steering completely. Luckily, I have not had a car accident due to this issue, but it's still scary when it happens. It happened again today, 5/29/2015 while driving and completely lost steering control when it died.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #48

Nov 162014

Monte Carlo

  • 340,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and an abnormal noise emitted. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred only after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The failure caused the battery to drain. The battery was replaced on three separate occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 340,000.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #47

Mar 102015

Monte Carlo

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the turn signals failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #46

Feb 032015

Monte Carlo

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn over to start the vehicle. The contact exited the vehicle and, upon further inspection under the hood, it was noticed that there was a fire near the engine compartment which burned various components. The parts that fractured ejected from the vehicle in flames. The driver did not sustain any injuries and a police report was not filed. The contact was able to get a fire extinguisher to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000.

- Bourg, LA, USA

problem #45

Oct 302014

Monte Carlo

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that after servicing the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system), the insert in the key slot and the cover over the key head on the ignition switch detached. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the recall was performed on a second occasion but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #44

Sep 022014

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Security will not allow car to start or run dealer says bad BCM or wire wants 400 to look.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #43

Jul 132009

Monte Carlo

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo super sport. The contact stated that while stop within a parking lot, the vehicle jerked, suddenly accelerated independently and crashed into a metal pole. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained head injuries which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Gauley Bridge , WV, USA

problem #42

Jul 272014

Monte Carlo

  • 150,000 miles
I went out to start my car and the key won't turn the ignition switch. I have three keys to my car and none of them will turn ignition.

- Artie, WV, USA

problem #41

Nov 102010

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 210,329 miles
I was driving on the 105 freeway and the car cut off on me in the fast lane. I pulled the car to the side and tried to start it back up. It wouldn't start at first but after a couple more of times of trying, it started up and I went on home. This car was my moms friend's car and he couldn't drive it anymore do to health problems, so he gave it to me. This shutdown happen to me 3 more times where the car just shutdown while im driving, and then it stated to shutdown while I was at a red light, but it didn't. I asked my moms friend about the car and he told me that he had bought the faulty ignition switch 2 times before, and he still have the papers from the shop where he paid them to fix it. My moms friend told me about the recall so I went to the GM in long beach ca. They gave me a card to call, harbor auto, [xxx]., (562)426-3341. I called and told her about what was happening to the car and it's on recall for the faulty ignition switch. She told me that the year 2001 is not on recall so she can't help me. I looked at the news report on nbclosgneles.com for GM recalls and this is the same thing that's wrong with my car, the faulty ignition switch. I don't know what to do about this ignition switch because he tried to fix it 2 times already. I have to drive this car to work and back home. Now that I know what's wrong with the car, I just shake the key in the ignition and it will start back up. I don't drive on the freeways unless I have too. And when I do, I drive in the slow lane just in case it wants to shutdown on me. Please help me get the right part for my car, thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My security system has gone on spuradically for years and I have no idea why. I have paid several times X3 for a wrecker serfvices to come and activate my car so it would run. Also as I have learned about recalls recntly I had to replace the upper gasget manifold due to it leaking oil due to a plastic gasket instead of a rubber gasket. This ran me more than 900 dollars. I have never received a recall notice for any defect/recall on my monte despite buying it new in 10/2002. Please send me directly any recalls on my vehicle that have occurred. Thx

- Same, MI, USA

problem #39

Jul 222008

Monte Carlo

  • 80,000 miles
My automatic door locks don't work, randomly when I am driving the car will just act like it can't shift but still drives and D's order it when slowing down to. Updated 2/2/2015

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #38

Jul 162009

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start unless the key was shaken in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the head gasket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 110,597. Updated 9/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle should be put on a recall list for faulty ignition. The vehicle should be added to all former recall list that exist or existed for the model. The consumer requested for the vehicle to be repaired and to be reimbursed for what has already been repaired. Updated 1/20/2015

- Lizmores, WV, USA

problem #37

Mar 162014

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 178,000 miles
Intermittent failure of the Chevrolet passlock system. The engine starts, but dies in one or two seconds and the "security" light begins flashing - or the engine may not start at all. If I wait 10 to 30 mintues after the first attempt, I can usually get the car restarted but if you do a search online for GM passlock, you'll find numerous websites reporting this issue and suggesting that it may eventually get so bad that the car will not start again. The General Motors passlock system is supposed to protect yoru car from theft by preventing the fuel system from engaging, however; this malfunction is happening to owners all across the United States of America.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #36

Dec 182013

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 195,000 miles
Upon attempting to start my car, the engine made a loud bang and saw some smoke coming out from the sides of the hood. I then noticed in the reflection of some water on the street and orange glow. I got out of the car, saw fire under the car, and called 911.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #35

Nov 182013

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
I purchased a used 2001 Monte Carlo ss 3.8L October 2011. The recall #2009047 engine compartment fire notice arrived in August 2012. Two spark plug retainers were installed at the dealer September 18, 2012 for no charge. On November 18, 2013, the car was parked for a few hours from 11 am until 2:45 pm, then after driving a short distance (less than 8 miles) on the highway, the car was parked in the lot of a pharmacy. Noticeable smoke began to emanate from under the sides of the hood. The hood remained cool to the touch. Immediately after the hood was lifted, the entire engine compartment was engulfed in fire. Two police officers just happened to be on the scene at the time. They kept us away from the vehicle and prevented us from any attempts to use an extinguisher on the fire. It burned until the firefighters arrived a few minutes later and put it out. The car still looked great with the hood closed. Except for a cracked windshield, there was no visible damage to the interior, exterior, or tires. Everything in the engine compartment was completely destroyed. The insurance company totaled it out.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?