If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo electrical NHTSA complaints: Electrical System

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,839 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 302014

Monte Carlo

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that after servicing the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system), the insert in the key slot and the cover over the key head on the ignition switch detached. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the recall was performed on a second occasion but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #41

Sep 022014

Monte Carlo

  • 80,000 miles
Security will not allow car to start or run dealer says bad BCM or wire wants 400 to look

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #40

Jul 132009

Monte Carlo

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo super sport. The contact stated that while stop within a parking lot, the vehicle jerked, suddenly accelerated independently and crashed into a metal pole. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained head injuries which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Gauley Bridge , WV, USA

problem #39

Jul 272014

Monte Carlo

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went out to start my car and the key won't turn the ignition switch. I have three keys to my car and none of them will turn ignition.

- Artie, WV, USA

problem #38

Jul 222008

Monte Carlo

  • 80,000 miles
My automatic door locks don't work, randomly when I am driving the car will just act like it can't shift but still drives and D's order it when slowing down to.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #37

Mar 162014

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 178,000 miles
Intermittent failure of the Chevrolet passlock system. The engine starts, but dies in one or two seconds and the "security" light begins flashing - or the engine may not start at all. If I wait 10 to 30 mintues after the first attempt, I can usually get the car restarted but if you do a search online for GM passlock, you'll find numerous websites reporting this issue and suggesting that it may eventually get so bad that the car will not start again. The General Motors passlock system is supposed to protect yoru car from theft by preventing the fuel system from engaging, however; this malfunction is happening to owners all across the United States of America.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #36

Dec 182013

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 195,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon attempting to start my car, the engine made a loud bang and saw some smoke coming out from the sides of the hood. I then noticed in the reflection of some water on the street and orange glow. I got out of the car, saw fire under the car, and called 911.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #35

Nov 182013

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
I purchased a used 2001 Monte Carlo ss 3.8L October 2011. The recall #2009047 engine compartment fire notice arrived in August 2012. Two spark plug retainers were installed at the dealer September 18, 2012 for no charge. On November 18, 2013, the car was parked for a few hours from 11 am until 2:45 pm, then after driving a short distance (less than 8 miles) on the highway, the car was parked in the lot of a pharmacy. Noticeable smoke began to emanate from under the sides of the hood. The hood remained cool to the touch. Immediately after the hood was lifted, the entire engine compartment was engulfed in fire. Two police officers just happened to be on the scene at the time. They kept us away from the vehicle and prevented us from any attempts to use an extinguisher on the fire. It burned until the firefighters arrived a few minutes later and put it out. The car still looked great with the hood closed. Except for a cracked windshield, there was no visible damage to the interior, exterior, or tires. Everything in the engine compartment was completely destroyed. The insurance company totaled it out.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #34

Oct 012012

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 123,045 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the cooling system failed and caused the heating system to also fail. In addition, the instrument panel lights would flicker on and off. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for inspection. The failure was located at the ignition and the electrical system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,045 and the current mileage was 124,161. Updated 04/02/13 updated 04/03/13

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #33

Oct 032012

Monte Carlo

  • 184,375 miles
I bought the car with no problem then all of a sudden it started with hard starting now it doesn't want to start at all. I brought it to a mechanic and they just pointed at stuff and then blamed the remote start and told me to change my ignition module it didn't fix the problem bought brand new plugs and wires and that didn't fix it then they told me to change the computer and that made no difference. They first told me to change the ignition switch and it cost me 180 dollars then I had to buy a blinker switch witch was also around 190 dollars this is money I don't have. And now im on foot because my car wont start and I need help I have no idea who knows how to work on cars were I live. I need somewhere that they know wiring or something, just help. I have no more money and I just need to have this stupid problem fixed. I also have a problem were the car will die out at a certain speed or when I let off the gas. I almost was hit by another car when this happened.

- Dunseith, ND, USA

problem #32

Nov 222012

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a red light at the intersection of 31st street and la grange highway when I noticed smoke coming from under the hood of my car. I pulled into the cit-go gas station thinking my Monte Carlo was over heating. Then, flames began to come from the under the hood. I immediately called 911 and the la grange park police and fire department came within minutes. They had to saw my hood open to put the fire out and I immediately contacted GM. They notified me that my vehicle is in fact a recall and was negligent in sending me the registered vehicle owner any sort of notice of recall. GM is denying fault and refuses to repair the vehicle or grant any sort of responsibility or compensation. Although they are responsible for the manufacturer defect they still refuse liability.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Sep 112012

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 192,671 miles
Well I go out to start my car and nothing after 30min it start, and ever time I stop I had to keep it running or the car would not start, I paid a dealer $600 to fix.two days later it happen again, this is caused by the BCM, T he body control module, only a dealer can fix this now I cant even drive the car until I come up with $600 again plus $65 for programming.

- West Union , OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 012011

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • miles
I have had consistent problems with the ABS on this vehicle. I have had it diagnosed at Chevrolet dealers and independent dealers in va. I have replaced all wheel hub/bearing assemblies. That is not the problem. The problem is with the ABS wheel sensor wiring harnesses. It is obvious if you go online and research this issue there is no way that Chevrolet is not aware and the many models of vehicles that are affected. I contacted Chevrolet and they have no desire to attempt to help with repairing this safety issue that is well known by dealers, mechanics and consumers. There are currently no tsb's or recalls for this issue. Thanks

- Forest, VA, USA

problem #29

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles
Second submit - 1st submit no response 10427931 6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

problem #28

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles
6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

problem #27

Sep 012008

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Turn signals only work some of the time and make a loud buzzing noise sometimes you can make them work by pushing the four way flashers but it is only a temporary fix.. I believe this is a serious safety issue and there should be a recall for this problem. There is also a clunking noise coming form the steering column/front end.

- Calabash, NC, USA

problem #26

Aug 202011

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 137,350 miles
The battery began failing (still had 1 1/2 years left on it). When everything in the car including security failed, by leaning on the passenger side seat I noticed the seat was "burning" hot. I received slight burns to both knees. Although black leather is hot in summer, the seat was extremely hot. Unplugging the seat began to cool the seat, but had apparently been on long enough to totally drain the battery. It was noted the battery was now sitting in acid which had spilled out of the battery caps. It is obvious the relay switch to the heated front passenger seat went on by itself without the hi/lo switch being on. The battery will now need to be replaced.

- North Berwick, ME, USA

problem #25

Feb 042011

Monte Carlo

  • miles
2001 Chevy Monte Carlo blinkers doesn't work an when I press the hazardous lights thy start working but recently neither of them work.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #24

Dec 062010

Monte Carlo

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss. The contact stated that the cluster instrument panel failed by not displaying the correct amount of gasoline, temperature, and the speed on the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that he needed to replace the entire instrument cluster. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 132,000.

- Lil. Genesy, NY, USA

problem #23

Sep 262010

Monte Carlo

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss. The contact stated that when at a complete stop, the ignition suddenly locked up; he was able to insert the key but it would not turn. The contact called the dealer about the failure but was told that there were no related recalls and repairs would be at his expense. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 120,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?