If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,809 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 012012

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 123,045 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the cooling system failed and caused the heating system to also fail. In addition, the instrument panel lights would flicker on and off. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for inspection. The failure was located at the ignition and the electrical system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,045 and the current mileage was 124,161. Updated 04/02/13 updated 04/03/13

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #15

Oct 272011

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • miles
My husband and I got into my Monte Carlo ss 2001 to leave work on a cool day and it didn't start so we tried afew more times to start it. I started screaming the cars on fire, flames and heat hit the windshield from the hood so we jumped out and my husband opened it.the fire burned his hair and he backed off and called 911. I grabbed my purse and ran toward the shop we work at and the car made a loud boom that scared me so bad I flew into the building and hurt my back. A cop put the fire out and then the fire engine did the rest. The front of my car is a mess and I don't understand what happened or why. I loved my car and feel this is not ok. Shouldn't GM replace it or atleast pay something" my insurance company wont give me what I had into it, so what now"

- Trenton, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles
Second submit - 1st submit no response 10427931 6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

problem #13

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

problem #12

Sep 302010

Monte Carlo

  • 119,452 miles
Intake manifold explosion resulting in 2nd degree burns.

- Covington, TN, USA

problem #11

Mar 292010

Monte Carlo

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that a fire ignited under the hood after she attempted to start the vehicle; the fire then progressed to a loud explosion which destroyed all of the parts under the hood. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the mechanic stated that he had never seen such a failure. Although the explosion occurred, the vehicle was not destroyed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 110,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 052009

Monte Carlo

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The authorized dealer confirmed that the VIN was included in the recall, but the contact disagrees with the recall remedy. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were unavailable.

- Spring Lake , MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 122009

Monte Carlo

  • 110,000 miles
My 2001 Monte Carlo ss. I went to start it and it had a load explosion, it bent sparkplug, blew off oil cap started a fire, whole upper intake destroyed.

- Lisbon, ND, USA

problem #8

Jan 062009

Monte Carlo

  • miles
I was going in reverse doing about 10mph I smelled smoke so I got out of the car open the hood and nothing but smoke came out before I could do anything the whole car was on fire. I had to call 911 the said my car was toast I had a Monte Carlo ss 2001.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Nov 182008

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact noticed a leak in her garage underneath the vehicle, which was found to be water and coolant. She took the vehicle to her regular mechanic, who replaced the plastic intake manifold gasket with a rubber gasket. The contact was informed that the failure was common with her type of vehicle and was referred to the dealer. The dealer was aware of the failure, but could not assist. The manufacturer has not yet been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 54,000. Updated 12/11/08 updated 12/11/08.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #6

Feb 112006

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,979 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle caught fire. When the ignition was turned on there was a loud explosion. The hood was opened to extinguish the fire. The fire department was not contacted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for inspection. Upon inspection the plastic pressure regulator gauge was cracked which caused gas to pool in the intake area. The dealer replaced the pressure regulator gauge. Updated 3/28/2006 -

- Boonville, MO, USA

problem #5

Aug 232005

Monte Carlo

  • miles
I guess I'm the lucky one my car seems to have almost every complaint listed. The side air bag continuously tries to escape from it's seat. Several months ago my blinkers started to work only as they felt like it, having read consumer complaints, I tried turning on the hazard lights when they wouldn't function, this would remedy the blinker problem for a short time. However, now my blinkers don't work at all and my hazards don't either. About the same time my car began shutting off at various speeds with no warning. Then I went about 1 1/2 months with no stalling problems. This week my car has shut off daily making it very difficult to steer, stop and feel safe, especially with no hazards. The car will go to the Chevy dealer today, we'll see what they say. I think that it's important to note that when the car shuts down you often don't have enough coasting time to get safely to the side of the road, especially on a 3 or more lane highway.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #4

Jul 082004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,046 miles
Series of high cost repairs at my expense with no warranty: Driver infomation center has always been wrong and inaccurate and unfixable; at 24446 miles, replaced front rotors at my expense (; ac at 30825 worked intermittenly and battery light indicator stayed on and serpentine belt worn out (replaced with after market brand ($90) that has lasted perfectly at almost 80,000 miles; engine coolant leak notice by Chevrolet on July 2003 fixed on 7/30-03 at 58009miles; at 34607 vibration from intermid. Steering shaft and bushing replaced ($60); vibration back at 75,000miles and they would not fix it; chev diagnosis on 7/8/04 for left rear wheel speed sensor needs left rear wheel hub assembly (ABS brakes will not work and not fixed, $700) and turn signals work intermittenly (not fixed) and ac compressor leaking (not fixed, $900), and driver seat power seat heater defective (not fixed, $230).

- Camdenton, MO, USA

problem #3

Apr 152003

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Windsheld wipers park straight up vertical. Heater resistor failed. Check engine light always on. Steering wheel rattles when cornering slowly. Light always on saying antifreeze low despite it not being low. Too much bass in radio rough shifts. Brake pads done at 70,000km seems to be falling apart as soon as warranty was up.

- Smiths Falls, UN, USA

problem #2

Apr 152003

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Windsheld wipers park straight up vertical. Heater resistor failed. Check engine light always on. Steering wheel rattles when cornering slowly. Light always on saying antifreeze low despite it not being low. Too much bass in radio rough shifts. Brake pads done at 70,000km seems to be falling apart as soon as warranty was up.

- Smiths Falls, UN, USA

problem #1

Dec 152002

Monte Carlo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
My 2001 Monte Carlo ss developed a leak between the upper plastic intake manifold and lower aluminium intake manifold. I stopped at a dealer and asked them about it and they said they knew of no problem but when I asked them how much to repair they replied about $800 without looking at the car. I contacted GM customer service and they told me to take the car to a dealer for an estimate, which I did. They then talked with the dealer and came to the conclusion that there was nothing they could do for me. In the meantime I did some research and found that this is a common problem with a technical service bulletin out on it. GM customer service and the dealer said that since this is not a safety issue nothing could be done because the car is out of warranty and that I should have purchased the extended warranty. So I was stuck paying a garage $880 to replace both manifolds as directed in the tsb and the worry that my year and a half old car my launch its motor at anytime due to the contamination of the oil with antifreeze from the leak.

- Stafford, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?