Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,806 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 202016

Monte Carlo

  • 120,000 miles


Takata recall. I spoke to a representative at GM asking about the recall of my vehicle and said my warranty was expired. I just recently bought the car from another person so how I was suppose to know about the cars recall. The problem with the car is the ignition switch whenever I rotate it to turn it on it does not start. I would have to rotate it slowly to the start and as well let it go slowly for it to start. So its not functioning properly. I want to file a complaint to GM for I can get my car fix since it could be caused of my death and the death of other civilians that are near my car whenever it gives up or even worst.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 292015

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 183,000 miles
There is a clicking noise when I turn the wheel, and I checked everything in the wheel and it all looked it must be in the steering... ive read up on it and people are saying its the intermediate steering shaft.

- Lafollette, TN, USA

problem #14

Jul 162009

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start unless the key was shaken in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the head gasket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 110,597. Updated 9/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle should be put on a recall list for faulty ignition. The vehicle should be added to all former recall list that exist or existed for the model. The consumer requested for the vehicle to be repaired and to be reimbursed for what has already been repaired. Updated 1/20/2015

- Lizmores, WV, USA

problem #13

Apr 162007

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


While driving my 2001 Monte Carlo ss at 65 miles per hour on the interstate the car would shut off on its own leaving no power steering, brakes, or power to anything. The car did this several times. I contacted GM directly when this started happening. Basically I was told too bad and they couldn't help me. June 5, 2014 summary history display store 01 servc01 total R/O's 1 total serv. Days 3 make cv Chevrolet ln# Ro. date.. miles. Adv/tech J# T operation code. Description 600760 04/20/2007 98020 a 7368 31973 1 C 32ctz001 check engine lig 4757 June 5, 2014 R/O close out store 01 servc01 desc. Cv Monte Carlo blck 01 | 4. labor $211.40 0.00 0.00 | | 5. parts 6.96 0.00 0.00 | | | 8. misc $14.95 0.00 0.00 | | 9. tax $13.11 0.00 0.00 | |10. Est $ [ ] totals C $246.42 w 0.00 I 0.00 | | | complaint customer states the check engine is on | | dies while driving andm doesn't shift well | | cause performed diag sys check and found dtc P0128 engine coolant | | temp incorrect. And P1811 shift adapt. | | correction needs new thermostat for P0128 | | needs valve body and pressure control solenoid for P1811 |

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #12

Aug 152002

Monte Carlo

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the steering wheel made a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated the intermittent steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 012008

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Turn signals only work some of the time and make a loud buzzing noise sometimes you can make them work by pushing the four way flashers but it is only a temporary fix.. I believe this is a serious safety issue and there should be a recall for this problem. There is also a clunking noise coming form the steering column/front end.

- Calabash, NC, USA

problem #10

Feb 102008

Monte Carlo

  • 75,000 miles


I feel something in the steering wheel like a knocking noise. It happened about 2 weeks after I bought the car. You can feel it and hear it when I turn the wheel and even when I don't turn the wheel.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 212009

Monte Carlo

  • 110,000 miles
2001 Monte Carlo ss failure of steering knuckle passenger side. Replaced outer tie rod two times on second replacement noticed tie rod was loose in knuckle after looking closer I saw large crack in tierod hole that if separated completely the steering would have failed. Had to replace steering knuckle and tierod again. Was told that this happens very frequently with all models of GM cars with this same setup. Mileage at failure was around 110,000 miles.

- Fairchance, PA, USA

problem #8

Nov 202008

Monte Carlo

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the steering shaft on the vehicle failed. The steering made a noise that the dealer was unable to duplicate. The dealer stated that the hub may have been affecting the steering. The hub was replaced at the cost of $3,000 at the contact's expense. The failure became louder and more frequent when making sharp turns. The dealer stated that the driver's side hub needed to be replaced for the second time within a year. They stated that the passenger side hub also failed. The dealer later determined that the steering shaft was the true cause of the failure. There was a recall issued by doorman products regarding the steering shaft, but it only pertained to aftermarket or replacement steering shafts. The contact was not the original owner of the vehicle and could not determine if the steering shaft was previously repaired. The failure and current mileages were less than 100,000.

- Colleen, TX, USA

problem #7

Jan 022005

Monte Carlo

  • 35,000 miles
I have a 2001 Monte Carlo and have many issues. 1st I have been having a steering issue since 35,000 miles. I makes constant noise when steering and turning. Had it fixed twice at my expense. Once again started happening. I do not know if this is dangerous. 2nd gas gauge does not work. 3rd the heat/ac intermittent and I noticed when this does not work the panel where it tells you if you are going North, South etc. Doesn't work either. Also the driver side heated seat does not work anymore. Please get back to me.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #6

Apr 032007

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,902 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact noticed that the steering column was extremely loose and he heard a grinding metal noise. He took the vehicle to a dealer on two occasions and they replaced and lubricated the steering shaft twice. One year later, the failure recurred with the steering shaft. The contact is in the process of having an identical repair made to the vehicle. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 37,902 and current mileage was 49,000. Updated 10-30-08 updated 11/03/08.

- Shadyside, OH, USA

problem #5

Feb 102006

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had my 2001 Monte Carlo ls since September of 2001 I am the original owner. I started having problems with the intermediate steering shaft at about 20,000 mile at which time the dealer lubed it and the problem went away for awhile. The lube only lasted till about 48,000 miles at which time I had to take it back to the dealer and they did it again under what they call good will. At around 63,000 miles it was happening again at which time I decide to call General Motors. I explained my problem to them even giving them their own bulletin number that called for replacement of the steering shaft that was provided to me by a GM technician. They could not find that in their database until I gave them the number then they told me there was a bulletin the superseded the bulletin I gave them which called for lubing the shaft. They had me take the car to the dealer for diagnosis which they told me the steering shaft needed to be lubed which is what I told GM on the phone. GM told me they where not going to cover the cost of the repair even know the same part failed 3 times in under 70,000 miles. The dealer quoted me $280 for the repair which I declined and they charged me for diagnosis of $75. I ended up buying the lube for $11 and doing it myself. I really think if GM is going to sell cars they should be responsible for faulty parts they are putting into vehicles knowingly costing consumers millions yearly. There are many technical bulletins on the steering shaft problems. I'm just going to put any date in for incident date because this seems to be a recurring problem.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 192005

Monte Carlo

  • miles
The brake rotors on my 2001 Monte Carlo have had to be resurfaced twice and now need to be resurfaced a third time for becoming warped. The first time I had the brakes resurfaced was at 19,874 miles. The second time was at 40,644. I have 55,562 miles on my vehicle now and they need to be resurfaced again, but the vibrations haven't gotten that bad yet. Associated with the vibrations from my rotors becoming warped, I experience a "knocking" feeling in the steering wheel. I took my car into my local Chevy dealer at about 39,700 miles and described my problem to them. They told me that the brake rotors were warped and needed resurfacing and that the steering shaft had gone bad and needed replacing. I had them replace the steering shaft ($480 job) but not the brakes. I took my car to a local repair shop to resurface the rotors (less expensive than dealer cost). I am having the same symptoms of the steering shaft going bad again. I don't understand why Chevrolet won't do something for its Monte Carlo customers.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #3

Dec 182003

Monte Carlo

  • miles
Clunking noise when making a turn can also be felt through the steering column. The same thing can be felt at highway speeds.

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #2

Nov 222001

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
While driving at highway speeds, vehicle tends to drift to either side causing very poor handling. Flaws in the road causes the vehicle to wander all over the place. Trying to have the problem fixed for 2 years now has completely exhausted me, yet the problem still exist. I hope and wish for something to happen resulting in repairs being made to my car, being that this is my first new car and I saved for years to purchase it.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 242002

Monte Carlo

  • miles
Vehicle taken to dealer for "clunk" in steering wheel, repair done and after completeing repair, vehicle no longer travels in straight line. Vehicle weaves at all speeds, pulling to the right then darting to the states " no known repair for this defect". nlm

- Dania Beach, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?