Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,009 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup Owner Comments

problem #6

Oct 192006

S-10 Pickup 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 31,925 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel pump failed after 31K miles. Chevrolet 2002 S10 pickup.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #5

Aug 022005

S-10 Pickup 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,025 miles
Following are problems I have had with this vehicle since owning it. All of which I feel has caused me great inconvenience, and recently too much money. I have sent letters to GMC just today to see if they are going to do anything about the inconvenience and cost. October 21, 2002 at 4035 miles the idler arm was replaced, (under warranty) at doan Chevy. Somewhere around January 2003, a sensor for the heater shield was replaced under warranty at doan Chevy. March 4, 2004 at 26,345 miles the idler arm was again replaced under warranty at doan Chevy. March 29, 2004 the drivers?? door needed to be aligned it never closed properly, as did the passenger visor needed to be aligned because it never would snap shut, replaced under warranty at doan Chevy. After being stranded 3 different times on major highways during rush hour traffic, because the car would just quit while driving it, on July 8, 2005 the fuel pump modulator was replaced at a repair shop owned by a previous hallman Chevrolet mechanic in rochester, NY - sam lovetro automotive 44 richomd street, rochester, NY 14607. Phone number 585-262-4585. Not under warranty, as the warranty is only for 36,000 miles. This cost me $671.98. Friday, July 1st to find the problem, took it back into the shop Tuesday July 5th picked it back up on Friday July 8th, 2005. Tuesday, August 2nd 2005 the service engine light has come on again! I refuse to pay another penny for this vehicle to be repaired; there have been far too many problems with this "new" vehicle with less than 49,000 miles on it. I have also emailed doan Chevy with my complaintsl. I really would hope that GM would stand by their products and respect their customers. So far I am not seeing this. I can not afford any more money to be spent on this; I just put $1000 into this truck in the last 6 weeks. It has had a complete tune up on June 23, 2005 this cost me $236.30.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #4

Oct 212002

S-10 Pickup 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,000 miles
I bought my 2002 Chevy S10 truck in June of 2002. October 21, 2002 at 4035 miles the idler arm was replaced. January 2003 the heat sensor for the heater needed to be replaced, as the blower worked but the heat wouldn't. March 4, 2004 at 26, 345 miles the idler arm was replaced. Also, the drivers door had to be adjusted not closing properly, the drivers side visor wasn't aligned and wouldn't lock in place needed to be adjusted. July 8th the fuel pump modulator needed to be replaced. I feel this is way to many problems for a new vehicle.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 312003

S-10 Pickup 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevrolet S10 has had to have new fuel pump module put on 03/19/03 and has now gone out again on 12/31/03. Had leak in oil pan, leak in windshield on passenger side. The truck had 29,000 miles the first time the fuel pump went out and 55,000 this time when it went out. I feel that is entirely too frequent for fuel pumps to fail.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #2

Feb 042003

S-10 Pickup 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,103 miles
Car is dangerous in that it misfires in higher speed conditions. Chevy executive office and 2 dealers (O'connor & bob johnson in NY) refused warranty coverage after their 4th attempt failed to cure the problem. 2 independent shops verified problem. Chevy executive office (Ms. Mann) refused to call independent mechanics for any information even though this would have helped with diagnosis. Car is not even a year old with less than 4200 miles.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Nov 052001

S-10 Pickup

  • miles
Fuel pump malfunctioned, causing fuel to pump back into fuel tank. Has caused a no start condition due to fuel not bypassing to engine. Consumer has contacted dealer.

- Eagan, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?