Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,092 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #204

Apr 012010

Silverado

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the anti-brake warning light illuminated periodically. As of April 2, 2010, the ABS light would not turn off. The vehicle had not been taken to an authorized dealership when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 84,000.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #203

Sep 192009

Silverado

  • 101,531 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 5 to 10 mph on normal road conditions and applying the brakes, the anti-lock brake system intermittently activated. An authorized dealer stated that the failure was caused by the ABS speed sensor. NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000, service brakes, hydraulic, anti lock was related to the failure; however, the recall remedy was insufficient and does not address the defect. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileages were 101,531.

- Little Canada, MN, USA

problem #202

Jun 152009

Silverado

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact noticed that his vehicle was experiencing the same failures as stated in NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in the recall. The current and failure mileages were 95,000.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #201

Aug 132008

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock); however, the contact is now experiencing the failures listed in the recall notice. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 59,000. Updated 11/17/08 updated 11/18/08.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #200

Jan 052008

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
When coming to a full stop, speed less than 10 mph. Could not stop, and sounded like brake shoes needed replaced. After replacing shoes, still same sound. More work on brakes, no improvement still. Then talked to muffler brothers, franklin Ohio. Also gas gage acting up.

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #199

Jan 122006

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS brakes engaged when driving and braking at low speeds such as braking in traffic or at light. Silverado ABS appears to engage and unable to stop in distance needed. Driver has avoided a number of incidents by swerving or has ended up in the intersection past the approved stopping point.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #198

Nov 012007

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 5 mph in clear road conditions, the ABS activated without warning. The stopping distance increased. Approximately two years ago, the dealer repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock). As of December 12, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle due to the previous recall repair; however, they would check to see if the manufacturer would authorize the repair. The VIN and engine size were unavailable. The failure mileage was 94,000 and current mileage was 95,000.

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #197

Nov 082007

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
1. no warning 2. ABS kick in at low speed and little to no braking is result in forward and reverse, inconsistently occurring 3. dealer replaced front hub #15233111

- Austin, MN, USA

problem #196

Jul 092006

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Silverado pickup. The contact stated that every 2000 to 3000 miles while driving at 50 mph the engine would lose power momentarily, and then start back up. The contact would sometimes have to pull over on the road and restart the vehicle. The failure became more and more frequent. He took the vehicle to three or four different dealers, and they could not duplicate or diagnose the failure. The contact determined that the failure was due to the ignition and had it repaired, after being told he would be reimbursed the contact has not received the reimbursement. Also the brake light and ABS lights turn on intermittently when driving without applying the brakes. This failure had occurred ten times. The transmission, fuel gauge sending unit, the right power window all had to be replaced. The engine light illuminated. Updated 03/07/07.

- Ashland, MO, USA

problem #195

Jan 302006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
- there was a recall for the sensor on the ABS of a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. He was driving and trying to stop at a light when the brakes did not stop the vehicle. He took the truck to the dealer for repairs and they told him that there was a recall notice sent for this vehicle, and confirmed that this vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The contact called GM, and they stated that therewas a recall on this particular truck. They gave him a different dealers to take the vehicle to. He then called up the dealer and took the truck to be repaired. The dealer was not going to repair the brakes. Theytold him if they choose they could deny the service.

- Summerville, NJ, USA

problem #194

Jan 202007

Silverado

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,836 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL * - the contact has a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that there were three different incidents when she applied the brakes, and the ABS system locked up. The last time this happened was 01/20/2007. The contact stated that on each ocassion she was driving approximately 15 mph and there was snow on the ground. Also, the contact stated that at no time did the ABS light come on. The contact stated that she had the ABS system worked on before under a safety recall. The contact would like to know what she could do now.

- Omro, WI, USA

problem #193

Oct 242006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
ABS recall for 2001 chevorlet Silverado, recall # 05068 vehicle recall was performed by seaway chevorlet (dealmaker) thersa NY 13691 on November 18, 2005. Vehicle has same problem as before, at slow speeds vehicle or turning ABS engages and makes it so the vehicle will not stop without letting off the brakes. Recall was performed but same problem exists.

- Clayton, NY, USA

problem #192

Sep 262006

(reported on)

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Submission in regards to problems experienced with 2001 Chevrolet Silverado after a safety recall; seeking reimbursement for repairs. When the brakes failed, the consumer slid across a stop sign and caused an accident. The consumer's husband had 2 minor accidents due to the brakes failing. The consumer believed the accidents were due to the brakes locking up at low speeds.

- Prince, WV, USA

problem #191

Sep 152006

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
: the contact stated when the brake was applied, there was a grinding noise. The ABS activated prematurely while driving 10 mph. The dealership was aware of the problem. There was a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Magnolia, KY, USA

problem #190

Jul 282006

(reported on)

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado. Consumer would like to be reimbursed for brake repairs. Consumer received the recall notice after brakes were already repaired. Prior to the recall notification, the consumer and her husband complained that when traveling at low speeds the brakes were not holding. There were 2 minor accidents which were believed to be associated with the recall. The consumer had the brakes repaired, however the problems continued with the brakes locking up.

- Prince, WV, USA

problem #189

Jun 142006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,233 miles
: the contact stated upon turning off the vehicle the ABS light illuminated and the pump motor was heard running. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was determined the ebcm needed to be replaced due to a short which caused the motor to run. The ebcm has been replaced which corrected the problem. Updated 7/21/2006 -

- Avon, MN, USA

problem #188

May 172006

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,400 miles
At low speed stop, the antilock brakes kicked in causing increased stopping distance, nearly hitting car in front of me.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #187

May 132006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,900 miles
We purchased our 2001 Chevy Silverado 3500 diesel dually truck in February of 2006. In may of 2006 we started having trouble with our brakes. When we were coming to a complete stop our brakes would give a little (like the ABS were kicking in). We took our truck to a Chevy dealer and they informed us it was our right front wheel speed sensor and the hub assembly. The cost would be $535 to replace the right front hub assembly and the brake stop switch. In investigating online we realized this was a very common problem and that there had been a recall on the speed sensor. In talking with the investigator with the NHTSA they informed me that the recall is only for the speed sensor and not for the hub assembly which contains the speed sensor. We currently have it in the shop and will be getting the old parts when we pick up the truck. Thank goodness that we were able to get it into the shop before we were injured in an accident like so many others or we injured someone else. I am very upset that GM is not taking more responsibility. I don't know much about trucks but I would assume something that contains an item that has been recalled would cause the whole thing to be damaged if left long enough. We did not know of the recall until after the truck was in the shop. I hope that GM realizes their mistakes and that I will recieve some compensation from them. We use our truck to do disaster response full time through a church organization and rely on the truck all of the time. We can not afford to be worrying if our brakes would hold up. I have always been a fan of Chevy but now I am unsure of our safety.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #186

Mar 172005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,051 miles
From November, 2004 until fixed in March, 2005 had repetitive episodes where anti-lock brakes came on at low speeds of around 7-8 mph. This led to several very near accidents on the military base I work, parking lots and on the city roads. Luckily no one was ultimately injured before the problem was figured out to be the anti-lock brake system sensors. They were fixed by dealer at price of $598.40. A recall was released on this problem in Canada and in the us (GM recall 05068) in December, 2005. This vehicle was purchased from O'connor Chevrolet in rochester, NY in November, 2003. A claim was filed with Chevrolet (file #1-409354542) and was denied because the vehicle was not purchased by me in Canada and I didn't live in Canada. This vehicle was purchased from a Chevrolet dealer in New York state with a now known defect that nearly caused several accidents to me and my family and now Chevrolet will not pay for the repair stating it is not covered by the us recall. If it is the same defect in all the vehicles and the truck was purchased from a Chevy dealer it should be honored. Chevy nearly killed me and my kids several time by their negligence in manufacturing and should pay for the repair needed to fix their faulty product.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #185

May 082006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Copy of email sent to GM: I recently contacted a local dealer concerned about my ABS system engaging at low speeds. He notified me that there was in fact a recall on the truck in Canada and certain states in the us for corrosion problems around the ABS speed sensor. He also informed me that he could not perform the recall since the truck was built and initially sold in Canada. He then gave me GM "800" number to call, which I did (ref#1-409390276). She also informed me that my only option was to have the dealer perform the necessary recall and then submit the receipts to GM for "possible" reimbursement. I have since removed the ABS fuse from my truck and am currently driving the truck with this feature disabled to prevent from hitting someone or something. I plan to replace the front brakes and rotor soon and I'll see if I can clear the debris problem myself. I sat and tallied the cars I've owned the last 30 years and came up with 6 different cars/trucks. As far as a historical reference this truck has been pretty good as far as typical american vehicles go. I've only had to replace the ABS modulator ($1000), the rear brakes and rotors ($200 my repair), and the driver side door window drive mechanism ($200). All this with less than 60000 miles on the vehicle. There's been a severe draft on the passenger side since I bought the truck (bought one year old with 20K miles). Hmmmmm. I wonder why my other two vehicles are Toyota Camry's and my next truck will probably be a Toyota as well. Thanks for the memories. Jeff.

- Lowell, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?