Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,046 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Jun 292004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Silverado parking brake does not hold, rear axle seals were leaking. ** answer required*** the consumer received a recall regarding the parking brake after several attempts of trying to get it repaired. The ABS light illuminated, the dealer replaced the speed sensor. The cd player failed. The complained about a rattle when going over bumps. The dealer tightened the shocks. The tailgate latch was replaced.

- Gunnison, CO, USA

problem #113

Jan 132006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
Wheel speed sensor is falsely activating the ABS.

- Sherborn, MA, USA

problem #112

May 142005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Every time I stop this truck the anti lock brakes kick in at 3 - 5 mph.

- Akron, NY, USA

problem #111

Feb 012005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevy Silverado brakes failed at low speeds. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected, he was informed there was a problem with the ABS. The sensor was cleaned and a part was replaced. The consumer then received a recall notice in October 2005 regarding the ABS. The recall letter stated the consumer could apply for reimbursement. The tailgate rusted and broke. The steering relay and right front idler arm were replaced. The window regulator was replaced. The wheel center cap fell off.

- New Florence, PA, USA

problem #110

Aug 172005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,300 miles
: the contact stated T the vehicle will not stop when applying the brakes. The antilock brakes activated, causing the vehicle to shake and vibrate. There was NHTSA recall campaign O5V379000 concerning antilock brake failure. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #109

Jun 062004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Anti-lock brakes failed to function as designed causing lose of vehicle control and crash. Additionally airbag did not deploy in a front end collision severe enough to totally destroy vehicle.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #108

Dec 182005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1) approaching a stop sign at 20 mph. Applied brakes with 100 ft to go to stop sign. Pavement dry under drivers side wheels. Pavement less than 20% snow/ice covered under passeanger wheels. Temperature 0 degrees F. 3:00 pm 2) I applied the brakes 100 feet from the stop sign. The ABS fired preventing the brakes from engaging. Transmisson did did not disengage. Tried releasing brakes and reapplying, but ABS continued to fire. Pickup did not slow at all due to transmisson continuing to be engaged at throttle idle. Car ahead of me at stop sign was damaged considerably in right rear quater. My pickup received minor damage to front. 3) corrective action not taken yet. Looking into options for replacement of ABS. Recall exists in other northern states for this defect, but not in Minnesota.

- Rooseville, MN, USA

problem #107

Nov 162004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,956 miles
The contact complained about ABS brake problems. The vehicle was taken in to the dealership numerous times to have the ABS brakes worked on. The ABS light came on. They took the vehicle to the dealership the first time to have the light checked. The problem with the light was repaired. The second time the vehicle was taken to the dealership to have the rotors changed. The third time the vehicle was at the dealership the brake pads were changed. Also, the rotors were turned. The fourth time the vehicle was taken in to the dealership it was still having the same problems. Repairs to the vehicle were made at contact's expense. At this time there was NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000. Recall repairs were done. The vehicle currently has the same problems as before. Updated 03/03/06.

- New Castle , IN, USA

problem #106

Jan 262004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received a NHTSA recall letter campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. The recall work was performed. However, the dealership informed him that this vehicle experienced a failure with the ABS and once the sensors corroded. The contact refused to drive the vehicle because he was afraid that the same ABS failure would occur at any time. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no additional assistance. When the consumer attempted to stop the vehicle, the ABS activated and subsequently the consumer hit a building. The consumer stated he felt responsible for the accident until he received the recall notice in the mail. Updated 01/11/06.

- Saranac, MI, USA

problem #105

Sep 012005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact purchased a 2002, Chevrolet Silverado new in 2002 from ron marhoffer Chevrolet in northeast Ohio, where he resided until early 2005. During the summer of 2005 ABS intermittently activated at low speeds. By the end of September 2005 this problem was occurring almost every time the vehicle came to a stop. Contacted Chevrolet and a service appointment was made at local dealer, perry Chevrolet, in columbia, mo. The dealership sent the contact home without correcting the problem. While there was a recall covering 2002 Silverado in the state of Ohio, there seemed to be some questions as to whether or not this vehicle was covered. The contact believed this vehicle was unsafe to drive in its current condition, since the stopping distance was unpredictable, especially in places such as parking lots. As of 12-13-05 the vehicle has been repaired. Updated 01/11/06.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #104

Nov 242005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the ABS brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to the state the contact resides. The headlamp bulb was replaced. Updated 01/04/06.

- Delafield, WI, USA

problem #103

Oct 052005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact received NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti-lock brakes. Before the recall work was completed the contact's husband was involved in a crash while pulling into a parking space. He depressed the brakes and the ABS engaged and vehicle hit a brick wall. There was bumper damage. The contact wanted GM to reimburse her for the bumper damage. The contact called the manufacturer several times, and they offered no reimbursement for the bumper damage.

- Jim Thorpe, PA, USA

problem #102

Nov 302005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
At low speeds, (below 10 mph) the antilock braking system will engage (pulsing of brake pedal) on my 2002 1500 Silverado and make stopping distances dramatically greater in slippery conditions, even if only one wheel is on a patch of ice/snow. This leads to scary situations at stop signs/semiphores. I contacted GM, and they advised me that I live in a state (mn) that is not covered by the recall. I was advised that if the vehicle was repaired at a dealership, I may be eligible for reimbursement on a case-by-case basis. For now, I have removed the ABS fuse to disable the ABS system. I realize that the ABS will not work at all, but at least I my stopping power will be predictable.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #101

Sep 072005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Cold engine start-up knock. I own a 2002 Silverado Z71 with the 4.8 engine. The engine has had cold start-up knock since I have owned it. I have asked dealers about it and have been told it is normal. I build engines for and own to drag cars. One is an et footbrake car with a mild 350 ci small block Chevy. The other is a 48 Fiat altered with a 434 ci small block Chevy stroker. Both have forged pistons and neither has the cold piston noise that this bone stock 4.8 has. I currently have 39,139 miles on my truck and want it to last as long as possible. Under the current circumstances, I don't think it will last much longer before it cracks a piston skirt or severely damages the cylinder walls. It is my intention to contact Chevrolet in the next couple of days but after reading the complaints on this site, I am prepared to be told the same as the dealer told me. I am also looking into the class action suit approach to get a remedie to the problem. Another issue is the brakes. The truck has 4 wheel disk and stops like it has four wheel drums without power?? I owned a 97 sivlverado that had brakes that worked the same. You would think that a truck that cost 30,000 dollars would be a little better constructed.

- Vine Grove, KY, USA

problem #100

Oct 242005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,237 miles
Had my 2002 chev Silverado in for recall service 05068 on 10-24-05. Dealer advised that recall service performed but vehicle required new front hub assemblies to correct ABS problem at a cost of over $1000 to me; the recall states it will correct problems caused by corrosion between hubs and ABS sensors. Cost should not be incurred by me for defective manufacture.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #99

Sep 212005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,594 miles
The county in which we live receives over 100+ inches of snow on average. The states that surround us, West Virginia and Pennsylvania, are considered by your definition to be in the "rust belt" our state and county road crews use a lot of salt and chemicals on the roads in the winter due to the high amount of snow that we receive each year. For this reason we feel that you should consider this area in the coverage zone for the safety recall of the front wheel speed sensor corrosion. The Silverado would make noises, vibrate and would feel like it was not going to stop in the necessary and appropriate distance at low speeds. The brakes felt mushy and would vibrate when coming to a stop. At first it only happened infrequently, but then began to happen all the time. The Silverado was taken to the local dealership to be serviced and the technician tested both the left and right front sensors. The technician then tried to remove and clean the above mentioned parts, which could not be done. The result was that a new hub assembly on both sides was installed. After this repair was completed, both the right and left sides were retested and found to be working ok. There have been no problem since this repair was completed. The old parts are available for inspection if needed.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #98

Jul 082005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact stated the dealer diagnosed the problem as the ABS signal dropping out at low speeds. This vehicle was showing the same symptoms as indicated in the recall. The delaer told her on 11-05-29005 this vehicle was not involved on 11-05-05 the wheel speed sensors had to be replaced at the contact's expense.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #97

Oct 252005

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received NHTSA recall letter 05V379000 concerning ABS brake failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for repairs. Upon leaving the dealership experienced the same ABS brake problems as those prior to the repairs. The dealership then drove the vehicle and could not duplicate the problem. General Motors told him if the dealership could not duplicate the problem then there was nothing they could do. The vehicle was taken to another service station, and they told him the problem was still with the ABS. Updated 11/29/2005 -

- Wakeman, OH, USA

problem #96

Aug 302005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,349 miles
The contact stated that when applying brake pressure to make a sudden stop the ABS did not activate. There was no feeling of pulsation. There was extended stopping distance. Was able to avoid a rear end collision. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer, who insisted the disc brakes delaminated. There was NHTSA recall, but this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN although the vehicle experienced the same ABS problem as indicated in the recall. No repairs have been made at this time. Updated 12/7/2005 - the vehicle was taken to the dealer who determine that the speed sensor was corroded. The dealer informed the consumer that there was a recall for the 1500 Silverado but not the 2500hd Silverado.

- Greenville, NY, USA

problem #95

Oct 082005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,050 miles
Truck will not come to a complete stop. I ran into another person coming to a stop. Truck will just keep rolling a little even with the brakes fully depressed. Talked to a couple of service stations and they said it was my ABS sensors in the front hubs. GM has a recall but not in my state and that is why I am filing a complaint.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?