Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,046 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

Sep 012005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact stated anti -lock brakes were activating at low speeds. Road salt corrosion led to false brake sensor readings, causing anti lock brakes to activate at wrong speeds. While driving in a parking lot the contact ran over a concrete parking barrier because he could not stop. The parking lot was dry. He had not contacted the manufacturer. Took vehicle to a dealership, and they were able to clean the sensors. The consumer didn't learn about the recall until after he paid for the repairs. Updated 11/29/05. Updated 11/29/05. The consumer contacted the manufacture and was told that Wisconsin was excluded from the recall. The consumer was not aware of the recall until after the dealer had repair the problem. The consumer request reimbursement for the repairs.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #93

Oct 202005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Chevrolet Silverado truck has started experiencing symptoms of low-speed ABS brake failures.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #92

Oct 032005

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,594 miles
Consumer states the drivers seat slid forward six inches from back, it broke and hit the tilt lever. It causedthe consumer's aunt to have a broken back, and she was paralyzed from the waist down. This happened on October 3, 2005, consumer stated that her aunt had foot on the brakes, but the vehicle accelerated instead of slowing down. There was no forewarning before this happened. At this time consumer has not contacted the dealer or manufacturer.

- Mannford, OK, USA

problem #91

Jan 162004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,855 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS brakes engaged at speeds below 5 miles per hour regardless of road conditions. I nearly crashed into parked cars in parking lots, and my own garage at home. I did crash into steel dumpster at work. ABS engaged while doing 5 mph going down a hill at work. They would not disengage after repeated attempts pressing and releasing brakes. The vehicle sped up due to no breaking and slide sideways which resulted in me striking a steel dumpster at work caving in both doors on the driver side of truck. This resulted in $4346.38 insurance claim which I paid a $500 deductible on. I had to disconnect the ABS after that as the constant engagement of the ABS would occur at anytime I was going 5 mph or less.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #90

Aug 172005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,980 miles
Poor quality vehicle/parts anti-lock brakes activate when they should not, there is an upcoming recall as GM is aware of this problem on the 2002 Chevy Silverado, however they will not fix it until the recall is active. I am having a problem with the brakes now, this is a safety issues and they should fix them now and not make me pay for this service and then require me to submit a bill at a later date to be reimbursed.

- Wampum, PW, USA

problem #89

Sep 082005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact stated that the brakes on H 2002 Chevrolet Silverado were bad. At low speeds the truck will not stop. The contact noticed this a couple of weeks ago. When he took vehicle to the dealer they replaced some sensors, and it was still doing the same thing. The pedal went to the floor. NHTSA recall 05V379000 regarding the ABS brakes was issued. But the state of Virginia was not included in the recall. He has not yet talked to the manufacturer. Also, was having problems with the rotors. The contact had to replace the rotors at 40,000 miles about a couple of months ago.

- Davenport, VA, USA

problem #88

Sep 182005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

'02 Silverado 1500, ext cab... pls add me to the list of faulty ABS experiences... the truck ABS activated at a slow speed brake, just prior to full stop... tapped the rear of the car in front of me... luckily, no damage and no one was hurt but, it could have been serious. It now seems that the faulting ABS has been noticed before but, it was intermittent and only suspect... the 60A fuse has been pulled to disable this "safety" feature...

- Essex Jct , VT, USA

problem #87

Jul 192005

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact stated ABS brakes activated at low speeds. The brakes pulsated, and the vehicle did not want to stop right away. This started happening a couple of months ago. The dealer said that recall 05V379000 did not apply to the state where the consumer lived. The ABS light came on when he applied the brakes.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #86

Jul 152005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer complained about the ABS brakes kicking in at low speeds. The problem first started on July 15, 2005. There was GM NHTSA recall 05V379/ GEM recall 05068 a recall for this type of vehicle. When the consumer contacted the manufacturer, they told him that the recall was not official yet.

- Sparta, OH, USA

problem #85

Aug 302005

Silverado 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
In the early hours of Monday August 29, upon arriving home, we were pulling into our driveway at about 10 miles per hour in our 2002 Chevrolet Silverado, the anti-lock brakes engaged and we had difficulty coming to a stop and almost hit our garage door. On Tuesday August 30th, my husband was pulling into a parking space at work going approx 5-10 miles per hour and the anti-lock brakes engaged, causing him not to be able to stop and hitting another persons car across from him in a parking space. In talking to a co-worker about what the anti-lock brakes were doing she directed me to this website to check if there were any recalls. On August 29th, there was a recall notice issued about this very problem. We called our local dealership, cody Chevrolet in montpelier, vt. They told us to pull the fuse on the anti-lock brakes until we could bring in the truck on Thursday, Sept 1 to have the problem corrected. The other person's car that was struck by our truck took their car to get an estimate, which came back at $688. I called GM to get them to pay for it. They keep saying they need to investigate this further. My concern is that rather than hitting a parked car, my husband could have hit a person. He could have been traveling downtown at a slow rate of speed, come to a person crossing a crosswalk, the anti-lock breaks could have engaged and he could have struck a person. GM has told me that the recall is not being released until there are enough parts available at which time it will be released to owners in January in VIN # order. I feel that this could be a potential public safety hazard. I also feel GM has an obligation to pay the damage done to the other vehicle, especially since our local dealership fixed the problem at no cost to us based on the recall.

- Montpelier, VT, USA

problem #84

May 282005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Anti-lock brakes activate at slow speed. It has now become constant at all decelerations.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #83

Aug 042005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,500 miles
When the vehicle is slowing to a stop and almost stopped the ABS activate and cause the vehicle to continue coasting. There have been several near accidents however, luckily no collisions have happened yet. The vehicle is scheduled to go into the shop for repair on September 16th. The problem is continuous and happens about 5 out of 10 stops.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #82

Jun 012005

Silverado

  • 40,200 miles
The ABS comes on at low speed when it shouldn't, resulting in extending stopping distance. Dealer miss diagnosed the problem as the left front hub. Replacing both front hubs and wheel speed sensors which fixed the problem.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #81

May 082005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,624 miles
The consumer stated that she was having a problem with 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS system kicked in at low speeds of 0-10 mph. This happened when the truck was slowing down or coming to a stop. This has been happening since May 2005 intermittently. The consumer had the ABS sensors cleaned, and the truck was driving much better after the cleaning. The dealer has not been contacted because the vehicle was out of warranty. The manufacturer was contacted, and they told the consumer that this truck was not included in the recall currently. General Motors told the mechanic at the repair shop to just clean the sensors instead of replacing them. This was at consumer's expense.

- Dayton, MN, USA

problem #80

Jul 222005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Consumer complained about a front brake problem. The problem started on 7-22-05. While coming to a stop at 4-5 mph the brakes failed. This occurred every time the consumer applied pressure to the brakes. There were no accidents. The consumer has made the necessary repairs to the vehicle himself. He did so because he could not drive the vehicle unless it was repaired. When the consumer contacted the manufacturer, they told him they would not assist him because he repaired the vehicle himself. Also, they told him this vehicle was not included in any recalls.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #79

Apr 262005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Anti-lock brakes engage at low speeds many times. Near miss accident. GM has a recall for this problem in cold weather states but not Wisconsin. How can Wisconsin not be a cold weather state when Illinois is South of us and it was included in the recall. I paid a dealer to repair this problem and I want my money back.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #78

Aug 302005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
I own a 2002 Chevy Silverado 1 ton dual wheel pick up - extended cab. For the last 8 months I have been having problems with the anti lock brakes pulsating at low speeds (under 10 mph when I am trying to stop. I was previously injured in an automobile accident and have over 12 disks in my neck, mid and lower back, I am classified as totally and permanently disabled. This truck is my only means of transportation to and from doctor appts and medical treatment, I have contacted my dealership about the problem and was advised that only vehicles in Canada were being recalled for this problem, if I wanted it fixed it would cost approx. $350. I now live on ssi disability and only receive $841 per month, I cannot afford to have this vehicle fixed and the problem is getting worse every day. It has happened well over 1000 times and pretty much does it now ever time I push the brake pedal. What am I supposed to do"?? do I just wait until I lose control of my vehicle while braking and hit someone causing more damage to myself and possible another innocent person or are you going to force GM to fix this disaster" please advise me of my options and what I so do or whom I should contact - I need my truck fixed!

- Algonac, MI, USA

problem #77

Oct 202004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
I just heard of GM's recall on ABS braking systems. I have a 02 Silverado that has had this same problem two separate times. When the brakes were applied it felt like no pedal then it would pulsate. Which you could feel through the pedal. Both times the dealership said the sensors were to blame. The second time it happened they did not want to fix without pay. Since it had happened a couple months earlier.

- Middlefield, OH, USA

problem #76

Feb 152002

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
Caller said that brakes failed often, and he did not know what to do with the vehicle. The caller had a problem with the brakes since after he purchasing the vehicle. The brakes faiedl at all speeds and under any driving condition. He said the brakes failed about 50 times. The caller's wife hit a deer when there was only 300 miles on the vehicle, she could not stop the vehicle. The caller was involved had a collision due to brake failure while driving at 25 mph with 8000 miles no vehicle. No one was hurt, but the vehicle sustained damage. He said the vehicle has been sitting since November. Dealer told the caller he could not drive a vehicle with anti lock brakes. The dealer could not duplicate the problem or what wrong with it. They refused to work on it anymore. Manufacturer wanted the caller to pay for all the work to find whats wrong with it, and if they found the cause of the problem they would pay him back, but if they did not find anything wrong they will not pay for it. A police report was taken.

- Mason, TX, USA

problem #75

Aug 092005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact states when coming to almost a complete stop the sensor that detects ABS kicks in and vehicle just keeps going. This happens at low speeds of 5 mph or less. Once the ABS kicks in it almost seems like vehicle accelerates. He noticed this about 2 weeks ago. Mechanic had him call the GM dealer, and they verified the problem. But because there was not a recall they could not do anything. Also called the manufacturer, and they made an appointment to diagnose the problem and go from there. When the contact bought the truck it had 19,000 miles on it. At 21,000 there were brake problems. Had new rotors/pads put on the back, resurfaced the front and put pads on the front. At 37,000 the contact was on a trip and the brakes starting clattering and screeching from the back. They told him the discs were so rusted they destroyed the brake pads, and he had to replace everything.

- Dansville, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?