Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #84

Jul 032014


  • 63,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The contact mentioned that when the brake pedal was depressed it sank into the floorboard. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #83

Jul 042014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in driveway and when I engaged the brake pedal to put car in reverse there was no resistance. Pedal went to floor and the truck did not slow down when brake pedal pressure was repeatedly applied.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #82

Jun 302014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Driving to work this morning. I approached a stop sign, put my foot on the brake, the pedal hit the floor, the dash warnings came on, and the truck wouldn't stop and went right into the intersection. Fortunately there were no oncoming vehicles. There was no warning until total failure happened. I checked the fluid, it was low, but in the acceptable range. Then I looked underneath. The left rear undercarriage was covered and dripping with brake fluid, upon further inspection I found that the breaklines are corroded through. Scheduled with a mechanic later this pm for a complete inspection of the system.

- Cheltenham, PA, USA

problem #81

Oct 152012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 49,500 miles


Backing out of driveway, brake pedal went to floor with no resistance or slowing the vehicle. No warning lights until brakes failed. 3 brake lines replaced due to being rusted out @~$1700. 11 months later second failure exiting a highway at 65 mph, again no warnings until brakes failed, ~$350 repair for additional brake line repairs. 10 months later, sudden traffic slow down at highway speeds, no warnings until after brake failure. ~$180 repair for yet another section of brake lines and very close accident. In all 3 cases this was complete brake failure with brake pedal going all the way to the floor with no resistance or ability to slow let alone stop the vehicle.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #80

Jun 202014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Performing routine maintenance on truck. Noticed steel brake lines are excessively rusted, given the care this truck has received. While now 11 years old, the rest of the truck is not showing any signs of corrosion or rust. But the brake lines alone are rusted to the point of near failure with substantial scaling, and will need to be replaced very soon to prevent an accident. Clearly this is a manufacturing defect/inferior materials, and it will be extremely costly for me, as dealers are quoting $1000 plus parts to replace all the steel brake lines. I am grateful to have noticed before an actual loss of brakes and an accident. I am original owner of this vehicle and purchased it new in 2003.

- Whitestown, IN, USA

problem #79

May 302014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 87,458 miles
Brake failure without warning. Brake lines rusted thru, loss of brake fluid, pumping will not help, and no warning until pedal reaches the floor. Service center says all brake lines need to be replaced.

- Berwick, ME, USA

problem #78

May 162014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 64,143 miles


Going 49mph, then turned on left turn, slowed to about 20mph and started to turn left, when brake peddle went completely to the floor. Had vehicle towed to townsend bros. Chevrolet. Miles in 64,143.0 estimate charges only $48.93 verified loss of brake pressure due to rotted brake lines. Rec.replacing all brake lines from end to end. Cost to replace, $789.94..... estimate total to be, ,$1,442.99 with extras I did want. Only willing to pay for fuel filter replacement for $60...

- Marydel, DE, USA

problem #77

May 102014

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 92,615 miles
My 2003 Chevrolet Silverado has now had 3 brake line failures resulting in no ability to use the brakes. The last failure occurred on May 10, 2014 while driving in a Suburban area. Luckily, it was late in the evening with no traffic and I was able to use my emergency brake to avoid an accident. I have previously filed a complaint (10567344) after my last failure in December 2013. Updated 11/24/2014

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #76

May 072014

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • 53,000 miles
One of the hydraulic brake lines in front of the ABS module burst due to corrosion causing loss of all brake fluid. This was sudden with no warning, no lights to warn of brake fluid loss..EA11001.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #75

Apr 072014

Silverado 4WD 6-cyl

  • 118,200 miles
Brake lines fuel lines and trans lines all rusted out the truck is rust free body and frame the lines are faulty as this is a problem with these trucks.

- Honey Brook, PA, USA

problem #74

Apr 022012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


Brake line rusted through. Avoided accident by driving on shoulder of the road. Vehicle towed. Repairs made $1,800+.

- Emmaus, PA, USA

problem #73

Jun 202012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
I had one front brake line fail found at time of repairs the other was starting to leak had to replace both lines.

- Newark, NY, USA

problem #72

Apr 012013

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 62,300 miles
Brake lines are completely rusted out and leaking. One was replaced last year. Frame has been rusty since truck was new. Vehicle has only 63000 miles. Most of them have been highway.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #71

Mar 152014


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while braking for an exit, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard as the brakes failed to respond. The contact mentioned that the emergency brake was engaged and the vehicle was able to come to a stop. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was contributed to the brake lines, which were found to be corroded, and caused brake fluid to leak. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 84,000.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #70

Oct 022013

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 181,433 miles
We were driving on US19 in new port richey, fl, when traffic slow down for a red light and I lost all brakes had to veer off the road almost got into a head on accident, the only way to stop was by using the emergency brakes, could not change the gears, everything just froze. We just moved from Connecticut a year ago. Now the instrument gauge cluster panel is not working, RPM, speedometer is not reading at all, it just states on 0, this is the second time it happened in about 2 months.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #69

Mar 052014


  • 179,000 miles
I got off interstate hit my brakes to stop at light when I hit my brakes it made a noise and went to the floor I almost hit another car in the rear had to run a stop light because it wouldn't stop some one could have been hurt bad this has happened to me twice. I was told my brake line was rusted which I had it replaced about 2 months ago and my ABS lights come on and it dings.

- Procious, WV, USA

problem #68

Feb 242014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 176,000 miles
The brake lines on this truck are so rusted so are the fuel lines I'm surprised even stops or that the fuel lines haven't burst yet I have ABS light on and service brake system because everything is so rusted and now have a short somewhere so anytime you hit a bump warning light flashes and it starts dinging and warning lights flashes service brake system... there is no reason for this to be rusted like it does this vehicle is washed at least once a week it is in immaculate shape.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #67

Feb 012014


  • 67,200 miles
On the listed date, I was driving my vehicle as described above. I attempted to apply the brakes in a curve when the pedal went straight to the floor and I ran my vehicle off the roadway causing minor damage to the vehicle. My greatest concern however, is the post accident research I conducted on the brake system of my vehicle. My research indicates that there have been thousands of owners who reported to GM that the same model of truck as mine had brake systems that prematurely reached failure. Specifically, they rusted prematurely causing my brake system to completely leave my vehicle in a dangerous operational position. Upon investigation of the lines, each of the 5 lines in the system was experiencing the same rust issues and needed to all be replaced. I feel it should be the responsibility of GM to replace my brake system via recall.

- Mount Sterling, KY, USA

problem #66

Jan 202014

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 104,520 miles
While backing my truck out of my home driveway, I stepped on the brake and it went immediately to the floor. The brake warning light on the dash illuminated, a warning chime sounded, and the message center flashed an alert to "service brakes soon". I had almost no response at from the brakes; fortunately the street was level so I was able to quickly coast to a stop. I immediately pulled the truck back into the driveway and parked it. When I got out to investigate, I immediately noticed a small pool approximately a foot in diameter of brake fluid on the driveway surface just behind the driver's side front tire, along with a trail that lead back to the street. Brake fluid was dripping from the lines at the frame where it makes the bend upward at the front edge of the cab. Closer inspection with a flashlight revealed that all the brake lines are excessively rusted and one or more of them appears to have burst where the lines go over the frame rail into the engine compartment. All lines will have to be replaced before this vehicle is safe to drive again. This vehicle was purchased used (60K miles) in Florida in 2006, moved to Washington state (seattle area) in 2008, and then moved again to northern Virginia in late 2009. It has had minimal exposure to road salt, ice or snow conditions in the time that I have owned it.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #65

Jan 082014

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • 105,230 miles
While driving down rte. 188 in seymour, ct (steep decline) a deer crossed in front on me causing me to apply the brakes very firmly. As the truck slowed, the pedal pressure suddenly disappeared and the pedal went all the way to the floor. No lights or warnings illuminated in the instrument cluster. As I approached the stop sign in front of me, I was unable to bring the vehicle to a stop. Fortunately (as this is incredibly rare) there was no traffic in either direction, and I was able to continue through the intersection without event. It was only due to extremely good luck that there was no accident. The vehicle was undriveable from that point.

- Seymour, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?