If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page
2003 Chevrolet Silverado brakes NHTSA complaints: Service Brakes, Hydraulic:Antilock

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Hydraulic: Antilock Problems

2003 Chevrolet Silverado (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Dec 272007

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Low speed activation of ABS system for no reason. This has caused a couple parked car incidents and a couple of parking lot stop strip incidents. I am told by a very good dealership in dryden NY that this is the same ABS system that is recalled on 1999 - 2002 model year Silverado's for the very same issue. Will it take a death for GM to step up to their problem? the entered date only reflects today, there have been other incidents.

- Candor, NY, USA

problem #28

Sep 172007

Silverado 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,906 miles
The anti-lock brakes on my 2003 Chevy Silverado with 19,000 miles on it were activating when stopping in normal conditions resulting in the loss of braking power. The first few times the problem happened, it almost resulted in rear ending the vehicle in front of me. The problem was corrected by replacing the front wheel bearings. GM refused to pay for the repair in spite of well documented problems.

- Springwater, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 032007

Silverado 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
2003 Chevrolet truck Silverado 1500. Rear brake rotors were replaced by Chevrolet service garage at 15000 miles and again needed the disc rotors again at 21000 miles. The disc rotors are flaking off badly leaving a rough rust surface. Also the ABS produces a rumble and brake pedal pushes back just before coming to a complete stop causing the vehicle to travel several feet farther before the stop. My friend has the same problem with his 2003 Chevrolet which he had converted so he can drive because of severe back damage because of a falling accident. This problem should result in a recall because of this problem and also the brake lines leading to back and front brakes are very rusted and could burst at any time causing the truck to crash causing injury and death. This problem has gone on for several years. I had the same on my other 1997 Chevrolet Silverado. This condition needs correction, why not now?

- Seven Hills, OH, USA

problem #26

Oct 172004

Silverado 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact has a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado with a current odometer of 60,000 miles. On 5-13-04 the brakes failed. The contact had to use the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. On 10-17-04 the transmission failed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, and they told the contact that the failure was due to the vehicle hauling items, but the vehicle did not have a hitch to haul anything.

- Gaston, OR, USA

problem #25

Dec 142006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The rear brakes are prematurely wearing out and have been replaced three times with less than 40,000 miles. My ABS sensors had to be replaced also. Chevrolet is obviously aware of the design flaws of these type of vehicles, based on the number of online complaints I have read regarding the disc brake system of 2002-2004 pickup trucks. Chevrolet went back to drum brakes on the rear for 06 due to the problems, but they will not recall or warranty any of the problems.

- Bernhards Bay, NY, USA

problem #24

Feb 222006

Silverado 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was having a decrease in braking power and there was a loud squeaking, rubbing noise when applying the brakes. The brakes on the rear were replaced. Two days later the rear wheels locked up. The dealership determined the wheel speed sensors were bad. There is an NHTSA recall, # 05V379000 regarding the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock; however the vehicle is not having the same problems as indicated in the recall; although the contact feels the two are related.

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 152006

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,393 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the brake pedal was spongy and the vehicle required excessive stopping distance. This caused an accident, while driving 45 mph the vehicle would not stop when a vehicle pulled out in front of the contact. There was minor damage to both vehicles, but a police report was not taken. The dealership determined the front and rear rotors were rusted. The rear rotors and pads must be replaced. The vehicle is located in a salt belt state. Updated 03/03/06.

- Rowley, MA, USA

problem #22

Sep 152005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving the vehicle at low speeds it would jump like it was on slippery pavement. There is a NHTSA recall, #05V379000, regarding the service brakes; ABS. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the year of the vehicle.

- Pleasant Valley, NY, USA

problem #21

Jan 272006

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
Driving down the road you go to put the brakes on to slow down, and there is pre activation of ABS system on dry roads, and then when you almost get to a stop the brake pedal fades away, causing you to roll forward at least 5 feet until pedal comes back and stops you. Called GM and local dealer because I heard from regular mechanic there was a recall on the Chevrolet trucks for ABS problems and they both told me that my truck wasn't part of recall, only up to 2002 were recalled that I would have to pay a non-returnable fee for a diagnostic test to see if it is the wheel speed sensor is corroded and if they can duplicate the problems I say it has. Then if they do GM said they would try to work out something with dealer on my payment of the repairs.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 102005

Silverado

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Chevy Silverado 2003. I have owned my truck for 2 years. In those two years I have experienced lack of brakes at a slow rate of speed. 40 and under. I have been to the dealership 3 times. Last March my valve stem broke at 28 thousand. At that time, I told the man working that I don't have brakes, sometimes. He asked when? I don't know, just at stop signs and in san francisco traffic. He said to keep an eye on it. I did and took it back last Friday to get it checked. I also saw the recall notice that NHTSA had in the paper last week. They mentioned a recall in costa rica and in six states on the Chevy Silverado and the anti lock brakes. I took it to the dealership and heather said there was no recall and that I would have to pay for any work. I have a truck load of kids all the time, yet I don't have brakes all the time. Its happened about 20 times in the last two years. Heather said the men drove it for two miles and found the problem. I don't know what they found, but I don't like it when mechanics take advantage of women. I just want my brakes fixed.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #19

Sep 022003

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 regarding the ABS. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall. The ABS activated at low speeds, however it was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The dealer replaced a wheel sensor on 9-2-03, but this did not correct the problem. The rotors have been replaced twice, which also did not correct the problem. The contact finally disabled the ABS in 12-04 as a solution to the problem.

- Frostburg, MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 242005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact's vehicle was pulling a trailer. When he applied brake pressure the vehicle failed to stop before striking another vehicle in the rear end. There was damage to both vehicles. However, no one was injured. A police report was taken at the scene. He took the vehicle to the dealer. A manufacturer's representative inspected the vehicle. Collected crash data from the vehicle computer, which indicated when brake pressure was applied the vehicle accelerated. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The contact traded the vehicle after the accident. The air bags failed to deploy. Updated 03/09/06

- Bancroft, MI, USA

problem #17

Dec 122005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,900 miles
The contact states while applying brake pressure the steering became hard to control. He was driving around a curve at less than 20 mph when the problem started. The first occurrence could have been related to icy road conditions. Every time he applied pressure to the brakes he wasunable to control the steering. The vehicle will be seen by the dealership next day. The dealer repalced the brake booster relief valve. Updated 01/11/06.

- Pierceton, IN, USA

problem #16

Jun 102004

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 04V045000 concerning the service brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The vehicle is scheduled for inspection by a dealer.

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 152004

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
The consumer complained about several problems. While driving he had trouble shifting from first gear. The dealer reprogrammed the engine control module and the transmission module control. The vehicle was still shifting hard, and the rpms revved. The replacement of the aforementioned did not remedy the transmission problem. The second problem was with the brake light coming on the cluster assembly. The service dealer replaced it, and it seemed to work well at this time. The third problem was with a noise in the rear of the vehicle. The dealer replaced the gear kit, two gaskets, case, the rear differential carrier assembly, carrier gears, and shims. The noise was still heard. The dealer recommended that the contact install carpet to cut down on the noise. The final problem was with a loss of rear traction. The dealer has been unsuccessful in identifying the root of the traction problem. The cruise control stopped working. Updatd 11/29/05.

- Wheelersburg, OH, USA

problem #14

Jan 032003

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Poor braking, very spongy pedal.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 012003

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,700 miles
The brake pedal is soft and will go to the floor when stopping. This happens intermittently. Started noticing the brake problem on June 1, 2003. Contacted the dealer, and they did a diagnostic test and could not find anything wrong with it. There was recall for the ABS brakes for 2002 models. However, this vehicle was not included due to VIN. Contacted GMC, and they said to go to a different dealer. They did so and got the same results.

- Sturgeon Bay , WI, USA

problem #12

Jun 212005

Silverado 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,179 miles
When coming up to an intersection, the truck failed to come to a complete stop, in dry conditions, with ample stopping distance. The truck was revving at a high RPM, and continued to push forward with the brake pedal pushed as hard as possible. This resulted in a rolling collision. Vehicle finally stopped when shifted into park. Immediately called dealership, and GM. After 2 days in the dealership they stated nothing is wrong, and will not investigate any further. I will not drive the vehicle any longer after this scary incident.

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #11

Aug 252005

Silverado 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I noted the recall on the Chevy Silverado's for anti-lock brake activation at slow speeds. The article only noted up through 2002 vehicles. I have a 2003 Silverado 1500 and I note the issue. The antilock activates around 10 to 20 mph as I enter a turn lane for a gas station I use. There is a ripple series of bumps in the turn lane. If I forget and am on the brakes, the braking effect seems to drop about 50%. the first couple of times I nearly rolled through the intersection due to not understanding the brakes and what had happened. If there had been another car in the intersection I probably would have hit them. Perhaps you need to look at the 2003 Silverado also in your investigation. Sincerely, james copes jcopes@mtco.com.

- Metamora, IL, USA

problem #10

Jul 182005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Contact stated the braking system was defective. The pedal went down very far and was spongy. It took a long time for the truck to stop. The consumer stated pumping the pedal did not help. Contact bought vehicle new and was having this problem somewhat since he purchased it, but did not realize it was so bad until he drove other vehicles. This happens at any speed. The dealer said it was operating as designed. The consumer stated the ABS light came on. When the consumer drove 45 mph down a gravel road, and applied the brakes, there was no ABS function and the wheels did not lock. Although the truck did eventually stop, it took a great distance to do so. The steering shaft was replaced.

- Marietta, NY, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?