Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,465 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Jun 012015

Silverado

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. Contacted stated while driving at approximately 55 mph, the brake pedal was depressed in a panic situation and the pedal went straight to the floor board.

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #44

Mar 032014

Silverado

  • miles
I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado and the brake system start going out last week. Took it to my GMC dealer, where I purchase the vehicle from. They stated that the brake line are completely rusted and the issue is so extensive that they cannot do work to it. I need to find an independent auto repair shop. I purchase a premium warranty from the dealership and they are the only one that has been performing maintenance on the truck for the last 1 1/2 years.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #43

Aug 262013

Silverado

  • 84,000 miles
On my way to work I was turning into gas station and my brakes failed I got stopped without hitting anything.brake line broke on front left side had towed to auto repair shop. They replaced brake line and was told all other lines coroded and need replaced too expensive ibrought truck home

- Goreville, IL, USA

problem #42

Nov 192012

Silverado

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After noticing a gas leak, I asked my father to drive my truck to the dealership for repair. When he put the truck into reverse he had no brakes and had to use the emergency brake before rolling into my mother's car behind him. Upon inspection by the dealership, all of my brake lines and gas lines were badly rusted and had to be replaced. Upon research I found this problem quite widespread and expensive, not to mention the critical safety issues involved. I do want to know that Chevrolet/GM is concerned about our safety and is addressing this problem.

- Beacon, NY, USA

problem #41

Apr 302012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 46,899 miles
Was traveling at 45 mph and had to make a hard brake application due to unanticipated vehicle stoppage ahead. When speed declined to about 25 mph there was total brake failure and the brake pedal went to the floor. I thought the antilock system was engaging since the pavement was wet although the brake pedal seemed to go farther down than normal. At this time the multiple brake service warnings came on. Just as I was beginning to veer off the road to avoid rearending the car ahead, it started moving and I was able to avoid hitting it. I drove home about another mile and the brake lines were leaking onto the driveway. The truck was towed to the dealer who replaced all the brake lines and both front brake calipers due to corrosion.

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #40

Mar 222012

Silverado 6-cyl

  • 54,890 miles
Lost brakes due to rusted out brake line. (car would not stop.)

- Walton Hills, OH, USA

problem #39

Mar 102012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A person ran into the street and I slammed on the brakes. The brakes failed. Upon inspection all brake lines were in extremely poor condition and the mainline broke open in two places. Service manager at the Chevy dealer admitted that they made the tubing out of non-nickle plated tubing for a few years and they were rotting through. He mentioned to check my fuel line and sure enough, at both ends of the fuel filter the tubing is rotting apart. All of my lines need to be replaced. GM has refused my claim for being defective.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #38

Mar 082012

Silverado

  • 57,100 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving down an incline, the brake pedal was applied but the pedal was depressed into the floor board abnormally. The service brake warning light illuminated on the instrument panel of the vehicle and the contact was able to coast the vehicle and park. The dealer diagnosed that the brake lines were rusted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repairs on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 57,100.

- Seline, MI, USA

problem #37

Feb 232012

Silverado

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the brakes did not respond when applied. The contact had to apply the emergency brake to bring the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home where the contact inspected the vehicle and located the failure as the rear brake lines being corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Red Bank , NJ, USA

problem #36

Feb 072012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
A vehicle stopped in front of me and as I attempted to stop, my brake pedal went straight to the floor, leaving me with no brakes even though I quickly pumped the pedal. Fortunately, I was able to get around the stopped vehicle and coast to a stop. My truck was towed to a garage where after taking down the gas tank found a rusted and deteriorated brake line. One week prior to this incident I was driving on a super highway and probably would have been killed had this happened at that time. I believe a recall on any vehicle is necessary if this situation has arisen before. I would like a response asap. Thank you; updated IVOQ 04/19/12 updated 05/02/12 updated IVOQ 05/30/12 updated IVOQ 05/31/12

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #35

Dec 152011

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 97,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While slowing for a stop light, I applied extra pressure to the brake pedal to stop in time. The pedal traveled to the floor and the dash information screen noted a problem with the brakes. Since no one was in front of me, I traveled well into the intersection before coming to a stop. I was able to pull safely into a parking lot and was towed to the local dealer. The tech stated that my brake lines had rusted and ruptured in one location, and was going to rupture in several other locations. All brake lines need to be replaced. I was shocked at the amount of deterioration in those lines. I am very lucky there was no accident or injury with this type of failure. I purchased this truck new, and I am the only owner.

- Hampton, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 282011

Silverado

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 5 mph, the contact stated that he applied pressure to the brakes when the pedal went to the floor. He inspected the vehicle and noticed that the brake lines were rusted. The dealer had not been notified. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic who confirmed that the brake lines were rusted and needed to be replaced. The private mechanic performed the repairs. The current and the failure mileages were 69,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #33

Oct 292011

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Front brake line failed drivers side on top of frame from rust and defective brake line as seen in the thousands of others who have the same problem, recall" glad it was in my driveway. Others were not so lucky. I read there was/is a investigation. Results"

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #32

Oct 152011

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 92,500 miles
Brake line corrosion.

- Derwood, MD, USA

problem #31

Sep 202011

Silverado

  • 68,100 miles
My 2003 Chevy Silverado goes into gear with out pressing on the brake, also the truck will go into gear with out the keys in the ignition. The E-brake is also defective, the E-brake does not hold the truck. My 2 yrs old son was sitting in the truck on 9/20/2011 when the truck went into gear. I live on a incline my truck rolled down the hill while I was chasing the truck on foot, the truck finally came to a stop when it hit a 98 Toyota Tacoma which was parked in the drive way across the street. The E-brake was set, the keys were not in the truck, the truck was not running! my son could have killed himself or someone else due to the fact the truck is not safe!

- Moreno Valley , CA, USA

problem #30

Sep 142011

Silverado

  • 28,000 miles
Complete brake failure due to corroded brake line. Fortunately, it occurred in a parking lot as I backed out of the spot. My investigation revealed thousands of others with the same problem. Hoping someone realizes that someone is going to die if this does not get resolved.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #29

Jul 012008

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,120 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. In July 2008, the contact noticed that the rear rotors were covered with rust causing the brakes to fail. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the rear rotors and brake pads were replaced. In September 2011, the contact heard a loud grinding noise in the vehicle and drove it to a private mechanic to be serviced. The contact was informed that the inside of the rotors were rusted and needed to be replaced. The private mechanic replaced the front brake pads and rotors. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The current mileage was 44,451. The approximate failure mileage was 27,120. Updated 10/21/11 the consumer stated the inner brake pads were destroyed by rust, but the outer pads were still like new. Updated 01/03/12

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #28

Sep 182011

Silverado

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that they experienced a brake failure while driving. The vehicle had not been inspected but the contact crawled under the vehicle and could see that the brake lines were rusted and corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 63,000. Updated 10/18/11 updated 3/30/12

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #27

Sep 042011

Silverado

  • 60,800 miles
On September 4, 2011, I experienced a sudden brake failure while attempting to stop at an intersection. Also, I was accompanied in the vehicle by 10 month old daughter. I had to steer my vehicle away from oncoming traffic as I was unable to stop at the intersection due to the lack of effective brake assistance. There was no prior warning or dash illumination to indicate that there was a brake issue. Thankfully, a tragic accident involving injury or death was avoided. On September 6, 2011, I contacted Chevrolet customer service dept in regards to this matter. I informed customer service of the brake line issue. At this time I was assigned a case number (71984021797) and was advised to have a diagnostic service conducted by a local Chevrolet service garage. On September 7, 2011, a local Chevrolet dealership performed the diagnostic check on my truck and the results of the inspection were relayed to Chevrolet customer service dept. Later that day, I spoke with customer service and I was informed that the inspection revealed that all brake lines were rotted and corroded. She further stated the truck was in good condition with low mileage and that would make it an excellent case for repair assistance. She forwarded this information to a higher dept. And that I would be contacted the following day. On September 8, 2011, I was contacted by customer service. They informed that Chevrolet determined that the truck was out of warranty and no action will be taken. She further stated that brake lines are a wear item. I reminded her that brake lines are not a wear item and they don't fall within the category of tires, rotors, and brake pads. I than asked to speak with a supervisor so I could better understand the basis of the decision to not provide repair assistance. At this point, customer service laughed at me and said they would tell me the same thing.

- Minersville, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 152011

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Similar to NHTSA campaign id EA11001, brake lines rusted through on frame behind driver side front wheel. Frame/underside of vehicle is very rusted for vehicle's age/mileage. Chevrolet dealer estimating $2,700 to replace with stainless steel lines. Luckily, no cars/people were in front of truck when brake lines burst and greatly reduced braking power/increased stopping distance.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?