Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,907 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jan 052010

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer does not read accurate. It either reads 15 mph at highway speeds, or goes way high such as 120 mph at 55 to 60 mph. Sometimes at the higher reading, it will read 60 mph when vehicle is stopped, in park, and ignition off. I was told this is a stepping motor but hard to change and expensive to change. I have read that there was a class action lawsuit that was never brought up.

- Dysart, IA, USA

problem #27

Aug 012010

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The dashboard cluster went out, speed odometer stuck on 60mph. Had to race motor up until it red line returned to 0. the entire electrical board stopped working, found out was a recall but my VIN was not included. Spoke to autry morlan dealership several times. We paid out of pocket to have replaced and that cluster has done same thing. Still no recall on our truck. Will cost another 200-300 to fix out of pocket. Gas gauge does not work, speed odometer does not work. RPM will work and that is how we judge our speed on truck.

- Dexter , MO, USA

problem #26

Jan 312012

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • 35,500 miles
While driving normally I noticed my speedometer giving erroneous readings as high as 120 mph, and upon stopping, the speedometer stayed at the 35 mph. Position. After a few days, it returned to normal. Occasionally, the speedometer does not work for days at a time. I feel it is dangerous driving with a speedometer which is not reliable. GM has refused to fix the problem and told me I am fully responsible for all parts and labor costs because my vehicle is out of warranty. Now, the volt-meter also does not work and the needle points down at a "6 O clock" position which is off the chart. This has been broken for several weeks now.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 202012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The instrument cluster went out and reset my engine hours, odometer is error, and won't change anything.I took it to the dealer and they said about $600 to fix.there is alot of problems with these and they should be fixed for free.

- Lake, MS, USA

problem #24

Apr 062012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Speedometer started sticking at 60mph and then if the truck was restarted it would go back to 0 and start working again and then would stick again later. Well now it's just stuck at 0 and doesn't move at all. All the other gauges work properly though.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #23

Aug 072009

Silverado

  • 76,000 miles
Speedometer inoperative. Everytime the vehicle is driven I have no way of telling how fast I am traveling.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #22

Mar 132010

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When driving the vehicle the contact noticed that the speedometer would display a speed of 120 mph when the contact was actually traveling at a speed of 45 mph. The dealership was contacted and stated that there were no recalls on his vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired at the time of complaint. The failure and current mileages were 90000. Updated 07/19/10 updated 07/21/10.

- St. Joseph, MN, USA

problem #21

Jan 012010

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado diesel engine. While driving at speeds as low as 50 mph, the vehicle speedomoter would indicate the vehicle was traveling at speeds of 120 mph and would stick at this mileage. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, however no repairs were made to the vehicle. The contact was not present at the time the vehicle was taken to the dealer and was unsure as to what was advised in reference to the vehicle. The failure persisted. The failure and current mileages were 96,000. Updated 06/02/10. The consumer was informed the problem was caused by a wiring cluster in the dash. Updated 06/28/10

- Hidden Valley Lake, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 042009

Silverado

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact drove the vehicle at various speeds, she noticed that the dashboard panel failed to operate properly. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 115000.

- New Wavrly, TX, USA

problem #19

Dec 112009

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact started the vehicle he noticed that the speedometer increased to 120 mph and would not move regardless of the speed that he was driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 90000. Updated 02/17/10. The consumer stated the speedometer doesn't work. The needle is stuck on 120 mph. Updated 02/17/10.

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #18

Oct 122009

Silverado

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The speedometer on my 2005 Silverado is bad. I have 73,000 miles on it and have never driven so fast in my life. It started in may of 2009 and it corrected itself now we are facing the same issue. When reading up on this I find I am not the only one who is having this issue. Driving aprox.30 but it says 120.

- Ramsey , IL, USA

problem #17

Oct 012008

Silverado

  • miles
Re:Chevy 2005 instrument cluster failure about 6 months ago, my 2005 Chevy Silverado 200 truck started experiencing the speedometer failure issue. At that time I called in the dealership tom jumper where I purchased this vehicle and they told me that they know about this issue and it would cost about $600 to get this fixed. They also informed me that there was a litigation against GM for the speedometer issue and had me call GM directly to get this issue fixed to avoid out of pocket expenses. This dealership has closed and out of business. I did call GM according to them there has been litigation going on and they directed to me to this website to find out the status periodically. The website now informs that there was a settlement notice issued and for people who have paid for this repair work should claim their reimbursements. I refuse to pay out of pocket and asked them to get my vehicle fixed as its a manufacturer problem on supplying defective parts. They are asking me to go to Chevy dealer and get it diagnosed paid by me and then they will determine if they I am eligible for this repair work. I found this absolutely unacceptable and fraudulent as per keeping their client as a hostage to their demands. I want some action done to help protect consumers like me who are essentially paying for the bailout of these companies in the current economic condition. Please help in this matter. Thanks. (www.speedometersettlement.com).

- Acworth , GA, USA

problem #16

Mar 172009

Silverado

  • 18,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer malfunction. Speedometer shows 120 mph regardless of whether vehicle is stopped or moving. GM has recalled 2003 and 2004 models but refuses to include 2005 models. My local dealer quoted $700 for the repair.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #15

Jan 122009

Silverado

  • miles
Speedometer on my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado sticks and intermittent, sometimes its shows me driving 120 mph when going 20 to 30 miles per hour. Have left it cool down, then start the engine numerous times for it to reset in 5 mph increments until it returns to 0 mph. Sluggish going to 0 mph when stopping at a stop sign etc. Definite safety issue since I don't know how fast I am going other than going with the flow, it is consistently doing these symptoms all the time now.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 172008

Silverado

  • 69,800 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Silverado does not accurately display the speed of the vehicle. It may read anywhere from 0 to 120 mph regardless of the actual speed of the vehicle. I first became aware of the inaccurate readings while driving on the expressway at an indicated 72 mph. I noticed that I was passing the few other vehicles on the road and because of the speed at which I was doing so I checked the speed reading on my gps and found that I was doing almost 100 mph. This a safety issue. I am also aware of several other General Motors trucks of the same year with the same problem. And also that the 2003 and 2004 GM truck have the same problem with the identical part for which GM has instituted a customer satisfaction recall.

- Augusta, MI, USA

problem #13

Feb 182009

Silverado

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer going crazy. Jumping from 0-180 mph getting stuck on different mph. Should be a recall notice.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #12

Feb 022009

Silverado

  • 51 miles
Speedometer stuck at 45mph at a stop, while on the highway in a 65-70mph zone the speedometer increase to 110-120mph.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #11

Nov 262008

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 102,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 80 mph on normal road conditions, the speedometer failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. The dealer would repair the failure for free; however, the vehicle was excluded from the free remedy because the mileage exceeded the 70,000 requirement. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 102,400 and current mileage was 106,000. 4/01/09 updated 04/06/09.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #10

Aug 152008

Silverado

  • 37,000 miles
I purchased a new 2005 Chevrolet Silverado worktruck in April of 2005. Approximately 6 weeks ago the speedometer started showing intermittent speeds not consistent with actual speed. Sometimes it would show zero mph when traveling at street or freeway speeds, sometimes showing less than or greater than perceived actual speeds, and currently for the last three days has stayed at zero regardless of any moving speed. The truck has 38,000 miles as shown by the odometer. I have not experienced/seen any problems with any other instruments as yet.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092008

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,621 miles
First time we have taken the vehicle on a long trip. After 500 miles on the road, speedometer topped out at 120 mph (even though we had cruise set at 65). Even when we were at a complete stop, speedometer read 65 mph. After a couple of days it worked fine, week later when we were returning from the trip same thing occurred. We took it to the Chevy dealer and they said it was a problem with the cluster and they ordered the part. We will take it in tomorrow to have the part replaced. Our vehicle only has 37,000 miles, we do have platinum warranty on it, but still will have to pay $200 fee. Service tech says Chevy has already had recall on 2002 and 2003, just wanted to report the problem is still there.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?