Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,021 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Aug 122014

Silverado 1500

  • 167,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact was informed by an independent mechanic that the rear rotors were worn out, which caused the parking brake to malfunction. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 167,000.

- Venus, TX, USA

problem #41

Nov 132011

Silverado 1500

  • 107,000 miles
The parking brake on my truck will not hold as it should, thus causing vehicle to roll down driveway. There is a recall for Silverado's with manual transmissions, ( defect investigation # EA04011 GM recall #05042 NHTSA campaign id# 05V161000) mine is a automatic, but the auto and manual use the same parking brake set-up. I have done some reading on-line Chevrolet truck forums and there are allot of Silverado/SUV GM owners with automatics that have this same type of brake system that are having the same issue, not holding due to premature wear out of parking brake shoe lining. There is also a GM tech serv bull for this matter as well, but not a recall for the vehicles with auto transmissions, what are the owners of automatics less important. The tsb has the dealers replace the spring retainer clip just as the recall does. I think the tsb needs to take a hard look at the parking brake issues on the trucks/SUVS with automatic transmissions as well.

- Portsmouth , VA, USA

problem #40

Oct 242010

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Total brake failure. Completely rusted through brake lines. Rear wheel drums rusted through, backing plate and emer. Brake rotted away. Nearly causing a severe accident on interstate. I was unable to stop my vehicle, and had to coast to a stop. Fortunately, I was not in traffic, and no one was injured. The potential was there for a serious accident. I wrote to GM twice in June, they never acknowledged either letter.

- Brookfield, CT, USA

problem #39

Aug 152009

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Corroded brake lines caused the failure of both front and rear brakes at the same time. Inoperable rear emergency brakes provided no emergency stopping ability. Replaced brake lines. Emergency brake not repaired. I understand that trucks with manual transmissions were recalled for emergency brake defect correction, but trucks with automatic transmissions were not eventhough they have the same emergency brake system. My vehicle has an automatic transmission. Not certain when emergency brakes became inoperable, but my guess is around 2004 or 2005, with 60K to70K miles. Brake line rupture was in 2009 at 156K miles.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #38

Feb 222010

Silverado 1500

  • miles
The 2002 Silverado (standard) was recalled due to defective parking brake id 05V161000 dated 4/22/05. I own a 2002 Silverado truck with only 35,000 but it is automatic and the GM dealer in Hawaii will not fix my hand brake because it was not involved in the recall. My hand brake does not work and I am due for a safety check soon. I called my local dealer several months ago and they will not fix this problem - they say they will service it but it will cost $400+.

- Pearl City, HI, USA

problem #37

Dec 122003

Silverado 1500

  • 10,000 miles
02 Silverado, park brake shoe is not held in place securely and moves around in the hub at any bump in the road, especially at low speeds. Because the brake levers are inverted, the driver side brake will lock up when hitting a pot hole in my drive way daily. This is not the rear end freezing up or transmission malfunction. One tire locks up and the other spins excessively. For proof, just take the hub off and look at how the shoe is not held in place. A corrective part needs to be added, hopefully nobody has been injured because of this. This was mentioned to the Chevy dealer by myself in 2003 and if I would have known how to contact you back then, I would have asap.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #36

Oct 152008

Silverado 1500

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am writing regarding the very poor brake life and performance failure on my 2002 Chevrolet pickup, 1500 series purchased new from a local dealer. At 19,500 miles the brakes were diagnosed (on 1-15-09) by the dealer as needing complete overhaul, a cost of $571. The problem was noticeable at 12,000 miles by excessive pedal travel, the same with the emergency brake. No action was taken or notice of brake wear indicated by the dealer when notified. By 17,000 miles the brakes were noisy and when informed the dealer said my rear rotors were rusty from low use and I should consider a replacement. Unable to believe my brakes were worn out ( I'm 65 years old and have never had a vehicles' brakes wear out any where near this mileage) I decided to drive it more often to remove the rust. During this time my teenage daughter, with me as a passenger, nearly hit a semi unexpectedly blocking our lane, because the brakes worked very poorly. This was in the fall of 08. In November and December 08, I wrote to the dealer requesting cost sharing for brake repair. No response.. then, in late December I wrote to GM, customer affairs, in detroit, mi. Requesting cost sharing due to premature wearout. They requested the cost estimate on 1-15-09 and then refused or denied any assistance based on "low use". I am well aware of a broad problem with early brake wear on 2001 to 2004 (admitted by service reps at the dealer) light duty GM trucks, mostly due to rusty rotors, especially on the rears. This is further evidenced by the dealer estimate which showed expensive replacement "ceramic" pads, which were not original equipment. The dealer also admitted that at one time they tried to add a "kit" to shield the rear rotors from salt spray. These are all evidence of defective parts, something that should be covered by warranty regardless of the vehicles age or frequency of use. Or covered by a recall. Your website shows thousands of complaints on this item. Please add mine.

- Perry, MI, USA

problem #35

Aug 062008

Silverado 1500

  • 59,756 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado (1500 2wd) parking brake failure. See/reference manufacturer campaign #: 05042 or NHTSA campaign #: 05V161000. Should be extended to automatic transmission vehicles. Defect summary: The parking brake friction linings may wear to an extent where the parking brake can become ineffective in immobilizing a parked vehicle. Consequence summary: If the parking brake does not hold, unintended vehicle movement could occur, which could result in a crash. Corrective action: Dealers will install a low-force spring clip retainer for vehicles equipped with a PBR parking brake system. On vehicles equipped with the TRW parking brake system, dealers will install a redesigned parking brake cable assembly. The recall began on July 29, 2005.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #34

Jul 112008

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,202 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The parking brake malfunctioned while the vehicle was parked. The brake would not activate when shifted into neutral and the vehicle drifted without warning. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer and has not been repaired. The current mileage is 75,000. Updated 09/15/08 the consumer stated he heard a scrapping noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. He was informed the differential needed to be serviced. No one informed the consumer there was a problem with the parking brake. Updated 09/24/08.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 072007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
I don't understand why you have a recall on the parking brake for a manual trans only when it is just as important to have one on a automatic trans. If you park your truck on a steep incline and can't use the parking brake along with the transmission, then it is virtually impossible to get it out of park and you can't tell me that doesn't do damage to the transmission....it takes the same part to fix the parking brake in a automatic trans as it does in a manual trans.. very disappointed!!!!!

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #32

Aug 202007

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The vehicle failed inspection because the parking brake did not operate. The mechanic replaced the rear parking brake shoes. The current and failure mileages were 69,500. The consumer stated vehicles with automatic transmssions should have been included in the recall. Updated 09/26/07.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #31

Aug 032007

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,605 miles
Parking brake pedal went to the floor and did not hold.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #30

Dec 092006

Silverado 1500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,000 miles
- the contact stated that the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500, received recall 05V161000 for the parking brakes. He took the vehicle to the dealership for the recall repairs on 12/2006. Six days after the repairs the weather became cold about 30 degrees, and the emergency brake became stuck. He did get the emergency brake to release and drove the vehicle 3 miles when began smelling something that smelled like the brakes burning. He got out of the vehicle and noticed that the passenger's side rear wheel was extremely hot. He let the vehicle cool down, and tried to jar the emergency brake. Then he called the dealership, and they reminded him that in extremely cold weather he shouldn't use the emergency brake. The brakes were repaired. The dealership didn't charge him for the repair, they informed him the recall repair had not been done properly, and that the emergency brake was adjusted too tight. The contact stated that after this repair he drove the vehicle for about a week, and the emergency brake froze up again. He filed a complaint with the manufacturer, and wa given a case#71-461637111. The contact stated that he had to sell the vehicle because couldn't take the chance with the emergency brake on the road, and so he traded the vehicle in. The contact had all the information for this vehicle. The failure mileage was 85,000 miles.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #29

Mar 302007

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado. I bought this vehicle brand new, I am the only driver. For as long as I can remember the parking brake never worked. I took in the dealer after about a year and didn't have it inspected. They wanted to adjust or perhaps replace the brake shoes. I never heard of a parking brake needing adjustment after a year, and how could it possibly be wore out" I never used the thing. I figured, it wouldn't be long before they had a recall on it. Now it is about 4 years later, I call G.M. to find out if there is a recall or if they would help out with the costs. I also have the 100,000 mile 5 year G.M. warranty. Of course they admitted nothing and didn't help at all. I took it to the dealer and had it diagnosed like they asked me to. The dealer wanted $855 to replace the shoes and drums which somehow destroyed themselves over the last 4 years that I had a non operational parking brake. How is that possible" I know a little about cars. That doesn't happen unless there is something defective. It wasn't a fun day dealing with people who won't listen to reason, or shall I say won't admit to it.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact found a recall for the manual trasmission version of his truck but he is having the same parking break issues with his truck which is an automatic. The dearler has stated that there is no recall on this vehicle. The mechaniic states that it was a bad design.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 242006

Silverado 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
: the contact stated while parked on an incline under normal road conditions, the emergency mechanical brake gradually failed to hold the vehicle. The braking system was rear wheel anti lock. The vehicle was not examined or repaired.

- Merriam, KS, USA

problem #26

Feb 152002

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Parking does not hold vehicle in place when fully engaged. The parking brake pedal travels to floor with very little resistance. Vehicle continues to roll on incline if taken out of gear with parking brake fully engaged. The parking brake has never functioned properly since vehicle was purchased brand new in 2002 from folsom lake Chevrolet, folsom, ca. I've discussed this issue with other Chevy Silverado truck owners with the 4-wheel disc braking ABS system and they all have had the identical problem I have had. I am disappointed and alarmed that GM has not done the right thing and taken care of this ever so apparent problem.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 102006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying pressure to the parking brake the pedal does not feel firm. The brakes chirp constantly. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V161000, regarding the parking brake. The VIN was not included in the recall.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #24

Jun 102006

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The parking brake has failed on my 2002 Chevrolet Silverado, as has been described in the GM recall number 05042. The friction linings have worn and cut into the drum, making the parking brake ineffective. A GM representative told me my vehicle was not recalled, and the only vehicles recalled were vehicles that have a manual transmission. Mine has an automatic transmission. I believe my vehicle should be included in the recall, due to the fact that I have to park on steep boat ramps while launching my boat, and have to depend on the parking brake to help hold the vehicle from rolling into the water.

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

May 232006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
There is a recall for the parking brake on 2002 Chevy Silverado pickups with manual transmissions starting Apr 20, 2005. However, I do not know of a single 2002 Silverado pickup or 2001 Suburban where the parking brake holds. I have been told that if you don't use the parking brake it gets out of adjustment (rumor). I don't use mine with my automatic transmission. Mine has never held since I purchased the vehicle. Tuesday, May 23, 2006, I took my pickup to the dealership to have it inspected for a new inspection sticker. It failed because of the parking brake. Yet, this same dealership has inspected my pickup for every other inspection sticker and this is the first time they failed it even though it has never held.

- Trophy Club, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?