Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,485 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

Jul 102006

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS system failure ABS light on 77,000 miles 2002 Silverado GM will not admit it has a manufacturing defect with the ABS system - after searching the internet I find there are an abundant of ABS failures.

- Amory, MS, USA

problem #134

Jun 292006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
: the contact stated, while pulling into a parking space at 3 mph, there was an unwarranted ABS activation hindering the brakes from stopping the vehicle. The vehicle's brakes were inspected and cleaned by dealer's mechanic. This incident relates to GM's recall # 05068 (wheel speed sensor). The failure occurred 15 separate times since the inspection. Updated 7/18/2006 -

- Waterford, PA, USA

problem #133

Jun 262006

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
I own a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2wd. When applying the brakes and coming to a stop, there is a pulsation. It feels as if the ABS is taking over and releasing, and then reapplying the braking action, rapidly, as I come to a stop. I spoke to a GM representative about a recall that has been issued regarding this problem. The GM recall number is 05068. The representative told me that my VIN number was included in the recall, but because I don't live in a "salt belt" state, my vehicle is not being recalled (I live in Florida). Apparently, it is the road salt that is used during the winter months that corrodes the ABS wheel sensors and leads to this problem. And, although I do not live in a state that uses road salt, I do use my vehicle to tow and launch a boat in the salt water. I believe that because of this use, my vehicle should be included in the recall.

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #132

May 222006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,447 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drive a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado Z71. In November 2004 the ABS brake system would activate every time I would press the brake at speeds less than 10 mph. I took it to the GM service and they had to replace the entire hub assembly because the sensors were corroded. A recall was issued on the sensor problem. Recently I have an ABS light that comes on everytime I start moving. Occasionally the brake light also comes on. I took it in to GM service and was told that the ABS pump assy and module were both broken and repair costs would be about $2000. I was told that the brakes worked fine, I just wouldn't have the ABS feature. However I believe the ABS system is an important safety feature on a vehicle, especially in areas that experience inclement weather. In addition, the service representative told me that the ABS light is triggering the occasional brake light. The false positive is dangerous because it can cause complacency where drivers would ignore a real brake failure. I understand that it's impossible for automobile components to last indefinitely. However, it's obvious that General Motors trucks have efficient brake systems, especially concerning the ABS.

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #131

Mar 012006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
Anti-skid brake system activates at low speed, extends stopping distance and causes vehicle to lurch to the side occasionally. A GM recall bulletin exists for this problem but GM says it does dot apply to my vehicle, even though my VIN is included in the bulletin.

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #130

Apr 242006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS activates at low speeds. While driving 5 to 10 mph, when the brakes are applied the vehicle has an increase stopping distance. The brakes also grab and pull the vehicle to the right. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the service brakes: Antilock. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 5/10/2006 - the dealer found salt corrosion on the front ABS brakes.

- Goshen, NY, USA

problem #129

Apr 202006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated at slow speeds of 8 mph the ABS engaged, causing extended stopping distance. There is NHTSA recall # 05V379000 regarding the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock. This vehicle had the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it was not included in the recall because the state of Wisconsin was not listed on affected states. Updated 05/30/06.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #128

Nov 162005

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,458 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was inspected and the mechanic determined the rear brake rotors and rear pads were rusted and grooved. The front brakes and pads were also rusted and grooved, but not as much as the rear. The rear brakes and rotors were replaced on 11-16-05. Updated 05/02/06.

- Millstadt, IL, USA

problem #127

Mar 222006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
: the contact stated while stopping at speeds between 3-4 mph the driver side front brake ABS activates. This causes the vehicle to swerve to the right and a longer stopping distance. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the antilock brakes. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #126

Dec 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS engages at low speeds of 20 mph and below. As a result, the stopping distance was increased. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the ABS. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall because of the VIN. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer cleaned the wheel speed sensor, replaced the pads and rotors. However, those replacements did not correct the problem. Additionally, a knocking noise was heard in the engine. The dealer inspected the engine although, no repairs were made. The passenger sie window was inoperative. Updated 03/28/06.

- North Collins, NY, USA

problem #125

Jun 292004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Silverado parking brake does not hold, rear axle seals were leaking. ** answer required*** the consumer received a recall regarding the parking brake after several attempts of trying to get it repaired. The ABS light illuminated, the dealer replaced the speed sensor. The cd player failed. The complained about a rattle when going over bumps. The dealer tightened the shocks. The tailgate latch was replaced.

- Gunnison, CO, USA

problem #124

Jan 132006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
Wheel speed sensor is falsely activating the ABS.

- Sherborn, MA, USA

problem #123

Feb 012006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Spongy brakes, no brakes at times. Last incident Feb. 1, 2006 while backing in drive. Pushed on brake and pedal went to floor. A loud rattling, hammering noise came from vehicle and no braking felt. I have complained about this since I bought the truck in 2003 at 22586 miles. The master cylinder was rebuilt about April 23, 2004 and it didn't help; in fact we about lost all braking going home from dealer. I phoned the dealer and he ordered a new master cylinder. It was replaced May 3, 2004 but the pedal was still spongy and braking very poor. When stopped and engine running you can push the brake pedal clear to the floor. I have been told this is normal. Well, normal almost caused a wreck on a down hill T road with my wife with me. I phoned Chevrolet customer assistance center (file 1-212176923) for help. A waste of time. I phoned Chevrolet motor division (1800-222-1020) and all they suggested was to take the truck back to the dealer, a 30 mile drive one way. They didn't help in four other visits. I did take it back on Jan. 6, 2006 for a brake recall on wheel detectors but it didn't help the braking a bit. Thanks.

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #122

May 142005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Every time I stop this truck the anti lock brakes kick in at 3 - 5 mph.

- Akron, NY, USA

problem #121

Feb 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevy Silverado brakes failed at low speeds. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected, he was informed there was a problem with the ABS. The sensor was cleaned and a part was replaced. The consumer then received a recall notice in October 2005 regarding the ABS. The recall letter stated the consumer could apply for reimbursement. The tailgate rusted and broke. The steering relay and right front idler arm were replaced. The window regulator was replaced. The wheel center cap fell off.

- New Florence, PA, USA

problem #120

Aug 172005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,300 miles
: the contact stated T the vehicle will not stop when applying the brakes. The antilock brakes activated, causing the vehicle to shake and vibrate. There was NHTSA recall campaign O5V379000 concerning antilock brake failure. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #119

Jun 062004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Anti-lock brakes failed to function as designed causing lose of vehicle control and crash. Additionally airbag did not deploy in a front end collision severe enough to totally destroy vehicle.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #118

Dec 182005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
1) approaching a stop sign at 20 mph. Applied brakes with 100 ft to go to stop sign. Pavement dry under drivers side wheels. Pavement less than 20% snow/ice covered under passeanger wheels. Temperature 0 degrees F. 3:00 pm 2) I applied the brakes 100 feet from the stop sign. The ABS fired preventing the brakes from engaging. Transmisson did did not disengage. Tried releasing brakes and reapplying, but ABS continued to fire. Pickup did not slow at all due to transmisson continuing to be engaged at throttle idle. Car ahead of me at stop sign was damaged considerably in right rear quater. My pickup received minor damage to front. 3) corrective action not taken yet. Looking into options for replacement of ABS. Recall exists in other northern states for this defect, but not in Minnesota.

- Rooseville, MN, USA

problem #117

Nov 162004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,956 miles
The contact complained about ABS brake problems. The vehicle was taken in to the dealership numerous times to have the ABS brakes worked on. The ABS light came on. They took the vehicle to the dealership the first time to have the light checked. The problem with the light was repaired. The second time the vehicle was taken to the dealership to have the rotors changed. The third time the vehicle was at the dealership the brake pads were changed. Also, the rotors were turned. The fourth time the vehicle was taken in to the dealership it was still having the same problems. Repairs to the vehicle were made at contact's expense. At this time there was NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000. Recall repairs were done. The vehicle currently has the same problems as before. Updated 03/03/06.

- New Castle , IN, USA

problem #116

Jan 262004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received a NHTSA recall letter campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. The recall work was performed. However, the dealership informed him that this vehicle experienced a failure with the ABS and once the sensors corroded. The contact refused to drive the vehicle because he was afraid that the same ABS failure would occur at any time. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no additional assistance. When the consumer attempted to stop the vehicle, the ABS activated and subsequently the consumer hit a building. The consumer stated he felt responsible for the accident until he received the recall notice in the mail. Updated 01/11/06.

- Saranac, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?