Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,485 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #115

Sep 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact purchased a 2002, Chevrolet Silverado new in 2002 from ron marhoffer Chevrolet in northeast Ohio, where he resided until early 2005. During the summer of 2005 ABS intermittently activated at low speeds. By the end of September 2005 this problem was occurring almost every time the vehicle came to a stop. Contacted Chevrolet and a service appointment was made at local dealer, perry Chevrolet, in columbia, mo. The dealership sent the contact home without correcting the problem. While there was a recall covering 2002 Silverado in the state of Ohio, there seemed to be some questions as to whether or not this vehicle was covered. The contact believed this vehicle was unsafe to drive in its current condition, since the stopping distance was unpredictable, especially in places such as parking lots. As of 12-13-05 the vehicle has been repaired. Updated 01/11/06.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #114

Nov 242005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the ABS brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to the state the contact resides. The headlamp bulb was replaced. Updated 01/04/06.

- Delafield, WI, USA

problem #113

Oct 052005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact received NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti-lock brakes. Before the recall work was completed the contact's husband was involved in a crash while pulling into a parking space. He depressed the brakes and the ABS engaged and vehicle hit a brick wall. There was bumper damage. The contact wanted GM to reimburse her for the bumper damage. The contact called the manufacturer several times, and they offered no reimbursement for the bumper damage.

- Jim Thorpe, PA, USA

problem #112

Nov 302005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At low speeds, (below 10 mph) the antilock braking system will engage (pulsing of brake pedal) on my 2002 1500 Silverado and make stopping distances dramatically greater in slippery conditions, even if only one wheel is on a patch of ice/snow. This leads to scary situations at stop signs/semiphores. I contacted GM, and they advised me that I live in a state (mn) that is not covered by the recall. I was advised that if the vehicle was repaired at a dealership, I may be eligible for reimbursement on a case-by-case basis. For now, I have removed the ABS fuse to disable the ABS system. I realize that the ABS will not work at all, but at least I my stopping power will be predictable.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #111

Sep 072005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Cold engine start-up knock. I own a 2002 Silverado Z71 with the 4.8 engine. The engine has had cold start-up knock since I have owned it. I have asked dealers about it and have been told it is normal. I build engines for and own to drag cars. One is an et footbrake car with a mild 350 ci small block Chevy. The other is a 48 Fiat altered with a 434 ci small block Chevy stroker. Both have forged pistons and neither has the cold piston noise that this bone stock 4.8 has. I currently have 39,139 miles on my truck and want it to last as long as possible. Under the current circumstances, I don't think it will last much longer before it cracks a piston skirt or severely damages the cylinder walls. It is my intention to contact Chevrolet in the next couple of days but after reading the complaints on this site, I am prepared to be told the same as the dealer told me. I am also looking into the class action suit approach to get a remedie to the problem. Another issue is the brakes. The truck has 4 wheel disk and stops like it has four wheel drums without power?? I owned a 97 sivlverado that had brakes that worked the same. You would think that a truck that cost 30,000 dollars would be a little better constructed.

- Vine Grove, KY, USA

problem #110

Oct 242005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,237 miles
Had my 2002 chev Silverado in for recall service 05068 on 10-24-05. Dealer advised that recall service performed but vehicle required new front hub assemblies to correct ABS problem at a cost of over $1000 to me; the recall states it will correct problems caused by corrosion between hubs and ABS sensors. Cost should not be incurred by me for defective manufacture.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #109

Sep 212005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,594 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The county in which we live receives over 100+ inches of snow on average. The states that surround us, West Virginia and Pennsylvania, are considered by your definition to be in the "rust belt" our state and county road crews use a lot of salt and chemicals on the roads in the winter due to the high amount of snow that we receive each year. For this reason we feel that you should consider this area in the coverage zone for the safety recall of the front wheel speed sensor corrosion. The Silverado would make noises, vibrate and would feel like it was not going to stop in the necessary and appropriate distance at low speeds. The brakes felt mushy and would vibrate when coming to a stop. At first it only happened infrequently, but then began to happen all the time. The Silverado was taken to the local dealership to be serviced and the technician tested both the left and right front sensors. The technician then tried to remove and clean the above mentioned parts, which could not be done. The result was that a new hub assembly on both sides was installed. After this repair was completed, both the right and left sides were retested and found to be working ok. There have been no problem since this repair was completed. The old parts are available for inspection if needed.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #108

Jul 082005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact stated the dealer diagnosed the problem as the ABS signal dropping out at low speeds. This vehicle was showing the same symptoms as indicated in the recall. The delaer told her on 11-05-29005 this vehicle was not involved on 11-05-05 the wheel speed sensors had to be replaced at the contact's expense.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #107

Oct 262005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,542 miles
The contact received a recall letter for the ABS sensors he had the work performed, but the ABS pump has gone bad. He contacted General Motors, and they stated that because maintenance on vehicle was not performed at a GM dealership they would not assist him with the repairs. Updated 11/29/2005 -

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #106

Oct 252005

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received NHTSA recall letter 05V379000 concerning ABS brake failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for repairs. Upon leaving the dealership experienced the same ABS brake problems as those prior to the repairs. The dealership then drove the vehicle and could not duplicate the problem. General Motors told him if the dealership could not duplicate the problem then there was nothing they could do. The vehicle was taken to another service station, and they told him the problem was still with the ABS. Updated 11/29/2005 -

- Wakeman, OH, USA

problem #105

Aug 302005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,349 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact stated that when applying brake pressure to make a sudden stop the ABS did not activate. There was no feeling of pulsation. There was extended stopping distance. Was able to avoid a rear end collision. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer, who insisted the disc brakes delaminated. There was NHTSA recall, but this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN although the vehicle experienced the same ABS problem as indicated in the recall. No repairs have been made at this time. Updated 12/7/2005 - the vehicle was taken to the dealer who determine that the speed sensor was corroded. The dealer informed the consumer that there was a recall for the 1500 Silverado but not the 2500hd Silverado.

- Greenville, NY, USA

problem #104

Aug 102005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
Our Silverado has the exact problem described in recall #05V37900 for the anti-lock brakes. Because we are not considered a "salt belt" state G.M. will not recall our truck.

- Merrill, WI, USA

problem #103

Oct 082005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,050 miles
Truck will not come to a complete stop. I ran into another person coming to a stop. Truck will just keep rolling a little even with the brakes fully depressed. Talked to a couple of service stations and they said it was my ABS sensors in the front hubs. GM has a recall but not in my state and that is why I am filing a complaint.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #102

Sep 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated anti -lock brakes were activating at low speeds. Road salt corrosion led to false brake sensor readings, causing anti lock brakes to activate at wrong speeds. While driving in a parking lot the contact ran over a concrete parking barrier because he could not stop. The parking lot was dry. He had not contacted the manufacturer. Took vehicle to a dealership, and they were able to clean the sensors. The consumer didn't learn about the recall until after he paid for the repairs. Updated 11/29/05. Updated 11/29/05. The consumer contacted the manufacture and was told that Wisconsin was excluded from the recall. The consumer was not aware of the recall until after the dealer had repair the problem. The consumer request reimbursement for the repairs.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #101

Oct 202005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Chevrolet Silverado truck has started experiencing symptoms of low-speed ABS brake failures.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #100

Sep 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles
ABS brake system has been recalled for 2002 silverodo trucks in several states West va. Being one of them I live within 10 min of West, va. We are a state that gets a lot of road salt. My brake sensor system has gone out. The champaign number is 05vb379000. Virginia needs to be added to this recall list I have just had one side repaired at a cost of $333 now the other side is bad. This recall started in August but will not be issued untill Nov. 2005 there could be several accidents and maybe injuries or fatalities before Nov.please help to have Virginia included in this recall at least the mountians of South West Virginia thank you for yor assistance.

- Maxie, WI, USA

problem #99

Oct 032005

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,594 miles
Consumer states the drivers seat slid forward six inches from back, it broke and hit the tilt lever. It causedthe consumer's aunt to have a broken back, and she was paralyzed from the waist down. This happened on October 3, 2005, consumer stated that her aunt had foot on the brakes, but the vehicle accelerated instead of slowing down. There was no forewarning before this happened. At this time consumer has not contacted the dealer or manufacturer.

- Mannford, OK, USA

problem #98

Jan 162004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,855 miles
ABS brakes engaged at speeds below 5 miles per hour regardless of road conditions. I nearly crashed into parked cars in parking lots, and my own garage at home. I did crash into steel dumpster at work. ABS engaged while doing 5 mph going down a hill at work. They would not disengage after repeated attempts pressing and releasing brakes. The vehicle sped up due to no breaking and slide sideways which resulted in me striking a steel dumpster at work caving in both doors on the driver side of truck. This resulted in $4346.38 insurance claim which I paid a $500 deductible on. I had to disconnect the ABS after that as the constant engagement of the ABS would occur at anytime I was going 5 mph or less.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #97

Aug 172005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,980 miles
Poor quality vehicle/parts anti-lock brakes activate when they should not, there is an upcoming recall as GM is aware of this problem on the 2002 Chevy Silverado, however they will not fix it until the recall is active. I am having a problem with the brakes now, this is a safety issues and they should fix them now and not make me pay for this service and then require me to submit a bill at a later date to be reimbursed.

- Wampum, PW, USA

problem #96

Sep 082005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact stated that the brakes on H 2002 Chevrolet Silverado were bad. At low speeds the truck will not stop. The contact noticed this a couple of weeks ago. When he took vehicle to the dealer they replaced some sensors, and it was still doing the same thing. The pedal went to the floor. NHTSA recall 05V379000 regarding the ABS brakes was issued. But the state of Virginia was not included in the recall. He has not yet talked to the manufacturer. Also, was having problems with the rotors. The contact had to replace the rotors at 40,000 miles about a couple of months ago.

- Davenport, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?