Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,216 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments

problem #14

Feb 012008

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles


I have a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado truck. The truck only has 28,000 miles on it and recently began making grinding noises. I took it to century Chevrolet and was told that all 4 rotors and pads need to be replaced. With only 38,000 miles on the truck that seemed crazy. When I questioned this they told me that they hardly ever see this brake problem happening and it's because I don't drive the truck enough so it's rusted out the parts. Rusty parts in Colorado is another thing that didn't make sense. They could only do the front brake repair because of my camper so they replaced the front rotors and pads for a little over $400. I started checking around about the brakes and discovered on the internet that there were many similar stories from other Silverado owners. There is a large number of people who own these vehicles with parts that just deteriorate. Chevrolet continues to deny that it's defective parts and instead tells people that it's their fault for not using the brakes enough. We use this truck mostly in the summer for camping and traveling but do drive it in the winter so I"M unsure what is considered the proper amount of ?braking? time. The dealer couldn"T give me an answer on that question. This is happening to a lot of other people and they should be warned that part of the maintenance on this vehicle is $1,000 brake job every $25,000 miles or you won't have any brakes. Thank you for your time.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #13

Mar 252005

Silverado 1500 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,720 miles
At 37720 miles on 2002 Chevrolet 4X4 pickup. Took vehicle to dealer for safety inspection and service to GM dealership. Was informed that vehicle would not pass inspection due to brake rotors and pads being rusted and worn out. This was in March 2005. In October 2005 received recall notice relating to severe corrosion between front hub/bearing and speed sensor. Filled for a claim reimbursement due to the fact that all parts were inter related. Also even the repair invoice stated worn out/rusted. Was informed that no reimbursement would be paid.

- West Newfield, ME, USA

problem #12

Nov 162004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,956 miles
The contact complained about ABS brake problems. The vehicle was taken in to the dealership numerous times to have the ABS brakes worked on. The ABS light came on. They took the vehicle to the dealership the first time to have the light checked. The problem with the light was repaired. The second time the vehicle was taken to the dealership to have the rotors changed. The third time the vehicle was at the dealership the brake pads were changed. Also, the rotors were turned. The fourth time the vehicle was taken in to the dealership it was still having the same problems. Repairs to the vehicle were made at contact's expense. At this time there was NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000. Recall repairs were done. The vehicle currently has the same problems as before. Updated 03/03/06.

- New Castle , IN, USA

problem #11

Jun 272005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles


The contact stated the right rear brakes were grinding. The contact took vehicle to dealer on 6-27-05 and they replaced rear rotors and pads. However, the problem recurred. The pedal jerked/ pulsated when put the brake on. It happened at any speed. This vehicle was not included in recall 05V790000 due to VIN. The contact felt this vehicle should have been included.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 092005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact states when coming to almost a complete stop the sensor that detects ABS kicks in and vehicle just keeps going. This happens at low speeds of 5 mph or less. Once the ABS kicks in it almost seems like vehicle accelerates. He noticed this about 2 weeks ago. Mechanic had him call the GM dealer, and they verified the problem. But because there was not a recall they could not do anything. Also called the manufacturer, and they made an appointment to diagnose the problem and go from there. When the contact bought the truck it had 19,000 miles on it. At 21,000 there were brake problems. Had new rotors/pads put on the back, resurfaced the front and put pads on the front. At 37,000 the contact was on a trip and the brakes starting clattering and screeching from the back. They told him the discs were so rusted they destroyed the brake pads, and he had to replace everything.

- Dansville, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 052005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,800 miles
The consumer owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado ls 2500 hd 4 wheel drive regular cab. He was complaining about rear disc brakes. During state inspection on August 5, 2005 the consumer was told that the rear brakes wore out and needed to be replaced. Vehicle had 29,800 miles on it. The rear pads wore out and the rotors were rough and needed to be turned. He then contacted manufacturer customer service, who put him through to sweeney Chevrolet, and the dealer told him that because there was rust on the rear rotors the pads wore out. The consumer asked dealer why the front brakes did not wear out, and dealer did not have an answer. Manufacturer will not help with bill, he was told by sweeney Chevrolet that rotors could be be turned and saved. If rotors had to be replaced then they may have beeb given some assistance. A manufacturer's customer service representative called the consumer back and asked if problem was resolved, and he told her that problem still remained. Unresolved..

- Darlington, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 072004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2002 Chevy Silverado Z71 truck - bought new from mcclinton Chevrolet parkersburg wv. The truck started with a clicking noise when put in reverse. Took to machanic who stated that all 4 rotors were pitted and rusted and needed replaced. The truck has 54,000 miles. Took to two different Chevy dealerships the second finally diagnosed that the calipers were stuck and not allowing the pads to move when necessary. They stated that they have had numerous complaints about this problem and have found that the rotors are made of an inferior metal. The problem is not due to driving habits or environmental issues this is a manufacturer defect that if not caught early by the owner causes about $800 to replace the rotors, calipers, and brake pads. This needs to be looked into and Chevrolet needs to cover this type of cost. Loyal customers deserve better treatment from manufacturers. They have changed the brake system on the 2005. I guess that this tells us something. They know that there is a problem but don't want to be held responsible.

- West Union, WV, USA

problem #7

Dec 192004

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,976 miles
Vehicle had grinding noise from rear wheels and loss of power. Rear brakes failed with 9, 975 miles on vehicle. Dealer found right rear brake caliper rusted solid and not operating, causing inner right disk brake pad to wear out prematurely. Was advised that this was a result of the vehicle not being used enough, allowing components inside the caliper to rust. Dealer rebuilt right rear calipers, turned down both excessively rusted rear rotors and replaced rear disc brake pads.

- Lake Ariel, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 252004

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,890 miles
2002. Chevrolet Silverado, less the 38,000 miles on truck. All 4 rotors were disintegrated replaced all 4 all new pads.still when applying brake, brakes still go right to the floor.vechile slow to come to a stop.warrenty ran out by 1,000 miles. After investigated on inter net and found at least 33 complaints of the same thing. At my Thought I should be brought to your attention. Deal seem unwilling to help......depaula chevorlet, central ave albany, New York.

- Selkirk, NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 262004

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
Rear emergency brake pads wore out prematurely. The brakes made a loud grinding noise while driving under normal driving conditions.

- Bosque Farms, NM, USA

problem #4

Apr 232004

(reported on)

Silverado 1500

  • 39,000 miles


Vehicle was going through a routine maintenance when dealer discovered that the right rear brake pad tore up the rotor.

- Whittier, AK, USA

problem #3

Apr 072004

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Consumer complained about a brake problem. Rear brake pads wore out due to dirty slides. Of the four brake pads, 3 where gone.

- Grayling, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 282002

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 15,682 miles
I bought a 2002 Chevy Silverado in Oct 2001. I have been the only owner and driver of this vehicle. My complaint is that since I have had this vehicle I have had the left rear differental axles seals and brake pads replaced 4 times and the right rear seal and brake pads once. The problem started when the vehicle had 15,682 miles, second time at 26,252, third time at 32,727 and the fourth time at 65,624. When I took the vehicle back for the third time I was told that the seals were fine and that I probably needed the pvc value, fuel and air filters changed. They changed everything and charged me for the work. Within 3 weeks I went to another Chevy dealer who stated that the axles did need replacing. They did the work that should have been done 3 weeks earlier. When I went to the first dealer about being reimbursed for work that should not have been done I got blown off. I now have paid over $500 for a reocciring problem which seems to be a defect. I have contacted General Motors and even though they have talked to me I feel that I am getting nowhere. What is it going to take" me having an accident because my brakes get fluid leaked on them. I trailer my horse with this truck and god forbid anything happen when I am trailering. Then are they going to listen and do something about this"

- Ferndale, PA, USA

problem #1

Sep 242003

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a new 2002 Chevy Silverado ext cab 4WD in November 2001. The truck currently has 48000 miles on it. The rear brakes have been completely rebuilt 3 times due to excess wear and failure. The dealership has paid for the repairs twice and split the cost once but has advised they will not pay for it anymore. The cause appears to be sticking which wears the pads out which in turn wear out the rotors. The calipers freeze up and require replacing. The parking brake is used regularly and works okay. After the last repair, the ABS chatters when coming to a stop on clear dry pavement, like a parking lot or stop sign.

- Waitsfield, VT, USA

Not what you are looking for?