Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,097 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #59

Apr 192009

Silverado 1500

  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While approaching a stop, the contact heard grinding metal, which sounded as if the gear was slipping. The vehicle was still able to be driven, but made a continuous whining sound coming from the transmission. The vehicle was taken to a transmission shop and the entire transmission will need to be rebuilt. The manufacturer stated that they would not assist with the repair. The failure mileage was 51,000 and current mileage was 72,945.

- Pittsburge, PA, USA

problem #58

Apr 012006

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact experienced several issues with his vehicle and took it to an independent mechanic for repair. When he took the receipt for the repair to the dealer, they refused to speak with him. The dealer claimed to have called the manufacturer and was informed that they were not responsible for the repair charges because the vehicle was serviced by an independent mechanic. The rear end seal, transmission collar, intake gasket, theupdated 04-20-09 head gasket on the engine, and the catalytic converter were all replaced. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Defiance, OH, USA

problem #57

Feb 182009

Silverado 1500

  • 50,000 miles
Transmission failed while driving. Lost reverse 2nd and 4th. Common problem with poor quality transmission components used by GM. Scum. Anyways, economy is in a recession and I have lots of bills to pay and now this one as well. Thanks. I laugh everytime GM's stock gets lower. They truly deserve it.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #56

Apr 252008

Silverado 1500

  • 57,823 miles


Automatic transmission failed at 58000 miles. This truck was never used for towing. The reverse went out backing out the garage. Also, the vent and vapor sensor for the fuel tank failed. I was told there have been many updates for the transmission.

- Ellensburg, WA, USA

problem #55

Aug 222008

Silverado 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,407 miles
Sun shell gears in automatic transmission (4L60E) stripped. Loss of reverse, second and fourth gears in automatic transmission. 1st time with 17,982 miles on vehicle and the 2nd time with 78,407 miles on vehicle. Dealer repaired first time under warranty. Second time they split the repair bill of $850.

- Concord, NH, USA

problem #54

Mar 102005

Silverado 1500

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact attempted to place the vehicle into reverse, but it would not move. The transmission failed and was rebuilt; however, it failed again within 2.5 years. The failure mileage was 119,000 and current mileage was 159,000.

- Fair Hope, AL, USA

problem #53

Apr 082008

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 41,237 miles


Driving on a city street at 35 mph, transmission failed (sun shell gear in A4L60E GM transmission). Lost all drive and was bumped from rear, dented bumper only. Towed to a repair shop. Complete transmission replaced.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #52

Sep 292007

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate and shake. The vehicle would also not shift into reverse, second, and fourth gears. The dealer stated that the transmission reaction shell caused the failure and was replaced at the cost of $1,728. The current and failure mileages were 57,000. Updated 01/11/08. The fuel pump and U-joints were replaced. Updated

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #51

Sep 152007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
Transmission of 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe failed for the second time. 79,000 miles. Had been driving on freeway to destination. 10 yards from destination I put the car in reverse, but reverse did not work. Car in drive suddenly had same whine as when oem transmission broke. Needed 2nd new transmission.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #50

May 202007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,939 miles
While driving my 02 Silverado Z71 (49900 miles) on the freeway at 65/75 mph, I noticed that the truck was slowing down and my foot was still on the gas pedal. The tachometer jumped to 6000-7000 RPM and I was going at 30-40 mph. My truck got towed to a Chevy dealer and cost me $3600 to install a new/reman transmission. The dealer could not specify why the transmission failed.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #49

Apr 162007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,820 miles


Transmission failure on 02' Chevrolet Silverado at only 23K miles. Dealer recommends replacement. Many reports of failures on GM vehicles..please help us.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #48

Dec 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
(1) no events noted leading up to the failure. Normal driving conditions were implemented. Proper maintenance and intervals were observed. Warranty had recently expired. Mileage at time of failure was ~49,000 miles. (2) transmission failure occurred leaving family stranded in middle of traffic. After troubleshooting efforts from 2 garages, it was determined the sun reaction gear failed. This failure has no forewarning and is due to inferior quality of materials/parts used in the transmission. This event left my family stuck in traffic until, through trial and error, it was found that 1 gear was left semi-functional. The lack of reverse gear also put my family in danger while attempting to reach a safe area, out of traffic. GM is aware of the issue as noted in numerous factory technical bulletins and conversations had between manufacturer customer service and myself but are unwilling to make any strides for correcting the issue or compensate for damages. (3) at my expense, the repair options were total replacement of total rebuild of the transmission. We opted to total rebuild for 2 reasons; first - the replacement was only available from GM and it could not be verified if the same issue would exist in the replacement; second - proper rebuild expense was for cost efficient. The original defective part is available.

- Boyertown, PA, USA

problem #47

Jan 202007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,200 miles
Heard several things coming from under the car while the automatic transmission was shifting, then a constant whinning sound with no power. Had to have the truck towed. Dealer looked at it and determined it was a transmission failure and the sun gear assembly had to be replaced. Costs were around $1600. The truck only has 66,000 miles and is not quite five years old (2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500).

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #46

Jan 042007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
Original transmission went 19 months after purchase at 34K miles replaced 6/03 2nd transmission went at 57K truck miles/23K rebuilt transmission miles 6/04. 3rd transmission went at 114K truck miles/57K rebuilt transmission miles 1/4/07. The warranty on the third transmission expired Nov 24, 2006 just 41 days after the warranty expired.

- Darien Center, NY, USA

problem #45

Jun 012003

Silverado 1500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2002 Chevy Silverado truck Nov.21, 2001 1st transmission replaced 6/03 with 34000 truck miles 2nd transmission replaced 6/04 with 57000 truck miles; 23000 miles on new transmission 3rd transmission blew 1/07 with 114000 truck miles; 56400 miles on this transmission.

- Darien Center, NY, USA

problem #44

Jan 042007

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I was driving my 2002 Chevy 4X4 pickup (46,000 miles) home when a loud clank noise occurred and then a high pitched grinding noise followed. My truck would not shift normally (2nd, 4th, and reverse were out). I was lucky to make it home as I drive on a highway through the national forest where cell phone coverage is very limited. I took my pickup into the dealership and they indicated the problem was with my sun shell in the transmission. It had apparently failed and would cost between $1300 and $2500 to get everything fixed depending on how extensive the damage. I bought the pickup new and its never been off-road, towed or hauled anything and only has 46,000 miles.

- Ruckersville, VA, USA

problem #43

May 032006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,649 miles
I request that your Agency investigate an irresponsible and intentional action on the part of the General Motors corporation (GM) to purposely install an inferior/defective sun shell spline in the transmission of countless trucks and SUVS. When substantiated, I request that your Agency take action to force GM to take responsibility for this action, conduct a recall campaign, and reimburse consumers that have already had to pay for these expensive repairs out of their pockets. I own a 2002, 1500 Silverado, Z-71 truck VIN [xxx]5 with 52,600 miles. On May 3, 2006 the transmission failed with reverse, 2nd and 4th gears not functioning. Upon internal inspection at the local aamoco transmission repair shop it was determined that the failure was caused by an inferior/defective sun shell spline. The transmission expert at the shop stated that this was a common problem in GM trucks and that it was known by GM and as a result a new stronger sun shell spline had been installed, after supplies of the inferior/defective parts were exhausted. I did further research on the web and was able to confirm the transmission shops statements with many complaints found by GM truck owners for the same premature and expensive transmission failures. It is very obvious from the experiences of other GM truck owners that GM does not intend to stand behind their products that are out of warranty due an inferior/defective part that appears to have been knowingly installed. The cost for rebuilding my transmission was $2951.75, which I have had to pay for out of pocket. Your attention this mater is greatly appreciated. Updated 07/16/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #42

May 102006

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to back into a parking space there was a whining noise present from the transmission of the vehicle. The vehicle was put into drive and driven 50 yards and then placed into park. While in park the whining noise persisted and the speedometer went from 0 to 20. The vehicle was towed to the dealership for inspection who determined the transmission needs replaced. Updated 5/23/2006 -

- Childersburg, AL, USA

problem #41

Feb 162006

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
I purchased a 2002 Z71 Chevrolet crewcab 4 w/D pickup truck from hendrick Chevrolet in September of 2004, and have had my transmission (1st, 3rd and reverse) go out twice in less than a year. I contacted GM, but there was no recall at that time, but there were a lot of complaints on the NHTSA site about this same problem on my model truck. The first time it went out of may of 2005, it happened again February of this year. I had to pay $1,400 to have it fixed in May 2005, but the place of business who fixed it, fixed it again at no cost, as he said he guarantees his work for a year, and since it had not been a full year, he didn't charge might say I was unlucky and lucky at the same time. I believe there is a serious problem with that particular model pickup.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #40

Mar 142006

Silverado 1500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 - at 23,000 miles the transmission failed and was rebuilt/replaced at a GM dealership in Pennsylvania - at 53,000 mile transmission failed and was replaced at a transmission shop due to being out of warrenty (that's a suprise) the trany shop found that the GM dealership had not even replaced all of the bolts in the transmission. The cost was $1500 plus a rental car during the repair process. I can see that this seems to be an ongoing problem with the transmission. My concern is that if my wife is driving and the transmission fails again. GM should have more than enough information to do a recall on the transmission.

- West Union, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?