Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,559 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Nov 282015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving through a car was, the electric power steering failed while driving. I tried to turn and was unable to turn the steering wheel consequently I hit a pedestrian who was standing in front of the car. No police report was filed.

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #34

Nov 232015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles
Electric power steering failed while driving. Truck towed to a dealer. After replacing the electric power steering motor, electrical loom and the battery, was informed that the steering rack failed - possibly due to water penetration into the rack and pinion drive. Suspect a faulty or badly designed seal which may be the cause for thie failures on the 2014 Silverado trucks

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #33

Nov 172015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles
While driving about 30 mph. Turned the indicator and was going to turn right into a side street.. a warning appeared on my dash "power steering need service". lost power steering and was lucky to stop before the turning and not hit a car on the side street.

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #32

Sep 222014

Silverado 1500

  • 1 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle has an established, measureable and documented vibration problem that randomly increases & decreases in applitude & frequency at all speeds. GM is unable to resolve after 12 dealer attempts to address, including multiple sets of tires, rear differential, drive shafts and shock absorbers all failing to resolve the issue. GM stated vibration is inherent to the design and no further action needed or will be taken ever for vibration, regardless of circumstance. Such a vibration is a significant safety defect because it is essentially like cutting wires to warning tell-tales by removing a driver's ability to discern tire/suspension/powertrain/steering problems that can only be identified by feeling a vibration (such as a loose wheel or damaged suspsension components) prior to a catastrophic event, especially at high speeds. Not only for the vehicle occupants, but also for any road user when it results in the driver loosing control of the vehicle. GM's own attempts to fix the vehicle with the list of parts above irrefutably supports the inability for a driver to identify the source of a vibration. If experienced technicians and subsequent corporate engineers cannot recognize the vibration as being different from wheels, suspension, powertrain; then a normal driver will have no such warnings available should a potentially catastrophic safety issue be present. Further, since GM refuses to address any further vibration issues with this vehcile, it is like have a airbag warning tell-tale continuously illuminated whether or not a problem exists & GM stating to just live with it. In other words, if I get a loose wheel, I guess GM figures I will know it when it falls off. In addition, to safety defect described above, the vibration is an extreme source of driver distraction & driver rage as attempts are made to produce and/or reduce the vibration while driving.

- Tappan, NY, USA

problem #31

Sep 052015

Silverado 1500

  • 35,000 miles
We own a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. Upon traveling a low rate of speed or under 40 mph, there is a sudden loss of power. The vehicle hesitates numerous times and stalled. The vehicle shuts off and there is a loss of power and engine dies. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than twice, but they were unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The approximate failure mileage is 35,024.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #30

Sep 062015

Silverado 1500

  • 22,925 miles
When the below messages are received, steering the vehicle is extremely difficult, the steering wheel thrashes back and forth (when at slower speeds - I.e. attempting to park) and usually enters a "low power mode" where you can't accelerate, steer or about anything. In all cases, turning off the vehicle and restarting seems to return to normal until it happens again. 9/6/15: While making a turn, received a "stabilitrak off" and "power steering assist reduces drive with care" 9/8/15; received the above two messages plus "service 4WD" - 9/10/15 dealer replaced the transfer case actuator per tsb 9/14/15: Received stabilitrak and pwr steering messages when attempting to park the truck -- dealer stated love voltage codes present, so they charged the batter and returned the truck to me. 9/16/15: Had the steering wheel thrashing when backing into my driveway, but no messages 9/24/15: While on the highway (lucky traffic was slow) received the stabilitrak (twice) and pwr steering messages, so I exited to take side streets home. When making a left turn received the stabilitrak and pwr steering message, the low power mode and thrashing steering. This occurrence was in traffic and dangerous. Currently at dealer, they state they are replacing both positive and negative cables and rerouted a wire that may have been rubbing the frame. Note: There is a recall on the 2015 models for the electric power steering (eps) GM # 14743 -- same symptoms...

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #29

Sep 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 19,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loud clunking noise when turning the steering wheel all the way to the left.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #28

Aug 312015

Silverado 1500

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the steering wheel was tight and extremely difficult to turn left and right. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the power assist motor. The second repair was the electronic torque control sensor; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was not included in manufacturer recall number: 14515 for the chassis control module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 192014

Silverado 1500

  • 800 miles
I purchased the vehicle, brand new in may of 2014. The first malfunction of the vehicle was June 19 2014. The steering wheel, ignition, and cylinder remained locked and I was restrained from starting vehicle I contacted Chevrolet roadside assistance in which they were no assistance.I was able to start car after aprox 30min. The second malfunction was in March 2015. My truck turned off while driving on the freeway in the fast lane causing loss of power steering, speed and all functions of the vehicle. Onstar and highway patrol were contacted and highway patrol assisted in pushing vehicle to the shoulder. The third incident was July 30. Immediately after taking my truck into paradise Chevrolet for an oil change. A gas attendee noticed I was leaking oil. The oil cap had not been tightened causing oil leakage. The most recent event was August 11,2015. My vehicle turned off once again while being driven on the highway with my husband and five month old daughter in it, causing loss of power steering, speed and all functions of the truck. The vehicle did restart aprox.20min after.however, when restarted the truck made a noticeably shakey motion. Both events in which the vehicle turned off while driving were followed shortly after paradise Chevrolet of ventura ca "upgraded software", without my knowledge. Both times I went in for an oil change and I was informed after the fact that they had upgraded software/ preformed a "recall".

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #26

Nov 062014

Silverado 1500

  • 12,300 miles
At highway speeds (above 50 mph) after driving for 20 minutes to 1/2 hr, a slight turn to the left (at speed) causes the steering to stick/bind. It may be a loss of power steering assist. This happens intermittently. This prevents the wheel from returning to center from the left turn. The resistance can be overcome by increasing to force applied to either return the wheel to center or to increase the left turn. Update 9/15/15

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the highway a stabilization control light came on briefly, then went away. Approximately 5 miles later after exiting the highway, and going down a side street, the truck died and the steering wheel locked when I slowed and started to make a right hand turn into a parking lot. This has since occurred once more under similar conditions while slowing, braking and turning at low speeds and not under throttle.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #24

Sep 082014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,300 miles
I started having problems with the electrical in the truck starting with the windows. I informed dealership and that the stabilitrak was going off saying that the steering was failing. The problem has continued to present and now the truck is shutting itself off while going down the road losing all steering and turning itself back on. My family was in the truck and we almost rolled into a parking structure, I lost all power and steering to truck had no control at all. The truck continues to have issues and this after I took it in to have it fixed. Dealer made problem worse.

- Laverkin, UT, USA

problem #23

Dec 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 1,000 miles
When driving truck on interstate I notice a vibration in the front steering and wheels once the truck goes over 65 miles per hour. This was doing it just after 1000 miles.. when the rotated tires when truck was serviced. The issue is still there

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #22

Jan 272015

Silverado 1500

  • 18,000 miles
Since about 15000-18000 miles this truck vibrates at most speeds, most noticeable at 65 mph and over. It is at the dealer for the second time. The first time all they did was balance the tires, but the problem didn't go away. The dealer is still scratching their heads on this. The loaner 2015 I have is worse and vibrates at all speeds.....

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #21

Aug 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,500 miles
I purchased the 2014 Chevy Silverado crew cab lt Texas edition from reliable Chevrolet in richardson, tx. Immediately after purchasing without a test drive it noticed that there was a vibration, steering problem, and scratches on the bed.. because it was a demo of was told by the new car salesman that they had made sure the vehicle was inspected and that the scratches were superficial and it's a demo so that's how it is. I spoke with the business manager and they put a spay in bed liner to fix the scratches and did a balance on the tire. I picked the truck up and the steering and vibration problems were still there. It went back into the shop again and they couldn't duplicate any problems. The steering is almost impossible to keep in a straight line it swerves as if the truck had a few drinks. I told them it don't feel safe driving it and I'm afraid I'm going to hit someone. I will not drive in the middle lanes. I have to drive on either far left or right lanes to allow for swerving. I complained to GM.. got excited because they sent me to another dealership and same thing happened.. went for a test drive.. they felt something wrong but mechanics can't "duplicate" the problem. They said they test drove it again but in don't see how when the roads were iced over. I called GM again and I'm at a new dealership they test drove it with me and headed a new popping noise when the wheels is turned and felt steering and suspension issue. They kept the truck but once again not able to duplicate. I've had a few loaners and none of them drive like mine. The truck has also had problems with ac and whiny noise in engine. I'm was supposed to pick up the truck today but I complained and they were going to test drive it again. They don't factor in the time and inconvenience of having to take off work plus gas and miles in trying to get this fixed. Not happy with this truck.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 062014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10 miles
Since day one I noticed that the voice commands were not acknowledging proper voice commands. I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 they said it was my phone.it takes me a good solid 3-5 minutes to get a phone call out because of the voice recognition doesn't work. I would also notice that on pandora it would say acquiring net work service. Then from that, onto it saying network error.that happens no matter what every time I try to use it I have to turn blue tooth off and turn it back on and then connect it all over again. Sometimes I can hear people and they cant here me. On 4/08/14 again I took it in the dealer for the bluetooth problem. My front headlamps get moisture in them when I wash my truck on. 3/13/14 they replaced my left headlamp, still the moisture happens.when turning on the truck from park and engaging on drive a loud clunk and a tough movement makes the truck feel like its swinging from N to S. again I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 and they said nothing was wrong. January of 2014 - April 2014 there were 20 times that my truck went into the service department 4 times for recalls thats 24 times in 4 months for a new truck I got in an accident on 4/20/2014 and 50 parts were put into the truck to repair it. It took the dealer selman 3 months before I had to call and ask what was going on with my truck everyone seems to be clueless. On top of all that I had to denied the truck 8 times because of wrong parts that were put on. They changed my whole front end. The lights turn on when they want, it sound like lose parts in side the dash.the truck shakes on freeway going 40-60mph I have that on video. I feel unsafe driving the truck. I feel that I am being discriminated at selman since they treat me different. I want someone to help me look into this truck it is unsafe for my family and wanted a buy back but they said no I should be able to get that option.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 012015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,500 miles
When truck reaches speed of 70 mph or higher there is a vibration in the steering. It feels like the left front wheel has problems. Dealer balanced the tires and said it fixed the problem. The problem has not gone away.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 052014

Silverado 1500

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the driveshaft and steering column was repaired twice. The contact stated that the dealer also had to have the motor mounts replaced. The contact stated that the steering failed again and the vehicle could not be turned. The vehicle also had a vibration coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was given two sets of new tires and both sets failed. The failures occurred ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 7/29/15

- Grannett City, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 242015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The vehicle ignition turned off while driving (vehicle in motion) causing the power steering to fail. This has happened three times in the past 3 weeks. GM does not list this model as part of its recall and when I contacted GM they recommended taking it to a dealer and having it repaired at my expense.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Jan 072015

Silverado 1500

  • 4,000 miles
Have new 2014 Chevy Silverado 1500 4X4 5.3 engine. In January I went to get in my truck to go to work and there was a service power steering warning. I then noticed I had no power steering.(4000 mile) they towed my truck to dealership and they said they rebooted the computer and it was ok now. This past weekend March 28th 2015, it did the same thing at the boat ramp in a high school fishing tournament. Went to get truck to load boat and could not move it.(6500 mile) after about an hr. It was ok. I am concerned of this truck loosing power steering while driving it the mountains. I have googled this issue and some people have reported that they have lost power steering while driving. Having 2 high school students in my truck is a great concern.

- Pall Mall, TN, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?