Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,322 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Sep 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 19,500 miles


Loud clunking noise when turning the steering wheel all the way to the left.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #28

Aug 312015

Silverado 1500

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the steering wheel was tight and extremely difficult to turn left and right. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the power assist motor. The second repair was the electronic torque control sensor; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was not included in manufacturer recall number: 14515 for the chassis control module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 192014

Silverado 1500

  • 800 miles
I purchased the vehicle, brand new in may of 2014. The first malfunction of the vehicle was June 19 2014. The steering wheel, ignition, and cylinder remained locked and I was restrained from starting vehicle I contacted Chevrolet roadside assistance in which they were no assistance.I was able to start car after aprox 30min. The second malfunction was in March 2015. My truck turned off while driving on the freeway in the fast lane causing loss of power steering, speed and all functions of the vehicle. Onstar and highway patrol were contacted and highway patrol assisted in pushing vehicle to the shoulder. The third incident was July 30. Immediately after taking my truck into paradise Chevrolet for an oil change. A gas attendee noticed I was leaking oil. The oil cap had not been tightened causing oil leakage. The most recent event was August 11,2015. My vehicle turned off once again while being driven on the highway with my husband and five month old daughter in it, causing loss of power steering, speed and all functions of the truck. The vehicle did restart aprox.20min after.however, when restarted the truck made a noticeably shakey motion. Both events in which the vehicle turned off while driving were followed shortly after paradise Chevrolet of ventura ca "upgraded software", without my knowledge. Both times I went in for an oil change and I was informed after the fact that they had upgraded software/ preformed a "recall".

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #26

Nov 062014

Silverado 1500

  • 12,300 miles


At highway speeds (above 50 mph) after driving for 20 minutes to 1/2 hr, a slight turn to the left (at speed) causes the steering to stick/bind. It may be a loss of power steering assist. This happens intermittently. This prevents the wheel from returning to center from the left turn. The resistance can be overcome by increasing to force applied to either return the wheel to center or to increase the left turn. Update 9/15/15

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 50,000 miles
While driving down the highway a stabilization control light came on briefly, then went away. Approximately 5 miles later after exiting the highway, and going down a side street, the truck died and the steering wheel locked when I slowed and started to make a right hand turn into a parking lot. This has since occurred once more under similar conditions while slowing, braking and turning at low speeds and not under throttle.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #24

Sep 082014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,300 miles
I started having problems with the electrical in the truck starting with the windows. I informed dealership and that the stabilitrak was going off saying that the steering was failing. The problem has continued to present and now the truck is shutting itself off while going down the road losing all steering and turning itself back on. My family was in the truck and we almost rolled into a parking structure, I lost all power and steering to truck had no control at all. The truck continues to have issues and this after I took it in to have it fixed. Dealer made problem worse.

- Laverkin, UT, USA

problem #23

Dec 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 1,000 miles


When driving truck on interstate I notice a vibration in the front steering and wheels once the truck goes over 65 miles per hour. This was doing it just after 1000 miles.. when the rotated tires when truck was serviced. The issue is still there

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #22

Jan 272015

Silverado 1500

  • 18,000 miles
Since about 15000-18000 miles this truck vibrates at most speeds, most noticeable at 65 mph and over. It is at the dealer for the second time. The first time all they did was balance the tires, but the problem didn't go away. The dealer is still scratching their heads on this. The loaner 2015 I have is worse and vibrates at all speeds.....

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #21

Aug 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,500 miles
I purchased the 2014 Chevy Silverado crew cab lt Texas edition from reliable Chevrolet in richardson, tx. Immediately after purchasing without a test drive it noticed that there was a vibration, steering problem, and scratches on the bed.. because it was a demo of was told by the new car salesman that they had made sure the vehicle was inspected and that the scratches were superficial and it's a demo so that's how it is. I spoke with the business manager and they put a spay in bed liner to fix the scratche's and did a balance on the tirer. I picked the truck up and the steering and vibration problems were still there. It went back into the shop again and they couldn't duplicate any problems. The steering is almost impossible to keep in a straight line it swerves as if the truck had a few drinks. I told them it don't feel safe driving it and I'm afraid I'm going to hit someone. I will not drive in the middle lanes. I have to drive on either far left or right lanes to allow for swerving. I complained to GM.. got excited because they sent me to another dealership and same thing happened.. went for a test drive.. they felt something wrong but mechanics can't "duplicate" the problem. They said they test drove it again but in don't see how when the roads were iced over. I called GM again and I'm at a new dealership they test drove it with me and headed a new popping noise when the wheels is turned and felt steering and suspension issue. They kept the truck but once again not able to duplicate. I've had a few loaners and none of them drive like mine. The truck has also had problems with ac and whiny noise in engine. I'm was supposed to pick up the truck today but I complained and they were going to test drive it again. They don't factor in the time and inconvenience of having to take off work plus gas and miles in trying to get this fixed. Not happy with this truck.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 062014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10 miles
Since day one I noticed that the voice commands were not acknowledging proper voice commands. I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 they said it was my takes me a good solid 3-5 minutes to get a phone call out because of the voice recognition doesn't work. I would also notice that on pandora it would say acquiring net work service. Then from that, onto it saying network error.that happens no matter what every time I try to use it I have to turn blue tooth off and turn it back on and then connect it all over again. Sometimes I can hear people and they cant here me. On 4/08/14 again I took it in the dealer for the bluetooth problem. My front headlamps get moisture in them when I wash my truck on. 3/13/14 they replaced my left headlamp, still the moisture happens.when turning on the truck from park and engaging on drive a loud clunk and a tough movement makes the truck feel like its swinging from N to S. again I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 and they said nothing was wrong. January of 2014 - April 2014 there were 20 times that my truck went into the service department 4 times for recalls thats 24 times in 4 months for a new truck I got in an accident on 4/20/2014 and 50 parts were put into the truck to repair it. It took the dealer selman 3 months before I had to call and ask what was going on with my truck everyone seems to be clueless. On top of all that I had to denied the truck 8 times because of wrong parts that were put on. They changed my whole front end. The lights turn on when they want, it sound like lose parts in side the dash.the truck shakes on freeway going 40-60mph I have that on video. I feel unsafe driving the truck. I feel that I am being discriminated at selman since they treat me different. I want someone to help me look into this truck it is unsafe for my family and wanted a buy back but they said no I should be able to get that option.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 012015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,500 miles


When truck reaches speed of 70 mph or higher there is a vibration in the steering. It feels like the left front wheel has problems. Dealer balanced the tires and said it fixed the problem. The problem has not gone away.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 052014

Silverado 1500

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the driveshaft and steering column was repaired twice. The contact stated that the dealer also had to have the motor mounts replaced. The contact stated that the steering failed again and the vehicle could not be turned. The vehicle also had a vibration coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was given two sets of new tires and both sets failed. The failures occurred ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 7/29/15

- Grannett City, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 242015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The vehicle ignition turned off while driving (vehicle in motion) causing the power steering to fail. This has happened three times in the past 3 weeks. GM does not list this model as part of its recall and when I contacted GM they recommended taking it to a dealer and having it repaired at my expense.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Jan 072015

Silverado 1500

  • 4,000 miles
Have new 2014 Chevy Silverado 1500 4X4 5.3 engine. In January I went to get in my truck to go to work and there was a service power steering warning. I then noticed I had no power steering.(4000 mile) they towed my truck to dealership and they said they rebooted the computer and it was ok now. This past weekend March 28th 2015, it did the same thing at the boat ramp in a high school fishing tournament. Went to get truck to load boat and could not move it.(6500 mile) after about an hr. It was ok. I am concerned of this truck loosing power steering while driving it the mountains. I have googled this issue and some people have reported that they have lost power steering while driving. Having 2 high school students in my truck is a great concern.

- Pall Mall, TN, USA

problem #15

Dec 132013

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 6,900 miles
I brought my truck in for a vibration problem to the dealership that I purchased it from. The truck was muddy and the dealership told me that it was from all the mud on the truck. But they did not even wash the truck and test drive it. Then I brought it into a different dealership to have it check for the same thing. They forced balance my truck and they found something so they rotated my drive shaft 180 degrees and said it was fixed. About 30 days later it started again and brought it back to be checked. They forced balance it again and found a bad tire so they replaced the one tire while the other three tire had about 12,000 miles on them. So it happened again so brought it again for the 4th time for the same problem. They again forced balanced the truck and could not pin point the problem so the service manger took a 2015 Silverado 1500 and took off the tires and rims and put it on my truck. Not didn't fix it so they put all new shocks and strouts on it and told me it was fixed and they wanted to bring the truck to my home and I declined and I wanted to test drive the truck. I drove the truck with the service manager and found that it didn't change I asked him that I wanted an appointment with the district manager of GM. So when I meet with him in the service managers office with the service manager. The first thing out of the district managers was I am here to help you and the showed his true self. Within the first 9 minutes he asked me how I would fix the problem and then he told me to hire an attorney. Because that was the only way you are going to get the truck bought make from GM. After I left the office after 9 minutes I tried to make an appointment at the dealership I bought the truck and I had an appointment the following day. The same day the dealership informed that night that they couldn't see or work on my truck I called GM customer service.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 132015

Silverado 1500

  • 27,500 miles
While driving at highway speeds my truck lost it's power steering. An alert popped up to drive with caution service power steering. It took all the strength I had to keep my truck on the road as this incident occurred as I was approaching a curve in the road. There was no warning just instant loss of steering. I had my whole family with me. I am afraid to drive my vehicle now. I have read online in multiple forums that this has happened with quite a great frequency in 2014 Silverado.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 232014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,405 miles
Prior to this incident my truck had 6 recalls. Almost all of the recalls have been for "software? issues. The latest problem is what I am writing to you about and I believe is an extremely dangerous situation and if it happens to someone who is not physically capable of handling it, it could easily be fatal to one or more individuals. What happened to me is as follows: The day before christmas eve I drove to the local supermarket to pick up some last minute stuff and after leaving the store I pulled out onto a busy 4 lane highway and began to turn left. Part way into the turn I heard a ?clunk? in the front engine compartment and immediately the power steering stopped working. The steering wheel was wrenched out of my hands and I was forced to brake sharply. I was, obviously taken by surprise by the incident and grabbed the wheel with both hands and wrestled the 6,000 lb truck around the turn, running over the curb on the far side of the road. I am a reasonably fit 6?4? 225 lb male and I must tell you that it was all that I could do to turn the wheel and prevent me from running straight through the intersection. My dealership was 4 miles from me and I was able to negotiate my way there without any accidents or injuries. I got the truck there and told the service people what happened and they said have a seat in the waiting room and they would look at it. 25 minutes later a rep came out and said it was fixed. Another software adjustment was made. Yesterday, Jan 5 the same problem occurred and this time I almost had a head on collision with another vehicle. Once again I was close to my dealer and was able to drop the truck off in their lot. They are closed on Sunday so I called them today and I am waiting for them to ?fix" it again. I am almost afraid to drive the vehicle after this latest incident. Updated 03/04/15 updated 10/8/2015

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 252014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,207 miles
I purchased my 2014 Chevrolet Silverado on 7/11/14. On the way home I called the dealer to tell them that it had a bad vibration when driving at highway speeds. The first repair was attempted on 7/25/14 with 1207 miles. I have had the truck back at least 8 times for a repair. The dealer has replace tires. They have balanced the tires at least 6 times that I know about. They have replaced the drive shaft. The have replace the ring gear and pinion. Replaced the entire differential ( they swapped it from another new truck) they have repositioned the motor mounts. Now they are wanting to replace the rear differential again. I have been patient with them trying to let them fix the concern. They have a General Motors service engineer involved and he has several parts ordered for it. The dealership had talked to their factory rep and at one time they talked about GM buying the truck back and getting me another truck. I don't feel the truck I have is safe. It has had the wheels off more times than I would have rotated my tires in 150000 miles.

- Garden City, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 122014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 180 miles
The vehicle has a shake and vibration in the seats, steering and suspension at interstate speeds of 65 mph and above on smooth roads it has had the shake and vibration since the day I bought it new.

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #10

Oct 012013

Silverado 1500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles
Vehicle vibration and whistling noise at 60-55 mph decelerating. Have taken to dealership--they have ordered a drive shaft to replace the imperfect shaft they state is on the truck. Seriously, have had the truck a week now--GM will be notified and whoever else I can find that has a hand in this. Not paying for this truck, checking with attorney.

- Clifton, TX, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?