Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,055 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Mar 132010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When driving the vehicle the contact noticed that the speedometer would display a speed of 120 mph when the contact was actually traveling at a speed of 45 mph. The dealership was contacted and stated that there were no recalls on his vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired at the time of complaint. The failure and current mileages were 90000. Updated 07/19/10 updated 07/21/10.

- St. Joseph, MN, USA

problem #69

Mar 132010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 47,218 miles
Our 2005 Chevy Silverado's speedometer broke at 57, 218 miles. We called a dealership in the area and were told that there are no current recalls for this and told me that they wouldn't be able to do anything for me. I told them that I do not think a speedometer should break when the vehicle has less than 60,000 miles on it. I found a recall online, but evidently it doesn't cover my vehicle...only certain 2005 Silverado models....I don't feel I should have to pay for yet another thing to break on this vehicle (hub assembly twice, actuator broke 3 times before the dealership would actually listen to us and fix it correctly). I want to file a complaint to be pro active and report the problem in the hope that GM will do something about it and start making their vehicles better.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #68

Jan 292010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Silverado and all the dashboard gauges stopped working. When I called GM they said they knew about this problem, but never sent out any notices. They would cover parts and labor for mileage of 80,000 and below. My truck has 102,200 miles. I feel GM should stand up for their products no matter the mileage. It is nothing that I did to cause the gauges to stop working.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #67

Jan 012010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl Diesel

  • 96,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado diesel engine. While driving at speeds as low as 50 mph, the vehicle speedomoter would indicate the vehicle was traveling at speeds of 120 mph and would stick at this mileage. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, however no repairs were made to the vehicle. The contact was not present at the time the vehicle was taken to the dealer and was unsure as to what was advised in reference to the vehicle. The failure persisted. The failure and current mileages were 96,000. Updated 06/02/10. The consumer was informed the problem was caused by a wiring cluster in the dash. Updated 06/28/10

- Hidden Valley Lake, CA, USA

problem #66

Mar 042009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact drove the vehicle at various speeds, she noticed that the dashboard panel failed to operate properly. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 115000.

- New Wavrly, TX, USA

problem #65

Dec 072008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 53,000 miles
2005 Chevy Silverado speedometer stopped working. I was driving and the speedometer showed 20mph less than actual speed. When I stopped it showed 120mph. GM had recall for this for 2004 and some 2005 models, GM says my VIN number is not covered.

- Monaca, PA, USA

problem #64

Nov 072008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles


I have a 2005 Chevy Silverado. Last winter my speedometer began to malfunction (stick). Now it is stuck at 120 mph all the time. This is unsafe and appears to be a problem among a lot of the 05 Silverado's. there is a recall on the 03 model and 04 model. I've done research online and there is a lot of people at the moment waiting on a recall.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #63

Dec 212009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 71,000 miles
Around December 2009 I noticed that my tachometer was working intermittently. The problem has now moved over to my speedometer which is registering my speed +/- 25 mph off the actual speed. This is worse than me texting while driving as I am always having to pace my speed with over vehicles or trying to mentally gauge my actual speed.

- Hampstead, NC, USA

problem #62

Jan 202010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 72,000 miles
Purchased a 2005 Chevrolet K1500 Silverado used in 10/2009. In 01/2010 the speedometer stopped working at approximately 72K miles. Dealership advised us that this is a known problem in several GM full size trucks and SUVS 2003-2007 model years. GM will not fully cover the cost to replace the defective part. We argue that a speedometer is not a wear and tear item, that the presence of multiple complaints by thousands of consumers prove that this part is consistently failing. We argue that proper operation of a speedometer has a direct impact on the safe operation of a vehicle. We believe that GM should be required to fully cover the cost of the replacement at no expense to the owner of all affected vehicles. If a speed related crash resulted and the liable party was driving an affected vehicle, GM would share in the liability of that loss. This again points that this is a safety component that is consistently failing in thousands of these vehicles.

- Sandwich, IL, USA

problem #61

Dec 112009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact started the vehicle he noticed that the speedometer increased to 120 mph and would not move regardless of the speed that he was driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 90000. Updated 02/17/10. The consumer stated the speedometer doesn't work. The needle is stuck on 120 mph. Updated 02/17/10.

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #60

Nov 232008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the instrument panel failed along with the heat in the vehicle. She cited it as an electrical problem; none of the gauges were functioning. She noticed that the speedometer seemed to have been replaced previously. She took the vehicle to the dealer and she was told that the entire instrument panel needed to be replaced. She called the manufacturer and was informed that they could not assist her. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was 31,015. The failure mileage was approximately 29,000. Updated 01/1410 updated 01/20/10.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #59

Oct 152006

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 20,000 miles
In the 2nd year I owned my truck it noticed that when the outside temp got below 50 degrees F that my speedometer would stop working. When it warmed up 10-15 degrees it would start working again. After about a year of this it just became completely unreliable all the time regardless of temp. Now it just sits between 50-120 mph whether you are moving are not moving. This last year the gas gauge also became completely unreliable. I've heard Chevy sent out letters saying that if your vehicle has less than 7 yrs or less than 70,000 they would fix it free, mine has over a hundred but I never got a letter and still live at same address. I've heard there is a class action suit but haven't seen it. I would take my truck to the Chevy dealership but this would cost me a diagnostic fee of $110 and they still would fix it free, they would charge me $600. This is a safety issue. A driver must know the speed of their vehicle and they must know how much fuel is in the vehicle.

- Edgewater, FL, USA

problem #58

Oct 152009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 35,000 miles
While traveling at a speed of 60mph the speedometer would increase to around 100mph. After coming to a complete stop the speedometer still registered 35mph. I was able to reset the speedometer by cycling the key on and off 5 times. I've had the same issue at least 3 times now. This should be a recall issue before someone gets hurt or killed, not to mention all the speeding tickets being issued for this defect.

- Gloucester Point, VA, USA

problem #57

Oct 122009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Silverado is bad. I have 73,000 miles on it and have never driven so fast in my life. It started in may of 2009 and it corrected itself now we are facing the same issue. When reading up on this I find I am not the only one who is having this issue. Driving aprox.30 but it says 120.

- Ramsey , IL, USA

problem #56

Sep 012009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Z71 with the 5.3 liter V8 stopped working at about 93K. The speedometer in now stuck at 120mph and does not give me a correct reading.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #55

Oct 012008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 99,000 miles
Speedometer stopped working on my 2005 Chevy Silverado.

- Ellabell, GA, USA

problem #54

Apr 122009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 57,000 miles
The evaporated canister went bad. The mechanic said normally this should never go bad. 1 week later the speedometer fails. The cost to repair the canister was $290.

- Shichshinny, PA, USA

problem #53

Apr 132009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 116,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer stops working and/or sticks between 40 and 60mph at rest. This appears to be a common GM truck issue and it's a common topic on the GM message boards as well. GM apparently knows of the problem but no recall has been issued. This needs to be recalled as it is a very common defect. Your immediate help is requested. Because we are unable to gauge speed accurately this has created a dangerous safety concern that could place others (the public) at risk.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 012008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Re:Chevy 2005 instrument cluster failure about 6 months ago, my 2005 Chevy Silverado 200 truck started experiencing the speedometer failure issue. At that time I called in the dealership tom jumper where I purchased this vehicle and they told me that they know about this issue and it would cost about $600 to get this fixed. They also informed me that there was a litigation against GM for the speedometer issue and had me call GM directly to get this issue fixed to avoid out of pocket expenses. This dealership has closed and out of business. I did call GM according to them there has been litigation going on and they directed to me to this website to find out the status periodically. The website now informs that there was a settlement notice issued and for people who have paid for this repair work should claim their reimbursements. I refuse to pay out of pocket and asked them to get my vehicle fixed as its a manufacturer problem on supplying defective parts. They are asking me to go to Chevy dealer and get it diagnosed paid by me and then they will determine if they I am eligible for this repair work. I found this absolutely unacceptable and fraudulent as per keeping their client as a hostage to their demands. I want some action done to help protect consumers like me who are essentially paying for the bailout of these companies in the current economic condition. Please help in this matter. Thanks. (

- Acworth , GA, USA

problem #51

Sep 132008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
Speedometer no longer works. Began to fail just after it reached 70,000 miles and GM will not fix it.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?