Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,055 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Mar 182009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just bought my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 24 hrs ago. Speedometer went out. Reads 120 at all times. This is very dangerous, also illegal. Something needs to be done to resolve this issue. GM should have quality product !

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #49

Mar 172009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 18,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer malfunction. Speedometer shows 120 mph regardless of whether vehicle is stopped or moving. GM has recalled 2003 and 2004 models but refuses to include 2005 models. My local dealer quoted $700 for the repair.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #48

Jan 122009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Speedometer on my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado sticks and intermittent, sometimes its shows me driving 120 mph when going 20 to 30 miles per hour. Have left it cool down, then start the engine numerous times for it to reset in 5 mph increments until it returns to 0 mph. Sluggish going to 0 mph when stopping at a stop sign etc. Definite safety issue since I don't know how fast I am going other than going with the flow, it is consistently doing these symptoms all the time now.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #47

Dec 172008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 69,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Silverado does not accurately display the speed of the vehicle. It may read anywhere from 0 to 120 mph regardless of the actual speed of the vehicle. I first became aware of the inaccurate readings while driving on the expressway at an indicated 72 mph. I noticed that I was passing the few other vehicles on the road and because of the speed at which I was doing so I checked the speed reading on my gps and found that I was doing almost 100 mph. This a safety issue. I am also aware of several other General Motors trucks of the same year with the same problem. And also that the 2003 and 2004 GM truck have the same problem with the identical part for which GM has instituted a customer satisfaction recall.

- Augusta, MI, USA

problem #46

Jan 152009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 51,640 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the speedometer displayed inaccurate readings and constantly shows the incorrect speed of travel. The failure has been occurring for two weeks. He feels that it is a safety issue because he does not know how fast he is driving. The current and failure mileages were 51,640. Updated 4/28/09 updated 04/30/09.

- Williamsburg, PA, USA

problem #45

Feb 182009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer going crazy. Jumping from 0-180 mph getting stuck on different mph. Should be a recall notice.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #44

Feb 052009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevy Silverado truck with 79,000 miles started experiencing problems with the speedometer jumping and sticking. We brought it to the dealership and was told $538 to fix it. However, after searching the internet to fix myself, I discovered that many people have experienced the same problem and there is a lawsuit pending because of this problem.

- Picayune, MS, USA

problem #43

Feb 052009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 54,650 miles
The speedometer in my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado quit working, or will register inaccurate speeds. My truck only has 54000 miles on it and I know that they are "extending" the coverage on the 03-04 models but not the 2005's. this failure could easily cause speeding tickets or worse, accidents. GM is fully aware of this problem and they need to correct it. I am trying to get mine fixed through GM but they will likely only pay a percentage of the very expensive repair.

- Elmendorf Afb , AK, USA

problem #42

Feb 022009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 51 miles
Speedometer stuck at 45mph at a stop, while on the highway in a 65-70mph zone the speedometer increase to 110-120mph.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #41

Jul 092008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 69,800 miles
Speedometer failure at 70,000 miles. Stuck on 120mph.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #40

Jan 012007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil gage reads 0, speedometer sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #39

Jan 102009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 38,720 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Silverado 1500 the speedometer shows it is going 120 mph sitting at a stop sign. From online research I found that this is an ongoing problem, since 2003. My truck has 38,720 miles on it currently. It creates an unsafe condition, since I can not determine the correct vehicle speed.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #38

Nov 262008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 102,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 80 mph on normal road conditions, the speedometer failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. The dealer would repair the failure for free; however, the vehicle was excluded from the free remedy because the mileage exceeded the 70,000 requirement. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 102,400 and current mileage was 106,000. 4/01/09 updated 04/06/09.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #37

Dec 042008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving the speedometer began to malfunction. The vehicle registered a speed of 120 mph while driving 35 mph; however, in a school zone it registered 80 mph. The speedometer recently read 0 mph and would not increase beyond that speed. The dealer stated that there was no recall or warranty available. The dealer also stated that the repair cost would be over $500 not including the labor costs. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current mileage was 64,964 and the failure mileage was approximately 64,000.updated 03/10/09. The consumer stated the speedometer was stuck at 20 mph. Updated 03/10/09.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #36

Nov 282008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 57,055 miles
At 57,055 my 2005 Chevy Silverado speedometer quit working and since I had received a letter about a class action suit I referred to this letter however it only covered the 2003 and 2004 models. I feel that the speedometer is an essential part in the safety of a vehicle and therefore am paying my $200 deductible to have the speedometer fixed under my extended warranty plan, but I also feel that GM is aware of that this problem extends beyond the 2004 models and is failing in their customer service by not extending the warranty to cover all affected vehicles.

- Boyd, TX, USA

problem #35

Nov 242008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 65,000 miles
Speedometer failure. Was driving 2005 Chevrolet Silverado and speedometer starting going higher until it was showing 120 - at stop signs - showing 60mph - not working correct. Vehicle has 65,000 miles on it.

- Bromley, KY, USA

problem #34

Nov 222008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,450 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving approximately 70 mph, the contact came to a complete stop. However, the speedometer displayed 120 mph and remained at this speed all the way to her residence. When the contact arrived at home, she turned off the vehicle and the speedometer gradually began decreasing to 0 mph. The dealer stated that there were no recalls pertaining to this failure. The vehicle was not inspected and the manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current mileage was 45,500 and failure mileage was 45,450. Updated 12/30/08 updated 12/30/08.

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #33

Oct 102008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
My speedometer some times reads 60 when im only going 40 or it reads 120 at idle and some times it doesnt read at all. It happens as much as tree to six days of week.

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 202008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 67,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet K1500 pickup speedometer reads between 90-120mph when moving even at slow speeds. At a stop it reads 80mph. 67,000 miles while looking online it looks like there are many other 2003-2005 Chevrolet owner with this same safety issue and no recall has been made.

- Elk River, MN, USA

problem #31

Oct 042008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. When the contact attempted to drive the vehicle, the speedometer stopped working. The dealer stated that the speedometer module needed to be replaced. The contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current and failure mileages were 37,000. Updated 01/06/09. Updated 01/06/09.

- Wetumpka, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?