Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,055 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Oct 022008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 69,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer failure on 2005 Chevrolet pickup which could lead to ticket for speeding or eventually accident. Dealership said this was a common occurrence on these vehicles. Found out that there is a recall for 2003 and 2004 models. This is an expensive item for me to pay out of my pocket. Why is there not a vehicle recall for 2005 models when this occurs all the time? my vehicle currently has 69,000 miles.

- Gainesville Tx, TX, USA

problem #29

Aug 152008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 37,000 miles
I purchased a new 2005 Chevrolet Silverado worktruck in April of 2005. Approximately 6 weeks ago the speedometer started showing intermittent speeds not consistent with actual speed. Sometimes it would show zero mph when traveling at street or freeway speeds, sometimes showing less than or greater than perceived actual speeds, and currently for the last three days has stayed at zero regardless of any moving speed. The truck has 38,000 miles as shown by the odometer. I have not experienced/seen any problems with any other instruments as yet.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #28

Sep 072008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle would not shift into third gear and the instrument panel was blank. The dealer stated that the transmission and instrument panel failed. The dealer was willing to replace the instrument panel for free, but the transmission would be the contact's responsibility. The contact referenced technical service bulletin number 10025462 (power train:automatic transmission). The current and failure mileages were 74,000. Updated 11/10/08 the speedometer failed 2 days prior. Updated 11/13/08.

- Zebulon, GA, USA

problem #27

Jan 152008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving normally when I came to a stop light. Instead of the speedometer dropping down to zero it stayed a 60 mph. The speedometer bounced up and down for awhile and now it just stays stuck on 150 mph. Every once in awhile it will drop down to 90 mph, but then gets stuck back on 150 mph when I start driving again.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #26

Jan 152008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 65,000 miles
Speedometer is erratic. Started at approximately 65,000 miles. Speedometer maxes out, does not work or reads improperly. Dealer informed me that the 03 and 04 models have a recall on the stepper motor but the 05 model does not have a recall. The speedometer does not function properly 90% of the time. Do not know exactly how fast the vehicle is going. Vehicle has approximately 72,000 miles now and the problem still exists. Dealer said that a replacement would cost approximately $500 to fix. Who can afford this after paying for a $35,000 vehicle. Especially after having the steering shaft replaced numerous times, new intake gaskets, catalytic converters, blower motor wires smoked and melted. Just a junky truck for the high price.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #25

Mar 092008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,621 miles
First time we have taken the vehicle on a long trip. After 500 miles on the road, speedometer topped out at 120 mph (even though we had cruise set at 65). Even when we were at a complete stop, speedometer read 65 mph. After a couple of days it worked fine, week later when we were returning from the trip same thing occurred. We took it to the Chevy dealer and they said it was a problem with the cluster and they ordered the part. We will take it in tomorrow to have the part replaced. Our vehicle only has 37,000 miles, we do have platinum warranty on it, but still will have to pay $200 fee. Service tech says Chevy has already had recall on 2002 and 2003, just wanted to report the problem is still there.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #24

Apr 092008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer had started to stick but now it doesn't work at all..no matter how fast I may be going speedometer reads "0". its been like this for a couple months but I haven't had the money to fix it. I've been using my gps system to gauge mph. Has this been addressed yet??

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

Jun 142007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
Truck used for travel to and from work. Speedometer worked fine until about 54,000 miles then worked intermittently. Speedometer gave out about 63,000 miles and is stuck at 84 miles per hour, even when parked. Took vehicle to dealership and they indicated it would cost approx. $400-$550 to fix. I have owned 2 Chevy trucks prior to this one. I once had to replace the speedometer cable on my 1979 Chevy after it went out after normal wear and tear of 15 years. I know that they don't make them like they used too, but the speedometer out at 63,000 miles, with routine maintenance. I am sad to say I am very disappointed with the quality of my Chevy truck.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #22

Mar 022008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that his speedometer failed. The dealer stated that because the vehicle exceeded 70,000 miles they would not repair the speedometer for free. The contact would have to pay $750 for a new instrument panel, plus installation. The failure mileage was 112,000 and current mileage was 114,611. Updated 04/14/08. The consumer stated knows of several other consumers with the same defect. Updated 04/11/08

- Blackwell, OK, USA

problem #21

Sep 012007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Driving on the highway at about 65 miles per hour, speedometer suddenly started fluctuating wildly and now will not work. The needle sits anywhere from 0 mph to 120 mph but is never accurate. I could be going down the highway at 65 mph and the speedometer reads 120 mph, or completely stopped and the speedometer reads 90 mph.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #20

Feb 282008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At about 60,000 miles my 2005 GM Chevy S1500 Silverado truck's speedometer began to act erratically in posting the speed of the truck. At about 70,000 miles this problem became permenant and the only solution was to repair the problem at an estimated cost of $450. The problem was whether the car was stopped, even with the engine off, the speedometer would register different speeds at anywhere from 20 to 90 mph. On the highway it would even go past the max speed of 120 mph. The obvious danger here is that the driver has no idea exactly how fast the truck is traveling. While getting cost estimates to repair the problem. The mechanic phoned to get the part or parts needed to repair the problem. The person supplying the part knew immediately what the part cost and other details related to repairing it. Obviously, this is an ongoing problem with these GM Chevy Silverado trucks and should be corrected by the manufacturer as the truck has less than 100,000 miles on it.

- Great Cacapon, WV, USA

problem #19

Dec 212007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,887 miles
Speedometer failure. At around 55K, my speedometer failed. Before it completely failed, the needle looked like it was struggling to keep up with speed, then it completely failed. When I noticed the failure, I looked down and it said I was going 120mph, which I was not. I've called the original dealership where I purchased the vehicle, they said the 03's and 04's were recalled, but the 05's weren't. I was also told that the 05 Suburban was under recall? and that mine should be too because of the same cluster panel. I've heard nothing yet on a recall, and I don't want to be ticketed because I don't know how fast I am going.

- Highland, IL, USA

problem #18

Apr 232007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
My speedometer don't give correct reading while driving or parked. Actually don't work right at all!

- Star Prairie, WI, USA

problem #17

Oct 312007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Speedometer failure. At around 55K, my speedometer failed. Before it completely failed, the needle looked like it was struggling to keep up with speed, then it completely failed. When I noticed the failure, I looked down and it said I was going 120mph, which I was not. I've called the original dealership where I purchased the vehicle, they said the 03's and 04's were recalled, but the 05's weren't. I was also told that the 05 Suburban was under recall? and that mine should be too because of the same cluster panel. I've heard nothing yet on a recall, and I don't want to be ticketed because I don't know how fast I am going.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #16

Feb 122008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The speedometer stopped started registering about 20 miles an hour below what I estimated I was driving at the time. The speedometer then started working properly 2 days later and then all of a sudden it just stopped working all together. The consequences are that I can't tell how fast I am driving and could lead to speeding tickets or accidents.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #15

Jan 262008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
Speedometer sticks and I have to kill and start my truck over and over so it will go back to zero.

- Cashion, OK, USA

problem #14

Feb 032008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 60 mph, the speedometer displayed 20 mph. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer; however, a mechanic advised him to replace the instrument cluster. No repairs were made. The current and failure mileages were 58,800. Updated 02-25-08

- Columbus , GA, USA

problem #13

Jan 252008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Stopped at stop sign and speedometer reads over 120 mph. Only have 52,000 miles 2005 Chevy Silverado. Stays maxed all the time.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 152008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
My speedometer stopped working.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #11

Jan 202008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Speedometer pegs at 45mph and intermittently works.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?