Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,035 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 252015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 144,000 miles


I was driving down the freeway at 70 mph then.the cruise control quit working while it was in gauged my speed dropped with a big truck behind me and I almost got hit in the rear by a big truck. This is not good.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #15

Jun 122012

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
My instrument cluster has been acting erratic since May 2012. Now the speedometer no longer works. The dealer found the instrument cluster and vent solenoid bad in June 2014. Costing me nearly $800, which I do not have. The vehicle only has 53,000 miles on it when I took it to the dealer. I believe my vehicle should be covered under the GM speedometer recall.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #14

Feb 142015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
A car with no lights (at night) came up and the driver of the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 had to hit the gas pedal to speed up to get out of his way. The driver lost control and hit the ditch. The front end was damaged, and the cab is now sitting incorrectly on the truck. The air bag did not deploy.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #13

Jan 262015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 113,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the speedometer remained at 120 mph and failed to provide an accurate reading. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- Wentworth, NC, USA

problem #12

Jun 302014

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
While driving speedometer reads wrong but odometer is ok? stop and turn off it works ok for a time. Try to start sometimes it will crank other time it don't GM extended the warranty to cover the dash panel but did not notify me or anyone that I know of I found it online after time had expired (speedometer) and will also control engine cranking.

- Poca, WV, USA

problem #11

Oct 012009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Tail light housing leaks water into tail light area which causes tail and brake light bulb bases to corrode, lose contact and fail to operate. I replace tail lamps every 3 to 6 months. Instrument panel failed at 65000 miles and despite extended warranty GM would not repair. I was never contacted about GM settlement concerning this factory defect.

- Belmont, NC, USA

problem #10

Jun 072013

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 49,809 miles


I purchased a 2005 Chevy Silverado in late 2010 from a Chevy dealer (tom clark Chevrolet in mckeesport, pa). Approximately June 7, 2013, my speedometer went crazy sticking on 0, 100, or 120... regardless of my speed. I contacted the dealer Monday June 10, 2013 and was told to bring it in for them to look at it. I took my vehicle in to tom clark at 7:55 a.M. on Tuesday June 11, 2013 and received a phone call from them at approximately 8:45 a. telling me that the issue is the cluster and he agreed that this issue is the exact issue that was raised in the GM lawsuit but still told me that they would not fix the problem. (I only became aware of the GM lawsuit over the weekend of June 7, 2013, while searching the internet to try and find out what could be wrong with my vehicle). He then informed me that they wouldn't fix it because the warranty/recall expired last year (2012), so he does acknowledge that a problem exists and has existed. I purchased this vehicle after all the issues with them surfaced and a lawsuit had actually taken place and they sold me this truck, knowing there was a problem and didn't inform me of the problem. Now they are telling me that it will cost $550 to fix it. My vehicle has 49,809 miles on it, it's a third vehicle that's hardly ever used and there is no excuse for the dishonest practices of tom clark where this matter is concerned. They sold me a vehicle with a defective part, while a lawsuit was either pending or had been resolved, and still failed to inform me of the problem. Now they want me to pay $550 to fix what they already knew was wrong.

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #9

Jul 042011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I was driving 75 mph with my cruise control on, and the speedometer dropped to 35 mph. Shortly after, about 10 miles, the air bag light came on. The speedometer reset after turning off the ignition switch and worked properly. This happened again two more times, and the speedometer failed completely. The air bag light remained on and is still on at 123,000 miles. Diagnostic check showed number 1 air bag sensor fault. Replaced sensor. Air bag light still on. I sent the speedometer head to a private mechanic in Minnesota, and it now works fine.

- Bellevue, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 042011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The speedometer will read 110mph when I'm just doing approximately 34-40.

- Riverdale, UT, USA

problem #7

Aug 112010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 47,600 miles
After stopping to pay a toll, while accelerating back up to highway speed, the vehicle suddenly and unexpectedly began to increase speed. Even while foot was off gas pedal.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #6

Feb 152010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 170,000 miles


Speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Silverado is suddenly not registering correctly. Can register as much as 20 mph to fast or too slow. Does not always occur. First discovered when I was stopped by police going 95 mph, when I thought the vehicle cruise was set at 75 mph (legal speed). I immediately bought a gps and since have noticed the changes are gradual and can easily go unnoticed.

- Gardiner, MT, USA

problem #5

Aug 142009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 50,000 miles
2005 Chevy Silverado 1500 4WD. When coming to a stop, ABS engages every time. This causes the vehicle to stop erratically and sometimes increases the stopping distance. ABS system only engages when almost to a stop, less then 5 mph. I will be replacing both wheel hubs/ABS sensors to try to fix the problem. Found this article on Canadian models:

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 162008

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 65,000 miles
I was on my way to work and I stopped at a stop sign and happened to look down at my speedometer and it was showing that I was going 10mph while I was sitting still. Then while I was driving the speedometer jumped to 85mph. This was the first time I have noticed this problem.

- Greenwood, DE, USA

problem #3

Jun 152007

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I bought the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado in June 2005 brand new. Within two months of having the truck I noticed that it would not shift properly through the gears, when it would, it lurched. It happened twice in one day. This happened more and more frequently and still does it, however, the dealership that I bought the vehicle from could not find anything wrong. Also, I had other people drive the truck, and they have had the same problem. The truck has been to the dealership 12 or 13 times, but they never could find the problem. I also had an incident where vehicle revved into park and it stayed at a high idle for several second before finally returning to a normal idle like the tharotle stuck. In addition to the problems with the transmission, I have had power lock problems. I can stand next to the truck and the locks will not unlock. All of my coworkers could unlock their vehicles froma distance but mine will not. I had to walk around the truck several times and continually press the unlock button before the locks would unlock. I have also had problems with the power locks unlocking from inside the truck with the unlock button on the passenger side door. This has happened a few times now. The dealership also cannot find anything wrong with the lock or the key fobs. My cd played at a brand new cd, at times the cd's will not come out or go in, and the radio stations will appear on the display wrong. In addition to all of that, last summer I was driving down the highway and I had smoke start pouring out of my vents. I thought the truck was over heating at first. When I took it to the dealership, they said that it was just condinsation. I had the truck the summer before and never had a problem like it. I also took my truck in this year for new tires, mind you I had less than 20,000 miles on the truck. The place where I got the truck was amazed that I needed new tires since I had so few miles on the truck.

- Sugar Creek, MO, USA

problem #2

Mar 242006

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
: the contact stated the speedometer is inoperable. The dealership determined the speedometer needs to be replaced

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #1

Jun 202005

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles
My 2005 Chevy Silverado 1500, 4.3 engine and 4 speed auto transmissionhas a problem when using cruise. Going up hil and it needs to downshift it will go into 3rd gear for anout a second and half then to second with RPM going from 1800 to 4500 in less than 2 seconds. I'm being told this is normal and GM has no plans to fix it.

- Altus, OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?