Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jul 182012

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


After hearing about the recalls on Chevrolet cars about the ignition I had to tell you that the same thing happened to my truck. There was a sudden jarring & the truck shut down & would not start back up.

- Princeton, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 052013

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My 2009 Chevrolet Silverado was parked for two days. It was running perfectly up until it was parked..after two days of being parked in the rain, the rear tail light suddenly went on by itself. I opened the door to the vehicle to see how this could happen and the "service engine soon" light was on. I put the key into the ignition and it was totally dead. I opened the hood and lifted off the fuse panel cover, because there was a strong smell of burning. Then, there was smoke. I immediately disconnected the battery and had the vehicle towed to the nearest dealer. After picking it up today, they charged me $1555 to repair, yet could not provide a logical reason why this happened! they said"corrosion" in the fuse panel. How could a vehicle made in 2009 with 72,000 miles have a problem such as this without a major issue being wrong? I fear for other's safety, as I believe there is a serious issue going on. Per my research, there is a technical service bulletin that explains the problem. Pit-5090. There is an issue with water being allowed to enter the fuse panel box due to poor design and the poor installation from the factory of a rubber seal. Very serious issue! please investigate!!! I have defective parts in my possession and can provide pictures if needed! should be recalled or owners should have their vehicle inspected asap.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #10

Mar 042013

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 78,565 miles
While driving along highway I noticed the speedometer needle was on zero. Upon farther investigation I found all instrument panel lights were off and directional and hazard flashers would not operate. I stopped, recycled master switch off than on, lights worked properly. Event occurred again six days later. ## VIN failed ##

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 152012

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 56,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that they needed to replace the wiring harness. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that someone would returned his call later. The failure and the current mileage was 56,000.

- Franklin , MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 152010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle new from classic Chevrolet in grapevine, tx in January 2010. The first few months I had the vehicle, I had no problems. Starting in March 2010 I noticed that my radio(navigation system) would sound like it would short out intermittently. I didn't really think anything of it. I thought that it had to be the radio station or interference with other wireless signals. I never really thought it would become a problem until recently. On 5/5/2012, I was traveling 70mph at night down the highway when, all of a sudden, my entire electrical system seemed like it was "resetting" itself multiple times. From door locks to instrument cluster, to navigation system, to even headlights, everything cycled more than 3 or 4 times in rapid succession. I was merely driving down the road, I hadn't just touched anything, I was just cruising along. After doing some research online, it is apparent that this is a common issue among this design of the Silverado. Forum after forum has owners describing this same issue and more problems with the electrical system. It is a major safety concern that could end up killing someone. Headlights and running lights that turn off without cause" what if the airbag system is affected and it causes a premature airbag deployment while someone is traveling at a high rate of speed" this is not and isolated issue and the government needs to step in to force General Motors to recall this vehicle along with any other vehicles with the same issue. It is my understanding that General Motors may be aware of the issue because the 2011 and 2012 Silverado have had design changes made to their electrical systems.(I read this in forums as well.)

- Justin, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 082012

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • miles
This has been on going from day one my truck has 30900 miles on it and almost 3 years old head lights flicker or dim out for no reason along with the dash lights dealer said it was nothing they could do it was just that type of voltage regulator.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #6

Jan 262011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 28,000 miles


I was at 60 to 65 mph on an interstate and the truck powered the motor down. The electronic stability control module light came on and the service engine light. I was able to get off at the last safe exit for quite a way. Onstar recommended not driving it to the dealer. The dealer did the diagnostic and at 28000 miles told me it was the throttle body assembly. It took 5 days to get a "new" one.( aprox 1/26/11) on aprox 12/15/11 an almost identical thing happened, mileage 50,000. Out of warranty I took it to a local shop. Their computer test concluded a throttle body assembly malfunction. $450 to repair. Call the dealer " no that is under warranty" dealer concluded that it "just needed cleaned". prior to service (I rely on this truck for work, I can not get a ride, I can not ride a bus) I was able to "reset " the stabilitrack ( the button would not turn it off) by pulling 4 fuses under the hood fuse block. But boy when it had enough the truck would power the motor down and within 15 seconds the truck would die right where it was. 5 mph, or 15 mph no power nothing, brakes, steering gone.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #5

Nov 022011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • miles
At 46,487 miles had to spend $415.75 to correct engine light coming on. Now door chime comes on at random times when key is not in ignition.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #4

Jan 152010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 1,000 miles
Engine just shuts down. No power. Have to pull over and wait 5 minutes or so and then it will restart. No pattern. Has happened traveling on hwy.

- Folsom, LA, USA

problem #3

Mar 012010

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 13,310 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab. He stated the passenger's side power door locks failed. The dealer replaced the lock actuator under factory warranty. Later, he could smell a burning smell, similar to burning plastic, from inside the vehicle but could not determine the source. On a later date, while getting out of the vehicle, he noticed a two inch burn hole near the driver's side door handle. The dealer was contacted and advised replacing the door handle. The dealer could not provide a reason as to why the burn hole was on the door. The dealer found there were wires that failed and overheated, causing the damage to the door. Repairs were made to the door and the lock actuator was replaced a second time, under factory warranty. The failure and current mileages were 13,310.

- Calrstead, NM, USA

problem #2

Sep 252009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 9,997 miles
On March 10, 2009 we purchased a brand new 2009 Chevrolet Silverado from nu car Chevrolet in new castle, Delaware. On September 25, 2009, while on vacation in ocean city, md, the vehicle caught on fire with us and our two young children (ages 2 and 5) inside, strapped in their car seats. We were able to pull them from their car seats (terrified) and get a fire extinguisher from the restaurant were we were parked to extinguish the fire. We had the vehicle towed back to nu car Chevrolet on September 26, 2009 and it has remained with them ever since. The dealership and General Motors determined the cause to be a defective wiring harness and has admitted fault (there was no after market wiring in the vehicle and no previous accidents). As of today, February 5, they have been unable to repair the issue and are now going back and forth with us trying to get us to pay more money for a new vehicle since they can't find a 2009 replacement model. We are refusing to pay any additional money and stated that we will accept a replacement vehicle with same features at no cost or we want a full refund of our vehicle purchase.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #1

Oct 132009

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Vehicle caught fire after being parked for 2.5 or so hours in driveway. Determined by fire marshall to have started from a ECM in right front dash area. Fire department responded and extinguished fire with water instead of foam because "foam tank was not operational at that time". no repairs have yet been made to the vehicle due to outstanding insurance investigation.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?