Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,322 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 302016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Date complaint filed: 06/21/2016date of incident: 05/07/2015component(s): Air bags, unknown or othernhtsa id number: 10875605consumer location: Shepherdsville, ky all products associated with this complaint expand details close help 0 available documents crash:no fire:no number of injuries:0 number of deaths:0 manufacturer: General Motors llc vehicle identification no. (VIN): 1gnskbe03dr... summary: The dashboard has cracked next to the passenger side airbag decreasing structural integrity of the dash and increasing the risk of plastic shards being ejected at the passenger during airbag deployment. This is a well documented defect affecting multiple models and years that share the same dashboard design. The manufacturer is aware of the issue and refuses to voluntarily address the problem.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #16

Oct 102016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 65,000 miles
Air bag light is on. Chevrolet service originally suspected it was the air bag module and wanted to replace it charging $800. They would not guarantee that was the problem. Since we have replaced the air bag module took the vehicle in again to have it programmed and service stated that the new module would not accept programming and they are still not sure what the problem is. Light is still on, no airbags. The service department doesn't appear to have any idea what is wrong and just want the consumer to pay for parts and labor until they figure it out.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #15

Sep 262016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 95,000 miles
Dash cracked above top left corner of passenger airbag

- Sulphur Springs, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 082016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracked dash, through and through, resulting in a sharp edge. This was a spontaneous crack. There was no force or trauma. It just randomly appeared.

- Athens, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 232016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Dash began to crack around the passenger airbag. I am afraid that the dash pieces can become flying projectiles in the event of an accident where the passenger or side impact airbag deploys.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 262016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 34,000 miles
The dash has cracked where the passenger air bag cover. It appears that if the air bag were to deploy the dash could fracture further and cause bodily harm.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #11

Feb 052016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 29,325 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracked dash. My vehicle only has 30K miles and already has a crack

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 222016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 13,000 miles
On 1/22/2016, I was involved in a front end collision while making a left turn onto a major street. The vehicle I collided with approximate speed was 35mph when the collision occurred!!! the smell of gun powder was through out my vehicle. Also the service air bag warning light was flashing on my dash board. None of the factory air bags deployed during the front end collision!!!

- Watsonville, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 162015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 47,100 miles
There is a crack in the dashboard on the left side of the passenger airbag. It runs from the corner of the airbag cover to the edge of the dashboard piece. The dashboard piece is elevated on the right side of the crack. There is also a second crack forming on the left side of the same dashboard piece near the driver instrument panel hood.

- Winchester, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 262015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Dashboard is cracked near the passenger side front airbag. An online search has turned up hundreds of similar cracks, some much worse, on similar Chevrolet and GMC vehicles. Many owners are concerned about airbag safety with the cracked dashboard. In my case, I never leave or place anything on the dashboard, I.e. feet, miscellaneous items of weight, etc. It was first noticed about Sep 26, 2015. There was no accident or anomaly that occurred to my knowledge that would cause this.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 242015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed literally from one day to the next that the dash board in my 2013 Chevrolet Silverado is cracking. The crack appeared on the left corner of the passenger side bag. I baby this truck in an attempt to keep it looking new. I don't even really drive it and it is garage kept. I feel this is a huge safety issue with the crack being right there on the air bag system. I have two kids and I don't even let then ride up front anymore in fear that the air bag might deploy and sharp pieces of the dash will fly in their faces.

- Lake Placid , FL, USA

problem #6

May 312015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 98,300 miles
Air bags do not recognize someone is sitting in the passenger seat and remain off. Person sitting there weighed over 230 pounds. Seat belt warning lights remain illuminated despite seat belt being fastened.

- Fall Creek, WI, USA

problem #5

May 182015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 37,000 miles
I purchased a new black 2013 Chevrolet Silverado crew cab in October 2012 from marine Chevrolet in jacksonville, nc with a 3 yr/36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty. On 16 may, 2015, I called marine Chevrolet's service department about a 1 1/2"crack above the center of the passenger side airbag. My truck had 37,017 miles and was no longer covered under the original factory warranty. However, I wanted to know if this was a common issue with this model. The dealership schedule a service appointment for 8:30 am on 18 may, 2015. After conducting research over the weekend, I learned that other Chevy and GMC owners of truck and SUV models between 2007 and 2013 reported cracked dashes near the passenger airbags. On 18 may, I brought my truck to marine Chevrolet's service department to examine the crack. The service representative initially told me that since the warranty had expired, Chevrolet would not be responsible for the repairs. I explained that the crack happened less than three years after I purchased the truck and I was aware of the history of these dashboards. The service representative talked to his service manager and later told me that GM would pay the majority of the maintenance cost and that I would only be responsible for $100. Based on the number of online complaints I have seen in forums and online news articles, I feel GM may have installed defective dashboards in 2007 - 2013 truck and SUV models and passed the cost of defective parts onto the customer. Additionally, if the passenger side airbag deploys with a crack dashboard surrounding it, there could an increased likelihood of dashboard shrapnel flying into a passenger's face. I think NHTSA should investigate the cracking dashboard issue in GM's SUVS and pick-up trucks from 2007 - 2013 and influence GM to issue a recall or service bulletin to address this problem.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #4

Mar 112015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Dashboard is cracked in 2 places adjacent to the airbag cover. GM and the dealer are willing to replace it out of warranty but are requiring me to cover nearly half the replacement cost of $700. This should be a recall issue as an airbag deployment would create plastic projectiles in the cabin that could injure a passenger. I can provide a photo if requested.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 082014

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph a drunk driver crashed into the contacts vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The passenger sustained a broken foot and was taken to the hospital. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Rio Rico, AZ, USA

problem #2

Mar 182014

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
On Tuesday March 18, 2014 I was driving a 2013 Chevy Silverado and rear ended a Chevy tahao at approximately 20 mph without hitting my brakes. Conditions at the time were clear and dry although very windy. I was the only passenger in my truck. I was wearing my seatbelt. I hit the steering wheel with my chest. The onstar system called to say they could see I was in an accident and help was on the way. I exchanged info with the other driver and returned to my vehicle. The seatbelt was in the extended position and would not extend further or retract. On the display panel it had an 'airbag deployed' icon and message 'service airbag'. my insurance company gave me a auto repair shop to go to for an estimate, however, the shop told me they would not touch the vehicle until a GM representative investigated the system first as they felt the seatbelt should have prevented me from hitting the steering wheel. I called GM and spoke with walter in customer service. He arranged to have a 'third party' investigator come and do a interrogation of the system and arranged for a loaner vehicle. Raytheon representative 'jeff" called me Sunday March 20 and stated he was to interrogate the system and would contact me from the airport when he got to town on Wednesday March 23. On Wednesday March 23 I called jeff to see if he was in town and he stated he was at the airport 'leaving' town, he had done his investigation and determined everything worked like it should. I asked him if I was supposed to hit the steering wheel and he stated he did not agree or disagree.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 212013

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • 1,753 miles
Hit a deer at 47mph on left front of vehicle. Air bag light came on with code B0052 deployment commanded. No air or pretensioner deployed. Contacted GM they sent an inspector out to retrieve crash data from recorder. They contacted me after they received the info from the inspector, and said I needed to take the vehicle to dealer to diagnose concern. There were no codes. They have not told me if there was a problem with the SDM that was replaced.

- Abell, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?