Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,833 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Sep 012012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles


Applied parking brake on steep hill and parking brake did not hold. Took truck to mechanic and he said this was a common problem on this truck as the parking brake shoes fail even if the brake is seldom or never used.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #41

Aug 012007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Parking brake failure on the 2001 Chevrolet pickup, they all have the same brake system from 1999 and up to the last year or so. The emergency /parking brake will not hold and if it does work it is a one time use only due to poor design.the brake is a single piece that has a very small amount of brake shoe on it and when applied it simply bends the shoe out to make contact and then it can not come back in so the brake stays partly on until it burns up leaving the pickup with no parking/emergency brake. I have had mine replaced several times and I have learned to never set it unless it is a emergency unless I wish to spend 100 replacing the shoe. This I feel is a real safety problem that Chevrolet needs to recall and fix.

- Flippin, AR, USA

problem #40

Sep 122009

Silverado 2500

  • 62,327 miles
Our 2001 Chevy K2500 hd was parked, w/park brake on, at the top of a mnt. Plateau when it rolled off the top w/a 5 yr old boy in the bed of the truck, going 500 yds before coming to a stop. The truck had been sitting for approximately 10 min. At an idle before it began to move. No previous problems with the park brake failing ever occurred prior to this. Our truck was totaled due to damage sustained in the accident. The 5 yr old boy remained in the bed of the truck during the runaway. He broke his jaw in three places and fractured his right arm in two places. He spent 5 days at primary children's hospital in slc, ut.

- Plain City, UT, USA

problem #39

Aug 302007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


Having recently moved into North Carolina, my 2001 Chevrolet Silverado pickup truck failed the North carloina state inspection because of the failure of the parking brake to hold the vehicle. The parking brake has not been working for several years, even after brake service on the rear wheels. The manufacturer service bulletin has only been for manual transmission vehicles which does not include my vehicle with automatic transmission. I understand that the company considers the automatic transmission to be part of the parking brake system. North Carolina has a different view. Updated 01/11/08. Updated

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #38

Jan 112007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,880 miles
Vehicle failed to pass required inspection due to the emergency brake failing to hold the vehicle when engaged and transmission in drive. Emergency brake pedal has always gone to the floor when engaged. Emergency brake rarely applied. Vehicle has less than 35,000 miles.

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #37

Jun 162006

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at various speeds, there is a grinding noise. Additionally, the emergency brake would not engage. The vehicle was inspected by an independent repair shop who determined the rear disc drum and pads needed to be replaced. Also, it was determined the emergency brake needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #36

Mar 012006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles


Parking brake on 2001 Chevy Silverado 4WD automatic. Has been out since 40,000 mile mark. There is an existing recall for the manual transmission, but not the automatic. The dealer, molle Chevrolet in blue springs, mo, insisted a charge of $ 400 to $ 600 for a repair on a basic safety feature. I know of two additional vehicles with same problem just in my neighborhood. Why does the recall affect only manuals, when the same system is used on automatics and they have displayed the same failure.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #35

Apr 172006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
: the contact stated while parking the brake did not hold. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V161000, regarding the parking brake. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Bailey, CO, USA

problem #34

Jul 042001

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
This is a potential problem rather than an incident. The parking brake on my 2001 Chevy Silverado does not work. I saw in your defect investigation GM's reply was over use or improper use by consumers. This is untrue. My parking brake pedal went to the floor on the day I bought it and still does. It does not and never has been very effective.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #33

Nov 112005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,600 miles
To: subject: Owner assistance: P. adams subject: Customer has serious issues mossy Chevrolet date: Monday, September 19, 2005 4:59 pm to Chevrolet: Management and customer relations:from: sent: Saturday, September 17, 2005 10:14 pm subject: GM 2001 Firestone steeltex A/T custom alloy wheels w/A/T tires. That makes 8 rims but end result was the tires where Firestone LT245/75-16 steeltex A/T. 50psi.load range C spec. Or numbers on tires 108/104rm/S tpc spec.2313 (00 8008) (08162 0R5) (LT245/75-R16) Firestone steeltex A/T tires on customers truck where defective and sight of sidewall deformations customer given incorrect response to request before warranty expired it was brought to mossy Chevrolet that customer advising service writer of continuous problems with vehicle tires [peeling] GM in their 'commitment to safety' warranties such defects I will be filing for 'reimbursement' claim, along those grounds. May I suggest that you familiarize yourselves with what and how you sell. Denying or misrepresenting any terms of those agreements are fraud. My time was mis-used and wasted along with me and any passengers in vehicle where in unnecessary jeopardy from these practices. [plus the general public] if a serious accident would have occurred. The price of your actions [should have] anything more serious happened (you can't put a price on life) other than me losing the front tire and grinding to a stop on rim is not worth it. Learn this know it.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #32

Mar 012005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,427 miles


: the contact stated the parking brake in the vehicle does not work. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V161000 concerning the park brake in vehicles with manual transmissions. However the vehicle is not included in this recall because it has an automatic transmission. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer has been alerted.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #31

Nov 162005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14 miles
Parking brake failure. When new the parking brake pedal went easily to the floor, but the vehicle would hold on a hill with the transmission in neutral. Dealer advised that although tis didn't feel right, it was a new design and was working properly. Within a couple of years, engaging the parking brake pedal didn't do any good - the vehicle would not hold on a hill. I could not adjust brake myself as it appeared to be some sort of hydraulic system rather than a regular one. Mechanic advised that job would cost $100. So be it. Chevy wouldn't cover it. Now, brake will, again, not hold and Chevy won't do anything.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #30

Nov 102001

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
Parking brake has been recalled for manual transmissions but not for automatic transmissions of the same year and make. While parking on a steep hill I found out my parking brake was not holding. I bought new brakes at dealership and they informed me manual transmission pickups have been recalled. After reading recall notice I discovered it was the same problem as my automatic pickup had. Why has this not been recalled on automatic transmission pickups. 2001 Chevy half ton 2 wheel drive pickup.

- Inola, OK, USA

problem #29

Oct 062005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Chevy 2500hd truck with the parking brake problem. I notice by this web site that I'm not the only one. Since I have a automatic transmission, it isn't covered under the recall. (#05V161000) I contacted my local dealer about the problem and they told me they won't touch it. They would touch it for about $1000. Chevy knows they have a problem with this system, why don't they make it right with the persons that prefers Chevy products. As of date below, I have a parking brake that is non-functional, even though it hasn't caused a crash, it is only a matter of time.

- Waverly, IA, USA

problem #28

Oct 032005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The consumer received recall # 05V161000/GM recall #05042 from the NHTSA website. The emergency brake was not working. The consumer took the vehicle to dealer to be inspected, the consumer paid for the inspection. The consumer had the vehicle for a couple of months. The consumer felt that GMC should cover the cost for having the emergency brake fixed..

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 232001

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The caller said the emergency brake does not hold. The vehicle's with manual transmission have been recalled for the emergency brake (05V161000), but not vehicles with automatic transmissions. The caller said he thought both vehicles should be recalled. Dealer and manufacturer offered no help for free.

- James Creek, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 302005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,576 miles
The emergency brake prematurely failed. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer because the emergency brake would not hold when the vehicle was parked on a hill. When using the brake it would make a metal on metal type noise. The dealer repaired the emergency brake shoes, and serviced the inner drum of the rear rotors. The vehicle only had 43,576 miles when this occured. It was repaired on August 30, 2005. There is service bulletin # 020526002 for the same thing.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #25

Sep 062005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The consumer stated the emergency brake on the vehicle failed. According to the dealership the part will wear out if not used. The consumer has not contacted GMC about the problem. He found this after the vehicle failed inspection on September 6, 2005.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 012005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The emergency brake does not work. Our truck is only at 47K miles and we have never used the emergency brake - we have never needed to. We are now trying to sell it and I'm finding that this is a common problem with many of these trucks. this website has a list of people that have had the same problem with less miles than ours.

- Keyport, WA, USA

problem #23

Feb 102004

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The parking brake on my 2001 Chevrolet Silverado failed and it was brought to my attention during an inspection in February 2004. The truck failed inspection due to the parking brake being ineffective. The inspector was able to accelerate slightly and easily move the vehicle while the parking brake was activated. I live in Texas where the parking brake is not necessary on a regular basis. Therefore, I feel there is no reason for failure other than manufacturer defect. I had the first of two repairs done at lawrence marshall Chevrolet in hempstead, tx. The other repair was done by a private mechanic. I sold the vehicle in May 2005.

- Cypress, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?