Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #171

Oct 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while pulling into a parking lot at 5mph and depressing the brake pedal the antilock brakes activated. This increased the stopping distance of the vehicle at lower speeds. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the service brakes hydraulic antilock. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Custer, WI, USA

problem #170

Jan 302006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS activates at speeds below 5 mph. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the antilock brakes. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Redwood Falls, MN, USA

problem #169

Aug 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd service brakes, hydraulic, antilock this vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN although the truck was having the same problems as indicated in the recall. This is a safety issue. Also. Please check into this and put my VIN # on the recall list. I was told to file a complaint.

- Rockton, PA, USA

problem #168

Jan 192006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the consumer stated the ABS engaged at 8 mph or less. There are no warning lights that illuminate when this occurs. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000 regarding the anti-lock brakes. The consumer experienced the same problem as indicated in the recall. However, the vehicle identification number was not included. Updated 4/11/2006 -

- Macedonia, OH, USA

problem #167

Dec 192005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,736 miles
: the consumer stated there is a recall, #05V379000 regarding the ABS. The vehicle was repaired under the recall on December 19th, 2005. The remedy did not correct the problem because the ABS continued to activate at low speeds. The manufacturer has been contacted. The vehicle needs more diagnostics test to further evaluate the problem. Updated 2/13/2006 -

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #166

Jan 172006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500hd extended cab 4X4. ABS activation at low speed. Dealer said my truck was not covered, but I had the exact same problem as the current ABS recall #04094. Dealer informed me that repairs would entail replacing hub and would cost $507. I will conduct the recommended service procedure as per the recall myself. There is a problem with 2500 hd pickups of the same or similar nature to the existing recall. It is a somewhat dangerous condition, and right at the moment I have disabled the ABS until I have fixed it. It happens pretty much constantly at slow controlled stops.

- N Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #165

Jan 042006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS module failure - ABS light came on, pump would not shut off had to disconnect battery. Seemed to be effecting brake function. 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2wd.

- Waldoboro, ME, USA

problem #164

Feb 012004

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 regarding the anti lock brakes. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Beaver Creek, OH, USA

problem #163

May 022005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
: the contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 05379000 concerning the anti-lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. In addition the fuel gauge intermittently read the fuel tank as empty when the tank was full and the warning light indicates a low fuel message. No repairs have been made. Updated 1/25/2006 -

- Bridgeport, NY, USA

problem #162

Nov 092005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2001 Chevy Silverado that has the same anti-lock brake problem as other Silverado. But I am told mine does not have the correct VIN numbers for the recall. So GM refuses to fix my vehicle, I do not believe I should have to pay for this repair when there is a recall out there for the exact problem on the exact vehicle. (GM recall # 05068)

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #161

Nov 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Premature engagement of antilock brake system.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #160

Oct 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
1) no advance warning signs of failure of anti-lock braking system. 2) anti-lock braking system activates at speeds under 10 miles per hour. Braking distance has increased and must be accounted for when driving vehicle 3) vehicle needs to be scheduled for repair. Manufacturer recall is not covered in Wisconsin.

- Sussex, WI, USA

problem #159

Nov 142005

Silverado 2500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS activates for no reason. Makes the truck take extremely long distance to stop. It happens every time you hit the brakes.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #158

Mar 152005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,050 miles
Our 2001 Chevy Silverado 2500hd diesel 2wd pickup truck consistently experience false activation of the ABS on the drivers side front wheel at about 5 mph, causing the vehicle to be hard to stop and causing it to pull to the right. This has been happening since March 2005. We have had several near crashes because of this problem. We understand this problem is addressed by recall campaign 05V379000, but we never received a recall notice from GM. When we contacted GM about this recall, we were told that it is VIN specific, and that our VIN is not included. We were advised that we should take our vehicle to a GM dealer and pay for its diagnosis. If the dealer and GM agree that this problem should be fixed under recall 05V379000, then GM might reimburse us for the repairs. We do not think we should have to pay for diagnosis and repairs for a problem that GM is aware of and has issued a major recall. We believe that GM has omitted some smaller classes of vehicles to reduce its cost of this recall.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #157

Feb 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The contact repaired the vehicle at his own expense. Updated 1/25/2006 -

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #156

Aug 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The ABS activated at low speeds. Updated 01/11/06.

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #155

Nov 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,800 miles
I have a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado VIN [xxx]. I am experiencing an ABS activation when applying the brakes at slow speeds. There is no ABS light that goes on, but I can feel and here the ABS activating. This is causing a greater stopping distance that is hard to estimate. This has caused me to come very close to hitting other vehicles, and people. This problem started roughly in November, and continues everytime the truck is used. I cannot give an accurate number of times this has happened, but it would be more than 50 times. Please help me. The dealer tells me there is a recall for these trucks, but when I call Chevy, they tell me my truck is not included. This truck was just purchased from a dealer that took it in as a trade. The previous owner lived in Michigan with this truck until trading it in here in Wisconsin (also in the salt belt). I would like to have this safety problem addressed by GM. Updated 07/17/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #154

Aug 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,500 miles
The contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The contact repaired the vehicle at his own expense.

- Benton, WI, USA

problem #153

Jun 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign #05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN.

- Whitesburg, TN, USA

problem #152

Dec 062005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,900 miles
At slow speeds the anti-lock brake kick in and causes me to loose control and making stopping distances longer. To correct the problem the wheel bearings and anti-lock sensors had to be removed and cleaned. NHTSA has a recall # for this problem (05V379000) but the recall does not cover the state of Minnesota.

- Prior Lake , MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?