Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Apr 082005

Silverado 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,840 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact stated there a recall O5V279000 on the year, make and model of this car regarding the ABS system. He owns a 2001 1500 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS kicked in at low speeds of 4-11 mph. He noticed this happening in April 2005. The contact's state of Kentucky was not included in the recall. He had to pay $434.94 for the part and the labor to fix the brakes. He felt the state of Kentucky should be included in this recall. Updated 11/15/2005.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #130

Sep 262005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
On September 26, 2005 the ABS system locked on and the brakes pulsated when going under 10 mph. When slowing down the consumer had to increase the stopping distance, and one could hear the ABS brakes kicking in. This happened every time while driving the vehicle and was getting worse. The consumer contacted the dealer, and they said that there was a recall but this vehicle was not included in the recall. The consumer had an appointment for October 12, 2005 for them to check the brakes because the consumer could not drive the vehicle like this. The consumer had an independent mechanic inspect the vehicle, and they determined that the sensors on the brakes rusted from the salt on the highways. (11/23/05)

- Marquette , MI, USA

problem #129

Aug 192005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
My 2001 Silverado sat unused for about one month. After that every time I would come to a stop the anti-lock brakes would engage at about five miles an hour. This caused me to almost have more then couple of miner crashes. The light for the anti-lock brakes did not come on at any time to indicate a problem until I pulled the fuse out to prevent the brakes from not stopping the truck. I took the truck in to a shop and had them look at the anti-lock brake system. They found rust around the sensors on the front two wheels pulled the sensors off and cleaned the rust off put the sensors back on. I have not had a problem with the anti-lock brakes going off since.

- Weston, WI, USA

problem #128

Sep 302005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS kicks in at a low speed. The contact lives in Wisconsin which was not included in recall 05V379000, concerning the ABS brakes. The contact experienced the problem with the brakes for a month when he had the sensors cleaned. This helped the problem..

- Menasha, WI, USA

problem #127

Sep 222005

(reported on)

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado developed problems with the brake system. The consumer stated the brakes were not stable. During a slow stop there was a strange noise and the pedal went to the floor. The dealer informed the consumer that the valve in the anti-lock brake system was being by passed.

- Cecil, WI, USA

problem #126

Mar 162005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The consumer stated anti-lock brakes did not stop the vehicle when stopping. A recall was issued, but the consumer did not live in the salt belt states. It has not caused any accidents or injuries, but it did cause two close calls. The consumer had the problem fixed, but he wanted to be reimbursed. The anti-locking braking system was replaced. The problem started in March 2005, and fixed in May 2005.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #125

Aug 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado, extended cab. The contact stated that when using the braking system had to press on the brake pedal three times to get the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The first time when the contact pressed on the brake pedal it was completely hard and would not stop the vehicle, the second time the pedal was depressed it pulsated. The third time when applying the brakes it allowed the vehicle to abruptly stop as if the contact was panic braking. The contact contacted the manufacturer. They told him to contact a local service dealer to have the vehicle inspected to see if it was the same problem as stated in the recall. Then, they would consider repairing the vehicle. There is a recall on the year, make, and model of vehicle, but the consumer does not live in the salt belt states. The contact lives approximately 30 miles or less to the state line that separates West Virginia, which is included in the recall, and Virginia, the state in which the consumer lives in.

- Clintwood, VA, USA

problem #124

Sep 042005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
Problems with the brake pedal and ABS system. Every time I am driving the vehicle on a flat surface everything is fine but if is a rough surface the brake pedal will go down to the floor and it won't stop or when applying brakes on a rough surface, the brakes seem to skip and grind and not stop for 10 - 15 seconds.

- Tulare, CA, USA

problem #123

Jun 182005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,400 miles
While coming over a bridge approaching a light in the left turn lane, the light went from green to red. The road was somewhat bumpy at the light. I was doing less than 10 miles an hour. I applied the brakes and the ABS engaged violently. It felt like the pedal was pushing back at me. The truck was unable to stop and I had to veer into the right lane to avoid a head-on collision with oncoming traffic. The truck would not stop despite pressing very hard on the brakes. I ran the red light and pulled over.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #122

Aug 312005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
As an owner of a Silverado I was glad to hear about the recall due to failure of the ABS system. However it was a let down to learn Wisconsin trucks are not included. I have already replaced half of the sensors and need to replace the rest. I feel my truck is unsafe because of the brakes not responding as quickly as needed. I will have to replace the rotors this fall because they have rusted through. The dealer says it's because I park it outside. This has been one of the most disappointing vehicles I have ever owned.

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #121

Jul 072005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle, a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado truck, K1500, has had the anti-lock brake light coming off and on for several weeks. On 70-07-05 I took it to a Chevy dealer who said it needed a new anti-lock sensor. Now I read where this model has been recalled, but not in my state! I did not spend the $500 to have a new sensor put in and now feel that because GM knows it is defective, my vehicle should be included in the recall before I have an accident because of it. It seems only right that vehicles that exhibit the fault and the company knows about it, they should be the ones to fix it! I'd like to know what I should do now? thank you.

- Kingsley, IA, USA

problem #120

Aug 282005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
We have a 2001 Chevy Silverado pick-up. Last week we were informed that it needs a new brake job because of the salt corrosion being thrown into the brake pads and a problem with the ABS sensor. Of course this will cost $600. Now I see on the internet that there is a recall for this problem for part of the country, but not Colorado. Why do they get their trucks fixed when Colorado has just as much dirt and salt on the roads from our winters of snow? the safety of my family should count, too. It should not take an accident to fix this!!!! and I should not have to pay to have this repaired, when they know there is already a problem and they are fixing it in some parts of the country.

- Johnstown, CO, USA

problem #119

Jun 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
At slow speeds the ABS engage when they aren't supposed

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

problem #118

Aug 082005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,500 miles
The caller states at low speeds the ABS kicks in and vehicle will not stop. This happens almost every time he is slowing down. Dealer said to bring vehicle in, but they have not heard of the problem. Manufacturer says there is no recall. Caller had some close calls.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #117

Aug 182005

Silverado 2500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2001 Chevy Silverado ABS not working properly. Had brakes replaced now brake light will not go out. Brakes pull to the right when applied and take along time to come to a stop. Afraid of getting into an accident due to failure of brakes stopping truck. Sometimes they do not want to work at all. Something needs to be done about this on going problem before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #116

Jul 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The front brake anti lock sensors are sensing that the wheels are locked when braking at about 5 mph or less. If slowing down and coming to a stop sign the sensors misread the wheel. The relay goes off and cannot stop within a reasonable stopping distance. He contacted the dealer and they told him there was a service bulletin on this issue, and they would take the sensors out and clean them. This will cost a $300 and will be a temporary fix. This does not occur all time it is only happens once in a while.

- La Salle, IL, USA

problem #115

Jul 182005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Silverado ton pick up. The anti- lock braking system failed. While driving and coming a stop sign or light and pressing on the brakes there is a chatter on the brake pedal or grinding noise from the vehicle. The vehicle will not stop right away, it takes a few seconds more than usual to stop. Sometimes when pushing the brakes it is harder to push the pedal down, this only happens at a slow stopping speed. This doesn't happen when you are traveling at higher speeds. Took vehicle to dealership and they said was the anti lock braking system would take at least 3 hours to fix and would cost $600. The rotors were warped and the brake pads were worn. The doors locked on their own and the seats moved forward on their on.

- Laingsburg, MI, USA

problem #114

Aug 092004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
After purchasing the vehicle the owner noticed that there was a brake problem. Brakes felt mushy, and operated poorly. The owner was going to try to live with this, then it got worse. The owner was involved in a collision about 6 months ago while driving on the highway at 55 mph. Traffic stopped and the owner pushed the brakes to the floor and the vehicle wouldn't stop. Had to veer onto the shoulder of the road in order to give the truck enough room to stop. There was only 20,00 miles when this occurred. The owner got the parts, and then took off front wheels and the front brakes looked like brand new. However, when he pulled off the rear wheels he saw that rotors were warped. The owner contacted GM, they advised him to take vehicle to the dealer. He took vehicle to the dealer, and dealer advised him that the rotors could not be turned. The dealership stated that they were sending the rotors back to GM for replacement. However, they did not do that. The owner did not believe that the dealership was telling the truth. The owner was going to replace the rotors himself.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #113

May 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The antilock braking system apparently is engaging at low speeds. When the system falsely engages it becomes extremely difficult to stop the vehicle. I have had numerous near misses in parking lots and the final straw was narrowly missing a pedestrian in a cross walk. I have pulled the fuse for the ABS system (now my cruise control will not work, but better than the alternative).

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #112

Jun 252005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,450 miles
-had to replace both left and right front hub and bearing assemblies in my 2001 Chevy Silverado truck(41,500 miles). The ABS system seemed to "kick in" as I came to a stop; made it very difficult to stop truck at a safe distance.

- Hinckley, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?