Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,663 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #141

Jul 192013

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd. The contact stated that while applying the brakes, the anti-lock braking system activated and caused the brake pedal to pulsate. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and the failure persisted. The contact took the vehicle to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the failure was linked to the anti-lock brake system. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:anti-lock). The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 10/31/13

- Seattle , WA, USA

problem #140

May 152010

Silverado 2500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While braking from the speeds of 8 mph, the anti lock brakes engaged and caused an unusual increase in stopping distance and time. The contact located a recall for the failure however, the dealer advised the recall was limited to specific states only. The contacts VIN was not included in the recall. A diagnostic was performed which determined the failure to be caused by the right ABS sensor. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 84,000.

- Oaklin, ME, USA

problem #139

May 202005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated while braking from speeds of 5 mph the antilock brakes engaged, increasing stopping distance by approximately seven feet. The dealer advised him that the rotors, brakes and speed sensor would need to be replaced. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure but was advised that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock). The contact stated he had experienced the failure before and repairs were made by the dealer. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage is 153,847 updated 08/17/10. The cv boot was leaking. Updated 09/28/10

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #138

May 182010

Silverado 2500

  • 106,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received repairs to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock) in December 2005. Most recently, while braking from relatively low speeds of 5 mph, the ABS began abnormally vibrating and the brakes would not engage. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and proceeded to crash into the rear of a preceding vehicle. The dealer confirmed the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall and advised the manufacturer was only liable for one free repair. The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 106,800 and the current mileage was 106,914.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #137

Apr 152005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 5 mph, the anti-lock brake system unexpectedly activated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the electrical contacts were cleaned. The failure mileage was 10,000. The current mileage was 38,000. Updated 5/17/2010 * cn the consumer stated the cleaning of the contacts was a temporary fix. Updated 06/04/10

- Basom, NY, USA

problem #136

Feb 172010

Silverado 2500

  • 89,454 miles
The ABS is engaging at low speeds when on dry pavement making my stopping distance longer. It has occurred approx 3-4 times over the last 5 days. This is the same problem that was addressed under NHTSA campaign id number : 05V379000. When that recall came out the issue was addressed by the dealer but now the same issue is occurring and General Motors is refusing to service the vehicle w/O any cost, saying they did what the recall required. I feel this is a safety issue that was not properly fixed when the recall came out. Thank you

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #135

Apr 012009

Silverado 2500

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the ABS was not functioning correctly. The ABS engages every time the vehicle stops. The failure was noticed after driving 25 mph. He took the vehicle to the dealer for repair, but the failure recurred three days later. The contact feels that the ABS activation could cause a crash. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 60,000 and failure mileage was 55,000.

- Wilton, ME, USA

problem #134

Nov 032008

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact experiences unwanted antilock brake activation while driving at relatively low speeds. He took the vehicle to a repair facility and the hub bearing assembly was replaced. He is in the process of notifying the manufacturer in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 7/23/09 updated 07/30/09.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #133

Mar 262005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado Z71. While driving approximately 15 mph in normal conditions, the vehicle lunged without warning when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the failure was related to the speed sensor. The speed sensor system was replaced in the vehicle. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The contact received a recall notice and the vehicle was repaired for the recall defect; however, the failure recurred. The recall remedy has not corrected the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The VIN, NHTSA campaign id number, and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage was 94,000. Updated 03/04/09. Updated 03/06/09.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #132

Oct 022007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd speed sensor problems not addressed by Chevrolet saw recall for this campaign 305V379000 which states salt zone states including Pennsylvania having problems that a not being met.

- Freeport, PA, USA

problem #131

May 012007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving between one to two mph, the vehicle failed to stop unless the contact pumps the brakes three or four times. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign # 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The dealer replaced one speed sensor and cleaned the other. The vehicle did not have any brake failure prior to the recall repair. The current mileage is 144,000 and failure mileage was 142,000.

- Pequot Lakes , MN, USA

problem #130

Nov 162006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 40 mph on normal road conditions, a vibration was felt and extended stopping distance occurred when the hydraulic brakes were applied. The brake lights did not illuminate prior to the incident, and the failure occurred under normal braking. The brake design was wheel antilock. The nature of the problem was worsening. The vehicle was examined by a local dealer who determined that the problem was unwanted activity with the antilock brakes. The vehicle was not included in any recall due to the VIN. No repairs had been made. A NHTSA recall # 05V379000 pertaining to the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock related to this matter.

- Holly, MI, USA

problem #129

Oct 102006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,500 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado pick up truck with ABS activation at low speed. Causes increased vehicle stopping distance that almost resulted in several crashes. Active recall under # 05V379000. Work was performed at pasadena Goodyear due to a week delay inservice appointment at jba Chevrolet in glen burnie Maryland. Complaint and request for reimbursement of expenses was files with GM under thier case number of 1-441050950. Dave miller, 1-866-790-5600, advises that even though our VIN number falls under those captured for recall and is within the recall states and the problem is characteristic of hte recall they are denying reimbursement because I never received a recall notice. I advised them that I just bought the truck two weeks prior and would not have received a notice. I also requested that they send me a formal written denial of claim and they will not as they do not have authority to do so. I paid $1300 to have this safety defect repaired and they will not reimburse me for my expenses. All tsb's were followed and failed to correct the poblem. The only resolve was the replacement of both front wheel hubs. Removed, defective parts are available for inspection

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #128

Oct 122006

(reported on)

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Consumer complaintabout recall 05V37900.. the consumer was told that his 2002 Silverado was not one of the models that they were looking into. The consumer experienced unwanted ABS activation at low speeds. The consumer's vehicle was not included in the wheel speed sensor recall due to VIN.

- Rexford, NY, USA

problem #127

Aug 032006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at 10mph, there was an increased stopping distance. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who determined the wheel speed sensor needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the antilock brakes. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was contacted.

- Woodland, MI, USA

problem #126

Mar 012006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Anti lock brakes activate at low speeds on dry roads and increase stopping distances. This issue is addressed by recall 05068A and 05V379000. My VIN is listed however the Chevrolet dealer that I went to advised that it is not covered under the recall. I am concerned that an accident will result from this defect.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #125

Jan 012006

Silverado 2500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Chevy hd ext cab. I took my pickup to a GM dealer because I knew there was a recall for this issue. They told me that my pickup was not included in the recall. The brakes shift into ABS when coming to a stop all the time. It is clear that their is an issue with the ABS braking systems in pickups in the northern regions due to salt, stated in the recall for newer models. I called GM customer service and they told me that the 2002 pickups are not yet included in the recall. This is a safety issue that should be resolved by Chevrolet. Please help!!

- Onsted, MI, USA

problem #124

Mar 012006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
Anti-skid brake system activates at low speed, extends stopping distance and causes vehicle to lurch to the side occasionally. A GM recall bulletin exists for this problem but GM says it does dot apply to my vehicle, even though my VIN is included in the bulletin.

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #123

Apr 242006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS activates at low speeds. While driving 5 to 10 mph, when the brakes are applied the vehicle has an increase stopping distance. The brakes also grab and pull the vehicle to the right. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the service brakes: Antilock. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 5/10/2006 - the dealer found salt corrosion on the front ABS brakes.

- Goshen, NY, USA

problem #122

Apr 202006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
: the contact stated at slow speeds of 8 mph the ABS engaged, causing extended stopping distance. There is NHTSA recall # 05V379000 regarding the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock. This vehicle had the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it was not included in the recall because the state of Wisconsin was not listed on affected states. Updated 05/30/06.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?