Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,874 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Oct 082009

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. In parking lot, pressed brake and truck lurched forward causing damage to my Suburban and another car resulting in an insurande surdharge for accident over $2500. Dealer, mirak Chevrolet of arlington MA could not find defect. Upon braking today, I felt a surge forward but no accident this time. Please advise of any past recalls or similar incidents.

- Somerville , MA, USA

problem #44

Apr 192009

Silverado 2500

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While approaching a stop, the contact heard grinding metal, which sounded as if the gear was slipping. The vehicle was still able to be driven, but made a continuous whining sound coming from the transmission. The vehicle was taken to a transmission shop and the entire transmission will need to be rebuilt. The manufacturer stated that they would not assist with the repair. The failure mileage was 51,000 and current mileage was 72,945.

- Pittsburge, PA, USA

problem #43

May 202007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,939 miles
While driving my 02 Silverado Z71 (49900 miles) on the freeway at 65/75 mph, I noticed that the truck was slowing down and my foot was still on the gas pedal. The tachometer jumped to 6000-7000 RPM and I was going at 30-40 mph. My truck got towed to a Chevy dealer and cost me $3600 to install a new/reman transmission. The dealer could not specify why the transmission failed.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 042007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Original transmission went 19 months after purchase at 34K miles replaced 6/03 2nd transmission went at 57K truck miles/23K rebuilt transmission miles 6/04. 3rd transmission went at 114K truck miles/57K rebuilt transmission miles 1/4/07. The warranty on the third transmission expired Nov 24, 2006 just 41 days after the warranty expired.

- Darien Center, NY, USA

problem #41

Jun 012003

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2002 Chevy Silverado truck Nov.21, 2001 1st transmission replaced 6/03 with 34000 truck miles 2nd transmission replaced 6/04 with 57000 truck miles; 23000 miles on new transmission 3rd transmission blew 1/07 with 114000 truck miles; 56400 miles on this transmission.

- Darien Center, NY, USA

problem #40

May 032006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,649 miles
I request that your Agency investigate an irresponsible and intentional action on the part of the General Motors corporation (GM) to purposely install an inferior/defective sun shell spline in the transmission of countless trucks and SUVS. When substantiated, I request that your Agency take action to force GM to take responsibility for this action, conduct a recall campaign, and reimburse consumers that have already had to pay for these expensive repairs out of their pockets. I own a 2002, 1500 Silverado, Z-71 truck VIN [xxx]5 with 52,600 miles. On May 3, 2006 the transmission failed with reverse, 2nd and 4th gears not functioning. Upon internal inspection at the local aamoco transmission repair shop it was determined that the failure was caused by an inferior/defective sun shell spline. The transmission expert at the shop stated that this was a common problem in GM trucks and that it was known by GM and as a result a new stronger sun shell spline had been installed, after supplies of the inferior/defective parts were exhausted. I did further research on the web and was able to confirm the transmission shops statements with many complaints found by GM truck owners for the same premature and expensive transmission failures. It is very obvious from the experiences of other GM truck owners that GM does not intend to stand behind their products that are out of warranty due an inferior/defective part that appears to have been knowingly installed. The cost for rebuilding my transmission was $2951.75, which I have had to pay for out of pocket. Your attention this mater is greatly appreciated. Updated 07/16/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #39

May 102006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while attempting to back into a parking space there was a whining noise present from the transmission of the vehicle. The vehicle was put into drive and driven 50 yards and then placed into park. While in park the whining noise persisted and the speedometer went from 0 to 20. The vehicle was towed to the dealership for inspection who determined the transmission needs replaced. Updated 5/23/2006 -

- Childersburg, AL, USA

problem #38

Mar 142006

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 - at 23,000 miles the transmission failed and was rebuilt/replaced at a GM dealership in Pennsylvania - at 53,000 mile transmission failed and was replaced at a transmission shop due to being out of warrenty (that's a suprise) the trany shop found that the GM dealership had not even replaced all of the bolts in the transmission. The cost was $1500 plus a rental car during the repair process. I can see that this seems to be an ongoing problem with the transmission. My concern is that if my wife is driving and the transmission fails again. GM should have more than enough information to do a recall on the transmission.

- West Union, WV, USA

problem #37

Apr 022006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving the neutral start backup switch gets wet and causes the transmission to lock up. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop where the contact was informed of the problem.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #36

Feb 282006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,800 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to pass another vehicle at 45 mph, there was a loud noise noticed coming from under the vehicle. The transmission was slipping and the reverse was inoperable. The dealership was alerted.

- Willard, MO, USA

problem #35

Jan 232006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,928 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001-2002 Silverado pickup with allison lct1000 auto-trans. Bulletin 02-07-30-011B I have had this switch fail twice, GM knows of the bulletin but fails to see how dangerous the truck becomes when switch fails. You have variety of shifting problem, and truck lunges into and out of gears as you can not find neutral/park.

- Bay City , MI, USA

problem #34

Dec 282005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Tried to drive truck Dec. 28, 2005 had no reverse. By time I could drive to dealers it didn't want to shift in forward gears. Dealer took apart and said some things came apart inside the transmission. Cost me $2000. 2002 Silverado only had 45000 miles on it.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #33

Dec 232005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
My vehicle has sustained two complete transmission failures within 50K miles of usage. The first failure occurred around 25K miles while trying to get out my driveway. The second failure occurred around 50K miles while traveling on a highway at 65 mph. Luckily, I was able to make it into the breakdown without incident (only because of light traffic conditions). In both cases, the transmission was replaced under warranty service, so I don't have a complaint about that aspect. I do worry about the fact that two transmission failures occurring at around 25K miles apart suggests a pattern of failure.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #32

Dec 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact stated while driving on the interstate there was severe vibration. He drove slowly to the dealer for inspection while the vibration weakened at a reduced speed. The dealer performed a diagnostic test that produced a code involving the automatic transmission. Upon further inspection, the extension housing of the transmission cracked and was leaking transmission oil. No repairs were performed by the dealer due to the extensive work and expense. The contact scheduled an appointment with a transmission specialist to repair the vehicle.

- Mannington, WV, USA

problem #31

Sep 292005

Silverado 2500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles
Hello: Last week my transmission gave out on my 2002 Chevy Silverado when I was going down the highway. After a detailed investigation, I have discovered that this is a common problem with this particular transmission, as they have corrected it on the 2003 models. I have 58,000 miles on my vehicle. The sun shell in the transmission "strips" out it's gears due to improper material used for the part. There is a technical bulletin on this matter. It cost me $2300 to have it fixed. Please let me know what I can do. Thanks so much.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #30

Feb 102005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
My 2002 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71 transmission went out with only 45,000 miles on the truck. I had it repaired and was told it is a very common problem with Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

- Axis, AL, USA

problem #29

Aug 042005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The reverse gear went out in the transmission that cost $800 to fix. Took vehicle to morris transmission service, and the dealer recommended to them that since the warranty expired they have been after GM to change it because it was the same part that broke every time. It was not a strong enough part for the transmission. This happened around August 4, 2005.

- Greenwell Springs, LA, USA

problem #28

Aug 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,227 miles
Contact owned a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving consumer's vehicle began to pass another vehicle. When the vehicle went into passing gear consumer heard a loud noise. Consumer let off the gas and the vehicle shifted into another gear. While taking the vehicle to the garage consumer realized there was no reverse and it was shifting oddly. The service dealer stated the transmission will have to be repaired, but did not know the cause of the transmission failure. There had been no previous problems regarding the transmission and the vehicle has minimal usage. The warranty of the vehicle was for 3 years/36,000 miles, the vehicle has approximately 38,000 miles when this incident occurred.

- Olean, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 272004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,260 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 Z71 5.3L transmission sun gear. At 37260 miles the gear failed, my vehicle it did not have reverse, and it would not shift into 2nd gear. I had to have my transmission rebuilt and the transmission shop said that it was a common problem. The cost to me was $1963 and if it is a known problem from the manufacturer then it should have been covered by General Motors and not me or the other buyers of this model truck. GM ought to reimburse us for the cost since they were aware of the problem and could have fixed it prior to the problem by recalls.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #26

Dec 292004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,500 miles
2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 4X4 5.3L transmission.sun gear..at 75000 miles the gear failed in a parking garage when I parked my truck I had appox.2 feet between my truck and the wall.when I returned to my vehicle the trucks front bumper was touching the wall.thankfully it wasn't parked so it would have rolled down the ramp. After starting my vehicle it did not have reverse and after getting it out of the ramp it would not shift into 2nd gear.I spoke with the dealer that I had purchased the truck from and he said that it was a common problem.also I talked to other people that have the same transmission and they have had the same problems. I thenk there should be a recall on this because if I had something in tow or the parking brake were to fail it could posibly injure or kill some one if it were to roll away. I had to have my transmission rebuilt and the transmission shop said that it was a common problem and that GM has come out with a revised part that is hardend.

- Northeast, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?