Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Apr 182006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer erratic. Sometimes reads 35-60 mph in park, sometimes 120 mph when traveling at 30-60 mph. Then will not work at all, but rests at 120 mph. Only way to reset is to turn vehicle on and off 6-12 times over a 30 min period. In Feb 07 took to jack schmitt Chevy dealer and paid $97 for diagnostics and was told estimated cost of repair would be approximately $500. This is a safety hazard and a recall needs to be issued asap.

- O Fallon, IL, USA

problem #34

Nov 212007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Speedometer was fluttering and sticking since purchase of this vehicle, particularly in cold weather. Typically, after it warmed up, the speedometer would become somewhat functional again. Through discussions with GM dealership, it was discovered that a service bulletin and letters of notification have been sent out to warn owners of this problem. This web site shows complaints of this problem dating back to Dec of 2005. A 70,000 mile limit has been set for GM to cover repairs. My speedometer finally became totally inoperable at 105,000 miles, and I took it to the dealership for repairs. A month later, I see this notice. How can GM set a mileage limit on safety" this should be a total recall! at $500. To fix, most operators are obviously like me. You fix the things on your vehicle as you can afford to or if it makes the vehicle totally inoperable. I put over 20,000 miles a year on my truck. Like an above owner stated, why am I being penalized for driving more than 10K miles a year? why am I being penalized for using this truck on long hauls. It has been a great truck, and I have very few other complaints. However, GM knows that they put a defective and unsafe and faulty instrument cluster in these trucks. Now they want us, their consumers to pay for it" please NHTSA, this issue needs to be turned into a recall.

- Northglenn, CO, USA

problem #33

Nov 302006

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,324 miles
Speedometer jumping all over. Started over a year ago at around 65,000mi. When problem started it would occur about once a week. Now it happens every other day.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #32

Nov 202007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The instrument panel would intermittently malfunction. The gauges would drop while the vehicle was started. The dealer stated that the electronic control module needed to be reprogrammed. The manufacturer sent a letter stating that there was no recall; however, the warranty was extended to 70,000 miles for this failure. The failure mileage was 100,000 and current mileage was 102,000. Updated 01-10-08. Updated 12/31/07

- Troy , VA, USA

problem #31

Dec 222005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,500 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 50 mph, the speedometer dropped to zero. The failure occurred after driving for one mile. The dealer replaced the instrument cluster. The failure mileage was 99,500 and current mileage was 116,000. Updated 03-05-08

- Sutherland , OR, USA

problem #30

Aug 302007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. Two months ago, the contact received a letter for the speedometer cluster. The notice stated that only vehicles less than 7 years old and under 70,000 miles would be repaired. His vehicle had 90,000 miles at the time; however, the speedometer displayed incorrect speeds. The dealer refused to repair his vehicle. The contact filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 90,000. Updated 11/29/07.

- Tillatoba, MS, USA

problem #29

Oct 282007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer ranges from 70-120 won't come back down.

- Albany, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 232007

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have 12,000 miles on my 2003 Silverado and my speedometer constantly fails giving me readings of 120 mph to total failure. This is a serious safety concern. The vehicle has technical bulletins associated with this complaint but there is no recall. Please advise before an incident associated to this speedometer failure occurs.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 102005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The speedometer in my 2003 Chevrolet Silverado has not worked since the truck had 45,000 miles on it. It registers 0 mph at all speeds, unless it is raining, when it will register an incorrect speed.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #26

Oct 132007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,847 miles
I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado. Today the speedometer malfunctioned. At first it registered zero. Later in registered but only went up until it finally went past 120 and off the scale. This is clearly a malfunction that is dangerous.

- Folsom, LA, USA

problem #25

Aug 282007

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer on my 2003 Silverado sticks and gives inaccurate measure intermittently. This is extremely dangerous; you never know if the reading is correct or not. GM should have a recall on this one!

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #24

Jan 142006

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Had a 2003 Silverado the cluster driving home one night and the cluster went from 40 mph all the way to 110. It was like this for a week took it to the dealer and the said this was a normal thing cost me over $300 to fix it.

- Friendship, WI, USA

problem #23

May 152007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the instrument panel operates intermittently. When the instrument panel is not illuminated, the contact is unable to determine the gear in which the vehicle is placed. The vehicle has not been inspected by the dealer. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 01-14-08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Wellington , FL, USA

problem #22

Dec 022006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles
Whole driving down the highway going 70 mph, my speedometer stuck at 70, then started going up until it topped out. I panicked and pulled off to the side of the highway. When I shut the truck off the speedometer stopped going down at 65 mph. I had to start and stop the engine repeatedly and the speedometer went down in 5 mph intervals. I've heard from several people that have had the same problem and it cost them between $350 and $450. I cannot afford this so when it does happen I have to pull off to the side off the road and start and stop the car until it resets.

- Webb City, MO, USA

problem #21

Apr 202007

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2003 Chevrolet Silverado Z71's speedometer quit working and started giving erratic readings such as 65 mph while going no more than 10 mph. After starting, turning off, and restarting the engine roughly 10 times the speedometer went back to zero. Next time I drove, however, it starting acting up again. This is a huge safety problem. We have speed limits for safety reasons and imagine driving through a school zone and not being able to tell how fast you are going. This problem is so widespread and GM is ignoring it.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #20

Apr 032007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Speedometer in my 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd is erratic. Sometime it works fine, other times it will register 30 mph at a stop. Other times it shows 120 mph when driving 65 mph. Some times it doesn't work at all.

- Liberty, MO, USA

problem #19

Feb 062007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,197 miles
Report concerning 2003 Chevy Silverado. Had truck failure on local freeway. Had vehicle towed to mechanic. Apparently out of gas. However gas gage read 1/2 tank. Huge safety issue. Shortly thereafter speedometer began malfunctioning, registering in accurate speeds and when vehicle was turned off speedometer would stop anywhere from 10-20 mph. Starter began giving us problems as well. Could this all be related?

- Bellflower, CA, USA

problem #18

May 312005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Speedometer failure - speedometer began bouncing on my truck around the 40,000 mile mark and no longer works at all. Repair cost is approx $500 for the item and is a serious safety issue that should be recalled by the maker Chevy as this is a main item to be used on the truck everyday and there was no reason for it to go defective. I have researched and discovered several thousand others owners with the same problem - same part - same solution - have to take it to the dealer only to replace the entire instrument cluster.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 102006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,100 miles
Speedometer in my 2003 Chevy Silverado stopped working. Reads 120 mph all the time. Priced a repair at 500 dollars. Which includes parts and labor. I understand from doing a little research that a lot of people have this problem, and not just on 03's. 2004's also. Something wrong with a 500 dollar repair on a 2 to 3 year old truck. Also a safety issue.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #16

Nov 012006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado ls 1500 that the speedometer just started reading 120 mph no matter what speed I am traveling or if the vehicle is even moving at all. No previous damage or failures were present at the time of this problem. GMC wants $500+ to repair this problem even though this seems to be a common trend among 2002-2004 Silverado and there has been no recall.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?