Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jun 142010

Silverado 2500

  • 64,000 miles


There was absolutely no warning that my brakes were going to fail! I had my two children with me and was approaching an insection. I went to apply my brakes and nothing happened. I was unable to stop. Luckily, I coasted through the intersection and was not involved in a collision. I tried to stop the truck by putting it into park, which was a mistake, this did not stop the truck so I immediately put the truck back in drive. I then stepped on the emergency brake which stopped the truck. At this time, I was stopped in the middle of the road so I decided to release the brake and coast over to a safe location to ensure the safety of my children. As the truck stayed on the side of the road, I again pushed the brake peddle to discover brake fluid shooting out from truck. When the truckwas lifted onto the tow truck I was able to see the brake line had a large hole, as if it had been blown out. This was then confirmed by my mechanic. All the brake lines need to be replaced because they are all extremely rusted and I run the risk of another brake failure. I have contacted the dealership, but they have told me this will be my own expense. The truck is only 7 years old.

- Salt Point, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 062010

Silverado 2500

  • 55,031 miles
On 4-6-10, the brakes of my 2003 Chevrolet Silverado pick-up truck with 55,031 miles failed without warning. The truck was stopped at the time with the brake pedal depressed. The truck was in drive gear. The brake pedal suddenly went to the floorboard and braking ability was gone. The truck began to roll, but did stop on the level terrain. No injuries resulted. On 4-7-10, the repairing mechanic reported all brake lines were excessively corroded and rusted, and one of the lines had broken open. All lines were replaced. I will attempt to retrieve the replaced brake lines from the repair garage for your use. Please advise me accordingly. My repair bill was $475, paid on 4-8-10, by personal check. The speedometer of this vehicle operates erratically and has ceased to operate.

- Mogadore, OH, USA

problem #16

Mar 092009

Silverado 2500

  • 30,590 miles
After perusing excessive rust to under-carriage of 2003 Silverado, researched other complaints and found numerous from all over the country. This led me to believe that complete brake failure was related to rust problems. Entire left brake line had to be replaced due to rust-through. Actual rust-through of brake line was not reported to GM as at the time I saw no correlation to what later became a rust through problem of bumpers and cargo body. This was experienced after rust-through warranty had expired. My concern is with the rusting of brake lines and possible injury and even death when complete brake failure is experienced. If this has no relevance to other rust problems with the Chevy Silverado from 2002 until 2009 then disregard this complaint.

- Merritt Island, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 182009

Silverado 2500

  • 75,000 miles


2003 Chevrolet 2500 hd pick-up. I pulled into my driveway slowly and when I applied my brakes to stop, the brakes failed. Grabbed emergency brake to stop truck. Upon inspection, rear driver side metal brake line had split in the bend it makes to reach the rear axle from the frame. All connections were tight and leak free. Metal line had corroded and failed for no reason.

- Auburntown, TN, USA

problem #14

Oct 162009

Silverado 2500

  • 41,627 miles
The ABS system on my 2003 Chevy C2500hd pick up truck were malfunctioning constantly for several weeks. Each and every time I came to a stop the ABS system would engage, the pedal would almost bottom out and the truck was hard to stop. And several times I was almost in the middle of an intersection before stopping.the right and left ABS sensors were replaced with new sensors at a cost of almost $500. I was not given the old parts. This 03 truck has only 41,000 miles and I fill that the original sensors were defective. These sensors are not a normal maintenance part and are not like filter, oil changes, brakes jobs wiper blades which are normal wear and tear items. These sensors are an very important part of the entire brake system. I believe Chevrolet has a problem with this part but will not acknowledge their responsibility in this matter. I have complained to Chevrolet motor division and told them that Chevrolet should pay for the premature failure of these parts.. these faulty sensors can cause an accident..

- Vienna, OH, USA

problem #13

May 282008

(reported on)

Silverado 2500

  • 13,000 miles
2003 Chevrolet Silverado with brake problems. Consumer states that the vehicle is on its second set of rotors and third set of pads. He believes that the 2003 and 2004 Chevy Silverado should be included in the recall. The rotors were rusting and falling apart. The consumer also stated there was a constant noise coming from the steering column.

- Salem, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 252007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,992 miles


I have a 2003 chev. 2500 4X4 est. Cab long box. It has 18000 miles on it. I had to replace the rear brakes and rotors at 18000 miles. This is unacceptable for a truck of this type. (heavy duty). I also had a dim brake light on the dash, which I had checked out at the dealer. They said it was in the dash board and would cost 400.00+ to fix. The dealer also said the steering was loose and this was caused by the factory when installed, 250.00+ to fix. What kind of product are they making?

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 232006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 50 mph, power steering was lost and braking became harder. The vehicle was pulled over and power steering fluid was replaced, but that did not correct the problem. The vehicle was driven to the residence and the power steering pump was replaced, this did not repair the problem. The dealership determined there was a collapsed hose. The hose was replaced, but the problem persisted. There was a NHTSA recall, # 04V045000, regarding the brakes. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 122006

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
: the contact stated while depressing the brake pedal there is an increased braking effort required to stop the vehicle. The pedal almost goes to the floor before stopping the vehicle. New brake pads were placed on the vehicle on 6-11-06 but the problem still persists. There is an NHTSA recall, # 04V045000, regarding the service brakes, hydraulic. The VIN was not included in the recall.

- Boyce, VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 012006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Brakes are soft with long stopping distance. Involved in minor mvc. Afterwards found rear brake rotors and brake assembly rusted and components corroded. Rear brake contact <50%. less than 25K miles.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 272006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,680 miles


Premature rear disc brake failure--2003 Chevrolet Silverado, 31750 miles-rear disc rotors rusted, pitted, flaking. Dealer replaced rotors and discs at my cost. Even though rotors are obviously suffering from weather and salt, dealer insists that the calipers still work, therefore it is not a warranty issue. I contend that the literal disintegration of the rotors caused the rapid wear of the brake pads. When inspected in August of 2005, I was told the pads were at 75% thickness. The truck still has 6 months left on the manuf. Warranty.

- Owego, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 152003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Brake peddal goes to floor when steady pressure applied. This has occured since the truck had about1000 miles on says this is normal. If this is normal there is a lot of trucks that are not able to stop very fast.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #6

Aug 202003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,451 miles
Transmission clunking in 2-3 up shift or 3-2 downshift, mush louder when towing my trailer it sounds like its going to exployed brakes: Brake pedal is on the floor very very weak cannot stop truck on a quick brake 2003 Chevy Silverado 4X4 xcab.

- Gt. Barrington, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 112003

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
At any speed when pressing the brakes pedal would go to the floor and feel spongy. Also, when pressing the brakes vehicle will take an extremely long time to stop. Dealer had the vehicle four times concerning this problem. The dealer informed the consumer that the brakes were designed that way.

- Grand Saline, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 152004

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
While applying the brakes, the pedal went to the floor. The driver pumped the brake pedal and the brakes released power. The consumer was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer for analysis.

- East Otto, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 062003

Silverado 2500

  • miles
While driving and making left or right turns steering made a noise. Also, brakes and transmission problems. Dealer notified.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #2

Sep 032003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I own a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado K1500 purchases in July 2003. When towing a travel trailer (approx 4,000 lbs) I have noticed what feels like a "spongy" brake pedal. Recently, I discovered that if steady, moderately heavy pressure in maintained on the brake pedal, it will slowly go down completely to the floor. Dealer service manager has similar truck with identical situation. They have no answer. Question was directed by dealer to district service rep who stated something to the effect that this is a design situation and there is no fix!!!! I suspect GM is avoiding a costly recall. However, they should know that one accident could well cost more than the recall, particularly if there is loss of life. How is one expected to remain stopped on a grade for any period of time when the brake pedal goes to the floor?

- Mitchell, NE, USA

problem #1

Aug 122003

Silverado 2500

  • 50 miles
Vehicle would not stop in a reasonable distance under normal conditions; therefore, excessive forc ewas needed to stop vehicle.

- Columbiana, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?