Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,659 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Mar 042009

Silverado 2500

  • 115,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact drove the vehicle at various speeds, she noticed that the dashboard panel failed to operate properly. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 115000.

- New Wavrly, TX, USA

problem #50

Nov 012009

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Speedometer failure--speedometer would read incorrectly and now has completely failed. Nothing to date has been done to correct the problem.

- Fortuna, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 112009

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. When the contact started the vehicle he noticed that the speedometer increased to 120 mph and would not move regardless of the speed that he was driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 90000. Updated 02/17/10. The consumer stated the speedometer doesn't work. The needle is stuck on 120 mph. Updated 02/17/10.

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #48

Jul 142009

Silverado 2500

  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While driving approximately 45 mph the contact noticed that the speedometer displayed an inaccurate reading regardless of the speed rate being driven. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction at this time. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Wichtia Falls, FL, USA

problem #47

Jun 202008

Silverado 2500

  • 103,320 miles
Speedometer does not show correct speed.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #46

Oct 172009

Silverado 2500

  • 72,677 miles
Speedometer failure it is never accurate, I can not trust what it says it even goes to 130 mph while parked.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #45

Oct 122009

Silverado 2500

  • 70,000 miles


The speedometer on my 2005 Silverado is bad. I have 73,000 miles on it and have never driven so fast in my life. It started in may of 2009 and it corrected itself now we are facing the same issue. When reading up on this I find I am not the only one who is having this issue. Driving aprox.30 but it says 120.

- Ramsey , IL, USA

problem #44

Jun 202007

Silverado 2500

  • 2,600 miles
Speedometer faulty incorrect at times. When towing my 5th wheel camper. From time to time the speedometer will stop at 0, 20, or 40 mph while I am reaching speeds of 65 mph verified by my gps. This seems to be intermittent. I am at 27,000 miles on my truck, 05 Chevy Silverado 2500 hd duramax.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #43

Jul 032009

Silverado 2500

  • 21,000 miles
My speedometer has failed. 2005 Chevrolet 2500hd 4X4. Sometimes says I'm doing 50 at a stop sign. It might read 25 when I'm doing 35 (like the ticket I just got). Chevy says I need a new ipc at $1100 with parts and labor. I read on the internet that there are hundreds and hundreds of late model Chevy truck owners with the same problem. Someone is going to get killed because of this or does that need to happen before a recall is issued.." the speedometer is an integral part of safe driving and reading the number of failures shows that his is not a random occurrence. Do an internet search of "erratic speedometer on Chevrolet" and you will find hundreds and hundreds. Got a spare $1100 to fix an engineering problem on your vehicle.."

- Yreka, CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 012008

Silverado 2500

  • 57,000 miles
Speedometer stopped working at about 57,000 miles

- Hampton, NJ, USA

problem #41

Oct 012008

Silverado 2500

  • miles


Re:Chevy 2005 instrument cluster failure about 6 months ago, my 2005 Chevy Silverado 200 truck started experiencing the speedometer failure issue. At that time I called in the dealership tom jumper where I purchased this vehicle and they told me that they know about this issue and it would cost about $600 to get this fixed. They also informed me that there was a litigation against GM for the speedometer issue and had me call GM directly to get this issue fixed to avoid out of pocket expenses. This dealership has closed and out of business. I did call GM according to them there has been litigation going on and they directed to me to this website to find out the status periodically. The website now informs that there was a settlement notice issued and for people who have paid for this repair work should claim their reimbursements. I refuse to pay out of pocket and asked them to get my vehicle fixed as its a manufacturer problem on supplying defective parts. They are asking me to go to Chevy dealer and get it diagnosed paid by me and then they will determine if they I am eligible for this repair work. I found this absolutely unacceptable and fraudulent as per keeping their client as a hostage to their demands. I want some action done to help protect consumers like me who are essentially paying for the bailout of these companies in the current economic condition. Please help in this matter. Thanks. (

- Acworth , GA, USA

problem #40

Mar 172009

Silverado 2500

  • 18,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer malfunction. Speedometer shows 120 mph regardless of whether vehicle is stopped or moving. GM has recalled 2003 and 2004 models but refuses to include 2005 models. My local dealer quoted $700 for the repair.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #39

Mar 142009

Silverado 2500

  • 36,600 miles
I was driving down the road in my 2005 Chevy Silverado 2500 hd when I noted the speedometer reading >90 mph (I was not going that fast...towing a 5th wheel camper). The speedometer continued to malfunction and has not returned to correct operation since. There is little doubt this is a safety issue and apparently is a consistent problem with many 2002-2005 Chevy vehicles. This vehicle has only 36000 miles on it and has not been abused. Issue is not yet repaired as it happened only yesterday.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #38

Mar 112009

Silverado 2500

  • 53,000 miles
My speedometer is not working. It is frozen at 30 mph.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #37

Feb 212009

Silverado 2500

  • 45,600 miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd - speedometer stuck/inop.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #36

Jan 122009

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Speedometer on my 2005 Chevrolet Silverado sticks and intermittent, sometimes its shows me driving 120 mph when going 20 to 30 miles per hour. Have left it cool down, then start the engine numerous times for it to reset in 5 mph increments until it returns to 0 mph. Sluggish going to 0 mph when stopping at a stop sign etc. Definite safety issue since I don't know how fast I am going other than going with the flow, it is consistently doing these symptoms all the time now.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #35

Dec 172008

Silverado 2500

  • 69,800 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Silverado does not accurately display the speed of the vehicle. It may read anywhere from 0 to 120 mph regardless of the actual speed of the vehicle. I first became aware of the inaccurate readings while driving on the expressway at an indicated 72 mph. I noticed that I was passing the few other vehicles on the road and because of the speed at which I was doing so I checked the speed reading on my gps and found that I was doing almost 100 mph. This a safety issue. I am also aware of several other General Motors trucks of the same year with the same problem. And also that the 2003 and 2004 GM truck have the same problem with the identical part for which GM has instituted a customer satisfaction recall.

- Augusta, MI, USA

problem #34

Feb 182009

Silverado 2500

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Silverado speedometer going crazy. Jumping from 0-180 mph getting stuck on different mph. Should be a recall notice.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #33

Feb 022009

Silverado 2500

  • 51 miles
Speedometer stuck at 45mph at a stop, while on the highway in a 65-70mph zone the speedometer increase to 110-120mph.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #32

Sep 032008

Silverado 2500

  • 27,500 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy 2500hd 4X4 gave out at about 27000 miles two months ago. We were pulling a trailer on mountain roads at the time. Knowing your speed in the mountains is important and this could have been a deadly problem. GM has known about the problem and I understand did a "special policy" on 2003 and 2004 vehicles. There needs to be a recall and the defective parts fixed before someone is killed. Please help us out and do not let this faulty equipment game continue just to make or save GM money at buyers expense and safety.

- Pagosa Spring, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?