Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 17
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,171 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Jul 152008

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This truck has experienced two fuse block failures since new. The symptom, in both cases, was the truck would not start. Both repairs were accomplished at brown and brown Chevrolet in mesa Arizona. The first repair occurred in 2008 and the second repair occurred in 2012. When reimbursement was requested for the second failure, the brown and brown service person and the GM customer care person both denied warranty coverage because there are third-party devices installed in the vehicle. There is an alarm system and a kenwood stereo, with a GM module, installed that were deemed third-party. There is also a cb radio but it was not cited. All vehicle equipment is powered through fuses on the fuse block. None of the fuses were found to be blown by brown and brown, including the ones powering the third-party equipment. The fuse block"S intent is to distribute power to such devices and protect the wiring with its installed fuses. Properly connected equipment may blow a fuse but cannot stress the fuse block to failure. I requested the ?bad" fuse block in both cases and have disassembled the second one. I found loose power pins and no evidence of burning or arcing. The design permits the power pins to loosen over time, causing intermittent connections. This intermittent connection was verified by brown and brown; they said that simply leaning on the fuse block would cause the engine to stop. This is not an effect of third party equipment but is a design defect of the fuse block.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #61

Nov 052011

Silverado 2500

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the speedometer displayed an erroneous reading of 10 mph. The contact continued driving at the same speed and the speedometer began to display a reading of 65 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the entire instrument cluster would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Chelsea, OK, USA

problem #60

Nov 022011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 44,235 miles
Speedometer failure and RPM indicator failure on cluster panel. Cause X25.168 stepper motors are failing. For 2005 model year the recall only covered vehicles manufactured in 2004 up to Jan 2005. My vehicle was manufactured in March 2005. Clearly the same defective cluster assembly was still being used in the manufacturing process. Vehicle was purchased new in July 2005. GM recall needs to be expanded as there are numerous complaints for this same issue beyond the current recall parameters.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #59

Apr 012008

Silverado 2500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd. The contact stated that after purchasing the vehicle he noticed something burning from under the dashboard. The vehicle was taken apart and the contact found that there was burned and melted wires. The contact replaced the wiring harness and the blower motor. The failure recurred a few months later. The dealer was contacted and they advised him of which components that he needed to replace. The contact later received notification a manufacturer's silent recall and the contact was offered a partial reimbursement from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #58

Sep 012011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 98,000 miles
Speedometer stopped functioning. It displays I'm driving @ 120 mph and gets stuck there, when I'm only going approximately 30-40 mph. This is ridiculous that there is no recall on this malfunction as I see there are plenty of compliants with same issue. How can I drive safely without knowing the speed limit I'm going.

- Boonsboro, MD, USA

problem #57

Jul 012011

Silverado 2500

  • 22,800 miles
Speedometer, tachometer and fuel gage show faulty indications, often not showing anything at all.

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #56

Aug 302006

Silverado 2500

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heater blower connector fire.

- Rossford, OH, USA

problem #55

Nov 152010

Silverado 2500

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving the contact noticed the gauges on the instrument panel were not providing an accurate reading. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the instrument cluster had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #54

Oct 012008

Silverado 2500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated the wiring harness connected to the blower motor became hot and began to melt. A private mechanic repaired the resistor in October 2008; however, the failure occurred again. In January 2011, the contact had the wiring harness and the resistor qa replaced by a private mechanic since he smelled a burning odor and had to disconnect the wiring harness in order to protect it from melting. The dealer nor manufacturer were notified. The current mileage was 119,000. The approximate failure was 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Imperial , MO, USA

problem #53

Dec 102008

Silverado 2500

  • 64,000 miles
I was driving along when the cab filled with smoke and a burning plastic smell. I saw smoke come from under the passenger side dashboard. The blower motor resistor harness had caught fire. I was able to put it out with damage to only the harness and resistor. It was replaced under the extended warranty I had purchased from GM. Fast forward to May 9, 2010 and 50,000 miles later, the same thing happened and GM corporate told me there was nothing they could do even though this same model vehicle has been recalled in Canada for the same problem. I was quoted $300 for the repair. On May 10.2010, my dealer called and said he received an E-mail from GM stating that GM was in the process of offering a 10 year 150,000 mile warranty on the blower motor and harness repair. Have not received any notice from GM yet but dealer said they would fix it no charge.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #52

Dec 102008

Silverado 2500

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving along when the cab filled with smoke and a burning plastic smell. I saw smoke come from under the passenger side dashboard. The blower motor resistor harness had caught fire. I was able to put it out with damage to only the harness and resistor. It was replaced under the extended warranty I had purchased from GM. Fast forward to May 9, 2010 and 50,000 miles later, the same thing happened and GM corporate told me there was nothing they could do even though this same model vehicle has been recalled in Canada for the same problem. I was quoted $300 for the repair. On May 10.2010, my dealer called and said he received an E-mail from GM stating that GM was in the process of offering a 10 year 150,000 mile warranty on the blower motor and harness repair. Have not received any notice from GM yet but dealer said they would fix it no charge.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #51

May 012011

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • miles
The problem is the fan on GM trucks burns out. We were told by the service dept that the wires were burned up and that this required more parts and service. Needed resistor, connector and blower to repair. This is a potential fire hazard which is not being addressed by GM. Apparently this is an issue that many vehicle owners have experienced but since no one has been killed I guess there is not reason to mandate a recall. We were told by the service dept. That many vehicles are being brought in for service because of this problem. This should be looked into. Our vehicle has 38,000 miles. We have a friend who lives in NJ that had the same problem within a year of purchasing his new truck.

- Falling Waters, WV, USA

problem #50

Nov 252009

Silverado 2500

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado K2500. The contact stated that the instrument cluster malfunctioned. The manufacturer sent a notice informing the contact of a special policy adjustment for the instrument cluster. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who refused to honor the policy as the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Battle Mountain, NV, USA

problem #49

Sep 162010

Silverado 2500

  • 82,000 miles
I also have a 2005 Silverado an the speedometer is stuck at 120 it has gone down as far as 60 but when you drive it pegs out and remains there. There were no warnings just happened around 82,000 now at 86,000 and 6,000 miles out of warranty. I feel that this is a safety hazard because I don't know my speed but I am lucky enough to have been given a gps to do that. I looked at GM website but they say I am over mileage for repair and I don't have the money for the repairs myself an feel this should be remedied by the manufacturer since it is a well know problem of theirs and this defective equipment.

- Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #48

Jan 112011

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
Speedometer not showing correct speed.

- Vevay, IN, USA

problem #47

Jan 102011

Silverado 2500

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed that the heater/ air conditioner fan motor wires were severely melted. The contact planned to take the vehicle for diagnostic testing and to be repaired. The contact had concerns of a potential fire. The failure mileage was approximately 115,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Greenleaf, WI, USA

problem #46

Nov 052010

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,689 miles
Speedometer is failing to maintain accurate speed. It goes all over the scale and then back to zero.

- Monrovia, MD, USA

problem #45

Nov 082010

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Speedometer does not show the right speed which the vehicle is traveling. At almost standstill speeds is shows 15 mph. At higher speeds the speedometer shows speeds that are much higher than those being driven by the vehicle. I cannot trust this gauge any longer. Will be contacting GM to request a fix. Car has only 25,000 miles.

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 152010

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
At about 76,000 miles my 2005 Chevy Silverado started having speedometer issues. Then all of a sudden it was working fine for about another 7,000 miles. And now over 80,000 miles it is stuck at 120 mph. GM has recalled 2003 & 2004 models with this same known issue and has used the same clusters for 2005, but does not have a recall.

- Ada, MI, USA

problem #43

Nov 202009

Silverado 2500

  • 110,000 miles
Heater harness caught fire in my 2005 Chevy Silverado.

- Litchfield, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?