Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 2
Average Mileage:
45,600 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 292015

Silverado 2500

  • 26,000 miles


While traveling on the expressway in my 2006 Chevrolet Silverado with 26,000 miles on the odometer, I attempted a transient lane change while taking evasive action in order to avoid a hazardous situation. When coupled with the brakes I noticed longer than usual engagement. As a result, I was forced onto the shoulder and had to use multiple downshifts in concert with the emergency brake to bring the vehicle to a halt. It sounded like a train stopping on rails. I proceeded to drive home with hazards on, U never exceeding third gear. The following morning I noticed clear oil underneath the front end of the vehicle. I believe this is an extremely dangerous vehicle and a less experienced driver would have been killed or extremely injured. Lastly, I have also been noticing inconsistency with steering resistance. Sometimes the steering is considerably looser than at other times. I have dismissed this disconcerting sensation by assuming it is weather/humidity related.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

May 152015

Silverado 2500

  • 120,000 miles
I had issues with steering control, specially on curves at 40 T0 65 miles P/H on the road from beginning of the purchase.I have been to Chevy dealer to complain about safety issue on the road.but dealer finds no physical defect on the car.on mat 15 2015 finally I lost the control of steering wheel and hit the side walk curb and broke front and rear axles.likely no personal injury.I am very concerned about safety of other owners in this regard.I have checked other resources to find if there are similar cases like mine, and surprisingly there are too many of them. Please let me help to save others from loosing their lives. Thanks.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 182015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 52,601 miles
Engine idler pulley seized causing serpentine belt to break which resulted in loss of power steering and loss of power brakes..2 local GM dealer parts department's stated this is common on the duramax diesel engine.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 012013

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the pivot arm failed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000. Updated 8/28/14

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #16

Nov 102006

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
My 16 yr old son and 12 yr old son were coming home from school on 11/10/2006, my 16 yr old was driving, he took drivers ed and passed the class with an a+. and when he took his driving part of the test he past with a perfect score the first time. He also raced gokarts, so he knew how to control vehicles and prevent wrecks. When the wreck happened, the truck just went up an embankment, and went throw the air and hit a tree and pealed the roof back like it was a tin can. There was no skid marks, the tire tracks went straight up the bank, like the steering wheel was locked. And not one air bag opened. They were less than a 1/4 of a mile from home. I was at the bus stop waiting on my daughter, I heard the wreck and the alarm from the truck was going off. I went to the site and the alarm was still going off, and the steering wheel was locked. My 12yr old died on site, my 16 yr old died 4 days later. I have known something caused the wreck, but not sure what until now. Now I know with all my heart the switch locked the steering and also made the air bags not work.

- Leesville, SC, USA

problem #15

Mar 142012

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle from a dealer with a one year certified used warranty at 49K miles. Within a month of purchase I noticed an excessive amount of free-play in the steering and noticed a loose pitman arm when rotating the steering wheel and observing this part. I took the vehicle to two different dealers in the indianapolis area. After their inspection and consulting GM concerning this issue, I was told free-play was normal or within parameters. One year later and 69K miles, I take the vehicle in for service (oil & filter changes etc) and to have them please look at the brakes as I could feel a vibration. The vehicle is now out of warranty... they tell me now that these parts (pitman arm / steering box) will need to be replaced along with both front wheel bearings to the tune of just under $2,000. I have done my own research and have found many complaints in regards to steering assembly / parts on these trucks. Nothing I have found says that this much free-play is "normal" in regards to this vehicle and in fact, some front wheel axles and wheel assemblies have actually separated from the vehicle. My wheels or bearings (I saw for myself when it was on the lift and I have the old parts) had a dangerous amount of wobble in them, with the right wheel having in excess of 1" of tilt or looseness. This in my opinion does not constitute "normal" play and I question GM's honesty concerning this issue... why is this acceptable when under warranty but needs expensive repair when its on my dime? I believe GM is aware of the problem but is pushing the cost off to their customers.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #14

Mar 192013

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 32,320 miles


Vehicle under carriage looks more like a 30 year old vehicle. Brakes lines have failed causing extended stopping distance or swerving off road to avoid collision. Oil cooler lined ruptured and leaked oil on exhaust manifold, a potential fire hazard, especially when all the exhaust manifolds rotted as well so hot exhaust gases are not directed out the exhaust, also a concern for poisoning occupants with toxic exhaust gases. Power steering fittings rotted causing loss of steering. GM is useless, when I contacted them they said it is the environment. I asked them why a Toyota and Acura, both 8 years older showed no such failures or even signs of rust on critical components. GM responded that they couldn't answer that question. Hmmm, I wonder why. In 39 years of driving, it is the most I ever paid for a vehicle, 48,000 dollars, and the manufacturer refuses any assistance. That's the thanks for bailing them out. It has also had wires to blower motor burn, rear brake rotors rotted away at 22,000 miles, ground wires under hood have rotted and fallen of... more potential hazards, A/C compressor seized a came apart. I could go on and on. There needs to be a serious investigation into GM and.the poor quality and lack of concern for the safety of the public. It is by far the worst vehicle I have owned, ever.

- Tyngsboro, MA, USA

problem #13

Mar 112013

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that while shifting into drive, the brakes and the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 89,000.

- Fullerton , CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 022012

Silverado 2500

  • 80,000 miles
Intermediate steering shaft. Clunking in steering makes you feel something is loose with the front end and or steering. Had shaft replaced with no positive results. GM says to replace with their shaft. Original replaced with a dorman part number 425-176 said to be better than GM.

- Forest Grove , OR, USA

problem #11

Feb 072012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that noise emitted from the steering column. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the steering gear box and pitman needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the front bearings and bushings were previously replaced. The failure mileage was 59,000 and the current mileage is 64,000. Updated 07/13/12 updated 07/18/12

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 132010

Silverado 2500

  • 18,000 miles


About a year and a half ago I started hearing and feeling a light knocking in my steering column when I would make a turn. It took several months for it to get consistent for anyone else to hear it then it began to get a lot worse. I took it by my mechanic and he told me that it was in the steering. He said that they use to just lube them again but now you have to order a kit from the manufacture. He knew what the problem was immediately after driving it through the parking lot because he had the very same problem on his Chevy truck in the past and had seen several others since then. He informed me it was safe to drive for now and I have yet to get it fixed. You can tell it is a lubrication problem because it is not as noticeable in the winter vs. The summer when it is hotter and the lube flows more freely. Now I see the same complaint on here and other web sites regarding this same problem and that it will keep happening over and over. The knocking has become very loud when I make a turn either way now. If this is a known problem with this model then why has it not been recalled? especially if a owner has to continually have it fixed after every 10-20 thousand miles. I am afraid that if it is not fixed soon I may lose control of the steering. I have also noticed a lot of wear on my tires that should not be there after keeping it continually maintained. My truck is five years old but it only has around 25,000 miles on it. Please I urge you to look into this problem before someone does end up hurt.

- Talladega, AL, USA

problem #9

Apr 152006

Silverado 2500

  • 875 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 30 mph the contact stated that she hit a bump in the road and the vehicle front end became loose which caused the vehicle to move in another lane. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who advised her to take the vehicle some where else to get a front end alignment. The contact stated that the failure was constant and became progressively worse. In March 2009 the dealer replaced the steering gear. In December 2009 the dealer replaced the intermediate steering shaft, the bearings, bushing and the lower steering shaft. The dealer also repaired a leaky seal on the left and right side of the steering gear which included a gear kit in September 2010. The contact was not experiencing a failure at this time but stated that she had several problems with the steering. The failure mileage was 875 and the current mileage was 70,200.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 272010

(reported on)

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Silverado. Consumer requests reimbursement the consumer stated he had no steering ability. The dealer informed the consumer a bolt fell out of the intermediate steering shaft.

- Newton, IA, USA

problem #7

Jan 152010

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) we have a 2006 Silverado Chevrolet truck [xxx]. there has been a squeaking in the steering-wheel column, and the car is becoming increasingly difficult to steer. A mechanic found that the inner tie rods need to be replaced and a part of the steering column needs to be replaced. A local dealership says, "there is no recall" even though there was an earlier recall on Chevrolet-truck steering systems. The manufacturer instructed us to get in touch with you. Please let us know how to proceed. Thank you.

- Port Neches , TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 112006

Silverado 2500

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 25 mph and making a right turn the steering wheel locked. The contact was able to slow down and come to a complete stop. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The dealer diagnosed the failure and repaired the steering column but the contact is concerned since the repair didn't correct the failure. The steering wheel has continued to lock while driving. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 2000 and the current mileage was 89397.

- Kelso, WA, USA

problem #5

Feb 072009

Silverado 2500

  • 35,000 miles
Power steering fails and since the power steering pump controls the hydoboost it affects the power brakes of the vehicle. When the power steering pump fails you loose power brakes and the vehicle moves forward at a brisk pace until you forcefully put both feet on the brake pedal and push down with all the power you can to stop the truck. Since this has happened 4 times I realize immediatly what the probelem was and applied all the pedal power I could to stop the truck. This can be an intermittent problem and since the dealer cannot duplicate the issue, they will not replace the power steering pump until it fails completely, which mine finally did. 6 months later the replacement pump is doing the same intermittent failure and the dealer will not replace it until it completely fails again.

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 252009

Silverado 2500

  • 87,125 miles
Drove 40 miles from work to home on Nov.25th and parked in my driveway. No issues. On Saturday, Nov.28th, attempting to leave driveway, had loss of steering and braking (no power assist) and rolled into street. Vehicle towed to local dealer. Cause was ruptured nitrogen cannister at hydroboost assembly with loss of power assist and contamination of fluids. Fortunately, I was in my driveway on not on the 40 mile trip to or from work on interstate highway.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 152009

Silverado 2500

  • 11,000 miles
Popping noise from steering, when turning on irregular surfaces which can also be felt in steering wheel, leading driver to believe that there is a defect in the front suspension or steering. Contact w/dealer service manager indicated that this is a common issue on full size GM trucks for several years, resulting from a poorly designed"intermediate steering shaft",which apparently needs to be replaced every few thousand miles to forestall this problem. Research shows that this issue is well known to owners of such vehicles and GM as there have been tsbs(patch-up)issued multiple timesthese bulletins seem to indicate basically to grease the part, thereby temporarily quieting it for a time with no permanent resolution, until owner is "off-warranty"snf willing to shell out the out of pocket costs for correct repair. My vehicle(2006) was purchased new with a standard 3 yr/36000mi warranty which expired 3/09 datewise, however the vehicle only has 11000 highway miles on it and has never been used off-road or abused. Apparently GM has, as of 01/07 a redesigned replacement part(per GM tsb)but, is at owners cost(parts/labor) if your 3yr/36000 or 2007-on 5/50 warranty has passed its date/mileage time. I find it quite irritating that although GM and aftermarket suppliers have been aware of this problem for nearly 2 decades they knowingly continued to utilize a substandard part until 2007. Also it appears a warranty"extension"regarding this part has been issued for 2007+models up to 70kmi, however dealer denies knowledge. GM customer service says to have problem"diagnosed"(at my expense),and if problem exists, dealer can make repairs(at my expense).maybe if I(disabled) had $300-400 spare cash laying around I could afford their game but cannot.

- Ladysmith, WI, USA

problem #2

Oct 122009

Silverado 2500

  • 106,086 miles
Bolt that holds the tie rods together for steering fell off.

- Carbonado, WA, USA

problem #1

Jun 102008

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Steering column knock in my Chevrolet 2500 hd Silverado. Problem occurred sometime around 38K miles. Was told by dealer it was a broken steering arm. Now at 65K miles and having the same knocking sound in the steering column.

- Houma, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?