Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,452 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments

problem #12

Jan 212015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 127,451 miles


Uniroyal Laredo hd/H LT265/75 R15 had a tread separation that caused considerable sheet metal damage within and behind the right rear wheel well of my Chevy Silverado 2500 hd pickup. The incident occurred at 60 mph while I was towing a travel trailer. I never lost control of the vehicle and was able to bring it safely to a controlled stop. The tire was one of four installed new by the auto dealer in early 2012 when I purchased the truck used. The tire had approximately 17,000 miles of use when the separation occurred. I always kept the tire inflated to the truck and tire manufacturers' recommended 80 psi and had just inflated the tire to that pressure (it was at 74 psi before I topped it off) three days earlier, before starting my trip. I noticed a recall of tires of similar vintage in the uniroyal Laredo hd/H lt 245/75 R16 series, and I am curious if many tread separations have also been reported for the 265/75 R16 series or if this is a one off incident.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #11

May 172013

Silverado 2500

  • 81,979 miles
Four bubbles on the sidewall of my tire appeared - I took the tire to a Goodyear dealer and he concluded that the tire was defective from the beginning when I bought it. It had 10,000 miles on the tire with original tire tread of 7/32 - it now has 6/32 tread. Goodyear gave me a $80 discount on a new tire - I called them and asked for a 100% discount since the tire was defective from the beginning. I have three other tires on the truck all Goodyear tires and it appears they could be doing the same thing. I also discovered that there was recall on Goodyear Wrangler tires having the same issues just not on my tire since it is much larger and not that popular.

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 182012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 112,000 miles
Michelin ltx M/S LT245/75R16 tires (2007 Chevy 2500 hd since 11/06/2006) 07/15/2010: 79,144 miles. Front driver side tire hi-speed blow-out (approx. 55 mph). Damage to front & rear utility tool boxes; left rear mud flap & fuel filter assembly ripped away. 07/28/2010: 79,965 miles. Replaced tire due to tread separation 08/31/2010: Michelin sent letter stating completion of 07/15/2010 claim finding no defect in design of tire or reason for incident; paid partial repair damages. 11/05/2010: Replaced tire due to tread separation. 02/01/2011: 90,101 miles. Replaced tire due to tread separation. 06/18/2012: 112,000 miles. Noticed bubble (approx. 1 inch in size) on front passenger tire; parked vehicle in shade; approx. 1 1/2 hrs later removed bad tire; noticed bubble grew bigger in size (approx. 3 in.); leaned bad tire upright against vehicle; installed spare tire (approx. 15-20 min), turned to retrieve bad tire; tire exploded literally in face; no injury due to safety glasses. Other person had just turned away at explosion with tire parts hit him in back; no injury.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #9

Sep 232011

Silverado 2500

  • 8,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 equipped with federal mogul coragia M/T tires, line size: 285/75/16, dot number: E40010658 uxls. The contact noticed that the front passenger side tire was flat. The contact inspected the tires and discovered that there were long cracks below the thread on the front and rear driver and passenger tires. The tires were not replaced. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000. Kmj

- Salyersville, KY, USA

problem #8

Sep 222011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 109,000 miles
Have federal couragia mt tires currently on my truck. Bought last year and have approximately 10,000 miles on them bought them new. Notices cracks in the sidewalk. Now they are running and getting larger, also seen several other complaints on these tires for the same thing. Very dangerous. Size 285/76/16

- Salyersville, KY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Oct 192010

Silverado 2500

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Silverado with hankook tires, dynapro as size 235/85/R16 (na). She stated the tires were purchased as replacements in 2009. While driving 55 mph, the rear right tire blew; the contact stated this was the second tire that experienced a blowout. The contact stated she changed out the tire with her spare. She did not contact the place where the tires were purchased. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 062010

Silverado 2500

  • miles


Driving down the highway at 65 mph fro approximately 2 hours. The tires were delaminating and blew. One tire exploded, while the other had a bubble (tread was separating from the casing. Both tire dot # bf11kf112606.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #5

Aug 242009

Silverado 2500

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Silverado right front tire began to shake, smoke, and caught fire on the westbound of the Ohio turnpike. Ohio traffic crash report # 10-0769-91

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #4

Dec 112007

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Tire blows bubble on sidewall, needs to be replaced but Goodyear will only warranty a prorated discount towards purchase of same tire. Happened a second time on different tire June 2, 2008. Tire is at local Goodyear dealership awaiting decision on what happens next.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #3

Aug 052007

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While driving approximately 65 mph, the front passenger side tire blew out. The contact was able to pull to the side of the road without a crash. He stated that he will contact the manufacturer. The contact still has the failed ameri-tech tire. The VIN, engine size, number of cylinders, and dot number were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 30,000. Returned usps, 2nd attempt made 08/06/07 attempt failed.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 222006

Silverado 2500

  • miles
In Nov. Of 2005 I purchased a Chevrolet Silverado, I have had nothing but problems with it. I have had the rear brakes and rotors replaced 3 times and the front once, also the fuel system had a problem, now they tell me that I need all tires replaced because the compound is bad. My truck only has a little over 7,000 miles on it!

- Concord, MI, USA

problem #1

May 052006

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Consumer was sold a 2006 Silverado with engine damages. ***** when the consumer contacted the dealership to tell them what he had discovered wit the engine cowling, they had advised him it was squirrel damage. Even though the dealer acknowledged the problem, they refused to give the consumer another vehicle. The consumer and his family had become sick. They believed it was from the bacteria coming from the venting system. The front tires were out of round and the rims were bent.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?