Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 1
Average Mileage:
23,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #116

Oct 112016

Silverado 2500

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that the vehicle started to smoke while driving 10 mph. The warning indicator illuminated that the air bag was deployed. The vehicle was not in a crash and the air bag did not deploy when the incident occurred. The passenger was injured from the seat belt tightening on the shoulder. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not able to be diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 190,000.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #115

Oct 062016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall when will replacement air bags be available?

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #114

Jun 012016

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17

- Pittston, ME, USA

problem #113

Mar 312015

Silverado 2500

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. After 18 months I am still waiting for a resolution on the takata airbag that is faulty on my vehicle. I received one notice and signed up for the updates. Nothing more has been done. GM states I can drive the vehicle; I am but feel unsafe

- Demopolis, AL, USA

problem #112

Sep 282016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #111

Jul 062015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and the dealer had been unable to provide the remedy and parts to receive the repair beyond a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer had been contacted several times and were unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ashland, MA, USA

problem #110

Sep 132015

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/07/16 updated 11/17/16.

- De Soto, MO, USA

problem #109

Jun 282015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/08/16 updated 12/12/16.

- Claysville, PA, USA

problem #108

Aug 012016

Silverado 2500

  • 90,000 miles
Dashboard cracked at corner of passenger airbag creating a safety hazard if passenger airbag deploys

- Sugarland, TX, USA

problem #107

Jul 132015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 10/19/16

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #106

Aug 242016

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable. Updated 10/04/16

- Port Ludlow, WA, USA

problem #105

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. Recall came out May 28, 2015. I own this vehicle. When will this recall be available" do I have any recourse? can we make Chevy buy the truck back" I can't have any passengers in the truck due to this recall. No remedy for this since the recall came out is unacceptable. This has been over a year!!!!!!

- Eatonville, WA, USA

problem #104

Jul 062015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #103

Jul 292016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bag) however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #102

Jul 112015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oak Harbor, WA, USA

problem #101

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Roosevelt, AZ, USA

problem #100

Jul 132015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Colleyville, TX, USA

problem #99

Jul 112016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wilton, CA, USA

problem #98

Jul 022015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hyndman, PA, USA

problem #97

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata air bag. I received a notice for recall on my thruck air bag over a year ago, I have contacted GM twice on the replacement, they keep telling me that as soon as they have a replacement they will notify me however it has bee over a year and they still have not given me a set date for replacement. I do not feel safe diving this truck under these conditions. I feel that having received the notice over a year ago enough time has passed that I should have had this taken care of. I feel they are replacing newer model vehicles before older ones and should be doing such according to date of purchase not according to which are newer. Any assistance you can provide in this matter is greatly appreciated.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?